Orchard Hotel

before the new package came up, i was offered the old package. elleen did offer me free usage of projector and free flow of beer. now with the new price, i think it's quite ok as they will be giving one bottle of wine per table for those who sign up during wedding show. plus other additional perks lor

i have not confirm my booking with OH yet...hee

i tried to neg for the free flow beer as well but they were pretty stiff on it with me... hiaz.. in the end oni the 1 barrel... hopefully is enuff lor... shd have pushed harder for it but so hard when arranging/bargaining for everythin via email... keke..

i'm actualy living in Melb.. was back in SG for holiday..

as for the food... i hope that it will meet my expectations as well... sometimes food tasting cannot really tell as they oni prepare for 1 table and not 30-80+ table...

jac: oh i see. Ya, it will be much diff cooking for 1 table and for a wedding dinner. Just got to keep emphasing to the coordinator abt the standard of food bah.

when i was offered the old package, she told me they have changed the beer perk from one barrel to free flow lor & she said can give complimentary usage of projector.
i agree that the cooking will be diff for a wedding dinner. applies to most hotels lah. the master chef cant possibly prepare so much food on the wedding day. that's y the food standard may turn out diff from food tasting

Hi everyone, I'm one of Orchard's bride too. So how's everyone's prep going?
Mine's in December, anyone else having their banquet in Dec too?

Hi VK! This thread is rather quiet! Will be nice if we can chat here!

I am same as jac, more or less settled, left the nearer to date details. I m liasing with Elleen, how abt u? Jac?

hi hi ~

just went to check my contract last night, and it was stated clearly that projector rental is at $250+++.

My wedding in June, earlier than you ..
Currenly busy with my new house. So many things to buy.

chere: wow... tat is ex hor?!

so when r u going for food tasting? Where is ur lovenest? must be very excited abt it right? hee..

Jo: yup very ex for just the usage for projector. I will try to ask for free usage and hope they will not be too stringent with it. Maybe i can argue that some couples who signed up for 'old' package are offered free usage, so why not me?!

I think my food tasting would most likely be in april. My new place at bedok. Yup quite excited, many decisions to make.. like what colours to paint, what kind of sofa, bed, dining tab etc... Only headache thing is $$$.

So have you bought your lovenest?

chere: ya, try to ask for exceptional handling. haha.. how many tables u have? who is ur coordinator?

Ya, renovating is another thingy that spend alot of $$ but at least can be according to what u wan and eventually still can see. wedding dinner is spend alot but left photographs to see only. haha..

I was actually ROMed 2 yrs back and since then had been living at our own place. Customary is more of parents wanted esp both of us are the eldest child in the family. hee.. My house is at sengkang!

jo,
i think i may take up the new package cos of the additional perks. anyway, i only made a tentative booking. will meet up with elleen nx wk for discussion before making a decision.
how come u hold yr customary so long after yr ROM leh???

ya! the new package seems more attractive.

mm.. actually hope to do without it plus no $$ after ROM and got our new hse. So took some time to save and trying to drag see if we can escape from it. Apperantly we cant! haha..

ladies, why not enjoy the preparations now and look forward to the big day... I mean..since we have to go thru it, might as well be happy and enjoy the process.

im sure the day will be very significant and memorable for all of us. I believe every woman should put on Wedding Gown. I have friends who did not and i kinda felt sad for them. Cos this is every girl's dream...

ellen offered free usage of projector screen but i got to pay 939 nett per table. my contract will be post-dated to 25th or 29th (i can't remember) march where i'll get more "free perks". me thinking whether to increase to 40 tables or not. then i get both ballroom 1 & 2.

Hi Girls!
Mine is in Ballroom 3 on the 29th Dec. I'm surprise Orchard hotel raised their price per table to 939nett! But I'm sure they are offering alot more perks

Hi Jac,
I'm more or less settled too. I even booked the AD phtogapher already. I'm one kiasu bride! heehee..

Hi Jo,
I'm liaising ith Boon Heng, the Banquest Sales Manager. He's quite a nice guy too.

To those brides who are still deciding, you may look for Boon Heng if you are interesting. He's quite ok with additional perks.

Anyone has this year 939 package? I just wanna take a look out of plain kaypoh-ness! :P

VK: saw the package at their website. Its almost the same package just that they added in free flow of beer and free usage of the projector. Not very worth to pay so much more for one table. But its expected, once GST is up, everything will go up except our pay. haha...

hi VK,
what additional perks did boon heng give you?

Hi jo,
i think the $939 nett is more worth it if the contract is post-dated to march, like miffy cos they have a wedding show in March and they give extra perks.

sunflower: in that case, shld be lor since there are additional perks. But i thought i m lucky to get the package done earlier on cos if it is $939 per table, i will hv exceeded my budget and wun take up OH.

Hi Sunflower,

I actually see him before the GST announcement went out so he actually give me a very good rate. It's only a very slight increase from the original price of 768+++. We actually decide on 25 to 28 tables. I think for those who are thinking of getting more perks, you have to secure 'earlier' before your actual day. Do a little homework, bring down the list of things that you want.

