Orchard Hotel

hi jo,

u're welcome.. Hope u can get a good deal, esp since u've got a fair bit of tables

hi joey,

yupz, 17th floor.. The claymore suite. I dun have much pix of the bridal suite.. so sorry

I am new to this thread but just want to share my thoughts. =)

Went to Orchard Hotel, met with Elleen on Tues. She was very sweet and accommodating, but not quite a decision maker as almost half the items we tried to bargain for she had to ask her boss. But I agree with you gals that she responses as promised and bring good news too. Now I am in a dilemma between Orchard Hotel and GCW.

I was told by 3 friends in the same day that the food at Orchard Hotel was quite known to be not-that-good leh. Now I am very afraid because it seems to be a perception with people out there. But I feel that the package, location and services provided by the hotel is better than average...

Any advice for me, gals?

Hi Lilo, I got great concern abt the food also. When I told Elleen abt it, She said, food is a very subjective topic, what may seems nice to u, might not be seems nice to me. Since they put up the name of HUA TING, the standard is there cos they have a reputation to hold.
When I heard it, I thought its sound quite logical to me. I got friends who attended wedding at GCW commented their food was not nice, very salty etc while i got quite a couple of friends who attended wedding there and their company D&D said their food is nice, not bad. So i tink really up to individual bah.
I am taking OH and i will still be stressing to Elleen the impt of the food till my wedding day. Hee..

Hi Jo:
We will also be paying through UOB also.My date is supposedly to be early Nov.. How abt u? But might change again. No definite date right now? U leh? When? And choosing red wines items, U choosing which items? But worry that beers will not be enough as only 1 barrel only. Which one are u choosing?
GCW food is good. I like their ballroom also. Very big and vey grand. Compare to OH. But slightly more x than OH.
Hey gals: Check with u. OH staff turnover rate quite high right? I think their COs are all quite new. And not very quite generous in giving more perks. What u think gals? Any comments? Hi: Jo, U ask for how many nights stay?

Hi Lilo:

What items did u ask your CO? I ask my CO, but she didn't come back with good answer. Quite disappointing.... Maybe need your advise what questions u ask her.....

Thank U

Hi Jo:
Will be using UOB also. Getting red wines per table. But worry that 1 barrel of beer is not enough... Which items are u choosing red wines or beer (How many barrel?) How many night stay OH give u? My AD is at early Nov. Exact day not fix yet. When i know the right date, i will think u. how abt u? Which date?
Hi Lilo:
compare OH & GCW, GCW is not bad. Their ballroom is big. Very nice and grand. the food is nice and fresh seafoods also. But price is slightly highly than OH.
Hi Lilo:
Check with u. What questions u ask your Coordinate? That they really reply u back and with good answer. I ask my coordinate questions also, but the answer given is not positive leh. sad...... Might need your advise what questions to ask them....

Hi Jo:
Glad to know that u had decide on OH, my bf and i are still deciding...... Cannot make up our decision. thinking that OH don't really give good perks..... What u think..... Right or wrong???? How many night stay are u given?

Haiz..........

My date is 17th. Wanted to have it at GCW in the first place. Their grand ballroom is really nice, no doubt of it. However, my date was taken so no choice got to take on other alternative. Beside that GCW's package is more ex and also the food tasting doesnt come free.

Was impressed by OH ballroom when i went down to visit it and the date is still available so i tentatively booked it.

We hv not consider if one barrel of beer is enough or not but we are forseening more ppl will go for red wine as compare to beer. The most beer not enough, ppl will drink red wine bah. We will be getting more red wine on top of the complimentary bottle per table.

