Orchard Hotel

hi jo,

hahah.. if u notice, most of the hotels of the Millenium Copthorne group aren't tt convenient. M hotel is a slight distance fr Tjg Pgr, Grand Copthorne is not near any MRT station, so is Copthorne King and Copthorne Orchid. Hahah, and u also can see the similarity to tt of OH.. U can pose a question to Eileen, hahah, and see how she wld responsd

I think colours are quite in too.. Some 1-2 mths back, in Urban of ST, they featured more & more designers gearing twd coloured gowns

mehmeh: in fact i tink orchard hotel is the most convenient one as compare to its sister hotels. Haha.. just that their reaction abit werid lor, ask me where is it, i told them Orchard hotel in Orchard la.. Hahaha... Ya, i will rem this question and pop it to Eileen.

Ya. saw that. I actually missed that issue but HB's aunt kept it for me and just passed to me recently!

Hi Jo,
Hubby and I personally feel she isn't as experienced as Siew Li (my previous coordinator) who gave us lotsa confidence in handling things. But probably, Eileen will start gaining some experiences now and by the time it comes to ours, it'll be fine!

hi muffin,

i rem ur wedding being in Apr (correct me if i'm wrong) in 07.. So fr now being the 8th lunar mth till year end where there usually are plenty of weddings, I also hope Eileen wld get more experienced along the way

hi Jo,

heheh.. U can teasingly ask them to find out and judge for themselves.. hee!
Wow, ur HB's aunt is also feeling the excitement for u! Way to go~

hi mehmeh,
wow u're got good memory. Yes, my wedding will be in April so I really hope Eileen gains the necessary experience!

hi, all,
me back.. kekeke.. muz continue to keep tis thread moving..
hi, Jo,
how's the viewing of the ballroom? pillarless, high ceiling... to ur likings?
hi, mehmeh,
yup.. my cards juz got printed. sitting @ Tdragon, waitin for us to collect, this couple of days.. hahhaha..
Hi, Jo,
ur AD next Nov, mine is this Nov.. haha.. toking abt location.. tink my encounter is the most comical.. I once called a wedding vendor, cant rem. wht it was MUA or bridal car or dunno wat.. I said my banquet @ Orchard Hotel.. they asked me which one? i.e. they tot I mean a hotel in Orchard.. I almost cried.. I told colleagues, they oso shake head, say dunno.. so I resort to tis.. for the older generation, I said Hua Ting.. if they dont know, I dont get upset, I juz say in my heart, "suakoo (mountain tortoise), never try such good food before".. opps! did I offend anyone? hahaha.. my way of distress fr the wedding preps.. then for youngsters, I said the besides forum, there is a hotel, called Orchard Parade hotel, where Devil's bar or Man-U is. then opp. is OH.. if they dont know, I would like "hey, u not happening one.." opps! there I go again.. hahahha..
p.s.: how come everyong seems to get Elleen? is she the oni one left?

Hi all, went to view the ballroom last fri. Its was nice!! I love it! Met Elleen too. My friend who went with me said she isnt very flexible, everything also cannot, need to check etc. Heard there is another coordinator name Cleo and she is better, I am thinking since i hvnt sign, can i change to her instead?

actually I am ok with the location, not of central of orchard, wun get jam that easily, love the ballroom, big, high ceilings, pillarless but only thing i dun really like the L march in however that is a small concern. My big issue now is to convince my PIL tat the food is nice! My friend had her company D&D there, say its nice!, her bf attended wedding there said its nice too but they just dun accept it. Even suggest to eat at Hua Ting to try out BUT BUT.. U cant compare fine dining food with banquet food right? even Elleen say so.

Once i am able to convince them, i will be able to sign on and officially become Orchard Hotel's bride!

hullo to all!

hi mehmeh!! long time so see...u so still active here! dats great!!

hi jo, my coordinator is Cleo...so far my experience with her is quite good

hi chere, i b holding my AD in Jul'07!

i really really love the ballroom....esp after they renovate it! high ceiling....pillarless wif chandelier!!! main reason y i chose OH

actually im ok wif the location
tink on the bright side.....ur guests dun haf to go thru the orchard jam to get to the hotel, can even save on the ERP
its really abit far if they r walking from the MRT station

whenever i mention Orchard Hotel, my frends would go "eee...the orchard towers there?!?" so sad
some would say "orchard parade hotel??"
normally i will tell them its opp Forum or near Devil's Bar or say near Delfi

food wise...i tink the standard is quite good...i haf attended wedding dinner at OH b4...food wise really no complaints....my parents even say the food at OH better than Pan Pacific n Meritus Mandarin....cos parents r v particular bout food....so OH has passed the test!

