Orchard Hotel

Hi Jocester,

you've got mail!

Hi meh meh/ jocester,

Can share with me the pictures? My email is [email protected]

I am planning to sign on with OH, but should be taking BR3. However, I am just afraid that it will be squeezy if i have more than 30 tables.

i just join this forum. i'm getting married next year. is considering Orchard hotel. may i know anyone's coordinator is Priscilla? anyone managed to get additional perks from them?

I've also signed up with Orchard Hotel. Was wondering if anyone know how good Priscilla is as a wedding coordinator? She's going to be my coordinator... Read in the recent papers that their service isn't very good?

Anyone can share their experience with me? Thanks!!

my bf n i went to discuss with Priscilla abt extra perks. initially she agreed to some and the rest have to depend on her boss. abt a few days later, she emailed us tt they are not going to give all that extra perks which we have discussed, including those tt she had agreed earlier on. my bf was so angry tt he called up the F&B manager and gave him a piece of his mind. In the end, they decided to give some extras perks like 2nd nite stay in bridal suite free, another barrel of beer, etc.

hi nerdy,

i was considering Orchard Hotel too.. But they refuse to gimme the perks i requested... like 2nd nite stay, additional barrel of beer and waiver for wine... how did u get urs?

i told them i will be having 40 tables.. dun seem to help.. haha..

in the end.. still unable to get those perks... thinking if they cant even neogtiate on such items.. not sure how the wedding will be like loh.. cos like cannot discuss kinda attitude.. so we decided not to take up no doubt the complimentary table for every 20 tables booked was very attractive.. we were more particular abt service...

just a feedback to orchard hotel.. went to attend a banquet few wk back.. feel tat the service not really gd.. (eg. we need to keep asking for waitress to refill the drink, I ask for 2 glasses of wine, but end up they give us 4 glasses!!)

While my friend was scoping the food, the waitress con't to shift the dish to the corner, not even wait for my friend to finish scoping the food. Lucky my friend's hand still long enough to scope the food b4 she shift even further. haha......

As for the food, most of our friend say so-so only.. the red bean soup abit "burnt"...

No offend to those sign up the hotel, just a feedback for u all to take note..

lp2,

I agree with u. I went to a wedding at Orchard Hotel...it was a real disappointment. Problems that cropped up:

1) The captain forgot abt the Muslim table. Only after 2-3 dishes (chinese) then we had to call and ask them. They say they forgot to "prepare"...so last minute rush something.
2) The food was LOUSY. (Chinese)
3) The ambience feel so OLD, though I wish to say the hotel is BIG and pillarless.
4) No directions to the ballroom!
5) Service from the staffs are lousy. I had to asked 2-3 times different people for utensils which they didn't place on the table!
6) Had to ask for water or drinks 2-3 times before someone remembered!

I not sure I suay or what. But it was very disappointing. Not sure how much the banquet was. But I felt I shldn't have given so much as ANGPOW (i.e. $80), maybe should have given like $50. (Disclaimer: I don't mean to be stingy with my friend. What I wanted to emphasis is that, each dinner table should cost less than $500 for the food and service quality!)
But I guess it's up to everyone's opinion.

My wedding was just over the recent weekend, and I had a tremendously gd experience with & at Orchard Hotel.
Like you gers, I was worried about service & the quality of food, but my fears were unfounded.

I'm not sure why, but my husband & myself nor my guests experienced the problems mentioned. It could be because of the coordinator I signed up with?

Just a brief history, I signed up in Sept 2004 for my 4 Sept 2005 dinner. Back then till my AD, I was served by Shirley, who has now left OH. She saw to our every need & gave us the following:
1) 2nd night stay at the bridal suite
2) Free flow of beer
3) Waiver of wine for half the number of tables (ie, 40 tables = 20 bottles of wine waived)
4) Cards for 70% of expected guests
5) Complimentary parking for 30% of expected guests
6) Alternating wedding favours
7) Complimentary parking for our vehicle at the carpark for the 3 days we were at OH

As I went around the tables mingling with guests & taking pix, I made sure I asked all of them how they felt the food & service was. All gave positive comments to the food & service. In fact I only heard 1 complain, that was the Chinese Muslim menu had some dishes which were abit salty.

The waiters/waitresses were quick to serve & a really value-added service was with my long train for my WG, a waitress actually followed me around helping me with the train. I had not request for this, but the banquet captain saw the need I was in & highlighted to tt staff to assist.