I will say that the package OH is offering is normal, not very good nor its bad. Whatever thing U have in mind maybe can just try ur luck to ask for it. However from experience of reading from the past threads, seems like they are quite strict regarding perks. We arent really keen abt 2 nite stays. One will be enough for us. If we manage to hit 45 tables, we will get another nite stay.

hi joey,

i managed to scour thru OH's webbie.. Here're 2 pix to the claymore suite. the first being the BR area, and the 2nd being the living & dining area
420015.jpg
420016.jpg

long time no come in here liao.. kekeke
hi, mehmeh,
thanks for the pic.. tell u somethg.. since I signed with OH more than 1yr ago, visited them several times, stil no chance to see the suite.. can u believe it? always occupied.. kekeke.. but I ll stil rem to eat the fruit cake.. hahaha..
hi, Wendy (ah wai),
sorry for the late response. hoped u hv enjoyed ur PS with SWC..
Hi, Joey, Jo
I hv actuali signed during last yr's UOB promo, so I opted for the 1 house wine per table perk.. besides tat, the other thgs r the extra nite stay (i.e. stay 2 nites) etc. juz like wat the others hv asked for..
Joey, btw, wat other perks r u looking @ tat OH has rejected? is it somethg tat other hotels r giving too?
anyway, juz to share, I hv went to my food tasting.. before tat, fr my earlier posts, u ll recall tat I hv 2 frens who went for the same wedding dinner @ OH on the same day.. 1 commented food very good, the other one said very bad.. then, got another fren oso went OH on another day, she commented food ok..
in a nutshell, food is reali very subjective.. but back to my food tasting, both side parents (very high food std ones) r ok with the food served.. the oni issues tat we hv abt the food is mainly abt the presentation of the food, the sauces etc.. & yes, the fish taste ok.. no fishy smell.. hahahhaa.. of cos, towards my AD which is in less than 1mths time, I ll keep repeating & emphaising on the food std to my CO.. til it gets drilled down.. kekeke..

hi ffbear!! long time nv hear fr u!!

Ya, got to keep stressing abt the food standard till ur big day. Tink that is the only way to keep the standard.

hi ffbear,

heheh.. so poor thing! *sayang* Hmm, usually when there's the roadshow, it's possible tt the suite wld be available, coz no couple getting married tt day yah? but with the combined roadshow (generally at GCW), wld be troublesome to make another trip to peek at the suite.

nvm, take it as a great surprise on ur AD! I didn't eat the fruit cake, find the marzipan too sweet.. heehee! U're free to consume the soft drinks in the fridges.. can't recall abt the beers though

hi jo,

Welcome

hi gals ,

sorry for MIA ( missin In Action ) for a while..... outstation for work project !while I m away, OH CO had been tring to contact me for follow up after the MCIL roadshow in Sept, very impressed leh... I hav not signe dup with OH but they r one of the shortlisted.

Talking about food, my hubby to- be attended one of the friend wedding last week in the bigger ballroom for 50 tables, his comments was " Yummy "... now my parent & IL side had given " Green Light "

Hi Lilo;
I hope this will give U confidents and bring up the OH score in " Food "... he.. he... he

Hi Joey;

Ur Wd is on wkday ? how many night suite room stay u ask 4 ? Heard fr some fren and also my survey, like mehmeh mentioned, most hotel only gave 1 night stay suite unless special promo perk during roadshow or bridal show........ any particular reason U need more than 1 nite suite ??? U can discuss with ur CO, may be suggest to exchange some of the perks with the suite stay, sweet talk w ur CO . BTW, who is ur CO ?? and when is ur WD ???

I also asked my Co about the new theme, my Co said they had done the 1st round of mock up, now fine tune time and should be able to share before end of Nov 06.... and my CO said, they R very NICE leh....total 3 brand new them, me so excited liao !!!!!

Sorry was missing for a few days due to work, sometimes I wonder at the rate I am working, can I ever marry in peace.... ??

Hi Joey, I asked her about using the cafe at the main floor for my solemnisation as I didnt like the Ballroom and Pool. Quite cramp. I also asked for exchange of some items as i didnt want the hotel's wedding favours and invitation cards. My designer friend will be helping me to do these, so was trying to see what else I can bargain for.

Anyway, Jo, Joey and Alya, my FH and I have decided to go for GCW and have fixed the date to be in June, although the date that we really want only OH has. Not sure how we are going to organise a wedding in 8 months man.. We are going to have about 40 tables so there is still some room for negotiations I guess.. =)

Wish me luck cos I am going to quickly choose my BS too! Any recommendations, gals??

Lilo, congrats! Hee.. GSW is a great venue with very nice surrounding. Its will be great. For BS, U can try Bridal Concept at liang seah street! Heard that a new BS named My Bridal room got great comments too!

