Orchard Hotel

Hi Jo,

Oh ya,have forgotten abt the vouchers
Will ask cleo abt it again,she haven give or send them to me yet..Abt the function room,i remembered Cleo had said that we can use it for tea ceremony if we wan to, may be you can check with ur CO again regarding this issue..

hi vivian,

it's not too early to confirm ur BS 1 year in advance.. dun go BS shopping w/o recommendations or feedback on well-worth ones & those u need to steer clear of.. check with recently married frens or couples in the midst of preps, they shd be able to give u updated info

hi jo!

I'm new to this thread. Interested on Orchard as well. Btw,i thought Ballroom 3 is still available on 17 Nov 07? Can confirm?

Emily: no problem!

Joey: how r u? how is the preparation going on? Sorry, cant rem, have u signed with OH?

FFbear: ur wedding over? how is it? rem to feedback!

vivian: how is ur preparation going on??

have anyone gone for food tasting? I'm actually going for food tasting next wed... dun know how the food tasting will turn out.. Mine is a fixed menu..so a bit worried if certain dishes not so good and if we want to change the dish... We might need to top up more money.. Sigh!!

Hi Jo
Thanks for replying, haven login for a long time.
As it is, I was offered a nett package that does incur the GST hike in some ways. How about you?
Also, I dont find their menu appealing compared to other hotels. Like their fish, only can choose garoupa which comes in 3 different stlyes. Has anyone managed to change the menu without paying extra? Care to share? Thanks.

I have booked OH for my AD.

Heard that their food is really good as they use the top chef and his team from Hua Ting. My parents actually been there to eat a few times and they always rave about how good the food is.

Has anyone else book OH on the 29/09/07?

Jac: nice to know u gotten OH as ur dinner venue too! this thread seems to be rather quiet sometimes. hee.. my AD is 17/11/07, 2 mths after urs. Which ballroom did u book?

Hi Jo,

I got Ballroom 3. Coz me and FH residing overseas so not too many friends left in SG so mostly family and family friends attending.. Wat abt you?

Can I also ask which BS you are with?

Morning!

Jac: i m taking ballroom 1 & 2. I m with Bridal Concept which is located at liang seah st. How abt u?

Hi hi...

I still haven't look for a BS yet.. only coming back to SG this weekend for 2 weeks to prepare everything.. stress liao..

my FH cousin used Bridal Concept when they marry 2 yr ago.. were very happy with it too.. so maybe might go to them and have a look..

any tips when looking for one?

another one I'm thinking about is Sophia coz they seem to be extremely popular... any feedback?

gee.. I'm with OH too.. haven't come into this thread for quite some time.

My AD is coming in about 3 months 20something days time! Wonder when is the right time to view the wedding favours, etc? I rem my coordinator reminding me abt this 3-2-1 month to AD thingy. She said just follow it.. but I forgot 3 months to AD, what must we do etc. Hehehe..

Anyone just had their wedding? Or food tasting? How's OH's food? Still good? Very afraid their standard would drop.

hi muffin ! im also with OH. AD in june next year. My coordinator also told me to take the 3-2-1 mth as a guide..

If im not wrong,
3 mths before AD - collect invites
2 mths - food tasting
1 mth - confirm details (no of tabs, theme, favours etc)

I had my company D&D at OH and only heard negative and "so-so" comments on the food from my colleagues.

Hi chere,
collect invites meaning the invitation cards from OH? Oops.. I haven't even drawn up my guest list. Guess I gotta start doing!

How did you personally find the food? What were the major negative comments about the food btw? I hope it's going to be different! Anyway, your company D&D should be different package from ours right? Or same menu?!?! Heh...

Hi ladies!

Mine is next yr Nov07.

My friend had her D&D at OH too. Her comments was not bad for the food. My colleague been there for wedding dinner, commented food not bad too. I was told that D&D menu is different from Wedding menu. basically the price is diff and so is the quality of the food. Shld be ok bah?!

hey ladies..

I was re-assured by my coordinator that the food quality would be like Hua Ting standard leh.. i personally have never eaten there b4 but have heard good reviews from others.. fingers crossed should be ok lor.. hiaz..

Hi muffin,
Yes im refering to the invitation cards from OH. Cos the printing is not included so we need to collect and send them for printing ourselves.