For our banquet, we had several perculiar items in the programme which both my coordinator & the banquet ppl saw to their success. Instead of having additional pax as Muslim menu, we converted tables with Muslim guests to Chinese Muslim menu. We requested for a dance floor, and they gave us one suited to our demands. Instead of playing CD music for the march-in, we sang acapella using their cordless mics, which they provided. We did sound testing with the AV technician, and it was smooth during the rehearsal & the actual execution. We also requested for 2 carpark lots as my Granddad's mobility wasn't the most convenient to get around in normal conditions.

In terms of the deco, we had selected this design done by this florist, S. I was most impressed that though OH no longer tied-up with S, they still delivered the design I wanted. Attached is the deco of how the stage was like that night.
310684.jpg

I love sharksfin soup, but had to return to the suite when it was served. So I requested for it to be delivered to the suite. And soon after I returned to the suite for the change into the EG, my sharksfin soup was delivered! It even came along with the bottles of pepper & vinegar.

I'm thinking why my guests, husband & myself had a good experience with OH, was how detailed I went thru my prev experience with OH during my org's anniversary dinner. I rem during the event (which was bigger than my wedding), service was rather poor & the AV technician actually played the wrong music for a pair of professional dancers. So with tt in mind, i reminded my coordinator umpteen times that these are things I am taking great care.

In addition, a couple of days prior to the dinner itself, I emailed my coordinator asking if there would be feedback forms on each table, for guests to comment & for the couple to be aware of what went on during the dinner. While there wasn't going to be the feedback forms, my coordintor assured that there would be some form of 'compensation' should there be any areas where guests felt negatively.

Shirley my coordinator actually left OH on 31 Aug, but she continued to serve my needs till my big day. I wasn't informed that actually her colleague, Siew Li, was liasing with me from 1 Sept - 4 Sept, till the day I checked out. For tt matter, I got to commend Shirley's professionalism, as she turned up during the time where we were running through the programme & special needs before the actual banquet.

Just FYI, the package I signed for the banquet at OH for weekends is priced at $698+++, which comes up to about $815 or so.

This is my first-hand account of OH & I do hope that couples who have signed up would not be overtly worried by some experiences others have had. I guess, for many banquets, there probably are positive & negative experiences. Thankfully mine was positive!

For current OH brides & those considering, you can sure post ur enquiries here & I wld surely answer to the best of my knowledge

Hello Meh Meh

Congrats to the success of your BIG DAY! Phews a great relief to you now yah?

Thanks for your feedback and reassurance, giving us BTB a big boost! Ultimately this boils down to having close communication with your co-ordinator...because we all wanna make the whole event enjoyable and memorable right!

Congrats mehmeh! Thank you for the reassurance.

I better start talking to my coordinator soon.

Jocester : Have you arrange your food tasting? When is it?

Hello Larryle...

Food tasting is preferably done 3mths before AD as some other BTB mentioned that if done much earlier, the chef may not remember your feedback?

I've planned to go for food tasting at ard mid Nov while my co-ordinator is still ard. She will be going for her maternity leave in Dec. I'd really need her assistance as much as possible. How abt u?

When are you planning to print the inserts and choosing of wedding favours? Considering there will be alot of festive seasons comng soon, it is not advisable to do it 3mths prior to wedding date right? At least wedding favours can wait...

My rough preparation timeline:
Mid Nov -Food tasting, Decide on the theme, Floral arrangement, liaise with T-dragon on the selection of wedding cards.
End Nov/early Dec -Print inserts
End Feb/early Mar-Choose wedding favours

larryle wat's your suggestion or any issue that other BTB would like to bring up? thanks...

Hi Meh Meh,

Congrats!!! Glad to hear that your wedding turned out great! Thanks for the first hand account too! :D

Do you know which florist OH is now engaging? The last time I met up with OH, they told me they were coming up with new designs for the deco. Is yours the new design??

Hi Jocestor & Larryle,

U're most welcome! And thanks for the lovely well-wishes! Indeed, how much details u go into discussing with ur coordinators matter.. Don't make assumptions, clarify twice, thrice & many times. Make sure stuff are black & white & dun be paiseh to clear any doubts..

Not to worry about the feedback, there's this hardcopy form where u comment on the taste & presentation. So with this written comments, u can hold the chef accountable to it.

Apparently food tasting is done in the 3mth window before the AD itself, but most couples do tt about 2mths prior to the AD. I had mine 3 mths in advance, coz work would start to pile up.

I actually chose my wedding favours only 2-3 weeks before the AD. Usually it's not a problem to choose this late. I made such a late decision as I couldn't find the time within my own work schedule to sit down with my coordinator to discuss the details, inc selecting the wedding favour. About 2 mths before the AD, or together with food tasting is a gd idea. U can get more opinion of ur family members yah?