oh yah...missed out something
their new menu is good...flexible kind...not a fixed menu anymore
means if u wan a fish dish...they will haf a few kinds of fish wif different cooking methods for u to choose from
so its something like ala carte but u muz choose within those available

Hi all bride to be for Orchard Hotel. Recently I attended the MCIL Bridal Show on 24 sept 2006. YES, the orchard Hotel new a-la-carte menu for wedding is very interesting and flexible. Based on your packages signed, you can select your own 8 ot 9 course set menu from this a-la-carte menu. The newly renovated Ballroom, look very bright, with the pillarless feature make the ballroom look more grand and elegant. I met with Elleen for my inquiries, I found she is friendly and has Passion for wedding planning. No doubt she didnt project the high confident level but never mind, as long as she showed high interest and patiently gone through the packages with us. She take note on our questions and additional requests.To some of the requests, her answer is " YES " but those that she cannot make decision, she promised to get back as soon. Indeed she called us back 20 mins later while we are still wondering around at show area and the " makan " place. I was impressed with her and I am getting my wedding Auspicious date this weekend and 99% I will confimred my Wedding Dinner with Elleen.Even after the Birdal show, Ellen had been in touch with me, chasing me for my selected auspicious date.I am convinced that Ellen can be an Excellence Wedidng coordinator ! Cheers

hi ffbear,

oooh, things shd be picking up & u can start counting down to the big day

hi jo,

do hope u get ur green light soon
Then can heave a sigh of relief

hi tingting,

heheh, i think ur positive experience at the wedding dinner wld set ur heart at ease & u can use tt experience to inform ur coordinator to follow tt benchmark
heheh

Yupz, i also agree the chef is very flexible.. So long it's the same kind of food, the way it is done is up to ur preference

mehmeh: Haha.. now i really hope there will be a wedding coming up soon for my IL to attend and let them be impressed by OH's food!

Alya: ya their ballroom is really nice!! Elleen showed us the themes available, they are very nice too! She was saying they are now arranging with suppliers come up with new theme for next yr.

One questions: i m now liaising with Elleen so does that mean that if i signed with her, she will be my coordinator?

hi ffbear, all the best to your wedding !

hi Jo, is there any other hotel/restaurant your in-laws have in mind? Maybe you can make a comparison against Orchard Hotel and highlight all the good points of OH?

hi tingting
we can discuss our AD preps next year when the date draws near.. hmm seems fun ..

When i signed up with Orchard, my dinner menu is fixed.. Wonder if they will allow me to choose the dishes like you gals...

My coordinator is Yoke Mei.. seems like no one liase with her? Did not contact her after i signed up, hope she's still with OH.

chere: they only consider GCW, sister hotel of orchard hotel. Nvm, gals here had really boost my confidence abt OH. Build my confidence up to convince them too!

Hi Jo, poor u, I can understand what you went thru with PIL on the wedding venue........ But you can always request Elleen to arrange for U & PIL to have a meeting with their Master Chef whom was the Award Winning Chef. Let Ur PIL share thier concern with the Master Chef and let the Chef speak on his food. I am sure Ur PIl will be convinced after getting the assurance from the Master chef.... Good Luck !
Ur Q on your wedding coordinator, I believed since U have been in taking with Elleen, she should be your Wedding Coordinator. And i m sure after you break the eyes with her, everything will be fine. Take it Easy ya......

ya, elleen had arranged to hv a food tasting of the banquet dinner at a discount rate before we signed the package. Now only see if my IL wan to go for that or not. hee..

Thks ladies!

I will be getting the wedding cards to print in a week's time... but i'm trying to ask for more cards (instead of 70%).. i can't remember whether it is 70% of the guaranteed or expected guests.. My CO told me if i wanna get more, they will charge accordingly.. but we will need extras just incase we write wrongly ma..

Can now, it seems that my guests list has increased.. so do you think i will be able to get more cards without additional charges?