For the perks, because we are using UOB to pay, we get free flow beer and a free room for the helper. I also managed to get the free rental for the projector. However, I'm not using it since my AD photographer might be bringing his. But I was thinking more might be better in case there's sth wrong with the initial projector.

Hi VK,

i've also book my AD PG as well liao.. in fact i think i have booked everything tat i can already... hehe.. tok abt being kiasu... kekeke..

can i ask was it during a special promo that u booked for the UOB card free flow beer, etc? coz i am overseas when doing all this research, don't get a chance to take advantage of these perks/promos when they happen. boon heng did not mention to me at all either when i was making the booking.. if can i think free flow is better than the 1 barrel i've got now lor..

hi VK,
how about your flower arrangment for actual day?
any special arrangement? I would be meet up the florist one month b4 wedding dinner and disccus the detail.

Hi Jac,
Yes it was during sometimes last year when UOB had a promotion with Orchard hotel. If we choose to pay (all) with UOB, we will be entitled to a free room for the helper and free flow beer. I saw the new package and it doesn't seems to have that perk anymore. However, I think you can always ask Boon Heng about it. But when did you signed your contract?

A another random question, who did you book for ur AD photographer?

Hi Mandy,
I've not thought about my flower arrangement yet. I've yet to view their themes as well. You have any ideas on that? What flowers will you be using?

i finally signed up with OH
the new package...it actually includes complimentary photo montage & projector. I also got the perks that i want, so quite happy with it

I have not seen their new themes too.

sunflower: u mean they will do the montage for u too! That sound great! Hee... Congrats! Another OH bride here to chat!

When is ur AD? So u r liaising with Elleen too? Which BS are u tied to?

yah, they have a supplier who will do the montage for us. is included in their new package. maybe that explains why the price is higher. anyway, i got other perks which i am satisfied

yup, elleen is my coordinator. My AD is 21 Oct 07 and the BS i go to is My Bridal Room at bugis. This BS has many good comments in this forum.
How about you, Jo?

sunflower: we got the same coordinator, Elleen. My date is 17 Nov 07, BS is Bridal concept, just one street away from urs! Hee.. Ya heard many good comments of it. Which ballroom are u taking?

i m taking ballroom 1 & 2.
realise OH thread is much quieter as compare to others hor?!

Hv u gone for ur BS appt? urs is OTR or MTM? heard their gowns are really new and nice!

how many tables u have? mine is between 25 to 32, so have to take ballroom 3.
ya i also agree this thread is quite quiet. is it not many OH brides out there? :P
Jo - u come in here often? your replies always very fast...hehe
i only went down to the BS for my ROM dress fitting. my rom next friday
my package is either WG or EG MTM. i may go for MTM WG. u been to MBR? how u know their gowns nice? yours leh?

for ballroom 1 & 2, i need a minimum of 40 tables. Shld be ard 40tables bah.

ok la cos i set the email alert so whenever someone replied, i get to read it then will come in to reply lor.

i din go down before. I m in the Nov bride thread too and many of the nov brides took up MBR package and they had been talking abt it. hee..

I went down to BC for 1st appt last week. Quite a nos of nice WG but not EG. My package is both MTM. 2nd appt will be after CNY.

Congrats!! going to be MRS soon! r u excited??

Gotten ur lovenest?

oh, how did u set the email alert? i come in only a few times a day cos rather busy with work in office lor.
how much is yr BC package? how come yr appts so early?
thanks for the wishes
me normal feeling lah cos busy workload takes over the excitement...haha
not going to get new flat. moving into my fiance's current house. staying with his mum. he's only child. u leh?
i am knocking off soon. talk to u again on Monday.
have a great weekend!

sunflower: can set email alert at ur profile.

cos mine is MTM package bah thus got to make appt earlier to take measurement, choose fabric and design etc bah..
we are staying at sengkang now!

U too!

i negotiated for 2 bridal nites and a room for helpers. car park coupon 30%. shd be signing next sat. coordinator is elleen. i guess we squeezed a lot during the 1st appt. we will post date our package to march where they are holding the wedding show. more perks will be given like free bottle of wine per table, food tasting up to 10 person and can't remember liao.

Hi Jo23,

Just came back from my honeymoon.. and to update u on Orchard Hotel.. My wedding dinner was great! Everything really went smoothly.. no complains..Guess the only thing was that a bit messy at the reception area before wedding starts.. coz Ballroom 3 also got couple getting married...too many people!! But I was still enjoying myself upstair till 8.15pm. The bridal suite was really big and nice.. 2 bathrooms.. U will enjoy yourself too!!
453806.jpg

Morning!!

Miffy: wow 2 bridal nites, we nv think of that! left tat out! hpmm.. Hee.. U r good!
When is ur AD?

kristin: thks for the assurance! how is HM? Have fun?
the bridal suite look sooo nice!! 2 bathrooms somemore!

kristin: did u use their projector? previously elleen told me the projector is at the side, sort of like corner, can it be view clearly for all guests since it isnt at the centre?