Selection of wedding cards must be done earlier though, probably 2-3 mths ahead. The collection of cards can be done within a week. The tougher part is finding the right printer who can deliver what you intend to do. I chose a cream coloured card which I intentionally chose over a red/maroon one, coz I wanted to print direct (not hotstamp or inserts) as it would be cheaper & less hassles instead of having the need to tie the strings.

So long as the proof of the inserts are all correct (typo, alignment) on the 1st try, the printing can also be done within a week.

Jocestor: Good to see that u've got a timeline too. Working backwards help alot & make sure u give a lot of buffer time in the event there are hiccups!

Hi Jacquelyn,

I'm not sure who the florist OH is engaging now, rather I can't recall the name my coordinator mentioned. The design I liked & posted in this thread was actually one done by Stefii's, but OH no longer ties up with them

Do hope urs will turn out great too! Do update us on ur wedding & banquet preps!

Hi Meh Meh,

My Chinese ceremony is on 1 Jan 2006 but the dinner is on 2 Jan 2006. So I guess it's about time I start talking to my coordinator!!

Will try to arrange for the food tasting some time in Sept, or early Oct. Will keep you gals updated!

I'll be taking my photo shoot in end Sept. Anyone has any great place to recommend for outdoor shoot?

Hello Jocester,

I've almost the same timeline as you. Hehehe...
Hope I can settle most of the stuff (including wedding favors) before she is off for maternity leave.
We've not communicated with her since we signed the contract a few mths back. Think I contact her late Sep to arrange a meet up in Oct.

Welcome Jacquelyn!

I do agree with Jocester, somehow I think the coordinator makes a big difference.

Maybe can say suay lah..that day that I attended. It really disappoint me. But we didn't let the bride know until much later cos it's her wedding day..didn't want to make her upse.

Anyway, whoever who decides to go for the hotel, just have to ensure that as long as the bride and groom enjoys the day...it's fine.

hi mehmeh,

congratulations! Glad to hear your wedding went well! Have no doubts about Shirley's professionalism, she was definitely a great asset to OH. Any idea where she has gone?

Hi Larryle,

Thank you for the welcome note.. :P

I'm a bit blur about all these stuff and getting gan cheong after seeing you all so prepared in advance!!

Hello Larryle & Jac...

Same here. I have not contact her after confirmation..or rather I was busy with some other thingy stuff like getting a BS, photography, etc..How's yours getting along?

I've not confirmed on the studio for PS & AD photographer..I've not choosen my gowns too.. So Jacquelyn u're not alone. :p

hi Cass

v sorry for the late reply. 've not been chking tis thread for a while. juz confirmed w amara cos orchard still too ex for wkday even though we've chgd the date. my htb tinks it looks a bit oldish plus we wld like to occupy ballrooms 1 & 2 not ballroom 3 which looks pretty cramp. another disadvantage is the shared reception unless we tk all the ballrooms.

but nonetheless, thk u v much 4 ur help. really appreciate it v much.

Hi Jocester,

I will be going for my 1st fitting this coming sunday. Bought my wedding shoes yesterday at Jwest. Started buying some electrical appliances over the weekend too. Went for the Philips carnival sale and bought a dvd, steam iron and a hair dryer.

I am also sourcing for contractors to get reno quotations. I am collecting my keys end of this month. Looking fwd to this day....hehehe...

Looks like i'm no longer @ the planning stage, actions need to be taken already and it'll not stop till the AD.

Hi Larryle...

Dat's great to hear...things starting to get into shape yah...good good, just go with the flow now.. Bet u must be excited over your first fittin coming sat, share with us your experience yah? I'm gg for my BS's wedding show coming sat too.

Is it a good buy at Jwest? I've tried my luck at all possible shops but nothing fancies me...i'm now praying to get something out of my coming bkk trip ..yippee..

Sure jocester, I will remember to bring my digi cam along.

I'm not sure whether it was a good buy. I paid abt $90 for that pair. As I dun wan something all silver, the one I got was rosy in colour. Dunno how to describe actually... When I have the time, I will snap a photo and send it to you.
hehe....

yah, juz go with the flow.... $$ also flowing..
kao_cry.gif

Just found out that Jwest at Centerpoint is having a sale. Some of the shoes are going for 50% the original price. You may want to take a look there?

Heard from my friend that BKK has quite nice shoes too. Have fun shopping there!

I'm also scouting around for shoes. Haven't seen one which fits yet. I'm looking for a open-toed, 3 inch shoe. So far, the heels are either too low or the size doesn't fit. I have a feeling I will end up making one...

