Orchard Hotel

Hi, tsh..
my humble opinions..
I hv not tried the ducks before cos my AD is end of the yr.. personali I prefer duck.. kekeke.. but I hv requested for them to change it to roasted chicken.. parents r traditional Cantonese & were previously in the F&B line.. so presentation of the dish is impt to them.. they said tat roasted looks nicer.. watever.. so u may wish to consider ur parents & PIL opinions too.. perhaps, the ex-brides can enlighten on the taste wise.. juz my 2cents worth..

wow.. mehmei..
think u r a real good spokeperson for OH.. u hv the 2007 pkg details when u hv ur wedding sometime ago? nice to hv u ard.. else OH sooo quiet among BTB..

I'm interested to hold my banquet at Orchard Hotel in Sept 2007. The ballrooms are currently under reno so can any kind souls who has the photos of the ballroom share with me the pics?

My email add is [email protected]

hi ffbear,

heheh.. i won't say i am gd spokesperson, just sharing the package. Coz my fren wanted to hold her banquet at OH in 2007 & i had Cleo's contact, so got it for my fren

hi tokyodreams & happyger,

U've got mail...

hi, mehmeh & all,
besides Serene, any other Cordinators tat r good in OH? those tat easy to find & negotiation one?

saw the newly renovated ballroom...they changed the carpets n the lights by the side
the whole place looks so much brighter!!
i like it! =)
but din take any pictures of it

Hey tingting,
tks for informing! I wanna pop down and see too.. Is the place even more beautiful now? Is the reception area renovated too? Think it's quite old looking there.

Also, i think they shd upgrade their carpark :p So dark n old!

hi ffbear,

Hmm.. Cleo is quite nice & quite contactable. Why dun u continue with Serene?

hi Ting,

heheh.. U didn't take pix? So sayang! Maybe the next trip

hi muffin,

Agree, their carpark must be improved & it has a lot of food fumes

hi, mehmeh,
much as I wanted to continue with Serene, she has left OH liao.. so.. hiaz.. they hv assigned me Elaine instead.. heard of her?
pray hard tat the experience with OH continues to b good all the way to my AD..

Been to the newly renovated BallRoom today, so happy to see a brand new look
, especially the 'Toilet'!! I was so worried before the renovation, cos it was so 'old looking'. Now it is so clean and bright, cant really say it s beautiful, but most importantly it looks new!

Now the only worried is the Food
. Heard the standard of the food dropped, hope they pay attention on it!

Bless~

Hi everyone, i had make a tentatively booking with orchard hotel for my wedding next yr. Will like to find out more abt it. How is the ballroom? service? food? is it tough liasing with the coordinator??

Hi, Jo & all others,
I ll hving my AD tis coming Nov.
so far, the following r my personal views:
1) Ballroom - I liked the ballrooms alot, cos of the high ceiling & the lightings.. it makes the whole place sooo grand.. with the recent revamp, the wallpapers, carpets r changed, there is a built-in screen & built-in projector.. tot tat was good cos it definitely looks more ideal than a portable projector..
2) service - I cant comment @ tis moment cos my AD is not over yet.. but we do know tat the ratio of tables to svc staff is rite..
3) Food - Hua ting has been a reputable restaurant.. the reason y we forsake some other hotels in town area (more accessible), yet paid the same price, cos we & our parents r very particular with food.. I mean.. u jolly well dont wan ur guests to leave thinking the food sucks, rite? hv heard quite good recommendations of tis restaurant.. tats y hv placed our trust here..
nonetheless, read tat the food std seems to b abit gg down.. m gg for my food tasting sometime next mth.. hope to get some positive comments & built back our confidence..
4) I hv a good coordinator, very flexible.. to the extent tat my menu changed quite a fair bit.. however, she left sometime last mth.. we were quite worried @ 1st.. but I muz say tat OH lives up to our satisfaction.. our files were placed in the hands of another coordinator & she did her job well, being informed of the menu changes tat we wanted, meeting up with us, letting us feel tat we r in good hands..

but all these r my own personal views oni.. but then, alot of ex-brides here hv commented very well on their experience with OH.. so fingers crossed tat we shall hv an excellent experience too..

ffbear: thanks! U built up my confidence for OH esp on the food portion cos my PIL are very particular abt food. Possible to update after U gone for ur food tasting? I shld be going down by this week to view the ballroom and hope able to confirm with them first.

Hi, Jo,
no prob.. ll update u after my food tasting.. but recently, I hv 2 frens who went to wedding dinners @ OH.. 1 said food nice, the other one said terrible, esp. the fish.. now, I reali panick.. fingers crossed tat no such thgs ll happen..

hi ffbear,
any idea what your friend meant by "terrible"? What was wrong with the fish? Maybe we can highlight this point to the coordinator so that in future, it doesn't happen to us too.

