Orchard Hotel

wendy: hey! talked to the catering manager, no final confirmation yet, but he's quite friendly! waiting for him to send us the package details. update ya then. but i like the ballroom! very palace-like.

Hi Meelu,

Yeah..I choose OH mainly because of the high ceiling & pillarless ballroom. But the foyer is not very spacious.. that is the -ve point.

Please keep me updated then..

Hi, wendy,
sorry for the late reply.. my sophia CO is Wilson, PG is Eagles.. over @ OH, my CO is Serene..
yup.. agree tat the foyer is soo small & tat makes me worried cos there ll b another wedding on the same night.. sekali, guests walked into the wrong ballroom.. hahaha.. or give the AP in the wrong box.. hahaha..

some ex-brides suggest tat I go down personali during 1 of those nites where they hv 2 weddings to check out the situation.. most prob ll do so nearer my AD.. update u then lah.. or perhaps u update me oso.. kekeke

Hi Wendy,

Sorry for late reply!! :-) I'm not sure re the new rates for Friday and weekdays as mine is confirmed to be on a wkend. But the increase for weekend was S$20 before taxes. So I think the increase will be around that for the other days too?

Hi Meelu,

Yeah! Me waiting for the new menu to be drafted out too....

And Yinyin,

Checked and confirmed that the wine is transferable :-)

hi ffbear,

Yeah... i think that is a good idea to have a look at days that have 2 weddings... my worries are also guests going to the wrong reception desk and drop the APs.. haha.. but my Co, Yoke Mei, assured that urshers will be stationed at the escalator and the both foyers. And the urshers will chk with the guests which wedding they will be attending.. but i'm still worried.

My wedding is in Jan 2007... so I guess yours will be earlier than me rite?

Btw, how's the service at Sophia so far? any comments? My 1st fitting is in July.

Hi, wendy,
yup, my wedding is earlier than urs.. end Nov 06.. will go check it out nearer the date.. kkeke...
Sophia ahh.. so far, stil neutral, cos I oni went to choose my gowns oni.. but I reali keeping my fingers crossed cos seems like svc not too fantastic.. & everythg seems to b add $$.. hahaha.. next encounter with them ll b in end Jul, when i do my PS.. keep u posted then..

hi, all,
heard fr fren who went recently tat the food std @ OH dropped liao.. hopefuli tat is not the case.. else I reali dunno wat I m paying for liao.. hahhahaa

Still haven't confirmed with OH. They're taking their time. Sigh. My major concern's wine and beer. They guaranteed 3 barrels would be enough for my 60 tables. What do you all think? Anyone managed to push for free flow of beer? As for wine, it's 1 bottle per table, and they waived the corkage charges for 24 bottles that I'm bringing in. Any advice? How many more cartons of red wine should i order? can't believe this alcohol issue is the main source of my headache.

Hi wendy,

what I can suggest you to place a big wedding photo of you and your hubby in front of the recerption area, so will be easier for your guests to locate your ballroom.

Hi meelu,

my wedding is sept05 and I used the UOB packages which come with free flow of wine. As for the wine during my wedding, total comsumption is about 120bottles for 70tables, so you agar agar one table about one and a half to two bottles of wine. I bought in all the wines and didnt use the complimentary wine.

hi Muffin,

*hugs* Do hope all goes well, and u be the first to have a gd experience with Eileen

hi ffbear,

Hmm, *cross fingers & toes* for u.. Hope the standard of food wld maintain!

hi meelu,

Ard 1.5 bottles per table is a gd gauge..
Ur coordinator might be right with having 3 barrels of beer (what size issit though?) being enough for 60 tables.. If the proportion of ur guests skew twd the younger generation, they prefer wine to beer, and the reverse being true too

hi Wendy,

Guess apart fr displaying the portrait of u & ur FH. U cld have signs placed on the table, in front of where guests write their well-wishes, dividing the table to 2. One side with ur name "Wendy's relatives & frens" and the other "Hubby's relatives & frens".. So with the names on the signs, ppl wld be more alert in case they were still ushered wrongly

Can also get ur receptionists to verbally double-check if they belong to ur side or FH's side (rem to name both of u when checking)

wendy: hey, could i have your email pls? wanna check out some stuff wif you. my CO refused to give me 3rd barrel of beer free. very disappointed. need some advice from ya....

my email's [email protected]

thanks alot!