Hi Jacquelyn,

Oh gosh, u better start working hard on ur wedding preps. Found ur AD PG & VG oredi? Quite impt to book ur fav early, coz once taken, u got to find the next best PG & VG's whose works speak to u in terms of style & price.. I think u wld enjoy ur PS alot!! I did too

Wld u be heading to KL or BKK anytime soon? I got one 3" pair fr MBK in BKK & my recent trip to KL, i saw many beautiful pairs in KL's Sungei Wang.

Hi Jocestor,

Cross my fingers for u tt u can find a pretty pair in BKK. Did u see my multiply site? I posted a pix of my strappy open-toed shoes there.. Cost me $10 & my BS's designer cum owner thinks it's so pretty tt i shd have bought & sold in S'pore! hahah

Anyway I did see a similar pair by Substance @ Taka & they were selling them at $70 or was it $80? Oh gosh, how they mark up the price

Hi Sherl,

Hmm, no idea where Shirley's heading to.. Heard fr her colleague tt's going to take a long break & travel 1st before deciding on where to settle down. I hope to ask her sometime this week..

Hi larryle...

you're so funnie....there flow our $$ too. haha

Hi mehmeh..

Yes I saw your pair of heels before, they are very pretty! Is it difficult to put them on esp when u're with your gown?? Can u share with me the name of the shop (MBK) that you have bot this pair from? And shops that I can look out for? (for buying of xi candle, xi comforter set, heart-shaped pens)...million of thanks....

Hi jac

Thanks for the tip-off.. I shall pop by Jwest centrepoint... :D

Going to hit the panic button soon! At least my gowns are more or less settled.

I haven't found my AD PG and VG. Any recommendations?

Nah, unfortunately, won't be going to BKK/KL soon... Will be busy at work for me.
So the earliest we can go will be in Nov.

Larryle, maybe the model which you bought wasn't on sale??

Hi Jocester,

No lah, def not difficult to wear. I bought them for the AD, coz I only found them after the PS! heehee, so in the hotel suite, u can look as unglam while putting shoes on & no one knows yah? Just slip into the pearl loop & then tie the knot with the ribbon. Viola!

Oh gosh, I think the name of the MBK shop is Zeen? If I'm not mistaken!

Dun get the Xi candles at MBK, if your trip coincides with a weekend. Go Chatuchak to get the candles, MBK marks up the price & even with bargaining, can drop very much.

I don't rem seeing the comforter set in Chatuchak.. U sure u want to buy & bring it back? Veryvery bulky leh.. But i do suppose Chatuchak has pretty much anything u want in this world except for real diamonds??

Hi Jac,

I wld think my AD PG & VG from Big Day Studio are gd & def inexpensive. But do surf around websites of photographers to get a feel of their portfolio, each style will speak to each couple differently??

Most ppl spend less on a pair of PS shoes, for fear of damaging. If u're one who's careful with where u walk, then go ahead & splurge on a pair tt can serve for both ur PS & AD. U know of Novo? They have this design tt's been ard since last year & a very popular design for BTBs

Try VNC at Citylink & Walking Culture at Millenia Walk, for pretty open-toed shoes. They shd offer heels suitable for wedding use below a $100.

Hi jac, thanks for consoling. Me juz kidding abt the disc... my jwest shoes costs less that wat I had budgeted. Besides, I can wear it for formal occasions too. So it's a gd buy, hehehe....

A cooler version of chatuchak is suanlom (opens every evening). But of coz it's not as big as Chatuchak. Meh meh, you're rite... alot of things can be bought at the weekend mkt.
So Jo... Happy shopping!

Hi mehmeh & larrlye..

Thanks for the advices...gotta making round the forum n gather as much info as possible so i waste no time there to shop Shop SHOP!!! haha~

Hi Jac...

Which BS have u signed up with? Mine with dang...

oohh ladies

Cant contain my joy... I'll having my PS on 16 Nov with The Edge. Finally came to a consensus with my FH on engaging Andrew Tay and quickly informed my BS on our decision. Have also decided on my MUA n the date of my trial make up.

hi mehmeh,

Thanks for the advice. have started surfing around the websites.... my FH is more particular on this aspect, so i'm going to leave it up to him to select! heehee

hi jocester, ha ha! can feel your joy from your posting... btw, what's MUA??

Didn't sign up with any BS. Main reason is that my FH's brother is a photographer. So we're asking him to do the PS for us. Planning to do the PS during last week of Sept. Quite excited about it. Going to check out some outdoor places for the outdoor shoot...

Hi Jac..

MUA=make up artist.

oh last week of sep is very soon yeah, 2 more weeks to go...
i need some ideas on outdoor places too...which places hv u shortlisted?

Hi gals! just went down to Orchard to take a look at the ballroom. It looks much better with the intelligent lighting that they installed during the 7th lunar mth.

