Orchard Hotel

Hi Lissa!

ermmz.. i met up with her a few times.. cos i was recommended Shirley by a colleague.. but then i realise that Shirley has left and Siew Li is taking over..

She is quite nice.. but i find her not responding quite fast to my requests leh..=(

Hi everybody

Seems like this thread is getting busy, glad to hear so many of you girls have signed up with Orchard Hotel kinda of felt reassured.

I have finally signed up with them last week and one load off my mind now.

Hi Karin,

Mine's in Mar 06. So it's before yours... To be honest, i haven't started planning anything to do with the chinese dinner yet!

Will likely be meeting Siew Li sometime in Nov when i go down to look at another wedding set-up. And am planning my food tasting in Dec.

Can i ask... what else have you been requesting for from Siew Li that she's slow to response to?

Lissa

Hi Karin,
Welcome and congratulations!!!

Which ballroom are you taking? Have you selected your Bridal Studio etc??

Hi Pink Dolphin,
Welcome and congratulations too!!! So which coordinator did you sign up with? when's your AD??

Hi Lissa,

Oic..Congrats! time flies by so fast.. u only have less than 6 mths to ur wedding..
Ohh.. i have some queries which i asked..but for 3 weeks liao.. she hasn't replied me yet..and she promised to send me the ballroom setup n stuff..also have not received..

Hi Jacquelyn..
Thanks!!! me taking ballroom 1 &2.. how abt urself?? ermmz.. yeap.. my bridal studio is feline..

Hi Lissa,

Oic..Congrats! time flies by so fast.. u only have less than 6 mths to ur wedding..
Ohh.. i have some queries which i asked..but for 3 weeks liao.. she hasn't replied me yet..and she promised to send me the ballroom setup n stuff..also have not received..

Hi Jacquelyn..
Thanks!!! me taking ballroom 1 &2.. how abt urself?? ermmz.. yeap.. my bridal studio is feline..

Hi Karin,

Yah lor... time passes by real fast! There seems to be so many things to do and less and less time to do it in!

Maybe you should call her to remind her. She might have forgotten. Cos usually the ballroom setup is already pre-done and she just has to send it out to you. So shouldn't take 3 weeks!

Lissa

hi Karin & Pink Dolpin,

Welcome! Seems like apart from myself, all u ladies are 2006 Brides of OH..

Karin: What BR set-up are u referring to? U mean pix of how the BR is deco with floral along the aisles, VIP table & reception table?

Hi Lissa..

i think thats the way it goes.. as the date gets nearer..more things to do.. kekee.. i still relaxin n enjoyin myself..til dec when i start to renovate my new room.. kekek..

ermmz.. i have called b4...reminded her.. and she promised to send out within the next few days.. but i never receive anything..then have been really busy at work..also no time to go chase..

Hi mehmeh..
nodnod* 06 coming soon mah.. so everyone start preparing for their wedding now.. =)
oh..yea.. i saw ur pix at the top..was really beautiful!! ermmz..she was supposed to send me the pix..and i guess also the table arrangement..but never got anything.. oh yea.. can i check with you how was the bridal suite like?? i didnt get to see it at all.. cos the 3 times i went down.. the hotel was full..=(

hihi Karin!

There seemed to be no 2005 OH bride.. I was so 'lonely' here.. heheh Thankfully u 2006 brides came along..

Oh, those pix huh.. Not a gd gauge to look at the pix to get a feel. It's best tt u call & check which weekend had a wedding view it 1st hand. Since Nov-Dec always have lots of weddings, u can be sure tt each weekend shd have a weddign at OH & tt the deco theme wld be different.

Bridal suite was gd! Hmm, i didn't take pix of it.. But i think it was beautiful, nothing too Zen or Resort. Just a gd mix.. I love this Make-Up room in the suite, very cozy but def far fr small. The bedroom's toilet is nothing to shout abt, deco is not tt updated, but everything works very well! All the soft drinks in the bar is FOC for ur consumption, but careful not to take the beer yah?