Hi ffbear,

Thank you for your feedback on Sophia.. i have seen the thread of Sophia as well.. and I am worried if I have signed up the right bridal studio. *Sigh* Maybe we should chat more over at the Sophia thread...

HUH??? OH's food standard dropped!!!! OMG! Then I'm wondering wat i'm paying for as well!!!!

Btw, any idea is Orchard a 4-Star or 5-Star hotel??

Hi Janice and Mehmeh,

Thank you for your suggestions.. noted with thanks.

Hi Meelu,

my msn email address: [email protected]

Just wanna offer come feedback to see if i can help with some of your concerns.

My wedding was in March. I took BR3. There was no confusion for my guests on which one is the correct banquet cos BR3 is the outer ballroom. But according to my helpers there were quite a number of people from the wedding at BR1&2 that approached my reception desk. But my helpers redirected them to the inner ballroom. I think people would generally check before dropping APs so think no need to worry lah. But if your wedding is at BR1&2 then likely there will be some people that will go to the wrong reception desk. For those weddings at BR3, it's not a problem.

I was very happy with OH's service throughout the night. However, after i got back from my honeymoon, i started getting feedback from some guests that there weren't enough wine. I was shocked cos we never stopped wine service. My comp 26 bottles of wine were used up very early in the night. So we gave go ahead to open up another 20 bottles in batches of 10 and asked Christopher to check back with us once that finishes to see if we wanna open more. In the end we paid for 15 bottles more only so i thought everything was ok. But little did i know that quite a lot of tables were told that there was no more wine. Quite embarassing actually! So i was quite upset and feedbacked to Siew Li (my coord). She apologised for the part time banquet staff that somehow screwed up and offered a free dinner for me and hubby as compensation. She asked us to e-mail her a date that we wanna go by but after e-mailing her there was no response. Only after coming back on this thread did i realise that it's cos she left OH. Missing out on the free dinner is really no big deal, but i was just disappointed that she failed to inform me since my case had not been fully closed yet. But oh well...

Just some feedback for you future OH brides. Make sure in your briefing to the Operations Manager before your dinner to stress that they do not screw up wine service.

Lissa

hi lissa, thanks for your feedback! I'll be using Ballroom 3 as well. Will definitely bear in mind to stress on the table service. Thanks!

I have yet to view Ballroom 3 with wedding setup, would u be able to share your pics with me?

Hey lissa,
Did u have dusty pink table covering? And wedding favours were the photo frame and pepper shaker? I once went to BR3 to view the wedding setup and loved the dusty pink table and chair covering! very sweet.

i jus called them. katherine said my dates are tentativly being book by someone. so if i wan to book, have to paid a deposit 1st and allow d 3rd party 2 days to consider to decide if they stil wan to booking or not......

Heard that there is dusty pink table & chair covers... I din know of this.. all along i tot white is the only colour available. My CO din tell me about this. *Sigh!*

So what other colours (for the table & chair) do they have?

Hi Chere,
Actually i just got my wedding photos last weekend so i should definitely be able to find some photos with the ballroom setup. But i dunno how to reduce the photo to put it up here so you'll have to gimme your e-mail addy.

Hi Muffin & Wendy,
My table cloths were white. I saw a pink colour sample but pink's not in my theme so didn't consider it at all. Not sure if that's the dusty pink you're talking about tho. I also saw blue & peach coloured tablecloths. My theme was white & gold so i went for full white on all tables with red on the VIP tables. My evening gown was gold so decided not to go with gold for the VIP tables.

Hi Spring,
I can recommend my VG to you if you want. In fact, anyone looking for VG & PG, mine were great! Their work was superb and the good thing is that they work very well together so dun get into each other's way. Anyway, give my VG a call. His name is Gerald - 90284845. Tell him Melissa recommended him.

Lissa

hey wendy,
I've seen green, dusty pink before. Personally love the dusty pink one very much. There's also ivory (white?) too.

Lissa, mind if you share your wedding photos with me too? Which theme did you choose? The other day I saw a wedding which used all 3 ballrooms and they used the Roman pillars.. didn't look too outstanding to me.

hi lissa, my email is [email protected]
Thanks a lot !! So how many tables did you have? I have this constant worry of the ballroom looking very cramp (especially so since it's longish) with close to 30 tables..