Hi gals:

Thank for all your advise. I will discuss with my bf to see how. Maybe i asking too much from them..... But greatly concern now is the beer issue.... Hi Mehmeh: Thank for your photos. It very nice ...

Hi Lilo:

For BS, i using sophia wedding collection. u can try too, service that bad. Not much info yet, becos i not yet being to any fitting...

Hi Jo/ratu:
Have u sign your package already? I will be going down this wkend to discuss the details with my co again. Hopefully, it will turn out well.

Hi Joey, i hvnt sign the package. wanted to go down to meet the co but she is on leave so got to arrange again. Who is ur co?

ffbear: how is everything?

Need to check, did anyone of u gotten complimentary use of the projector? i read from ffbear earlier post, she mentioned abt built in projector but i rem I heard from Elleen that we got to bring our own if we need. possible to get complimentary from OH?

Hi, Joey,
my AD is end of tis mth.. can see the sweat rolling down my forehead anot? kekekeke..
Hi, Jo,
stil crawling thru the preps.. hahaa..
no no.. I meant built in projector screen.. but perhaps the new projector oso built in? tat I m not too sure..
I hv tried to get complimentary use of the projector, but wasnt successful.. so I m gg to rent fr outside.. u gals try & see if OH can b so nice to rent it free for ur.. good luck..

Morning!
ffbear: ok noted. Will try to get from Elleen if not then may need ur contact to rent fr outside. How much did u pay for the rental? As e day get nearer, r u excited abt it??

Hi Jo/ffbear:

I haven't ask them on the projector thing yet. I think going to ask this week. I meeting my CO for the third time. Hey gals: Check with u, normally how many times of meeting with CO then u sign package with them...
I still stress on the beer issue. ffear: Yours is how many barrel of beers or free flow of beer. I don't know which one to choose. Can advise me? Thank. Mine is on the weekday, not sure if the consumption of beer will be high....

Hi Jo:

Understand that u are going to sign your package. The price that u sign are based on Nett Price or what?? I ask my CO, she say Nett price can only be refer to service tax only, GST is not. If next year GST increase, price also increase. Your package price is it the same???

ffbear:
Who is your CO?
How many night stay u given? How much is your package? Your is a wkday or wkend?

Thank for your link to here.

Hehe....

Joey: nv ask her abt that leh.. oh ya hor.. going to call her later. thks for the reminder! will ask her abt it. i only meet her once, the rest of the time all via phone.

joey try this calculation to work out which one is more economics. My CO told me one barrel of 30litres beer cost $680+++ which is = to 90 glasses. How many tables u have? let say we put as 1.5 bottles to a table and u r getting red wine from them, do the calculation of how many bottles u need x the price of per bottle. From there see if u get the 1 for 1 red wine + order of beer is cheaper or via versa. Can get me?

Morning!

Had asked Elleen abt the GST stuff. She said is according to prevailing GST as in in the package, contract sign will not be nett.

Hi Jo:

Very chiam. Don't understand. I try to count. hehe.....
OH, don't sign on NETT price. Other hotels do leh. Hope next year GST don't go up.

Hi Jo:

My estimated table might be 40 tables. Have u sign for package? I will be going down to see sheraton package this wkend, they are having wedding show.
still cannot settle banquent issue. Need to look at more hotels to make the choices.

Hi joey, mine is ard 40 tables too. Ur date is not hot? then u got many choice. Not like me, i dun understand why is the date so hot that many places are taken up. I am going down to meet elleen tmr.
Just my opinion, i had been to sheraton for wedding dinner just a mth ago. Service is bad, food is so so only. For the price, i dun tink its worth that.

I'm new to this site,my AD is on the 17th Nov 07,have booked my venue at orchard hotel,taking up the promo & have paid the deposit.Anyone noes whether the service of the waitress/waiter gd ant during the dinner?coz have heard some negative comments in this point.

viv, we got the same AD! hee.. which ballroom are u using? I will be going down tonight to sign the contract if everything goes alright.
Oh ya, ytd, PM lee mentioned abt GST going up to 7% so that mean next yr, our GST amt will be 7% right since theirs is prevailing GST? sian..

