Orchard Hotel

hi tsh...

If u ask me, i think prices for 2007 at $895 after the taxes sounds alright to me. Honestly when i was searching ard for a banquet venue, i also noticed the 'inflation' of package prices between 2004 & 2005. So over time, it's inevitable prices will rise.

Generally these days, most ppl give at least $100 for APs, so tt shd help buffer in case ppl still give $80. Anyway couples must be prepared in event they experience a 'loss', so do rem to set aside some money for tt.

hi Lissa,

Ah, what a pity!! Nvm, if u happen to have time & manage to upload to some platform, rem to keep me in the loop k??

Hi ffbear,

Just sent you the attachment of the backdrop pic. Hope it helps.

Lissa

Can anyone tell me what was the UOB promo about? So I know whether I can bargain for more perks. Planning to confrom today or tmr...

Anyone can help?

Charlie & Shirley.

Hi SpringTulip,

I've sent you the attachment already.

As for Gerald, my package was close to $2k. Cos i got him to do a pre-wedding video for me as well. He was a little out of my budget, but very difficult to find good VGs out there. So i decided to compromise my budget a little. If you only need AD, i think it's less than $1400. But can't really remember. Check with him... and try to bargain a little lor. I did.

Lissa

Is orchard hotel strict with giving away perks? im concerned of d additional perks i can ask, for before signing contract with them 25-30 tables. Any advice? Thanks!

Lissa, thanks so much for your photo! I quite like the gold setting on stage. Is it considered their Roman/Oriental theme?
Do you have Gerald's video package to share?

Hi Spring,

I dunno what theme it is leh? I just chose it out of some sample photos shown to me. Maybe you can ask your coord.

As for Gerald's package, i suggest you give him a call cos he has quite a lot of different things. He can help you package into what your requirements are.

Lissa

heard dat orchard hotel does not provided projectors. We have to loan from them if needed... gg to sign contract with them soon... wat r d additional perks i can ask for? pls advise, thanks!

hi tsh,

Yupz, OH doesn't provide the projectors. U can rent fr elsewhere..My fren had a contact for projectors at a real gd rate, think it was under $100. If u want, i can help u get tt

As for additional perks, did i share with u earlier? heheh, oh yes! Tt's pretty much u can ask for.. Oh & yes, if u can't get the waiver for the corkage, ask for a discount on the flat rate. I think they quoted me $20+++/bottle, get tt reduced, or get them to waive for 1st carton of wine.

hi mehmeh,

thanks very much for offering ur help.i will try to ask if my future father in law can borrow his company projector.As for asking additional perks, i wil try to ask loh. hope they wil give it to me....

I am so sad today, yesterday my sis went OH to attend her friend's wedding, this morning she told me that the food at OH very very LOUSY!!! Oh! my god!!! i willing to pay a 5 star rate for a 4 star hotel cause this hotel banquet chef won 05/06 best chef in Asia, so their price increase like taking a lift! but the food standard drop till so horrible! so upset! but i ve already pay the deposit, how? so sad!!!

hi yin yin

Oh dear, i wil be going on tis sat to pay the deposit... can anyone give comments on their food so far?

Also, since my AD is oct 2007, i dont need to decide hw much tables i want rite? Is is advisable to pay a deposit of 3K and decide on the contract later? Lastly, when is a good time to negotiate the perks huh? Thanks for advising ya...

hi tsh,

yupz, getting the projector fr someone is gd.. save some money! heehee

Hmm, u need not decide on the exact no. of tables when u sign the contract. But must hit at least the min & be quite certain u're also going to keep to the max. All perks shd be discussed before signing on the contract, coz the sales coord will add on & sign against those perks

Abt the payment of the deposit, u can pay a token sum of $500 to book the date & still negotiate the terms.. I did just tt, to coincide with their roadshow to get additional perks

hi yinyin,

I'm just wondering, coz the wedding ur sis went is weekday, so weekday menu may be quite different?? Just a thot..

Dun be overtly worried, u can always bring this up to ur coordinator & say tt u will not allow such things to happen at urs & some compensation must be given if there's alot of unhappiness.. Tt sends a gd msg to ur coordinator tt u cannot be messed ard with

hi mehmeh

Hey! thanks for ur advice ya, really appreciate it coz there's no one to advise me
So, i will not sign the contract 1st. wil pay a token sum to book the date at least. then the contract and d negotiation of the perks will come later..
I wonder hw cum my wed CO asked to pay a 3K deposit 1st. anyway, thanks again...

hi tsh,

no probs.. I'm not sure if what i had suggested can still be done. My coord mentioned tt there wld be a show, so she suggested this solution..