I think the food is ok, and yup the menu is different from typical wedding dinner's. And maybe there were too many tables, the service aint prompt.

hi chere,
ok..so for the printing, normally takes how long? now both hubby and I starting to get busy.. so scared we'll forget abt wedding stuff and miss datelines!

okok.. let's see if anyone else has tried their wedding menu and hope for good comments!

hi muffin, im not too sure how long the printing will take. Maybe gotta check with the printers u wanna engage..

my preparations have come to a standstill for the time being. Most prob will be busy after CNY. Happy planning ~

To all Orchard brides: Happy New Year 2007 !

hey ladies..

i'm meeting my coordinator within the next week... any suggestions to wat i should clarify/confirm/ask them?

Morning!!

Jac: perhap U like to ask abt the GST cos OH signed on prevailing GST and gov had raised the issue on raising the GST to 7%.

Morning!

Muffin: hope so for u. But I tink most likely it will start in the new fiancial yr. perhap U like to ask ur coordinator abt it and ask if possible to calculate as e old GST just in case?

Hi Jac, this thread is rather quiet hor.. Ever since I signed the contract, nv hear from OH liao. Maybe got to wait till nearer to my AD bah. How things goes for u?

hi jo,
how much is your package? OH recently has a new package. they raised the price to $939 per table and Elleen told me the new package is more comprehensive. i will be meeting her this week to discuss this new package.
any comments on their food?

sunflower: oh really? U got info of the package? but $939 per table is ex! tat is after all the +++? I had yet to taste on their food but friends who either been there for wedding or company function commented their food not bad, after all they are use HUA TING as their reputation.

yah,i agree the new price is quite ex. I got the new package details. i heard they have a wedding show coming up in March and there will be additional perks, like one bottle of wine per table, etc.
i never hear about Hua Ting restaurant before, so i am very concerned about their food standard on actual day.
Jo, when u going for food tasting? any idea how's their service like?

sunflower: manage to saw the package at their website. Its include free flow of beer which we dun hv, we only gotten a barrel. Other than that, e rest r abt the same. Ya, usually during wedding show, more perks will be given.

Its an award winning resturant, food suppose to be good. still a long time till my food tasting as my AD is in nov07. perhap other OH brides can advise?

Jo : Theirs are fixed ones, not those portable types.

It reads: "State-of-the-art photo montage with complimentary use of one set LCD projector"

The contract i signed mentioned that i need to pay additional rental charges if i want to use their projector.

How about yours? Is it included?

my contract nv state abt the projector. I did ask elleen before, she mentioned that she can lend me the build in projector if i really i cant get it outside. Who is ur coordinator?

My coordinator is Yoke Mei. THe other time i asked her she said there will be additional rental charges, i tried to negotiate with her but she was kinda firm then. Maybe i should ask her again when we meet up to discuss the details.

Actually im not even sure if i'll be projecting anything that day . haha

chere: haha.. me too! not sure if i will be using it anyway but just ask just in case i do. Btw, any idea how much the additional rental charge is? if not i find one online which charges are rather ok to me. Can keep it as a reference just in case last min need it.

PMed u!

Hi Jo,

Yeah.. this thread has been quiet for awhile now.. things are going great.. juz came back to Melb tis morning oni.. managed to arrange my food tasting in Jun already then will prob be settling all the other bits n pieces then as well...

WOW.. the new price is really ex leh... eventhough wif free flow of beer.. doesn't justify the hike.. then the GST oso.. whew.. lucky i decided earlier liao.. hehe..

if i'm not mistaken, i got the projecter listed in my contract coz that was one of my priority... dun think i'm paying fot it though... can't really remember liao coz i neg too far back..

Hua Ting is a good resturant to go to if u want authentic canto food.. persobally i've never eaten there b4 but my parents really like the food there.. even my cousin who's living in HKG will go there and eat everytime she's back in SG..

hope this helps...

jac: so nice! went there for business trip or holiday?! so envy! hee..

Mine was not written on the contract but was agree verbally by Elleen that in the event i need, she will let me use it. Hope she doesnt go back her words. was tinking since i had taken the ballroom, why not just lend to us, right?

jac, that sound like a very strong assurance for the food! hee.. Thks!