Maybe u gotta check with Siew Li again. If OH will have another show soon, u can ask to view the bridal suite, coz i figure potential couples who want to sign up wld also be keen to view the suite.

Like u said, since the AD is in Jun, u're in no rush in this aspect. U're def in gd hands with OH k? Settle ur gowns, PS, AD PG & VG first... Next can come the food tasting & invites oredi.

Jia You!

hihi mehmeh..

ermmz..OH seems to have good business leh.. cos i went down a few times..always have weddings going on wan leh..

wow..now it makes me look forward to seeing the bridal suite..no worries.. i don take wine/beer..so no probz on tat

yeap.. would probably call her next week.. when i m more free to do so..not as packed with work..

hehz.. i m in no rush..just hopefully to clear as much things as i can do now.. so that i wont feel so rushed at last minute lor..knowing my work schedule is going to b really packed next year..

btw..where did u go for your honeymoon..??

can i check with u guys anyone went for any wedding prep course??

hi karin,

U lucky ger.. Wanted to go down sometime before my AD, but there weren't any weddings. Coz of the 7th lunar mth.. Sigh

Anyway I finally decided on the theme based on photos when i went to discuss with my previous coordinator on wine, food, favours..

Yupz, clear as much stuff while u're in the right frame of mind to make sound decisions, esp not based on impulse & after tt regretting them. heheh.. Since u know ur work schedule's going to be packed, any way to get off-loaded?

I went KL for a short trip, coz of work.. Going Perth in Dec to make-up!

Did go for a marriage rather wedding prep course, but tt ties in with what my church offered to couples who intend to get wedded within 1-2 years fr the time the course was offered

Hi Mehmeh,

In the end i didn't meet up with Yow Siang. Cos me and FH decided on Sam Wong as our AD photographer. Really like his works!

He also recommended this guy names Gerald Yeo for videography and his works are good too! A little more ex than what we were hoping for... but in the end we also confirmed him!

2 more things out of the way! Yippee!

Lissa

Hi Karin & Pink Dolphin

Welcome!

Same too, I haven't have the chance to view he bridal suite too. Hope to get a peek of it when doing my food tasting.

Anyone of u gers think is weird to go for a pre-marital test, for the benefit of our future family planning? We r contemplating with the idea...

Hi meh meh, dat's good, a make up HM. Nice to get away from our bustling city and back to peaceful nature.

Hello Lissa

Guess wat again, I've shortlisted Sam wong too. Planning to meet up with him next week.
Are you taking the $688 pkg? I'm expressed with his portfolio too.

Hi Jocester,

Yep, Am taking Sam's $680 package.
I think his quality of work is superb and very value for money!! Have you met him before? If you haven't then you have to see his actual works... so much more impressive than the website.

I actually did get to see a suite. I'm not so sure if there's only 1 main bridal suite in the hotel, but the gal that showed me the suite said that it is used mainly for weddings. But OH apparently has quite a lot of suites and they're all different from each other. I liked the suite i saw... very nice and stylish. And very big too! I also got the gal to show me the presidential suite as well! It's got a to-die-for bathroom with a jacuzzi!! But it costs $500 per night for upgrade! Not worth it lah! I could buy a whole jacuzzi for my new house for $1K!

Lissa

So glad that there's more people in this thread... heehee

Karin, I'm taking all the 3 ballrooms. :D

It'll be good to take a look at the setup for BR1 & 2. I went down once to see the setup. There were 2 weddings at the same time. One for BR1 &2 and one for BR3. But I can't actually visualise how it looks with all 3 ballrooms opened up so I made another trip down to take a look.

So if you can check with ur coordinator and view the setup for just BR1 & 2, it'll be more beneficial.

Managed to see the bridal suite too. It looks quite nice and spacious. Didn't get to see the presidential suite though.

Lissa, heard that presidential suite is about the same as the bridal suite just that the bathroom has a jacuzzi. is this true when u compared the bridal and presidential suite??

Hi Jacq,

I'm not so sure if i saw the actual bridal suite or not. I think they have a lot of suites. But the main difference between the normal suite they showed me and the Presidential suite is the bathroom. I think the living room area is also a little bigger. But it was the bathroom that made me drool...