I'm also worried since my coordinator left and now being handled by a newbie. Somemore heard food at OH not as good. Haiz... worrisome!

hi ffbear,

heheh, u can take over & guide the rest oredi
kekeke, coz ur wedding wld be the closest to theirs.. mine is history, heehee
i think u wld enjoy ur food tasting, they wld present the best of the food.. but do comment on their presentation of the food too.

i think sometimes fish difficult to QC hor? maybe ur fren just had a bad fish.. *cross fingers too* tt it wun happen on ur big day. u may want to 'highlight' with seriousness to ur coordinator & chef abt this bad experience, and tt u really dun want it to happen to u.. then can pre-empt such things fr happening

hi, muffin,
terrible means the fish has the fishy smell.. was ur coordinator, the one who left, Serene? I had her too, before she left.. no worries abt the change in coordinator.. I was worried like u too.. but all my fears dont stand cos we were placed in good hands..
Hi, mehmeh,
missed u leh.. good to hv u here again.. take over & guide? no lah.. dont say tat.. I juz wan to share my experiences with OH, since I felt tat it is not such a well publicised hotel for wedding.. I hv gained alot fr u & the ex-brides, ur were the ones who built up my confidence of OH.. stil, my AD is not over yet, so I m stil keeping fingers crossed to seal it smoothly..
yah, ll definitely highlight to the chef & coordinator re. the fish problem..
Hi, Jo,
no worries.. u ll love the ballroom & the long aisle.. yah, btw, they juz revamped, so they can placed ur pic outside the ballroom, the electronical way... yeah!

Morning All!
Told my IL we are going to view the ballroom tis friday, he commented he scared that the food will not be nice and we reassure him food will be nice after all hua ting is award winning resturant.Now heard abt the fish. hai..
If we really sign up with them, can I really confirm with the coordinator to make sure the food will be ok??

Hey ffbear,
my ex-coordinator was Siew Li. Now with Eileen. I don't feel safe AT ALL coz I don't think i'm in good hands!!!!!!! Heh.. Think she has not much experience..sigh.. dunno what will happen. I gt OH because of Siew Li and now she's gone.. sigh.

hi ffbear,

i also think OH doesn't get much publicity as a hotel for wedding. the preferred ones are Grand Copthorne & M hotel, for the same grp. Hmm, i guess coz the exterior doesn't show its substance *winks* Moreover it's not quite in the heart of Orch Rd, as compared to Meritus

heheh, am glad to have built-up the confidence for u.. Ur turn oredi!! kekeke

hi Muffin,

I think just rem to keep communicating & making sure tt Eileen does acknowledge ur requests. Ultimately, it's the banquet captain who wld make the whole event a success. Dun fret too much yah, must keep urself in the most radiant state

Hi, Jo,
well.. I do apologise if I hv caused some unrest in ur confidence in OH.. besides, the fish thg is reali very subjective.. cos 1 of my fren commented the food was very nice, the other said not nice.. so could b somethg wrong with my fren's taste bud too? furthermore, even for other hotels, there r both good & bad comments wat..
u can always highlight tat to ur coordinator, not the fish oni lah, after all, they need to deliver the best in terms of food std mah..
Hi, Muffin,
reali? how long was Eileen with tis hotel? wat makes u hv tis feeling tat u not in good hands leh? can PM me?
Hi, mehmeh,
dont think I did a good job as u.. I juz caused some unrest.. opps.. gosh.. perhaps u wan to share ur overall splendid experience..

ffbear: no worries!
Not ur fault!
I am just worried abt the food cos seems like comments are extreme; either good or bad. Its seems like depend on luck too. Just that I had managed to convince them to use orchard hotel, hope that the food standard will be there and no complaints from them.

Mehmeh: can share ur splendid experience with OH with me? If possible, can share with ur banquet pics? Thks!

hi jo, here's my post after my wedding..
Hope it helps!

Posted on Thursday, September 08, 2005 - 4:13 pm: Edit Post Print Post

My wedding was just over the recent weekend, and I had a tremendously gd experience with & at Orchard Hotel.
Like you gers, I was worried about service & the quality of food, but my fears were unfounded.

I'm not sure why, but my husband & myself nor my guests experienced the problems mentioned. It could be because of the coordinator I signed up with?

Just a brief history, I signed up in Sept 2004 for my 4 Sept 2005 dinner. Back then till my AD, I was served by Shirley, who has now left OH. She saw to our every need & gave us the following:
1) 2nd night stay at the bridal suite
2) Free flow of beer
3) Waiver of wine for half the number of tables (ie, 40 tables = 20 bottles of wine waived)
4) Cards for 70% of expected guests
5) Complimentary parking for 30% of expected guests
6) Alternating wedding favours
7) Complimentary parking for our vehicle at the carpark for the 3 days we were at OH

As I went around the tables mingling with guests & taking pix, I made sure I asked all of them how they felt the food & service was. All gave positive comments to the food & service. In fact I only heard 1 complain, that was the Chinese Muslim menu had some dishes which were abit salty.