Please advise. Thanks!

hi jo,

wow, get to try the banquet menu eh? Tt's a gd way to convince ppl to sign up yah? Hope ur ILs wld be accommodating

hi wendy,

I think 70% is usually the max they go to.. But if it's like an odd no., say 233.. Maybe u can request to have 240? Generally they are sticky in giving more coz they assume tt guests for the banquet come in pairs or families.. But some couples do have the singles making up the majority of the guests

Hope sthg can work out for u

hi chere,

yeah yeah...we will lotsa to discuss when the date draws nearer!!
i tink urs will also be the ala-carte menu irregardless of when u sign up...its more of when u having the dinner
Cleo mentioned that this ala-carte menu applies to all dinners for next year i tink =)

hi, mehmeh, chere,
thanks for the well-wishes.. indeed, m counting down to my AD, cos I stil hv soo much thgs left undone.. **faint**
hi, Wendy,
the cards work tis way.. @ 1st, my CO say ll give 70% of the tables guaranteed. I was like "huh? I m sure my tables ll exceed tat." so I asked if I can take the max tables * 70%. she said can, but if any tables tat remain not used, she ll charge me for the cards given for those tables.. so, in the end, I took a number close to the maxi, then sweet tok my CO abit, saying tat I hv invited alot of colleagues, which means 1 card per person.. ultimately, if ur CO can b more generous in her perks, she ll sign the request for u.. @ least for mine, I managed to get away with it.. good luck.. btw, u r a SWC bride rite? tot I remembered vaguely..

Hi gals, discussed with HB's Mum ytd. she seems quite ok after viewing the menu from OH. Just ask if possible to change some of e items in the 1st dish. Other than tat, i might be able to confirm the hotel without the need of food tasting!

Anyone know if we can alter the items in the first dish?

morning gals!

ffbear: good to hear that. Hee.. had approval from them ytd. Not trying the dishes out, they had give in to us, saying after all its our wedding. Since we are ok, we shall go ahead with it!

Now, need to get wavier for wine corkage. Anyone here got it? I had checked with Elleen before, she say no.

hi, Jo,
tats reali great to hear tat.. along the process of wedding preps, I m dying to hear my PIL or parents say those magic words, "it's ur wedding, up to ur.." hahhahaha...
re. the wine thg, if I dont remember wrongly, some of the ex-brides here managed to get somethg.. perhaps not full waiver.. might wan to wait for their response..

ya, ffbear, its really a magic sentence! Haha..

How abt ur case? any wavier? if not how much are u being charge?

Hi ffbear,

Hopefully my CO is ok with that too.. yes, you are rite.. i'm the SWC bride too.. gonna have my PS end of this month.. still can't think of where to go for outdoor shoot.. any recommendation?

Btw, who is your CO for your wedding banquet?

hi ffbear...

heheh, it's like tt.. Alot of loose ends can only be tied up much nearer the big day. Down to the sitting arrangement, just before the banquet, u/ hb or ur fren/relative IC of the banquet wld be sorting out last minute changes.. Most importantly, *breathe*

hi Wendy,

No probs

This thread seems too be rather quiet lately..

Any ex bride of OH can advise if serving of food is applicable at OH? Can we request to do without and let the guest eat on their own and just change the dish for every dish? Realise that most ppl of parents generation doesnt like such arrangement, they prefer to eat at their own pace. Anyone can advise?

Hi Jo/Mehmeh/ffbear:

I'm new in this line. Who are your corrdinator?
Have u sign up package with OH? What extra perks can we ask for?
Pls advise....
Thank You

HI JOEY! I hvnt signed up with them but confirmed liao. Just wait to see when my HB can make it so that we can make a trip down. the person i am liaising with is Elleen. How abt u?

Hi Jo/MehMeh/ffbear:

Hi all:

I'm new in this forum. Cannot anyone advise me who are your corrdinator? Are they good in their services?
Jo: Have u sigh a package with OH already? Your AD is nov 07 right?
Jo/MehMEh/ffbear: Wat extra perks can we requested from them. Can advise me?

Ya..... By the way does anybody one know what is the price for wkday? Fixed price?

Thank in advance for your advise.

Hi Jo:

What u mean by confirm liao? U pay any deposit?
When is your AD? Is it a wkend or wkday? I liaise with Cleo before. But not sure if she is good. hehe.... Any feedback from her? i still in a blur blur state... don't know what to proceed next....
What perks can we ask from them?