Think the next time i go down to see the ballroom set-up i'll ask to see the bridal suite again.

Btw gals, I'm now thinking of doing my tea ceremony in the hotel before the dinner. Do you think the suite is big enuff ah? Considering that there's a seperate living area to the bedroom area. Although my family is quite big... maybe i should get a function room. But dun want to incurr additional costs leh!

Lissa

Hi Lissa,

Oh Sam's quite highly recommended by myself, i wld have engaged him, if he had not already been engaged on my intended dates..

On doing the tea ceremony at the suite, sure not a problem at all. Just shift the 2 arm chairs & coffee table away & u get a gd spot in the living room. The suite i used had a beautiful upholstery for its 2-seater sofa settee.. The downside if u use this 2-seater sofa, maybe too low for the older folks who have difficulty in getting up and down, maybe a little soft?

Alternatively, use the dining chairs or arm chairs, space is def not an issue. Just shift whatever's in the way & can use the curtain as a nice backdrop

hi mehmeh!
ermmz.. yeap..trying to do so..so now thinking wat else do i have to complete so tat ican clear off as much as i can..keke..no..i don think i can move out any of my work schedule..we quite lack of manpower..haiiz..

okiE! must make sure u enjoy urself in Perth!.. i m actually thinking of hawaii..but i checked the prices on the internet.. it seems really expensive..

oic..my church don really offer such courses..thus thinking of looking out..

Hi Jocester!
ermmz.. wat kind of pre-maritial test are u looking at??

Hi Lissa..
waT??????500 extra for the presidential suite?? ermmz..no thanks.. don think i will do tat.. save up for my honeymoon..=p

did u takeup the package recently?? i tot there's a function room for 2006 package..??

Hi Jacq..
wow! all 3 ballrooms?? how many tables are u having?? okie..ermmz.. think see if can go down this or next weekend..hopefully can peek at the bridal suite too!..

Hi Lissa,

I've called Sam Wong, finally to meet up with him next week. Coincidentally we live in a same town! haha.

Hi Jac,
Wow U actually go for all 3 BR. Bet your walk-in aisle is exceptionally long too!

Hi Karin,
Something like a body check up & blood test? Come to think of it, maybe we can do away with it yah. Dun waste unnecessary $.

this was advised by my Pastor when we had our counselling session.

If anyone in ur family has the condition of Thalassaemia, usually in females, then u shd go for a check-up to check if u're a Thalassaemia major or minor. If both husband & wife are minors, possibly the offspring wld have the same condition. If 1 is, then the chances of getting it, is probably lower.

If both are majors, then some family planning whether to have children or even financially has to be considered.

Here's a URL for ur reference: http://www.hpb.gov.sg/hpb/default.asp?pg_id=865&aid=211

hi Karin,

I think u shd keep a look out, Fei Yue shd have sthg u need & want

Harlow, I'm new to this thread. Is considering OH as one of my option. My FH and I is going to meet up with the coodinator today since there will be a function at one of the ballroom. Hee.. abit excited.

Saw some good and some bad commends on OH ard here. Even though still a bit worry abt their service, but must be fair to them too. Coz most of these waitresses and waiters for banquets are actually part-timers with no former trainings. (this is the same with most hotels and restaurants, even the five stars ones) Most are actually students or housewives doing some odd jobs for extra allowance. Thus, can't expect everyone to be very profesional. However, don't think will get really bad service unless really that suay..hee ..hee just my two cents worth.

adding on to mehmeh's comment on thalassaemia. I'm one of those who has thalassaemia minor. It's hereditary and it's getting very common nowadays. For family planning, it is important to take blood tests and understand the consequences. So far, it's been pretty good for me, not much difference in my lifestyle. So dun worry too much if you realise you have the condition after the checkup!

Hi Karin, Jo,
I'm having 60 tables, min to open up all 3 BR. I have a big family and both my FH and myself are the eldest in the family. So it's quite a big affair for both parties. :D I'm currently looking at march-in songs. Thinking of something more jazzy and upbeat. Anyone has any suggestion??