At the same time, also met up with Priscilla and she recommended to have the food tasting in Nov. Which is good since my FH and myself will be busy till early Nov.

will be doing my PS next week! Looking forward to it...just hope that the weather will be good since it's been raining for the past month...

Hi Jac...

Sounds interesting abt this intelligent lighting. Do you mean to say this lightening gives special effects esp for first dish? Is it applicable to BR 3?

We are planning to hold our wedding dinner @ Orchard Hotel next year October but have not signed up with them yet, still see see look look around.

I went to my friend's wedding last week and saw the intelligent lighting, very impressive but not sure if they charge to use it or not, anybody can help me?

Heard about their bad service and was very worried but after my friend's wedding dinner I am quite assured because their waitresses very prompt to our request. Our table is the sabo table so request for quite a lot of things from the waitress.. ha ha and make her run here and there.

My friend actually highly recommended his coordinator to me so will be dropping by to discuss with her before deciding.

Any comments ?

Also looking for bridal shop, any recommendations? Quite lost and HTB not very helpful because he say most important is the bride to look pretty.

mm, just to share my experience about orchard hotel...

initially we find the co-ordinator not bad... can chat well kind... but when it comes to negotitating for some free perks... my requests were all rejected... felt disappointed though...

after much thought, we decided not to take it... and i emailed the co-ordinator to tell her we wil not be taking the package... mm... strange... the co-ordinator DIN even call me up and follow up to find out y we dun want to sign up with them... think she cant be bothered i guess....

Hi Bug,

Firstly, Congrats!!!

As for the free perks, I guess it depends on your timing and whether the hotel is having any promotion/ extra perks. For me, I had quite a good deal when I was looking for a venue.

I tried asking some of the other hotels for free perks but they were unable to give it to me too. And I feel that some of the other hotels (even the 5 star ones) also do not call me up and follow up to find out why I didn't sign up with them even though I emailed the co-ordinator about it. I guess they know that the couples have various reasons for not taking up the package.

Nonetheless, hope you have found a suitable place in making your wedding a wonderful and memorable day!

Included a pix here so that you have an idea of the lighting. It definitely adds more colour to the ballroom. They have different colours and patterns to play around. The lightings are fixated to the ceiling (see the black dots in the pix) and they can roam round the room. Of course it's limited to a small area. This lighting is not switched on throughout the dinner though. After the 1st march-in/1st dish (i think), the intelligent lighting will be switched off and the house lights will brighten for the dinner.

board-post.cgi

Hi Jo,
BR3 has the lighting installed as well. Sorry, but can't remember if they use it for the 1st dish or not.

Hi Pink Dolphin,
I think it's best to check with the coordinator on the lighting. It's usually included in the wedding package. For a normal D&D, they will charge.

Can you remember if there was any intelligent lighting for 1st dish at your friend's wedding?

Included a pix here so that you have an idea of the lighting. It definitely adds more colour to the ballroom. They have different colours and patterns to play around. The lightings are fixated to the ceiling (see the black dots in the pix) and they can roam round the room. Of course it's limited to a small area. This lighting is not switched on throughout the dinner though. After the 1st march-in/1st dish (i think), the intelligent lighting will be switched off and the house lights will brighten for the dinner.

315046.jpg

Hi Jo,
BR3 has the lighting installed as well. Sorry, but can't remember if they use it for the 1st dish or not.

Hi Pink Dolphin,
I think it's best to check with the coordinator on the lighting. It's usually included in the wedding package. For a normal D&D, they will charge.

Can you remember if there was any intelligent lighting for 1st dish at your friend's wedding?

Hi Jac

I was not in the ballroom during the first dish because need to bring the red packets up for my friend. Will check with my friend when he is back from the honeymoon.

I do agreed that even five stars hotel also have hiccups in terms of their service. I think some people did not call when we tell them we are not taking up their package is because they do not want to sound pushy or irritate us further by calling non stop.

My best friend had her wedding last year at a five star hotel and you can never imagine the sloppy service from the coordinator that handles her wedding, so I guess everywhere is the same.

Actually, I prefer the way Orchard Hotel works in terms of giving freebies. If we are not a good bargainer then we will lose out in getting freebies as compared to those who can really bargain. Agreed ?

Hi Jac,

Thanks for the pix.. I gotta check my AD pix to see if I had the intelligent lighting.. Looks pretty gd!

But why shd they charge for the use at a D&D?? How odd..

Hi Pink Dolphin,

Keep up with this objective mind.. Hiccups can occur with any hotel or coordinator.

Hope to hear tt u will join us at this OH thread!