Thank You

hi Joey:

I cant rem the price for weekday but confirm not fixed price, its come with 3 +. Mine is a weekend package, $768+++, coming up to ard $890. I had confirmed with Elleen that I am taking up the package, asked her to block out the date for me. Need to go down to discuss details with her before signing on to anything and paying the deposit. According to comments here, Cleo is more experience than Elleen and supposingly better.
Can ask for extra nite stay, extra room for helpers, increase nos of complimentary parking, cards, waiver of wine corkage bah..

anyone here got waiver for wine corkage or a certain percentage of it??

hi joey,

both my coordinators have left OH.. can't help u with tt. But i have liaised with Cleo for my fren, she's quite frenly.. Can't tell if she's gd anot

Generally increase % for cards & carpark..
Try to also get extra night's stay at suite.
Try to get a helpers' room for day-use, otherwise the suite is def more than enough for everyone (it's quite big)
Waiver of wine corkage is quite diff, esp if u're having only 30-35 tables. u can ask for reduced price for corkage?

rule of the thumb, the more tables u're going to have, the more bargaining power u have.

can also check when they wld next have their roadshow with the rest of the hotels in the Millenium Grp.. More freebies/better package wld be available then

mehmeh: did u manage to get waiver for wine corkage or just reduce price os certain percentage? I shld be neg with Elleen for this issue before signing up with her.

abt the serving question i posted earlier on, do u hv any idea?

hi jo,

sorry, missed tt earlier question
hmm, only for the VIP do the waitresses serve individually. Other than tt, the rest of the tables help themselves.. Partially coz OH doesn't offer 1 waiter/waitress to a table.. But things might have changed? U might want to check with Elleen

Nah, no waiver of wine corkage.. for the wine i brought in, i paid corkage only for 17 bottles (or half the no. of tables i had). The rest i bought their house wine, after trying 1 bottle.. Not too bad

mehmeh: thks! Tat is good cos seems like feedback, most like to help themselves. Perhaps they feel more relax, able to chat better this way. Nevertheless, will check with Elleen.

Oh ok.. if cant get the waiver for wine corkage then getting wine from them will be a better choice then.

Hi Jo/Meh Meh:

Thank for your advise. Most of us given 2 night stay at suite. Right?? or 3 nights stay?? I think it better to get wine from them. I think they charge $17+++ for corkage charge. Meh Meh: Which house wine u buy from them at how much?
Deposit is 5K right? I'm being told that next year, they are going to change their theme....
Something new to look forward to......

hi Jo,

Welcome
Less uncomfy with a 'stranger' in ur midst serving food.. Rather they concentrate in gettign the drinks/special orders fast & right yah?

u may want to try their housewines.. there are several of them, we got the cheapest to get a gauge of it's quality before deciding on it

hi Joey,

Welcome.. Usually it's 1 night, same goes for other hotels. Unless there's a promo for the roadshow, then wld there be 2 nights stay.. I think 2 is more than enough oredi, IMHO k?

Dun really rem the name of the housewine, was the cheapest on the list back then.. Heard deposit is now $5k. When i secured my date, i paid only $3k.. If u can take pix of the new theme, can take & update the rest of the BTBs here

Morning!
Mehmeh: ya! think will be more comfortable abt it!

That shall be the alternative if we cant get waiver of wine corkage at all. will take note of it. Thks!

Joey: heard abt the new themes too but seems like will only be out next yr rite?

Hi MehMeh/Jo:

The new theme will be out next year. No idea what is the theme. but heard will be definitely better.
Jo: When are u going to sign the agreement? How many tables are u having?
MehMeh: How many tables do u have?
Hi Gals: Check with u, nowadays pple drink more red wines or beers. Get free flow of beer is better or wines?

Joey: tat time went down to view the ballroom, forget to ask to view the bridal suite. Shld done tat next time round. Shld be going down next week to sign the agreement bah. my tables is ard 40.

How abt u? went down before? looking at how many tables? when is ur wedding? i doubt U can get free flow of wines at OH. I tink there is free flow of beer for weekdays.

Hi Jo:

I went down to see the ballroom only. Suite not yet. My tables ard 38. My AD: Nov 07. Free flow beer for wkday only.
Your is Wkend right? What perks u having? Wkend got free flow beers?

joey: mine is Nov07 too!
what is ur date? if i m paying using UOB cards then i can get to choose either free flow of beer or one bottle of wine to one table.