Ok, i've go and sieve through my photos to pick some with more detail on the layout & backdrop to send you all.

Muffin,
I dun think mine is the roman pillar one. I dunno what it's called. it's basically gold drapes against the backdrop. Should be able to find a picture for you to see.

Chere,
I confirmed with them at 26 + 2. In the end, i had confirmed 27 tables with 1 empty spare table. It's not too cramped. But if you have 30 tables than it just might be a little more cramped. I thought mine was just nice.

Lissa

Btw, i'll be sending the photos as attachments... so hope it's not too big for your e-mails. Cos i dun have an online album and have no time to do one up. There's just too many photos.

Gimme your e-mail addy if you want the pics too muffin. Think you forgot to include it in your post.

Lissa

halo lissa,

May i share ur photos too? Thanks very much ya
also, hws d service provided by ur wed coordinator huh? i hav a frend who said dat d service provided by them not very gud wor. but of course i think its really up to individual loh

Hi SpringTulip,

the videographer that I used on my actual day is from JB and the charges not very expensive, think is around S$600 to S$1000.

I checked thru in Singapore, to engage a videographer is quite expensive and lucky I managed to find this guy.

I couldn't really find a pic with a good overview of the ballroom decor. But i did find one that showed the backdrop. Sent it via e-mail to you all already. Hopefully it helps.

Sorry if it takes a while to downlaod. The picture size quite big and i have no idea how to compress it... I also have a picture of the cake if you are interested to see it. Mine was all white... although i think they have another pink coloured cake if pink is your theme.

Lissa

went down to view ballroom 3 today. its theme is ROMAN theme. i must say dat i am impressed wit their ballroom. talked to CO eileen also. my AD will be in last quater of 2007, and eileen gave me a quotation of $768 per table during weekends.......also, eileen showed me d photos of 4 themes they have, which are roman, 2 oriental and the last one something like 3 dimemsion theme....
1) What kinds of perks shld i ask for huh? like
waived the corkage charges for d additional wine dat i wil be bringing in?

i wil be having 25 to 30 tables. do u all think i can ask for additional perks like
1) additional nite stay instead of only 1 nite stay in bridal suit?
2) waiver of corkage charges for addtional wine?
3) food tasting to b only weedends instead of
weekdays huh? cox difficult to get everyone down to the hotel leh.

Are they strict wif additonal perks? my CO is eileen.......

Any more perks i can ask for?

THANKS for your advice!

Hi lissa,
thanks for sending the photo! I think I like your stage design much more than the Roman one. We're able to choose the colours?

Hi tsh & muffin,

No probs. Hope it didn't take too long to download.

I think they have the drapes in a few different colours. But you have to ask your coord about it cos for me it was a straightforward choice of gold cos it was my theme. It goes well with the ballroom lighting as well.

Lissa

hihi Lissa,

*congrats* Sorry for the late well-wishes

U've got any pix to share? [email protected]

Btw, if u've got Microsoft Picture Manager, u can reduce pix size to upload here or to any other platform (loads faster).

hi tsh,

I think item 1 is quite possible to ask for, but coz no. of tables dun run into 40 & above, bargaining power is also proportional.

Waiver of corkage for wine, is quite impossible to get though. Again, due to bargaining power.

Item 3 seems highly plausible. Do also ask for more complimentary parking coupons..

Hi mehmeh,

Unfortunately i dun have Microsoft Picture Manager and also dun have an online album. There's just too many photos!
Dun really have time to upload it cos it takes AGES and i'm too lazy.
So a bit difficult to share photos leh.

Lissa

Hi Wendy,

Sorry, i dun have pics of the different themes or colour table clothes. Think it's better for you to ask your coord about that.

If you want i can send you a pic on my backdrop decor during my wedding. But that's just one option.

Lissa

hi mehmeh,
thanks for ur advice ya. Guess wat today i kor my wed co up and she told me for weekends in 2007, per table is $895 after calculating all d hidden costs! wow.. thats a bit ex hor... hai..nw i hav to think abt it le...

dear all, i was wondering if this is d price u all have been offered for holding wed in 2007....
please advice ya..... thanks