Nv heard abt the waiter/waiteress comments. My friends who attended wedding there mentioned over all is good leh.

Hi, i just joined today...
Am considering OH as well, but not sure about the GST increment. Is it confirmed that it will be 7% for OH package even if we signed this year?

Also, can share what are the perks you guys got? I liaise with Elleen, didnt find her that accomodating on the perks, most of my requests got rejected...

hi, all,
long time no chat liao..
hi, Joey,
I hv not collected all my stuff fr Sophia yet.. & m trying to upload the pics asap.. whn I m done, probably after my wedding, I ll share with u, k?
I hv signed up with OH during their UOB promo last yr & during their bridal show.. so I do hv some additional perks, like 2 barrels of beer, 2 nites stay.. my AD is a weekend.. less then 2 weeks' time...
hi, Jo,
were u successful to rent the projector fr OH FOC? if need to, can get the outside contact fr me.. but I ll not share the contact with u, til I m sure tat they can deliver on my AD, which is real soon.. is tat fine with u?
hi, mehmeh,
seldom see u ard liao.. me gg to join ur soon as ex-OH brides.. hahahah..

Hi Jo,
ur AD oso on the 17th Nov?So coincidence;)..me using ballroom 3 coz my tables ard 30.So hw's your contract?Have u settled successfully?who's ur Co?Nt confident in their waitress/waiters coz heard feedback from my colleague that she attended a wedding dinner on the mid of Oct tis yr & she comment that the fish not fully cooked & the waitress like clumsy like tat.These comments made me like "huh..." Bt i believe different ppl encounter different situation,like ur fren said overall is gd..Hope my dinner wont have so many problems..

Have any1 seen their wedding favours,invitation cards,etc?coz my co said that they will totally change & contact me once ready..But still no news yet..

TP_bride: u can try to call and ask them and see how to go back the GST thingy.

ffbear, no problem!! She said if i really cant get projector outside, she can let me use their built in projector but it situtated at a corner, hard to focus on the screen. So meanwhile I will try to get one outside if possible.

Viv: So u are the one! My CO told me ballroom 3 had been booked and confirmed when i went down on tuesday to place my deposit. Hee.. My CO is Elleen, how abt urs? Think can stress to ur CO abt the service problem u had, i stressed repeatly to her regarding the food standard and the service and I tink i will continue to stress on it till my big day is over! haha...

I had not seen their wedding favours or cards but i heard that they just renewed contract with the contractors thus will have lots of new things coming up.

hi ffbear,

had been bz & so glad tt the OH thread is coming alive!! heehee
Anyway ah, time to 'retire' oredi, coz ur experience wld be the most updated *winks*

hi vivian,

sometimes can't really control the quality of waiters/waitresses, coz for most hotels they engage part-timers.. but u can really HIGHLIGHT (hahah, ie. to nag) to your CO tt u're taking the service issue seriously.. and u're not going to be very happy shd u hear some displeasure amongst ur guests.. Guess tt wld make ur CO more cautious too

Hi Jo,

Hehe..so i can go over to your side & say congratulations to you,so convenient..haha..My Co is Cleo,quite a nice lady..i called her up ytd & asked regarding the wedding favours,she said should be ready by this year end or begining of nxt year bt i forgot to highlight abt the service issue to her,will feedback to her once i meet for the wedding favours..

Hi mehmeh,

Have oradi told her when i signed my contract,guess have to *remind* my CO again & again..
Thanks anyway for your advice..

By the way,i have not choose any bridal shops yet bt would like to know from now is it too early to confirm a bridal shop? coz my AD is 1 year later..Have bridal shops that i like in mind bt have not visited yet..

Hi vivian, ya lor. next yr when we saw each other, we will know who liao!
Oh heard Cleo is more experience. Mine is Elleen, so far she had been ok. Will nag her again abt the food standard and service. hee.. oh ya, did cleo pass u all those vouchers stated on the package and tell u regarding the function room? Cos seems like i din get it and also dunno if the contract talk abt the function room or not. got to go back n see.

I had gotten my BS, its bridal concept at bugis. Since now hotel issue is settled, U can pop down to visit ur shortlisted BS and plan on.

Mehmeh, nice to see u here!