Hi Lissa,
Maybe you can check with ur coordinator if she can arrange for usage of the function room 2 hours before ur reception for your tea ceremony? Previously, I asked abt it for solemnisation and they said they can arrange it for free and provided it's available also.

Doing in the suite is also a good idea. It's more cozy too. *P

If you ladies happen to have the chance to peek at the bridal suite again, maybe can take photo and share?? heehee

Hi Ice,

How was your meetup with the coordinator?? Did you like the ballroom?

I agree with you that you can get bad service even at the 5 star hotels. I think one of the important factors is that you should have chemistry and feel comfortable with your coordinator.

Let us know what happens! Hope to see you here soon.

Hi mehmeh..okie.. i will lookout at Fei Yue then..=) Thanks!

Hi Jocester.. i actually don really need one..cos i not very healthy..always have been going to the doc for body checkup yearly..mayb should get my FH to go for 1..

Hi Jacq! ermmz..wow..tats really a BIG affair.. ermmz..songs ah..micheal buble? i quite like his music..

Hi Ice..welcome..

hi Jacq,

Urs is a really huge affair.. But it wld be memorable too! I think when all 3 BRs are urs, ur march in is more spectacular.. Just wondering wld it still be L-shaped (more space for guests & reception) or fr the escalator (more impact).

My fren was in a similar situation at another hotel. I think the normal space for recep shd still be reserved for recep while u march-in can start at the escalator.. So it's a simple straight march-in with manymany pairs of eyes watching u! wow!! U go ger!

I think apart fr Jazz, might be quite significant to select a song tt is the OUR song, between ur FH & urself.. Find it veryvery meaningful. Jazz is very much the norm & can't go wrong, but shd also pick one tt speaks to both of u

Hihi Karin,

Was reading off some threads, think Touch also offers marriage prep courses..

Thanks for sharing all the health information. Still considering whether to go for the check-up...

Hi Ice, welcome!

Hi Jacq,
Trying to find a nice compilation of jazz songs for background music, no luck so far. If only we can burn our own compilation but was advised to buy original cd.

Thanks for your advice on the function room for my tea ceremony.
I'll ask Siew Li about it when I meet up with her in Nov. Will also have another look at the suite to see if it's suitable. My only worry about doing it in the suite is likely there'll be some relatives that have to hang out in the corridor before it's their turn. Considering that we're thinking of combining both mine and FH's side of the family! Quite big!

Btw, are any of you gals planning to have a band for your wedding? Me and FH are considering...

Lissa

Hi Mehmeh,
I think the march-in will still in L-shaped. From the escalator, the door to BR is not exactly in the middle so it can't be a straight line down. Otherwise it'd be ideal!

My FH and I don't have a song that's called OURS. So we're scouting around for a song that calls out to us... heehee

Hi Jo,
I'll be taking the risk of burning my own compilation. Let you know how it goes after my wedding. *wink*

Hi Lissa,
Won't be having a band coz it's quite costly. But it's a novel idea and i haven't been to many weddings which have live band/ live singing. If you have the budget to do it, why not? You can even get them to perform for your march-in!

hi Jocestor,

Yupz, original is safer. I had 2 school functions at OH's BR & we used burned CDs & there were some tracks which had the CD skipping

I used originals to prevent the problem fr occuring, after all i put in effort to select the songs to be played for the whole night. Esp the march-in songs & the song for our 1st dance, had to prevent such hiccups

Hi Jacq,

Oh it's not straight ah? Aiyah, really wasted isn't it
Think can go HMV to listen to the Jazz songs.. Usually Jazz corner quite quiet so u can take ur time to listen to many tracks.. Or yeah, Borders can listen to songs too

Hi mehmeh..
thanks.. i think i will go back to check with the elders of my church if they have any to recommend..still tink i wanna some christian base marriage prep course..=)

hi Karin,

Oh Fei Yue & Touch are both Christian organisations.. In any case, i do believe if u know of any church elders, or any couple whom u feel u wld like to emmulate their marriage, can approach them to do a personal marriage prep course