Maybe ur coord is aware there wun be another show for more perks to come along? So in this sense, just have to pay tt $3k deposit. If there is one, u cld always throw her the question & then ask for details on the perks they are going to come up with..

Hi yinyin,

I had my wedding on weekday and the food are great! My family member told us is nice. There's a list of food for you to chose for your course, so maybe you can ask from your coordinator which are their famous and nice food.
Some of the food is suggested by my coordinator.
So not to worry, check with your coordinator.

hi janice,
when did u had ur wedding dinner?

hi mehmeh,
any comments on the bridal suite? :P

juz settle my ROM....now urgently looking for AD venue

hi tingting,

Eh, i rem u asking me abt OH & u were still going to KIV it?
Anyway i have positive comments abt the suite.. Big, spacious, can even have tea ceremony in it. There's a living rm with an attached changing & bathroom, so helpers can use if they need to

hi muffin

Wat kind of perks u bargain for huh? i meeting my wed CO tmr to discuss contract.. so bit worried i will get "chopped" by them u see...

Hi tsh,

On top of my UOB package, I asked for more carpark coupons, upgrade of bridal suite to executive suite (?? not sure of exact name..but CO sort of offered me herself!) Nothing much to bargain for coz I got what I wanted.. heh.. Oh ya.. also for every bottle of wine i bring in, corkage is waived but i must get another bottle of wine from the hotel. (aka 1-for-1 wine)

Just came back meeting my wed CO. In d end, i paid a deposit of 3K without confirming any additional perk. This is because i went with my future father in law and he is the generous type who dont like to bargain... he said wat was stated in the package shld be sufficient. So we paid the deposit and my wed CO wil get back to me to see if she can accede to my request for additional of 1 nite stay in bridal suite....... hai.. paid deposit le, doubt they will accede to my request ba.........

Btw, they said sept gg to have a wedding show and they wil have more perks. although she said that d price wil remain the same.....

hi tsh,

*congrats* on being an OH bride too
Do hope u get ur 2nd night stay at the suite

hi springtulip,

U must at least reach the min no. of tables.. What's the min capacity u need to have?
I've heard some ppl paying up for the remaining unoccupied tables & then exchange it for vouchers to be used in the hotel.. Dunno if it can be done. Want to check with ur coordinator?

hi mehmeh,

Thanks, mehmeh, pray that everything wil be smooth sailing.

I dont think i can get d perk which i requested. My wed CO, eileen is rather strict abt d perks leh. Too bad my future in laws insisted on paying d deposit. Hai.....

hey tsh,
your CO is eileen? mine also leh...she's still very new so she don't dare to anyhow approve on perks. But so far, for my case, I managed to get the things I wanted.

Those senior COs would probably know to what extent they can be generous with perks.

hi muffin

oh i see, i shld hav consult u earlier. hai.. i dont tink i can get additional nite or 1st anniversary stay since i hav oreadi paid d deposit. but eileen said wil get back to me loh. hai...

today eileen called me. no perks at all! so sad...maybe its because i wil be having only 25-30 tables ba.... only can change my fruit cake to mango cake.. hai.....

hi, tsh,
my tables oso abt 30+... but I did manage to bargain for somethg like increase in parking coupons.. oso cos I signed during the UOB promo, there r some perks which r olreadi given in the promo.. I would suggest tat u try again, mayb like say tat u r very disappointed tat no perks given, & tat u read in the SB forum tat OH usu. quite generous in giving perks.. or cite thgs like ur parents / PIL r now very upset over tis cos after all, u r paying a big sum of money for the banquet.. & tat tis has made ur in a very difficult position, blah blah blah.. in the worst sencario, tok to another CO?
disclaimer: not sure if tis ll work.. juz my 2 cents worth.. good luck..

Hi Mehmeh, thank you for your advice.
I check with my coordinator and am waiting for her advice. Wedding can be stressful when things are not going smoothly hor.... hopefully she can help.

yo mehmeh...its me again...hehee

hi all, i haf a qn for u all...wat do u tink is the expected consumption of beer & wine for say 40 tables?
im trying to budget for the beer & wine

thanx thanx =)

hi tingting,

*waves* I was told to calculate wine, @ 1.5 bottles/table.. I can't help u with beer, my package offered free flow. Maybe with beer, can judge based on the type of guests? Usually older guys wld go for beer & the contrary is true for guys of ard 20s-30s.. But i cld be wrong too! *ooops*

May i ask, hw is our braised duck from our menu? Any one try before? I was thinking of changing d braised duck to a roasted one coz i think roasted duck look more appetizing. I have yet gone for the food tasting. Any advice?