The waiters/waitresses were quick to serve & a really value-added service was with my long train for my WG, a waitress actually followed me around helping me with the train. I had not request for this, but the banquet captain saw the need I was in & highlighted to tt staff to assist.

For our banquet, we had several perculiar items in the programme which both my coordinator & the banquet ppl saw to their success. Instead of having additional pax as Muslim menu, we converted tables with Muslim guests to Chinese Muslim menu. We requested for a dance floor, and they gave us one suited to our demands. Instead of playing CD music for the march-in, we sang acapella using their cordless mics, which they provided. We did sound testing with the AV technician, and it was smooth during the rehearsal & the actual execution. We also requested for 2 carpark lots as my Granddad's mobility wasn't the most convenient to get around in normal conditions.

In terms of the deco, we had selected this design done by this florist, S. I was most impressed that though OH no longer tied-up with S, they still delivered the design I wanted. Attached is the deco of how the stage was like that night.
OH
412276.jpg

I love sharksfin soup, but had to return to the suite when it was served. So I requested for it to be delivered to the suite. And soon after I returned to the suite for the change into the EG, my sharksfin soup was delivered! It even came along with the bottles of pepper & vinegar.

I'm thinking why my guests, husband & myself had a good experience with OH, was how detailed I went thru my prev experience with OH during my org's anniversary dinner. I rem during the event (which was bigger than my wedding), service was rather poor & the AV technician actually played the wrong music for a pair of professional dancers. So with tt in mind, i reminded my coordinator umpteen times that these are things I am taking great care.

In addition, a couple of days prior to the dinner itself, I emailed my coordinator asking if there would be feedback forms on each table, for guests to comment & for the couple to be aware of what went on during the dinner. While there wasn't going to be the feedback forms, my coordintor assured that there would be some form of 'compensation' should there be any areas where guests felt negatively.

Shirley my coordinator actually left OH on 31 Aug, but she continued to serve my needs till my big day. I wasn't informed that actually her colleague, Siew Li, was liasing with me from 1 Sept - 4 Sept, till the day I checked out. For tt matter, I got to commend Shirley's professionalism, as she turned up during the time where we were running through the programme & special needs before the actual banquet.

Just FYI, the package I signed for the banquet at OH for weekends is priced at $698+++, which comes up to about $815 or so.

This is my first-hand account of OH & I do hope that couples who have signed up would not be overtly worried by some experiences others have had. I guess, for many banquets, there probably are positive & negative experiences. Thankfully mine was positive!

For current OH brides & those considering, you can sure post ur enquiries here & I wld surely answer to the best of my knowledge

some additional pix to help.. (but do keep in mind, my deco was based on the pre-reno state)
412289.jpg
412290.jpg

412291.jpg
412292.jpg

hi ffbear

nono, def not unrest.. I think no pt giving a pix tt's rose tinted also. I must also disclaim tt i had a gd experience, and i guess the verdict if one had a gd experience/food wld be varied due to the spectrum of expectations too

u got ur cards settled?

thanks mehmeh! Love ur stage deco! very nice! And thks for sharing with me your experience. I tink most impt thing is to communicate well with the coordinator and let them what we need and what need to be taken care of. The coordinator I am liaising with is Eileen, dunno if she will be my cooridnator eventually but if so hope she will do a good job as Urs!

Oh! I love ur gown too! very nice! Which BS is it from? I m searching for my BS too!

Muffin: is she tat inexperience? Can PM me also so that I can take note of? Thks!

hi jo,

heheh, like tt u also can see my WG eh.. kekeke! I MTM it at my BS, Yvonne Creative

yupz, keep reminding ur coordinator all the details u want her to do for u.. Nag, nag & nag.. Then they know u mean business & dare not let loose in their preps

I hope ur coordinator Eileen wld be a gd coordinator for u too!!

hi jo,

heheh, it's in gold
kekeke.. It's detachable, then i cld get another look with it removed & then attach a bow below the bustline

Happy to see that this thread is 'revived' ! I'm holding my dinner at Orchard next June. Anyone around the same time as me?

hihi jo,

u're welcome!! Glad to be of help.. The trails were 'in' last year.. Dunno what is the trend is for this year.. hee
Maybe colours? Maybe sthg unconventional

Hi Chere, mine will be in Nov next yr if i manage to sign up with them!

is Orchard hotel very ulu? Ppl ask me where is my dinner venue, told them most properly Orchard hotel, they ask me where is it? Its very ulu hor, is it due to budget constraint? OMG!