U can get first-hand accounts of how they dealt with disputes, family planning which might be touchy if broached by someone more unfamiliar.. Also if u 2 know the couple personally, they can uphold the 2 of u in prayer & be like ur mentors even after the wedding

Hi mehmeh..

thank u for the info.. i knew touch was christian org..didnt know fei yue is too.. i think i will speak to the elders 1st then see how things go lor..

so how are u enjoying ur marriage life now??

hi Karin,

U're welcome!! Married life is quite okie, coz HB & myself are quite easy-going ppl & we're quite used to each other's temperaments & habits. But the tough part comes with staying with my ILs.. Not to used to them, as compared to living with my parents. So alot of closing one or both eyes..

Hope to get a flat under HB & my name soon!!

Hi, gals,
was reading tis thread before signing with OH.. then, after signing, forgot to come back... opps...

my co-ordinator is Serene, & @ tis moment, stil very pleased with her service...

Luckily, my AD is end 2006, else clash with her maternity leave..

juz like the rest, hvnt got the luck to see the bridal suite though I hv been there 3 times... but judging fr the comments, cant b bothered to see liao cos know tat it is gg to b good...

but interested to see the actual day set-up though..

using BR3, find it abit small...

hi ffbear,

Welcome! All the best in ur wedding preps. Think u booked real early, considering ur AD is close to year-end of 2006.

U prob can pop by during the weekends of Nov & Dec, shd have many weddings & then u can view the set-up. But just to highlight, the set-up may differ by the time it comes to ur turn, coz they might change vendors for the deco

How many tables are u looking at?

will be going for my food tasting very soon. Other than enjoying the food itself, is there anything I should look out for during the food tasting? Heard that the chef will usually come out and chat and see if the food is alright??

Mehmeh, any advice on this??

Hi ffbear,
Welcome! Glad to hear that you're pleased with Serene's service. Is your date a very popular day? Have you selected your bridal studio etc?

hihi Jac

Wow, so exciting.. Time passed so quickly & it's now ur turn! What to pay attention to, hmm

1) Presentation
2) Taste
3) Portion
4) Order of dishes

Do rem to give positive comments, to make the chef's day, so as to get things ur way when u want to make requests

I modified how some dishes are done prior to food tasting, eg. instead of steamed fish & i requested for it deep-fried & coated with thai sweet chilli sauce. Steamed fish is too common & easy to do, my mum wanted sthg which is less commonly found

Yup... time really flies! getting excited and scared at the same time. Hopefully I won't miss out anything!

Thanks for the advice on the food tasting! So glad that you're still visiting the forum and giving us valuable advice.

So when are you going to get your flat?? Have you seen anything that you like?

hi Jac,

Dun worry, just review items to be done time to time with ur FH & "use" him as both ur checklist & to put ur mind at ease

I visit the forum alot coz i've made gd frens via my bridal thread as well as several other threads, so help out BTBs who were as clueless as I was, at the same time

No idea when i wld get my flat, got a queue no. for the recent balloting exercise. Right now, waiting for HDB to let me in on the details of the flats i'm looking at...

Hi Mehmeh,
huh? tot it is the norm to book 1 yr in advance cos year end weddings sell like hot cakes... + I reali muz get tat date - cos it is exactly 1yr after my ROM, easier to remember.. hahaha.. anyway, booked during their promotion, so got good bargain.. me looking @ 28 - 35 tables, so cant get in BR1 or 2 for weekends.. (need dunno 40, somethg like tat). so touched tat there r ppl like u who stil visit these threads.. @ least, ur info. is 1st hand..

Hi, Jacquelyn,
yah, my date is a hot date (according to Serene too).. apparently, they hv a list of all the hot dates availble... bridal studio oso juz booked, cos @ 1st wanted to get free ROM pkg upon signing with the BS.. but in the end, bought my ROM dress etc... so, when's ur AD? & who is ur cordinator?

see u gals ard..

hihi ffbear,

Yupz, many ppl do get married during the year-end, but i really wonder why as well. Heard alot of teachers do so, but tt's becoz they usually can't at other times of the year.. So i was wondering why do many other couples also "fight" for the same time to get married.. *scratch head*

So the customary falls on the same day as ur ROM date yah? Tts really sweet.. Oh there was a promo tt OH offered? I only rem tt some ladies her got the UOB promo, but valid for 1st quarter of 2006.

I think BR3 can comfortably take up to 35 tables.. It looks pretty long to me. But u're right, only with 40 tables then can u use BR1 & 2. But when i signed, my min of 35 permitted my usage of BR 1 & 2... Different terms for signing up at different times, i figure

Anyway, since u prob can't settle with an exact no. of tables yet, maybe wait till later to view the set-up. Instead of having to make too many visits, make a couple which u can do tie-up the loose ends at the same time

Which BS have u signed up with?

Hi, mehmeh,
I m not a teacher.. but I hv special mood for year-end.. mayb cos I was born in Dec, my FH in Nov, Xmas is oso in Dec.. hhaha.. beginning of the year is peak period for me, so no mood to get married... yah, ROM Nov tis year, customary is Nov next yr.. exact date, difference of 1 year.. I signed during the bridal show, oso UOB promo.. valid till whole of 2006...

signed with Sophia... fell in love with their gowns... I m tat sort who would like exaggerated lace, embroidery etc... but they r on the pricey end... haiz... it's either tis or tat.... compromise, compromise... got to control myself & work within budget loh...
u? where did u signed with?

Hi all OH brides...

I'm new to this thread.. am considering OH for my dinner banquet too.. I met up Priscilla last weekend & saw BR1&2 & BR3.. (Does anyone have comments on Pris?) I find that she is 'so-so'.. maybe becoz I didnt give her the feeling that I'm very interested..(i thot we shouldnt show our desperation to wedding planners :p)

Personally I like BR3 becoz it makes me feel cosy..., saw the western theme.. and I really like it ..very fairy tale..

As I did not attend any wedding show by OH.. so what i'm getting is all stated on the paper.. & i'm not sure what to ask for.. can someone give me some advises? My AD in Nov 06.. and i realize the perks for weekday & weekend are exactly the same?

Thanks so much for sharing..

Hi silentelf,

Priscilla is my co-ordinator after my initial coordinator left OH. On my first meeting, she's not as chatty like some others who will keep asking you questions. After more interactions with her, she's actually quite nice and responsive. So I'm more relieved now.

As for the perks, seems like they offer different perks at different times. You can look at the UOB promotion? It's quite attractive. However, once you have the UOB promotion, it's harder to bargain for the other freebies... It also depends on how many tables you intend to have. The higher the number, the higher chance of bargaining for more.

I signed on using the UOB promotion and I'm quite happy with the perks. One of the things I requested for was to exchange the invitation cards for more parking coupons. Luckily, they were able to do it.

You can compare the other hotel packages and see which are the perks you like and try asking OH if they can include it in? No harm asking. :D

Keep us posted on your research!

Hiya Jac..

Where do I see the UOB promo ah? (solly ah.. maybe i'm late..so didnt know abt this promo)

I intend to have around 30 tables.. (may increase another 2 tables..) but Pris said for BR3 max is 30 tables.. if really want to squeeze, can go up to 32 tables...and that's it, not more than 32. Well, guestlist I can manupulate.., & remove unimportant people so still ok..

As for the perks hor.. I wanted 2 nites stay in bridal suite & a day room for helpers. Also requesting for cheaper wine or waiver on corkage for wine.. (actually the alcohol part.. i'm still confused.. so still digesting wat to ask :p..)

I have been to several hotels.. till now many things in my mind.. :p but of course some hotels has very flexible menus where they could interchange without extra cost (Pris said she need to check on the price of the dish if we want to change..), some hotels has 1 waiter per table.. OH is 2 waiters to 3 tables (is this ok? I oso dunno)

My jie mei told me the food shucks (2yrs ago).. but after reading thru' the thread, like doesnt seem so lousy leh..

think im becoming a very 'blur' bride leow.. *faintz* :p