Novotel Clarke Quay

yfeb29

By the way, I heard Jasvy is not a really good recommended printing supplier. Do shop around for better ones if time allows...

cheekychick

Hi Xuelun, actually i dun have high hopes for hotel food, lol. Mass production standard sure drop, dats how i feel loh..as long as its not served cold, im fine with it...Eh, actually i prefer to be served, wuahhahahaah...cos i dun like to stand & sit, stand & sit. And sometimes, paiseh to take 2nd or 3rd helpings, heh!*greedy*

Hi Diva, thanks for the photos! The bridal suite looks great! But mine wont be like urs cos i take cinnamon room...dun tink i will have jacuzzi :p

Hi Yesfeb29, u can try reading thru the ROM threads
Plenty of comments for different JPs...http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/539/539.html?1199083877

queenly

Hi XueLun, my AD is Oct 2009. I heard jamie saying that come 2009 there could be new themes as well..so looking forward to it loh...

happinessbliss

HAPPY NEW YEAR GALS!!
I wish all of you a smooth sailing year ahead and also blissful marraige....
As 2008 comes, guess all 2008 btb will be busy ... I pray that all will have memorable and smooth sailing AD....

cheekybee

Hi cheeky_chick,

I had my wedding at cinnamon room too! Got the same bridal suite as diva I think...hehe...but i am not sure whether it is a extra perk because i signed up during last year's BOWS...our suite has jacuzzi too...=)

HAPPY NEW YEAR NCQ GALS!! And congrats to all Jan brides!!

jiahui

HAPPY NEW YEAR GALS.

Yeh. 2008 is here.
It the 2008 BTB turn to get excited.

Hi Bliss, you are the first name in the 2008 list,
and getting married this thursday.

Congratulation!

jiahui

(( YeaR 2008 ))
~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Raycia 26-Jan-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Yvonne 3-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (about 35)
Fantasy 15-Jun-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur, Phoenix (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (30 tables)
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
R&J 06-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
kc 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
eden_dream 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
TomC 12-Sep-2008, Fri , Phoenix Ballroom
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Dawson 21-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Happiness&Bliss 27-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Jelly Beanie 28-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix (35 Tables)
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
ChunChun 10-Oct-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Miseep 31 Oct 08, Fri, Phoenix ballroom
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Funfun 11-Nov-2008, Tue, Phoenix
Blurgroom 16-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
adathong 5-Dec-2008, Fri, Cinnamon
earthsea 26-Dec-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

(( YeaR 2009 ))
XueLunBaby 03-Jan-2009, Sat, Phoenix (about 40 Tables)

cheekychick

Hi Cheekybee! Oh, i tot mine wont be like Diva's cos the package states deluxe room, lol. Whereas those who took Phoenix will get 'suite'. Keke...i'll cfm with them again in future, mine is a looooongg way to go :p

diva79

Cheeky_chick >> when is your AD?

wow the novotel brides list soooo long. i rem in nov 06, i was at the very bottom of the list waiting for my turn since i was the dec bride. now everything is over liao. time really passes!

queenly

Hi Cheeky Chick, i already confirmed my dinner at NCQ le....

went to place my deposit last week, then jamie say she will be busy for the BOWs so my contract will only come maybe 1-2 weeks later.

summer_ice

i am just passing by... did not take up NCQ for my wedding banquet but NCQ was my first choice for wedding banquet... the ballroom had already been taken up for the date that i wanted... so no choice, have to go for my next best choice!

and i was wondering who is so fast to book in oct 2007 for dec 2008 wedding! but later i realised it's not people fast, it is I am slow!! :D

tmr going to attend ~bliss~'s wedding at NCQ phoenix ballroom!

queenly

(( YeaR 2008 ))
~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Raycia 26-Jan-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Yvonne 3-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (about 35)
Fantasy 15-Jun-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur, Phoenix (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (30 tables)
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
R&J 06-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
kc 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
eden_dream 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
TomC 12-Sep-2008, Fri , Phoenix Ballroom
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Dawson 21-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Happiness&Bliss 27-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Jelly Beanie 28-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix (35 Tables)
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
ChunChun 10-Oct-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Miseep 31 Oct 08, Fri, Phoenix ballroom
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Funfun 11-Nov-2008, Tue, Phoenix
Blurgroom 16-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
adathong 5-Dec-2008, Fri, Cinnamon
earthsea 26-Dec-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

(( YeaR 2009 ))
XueLunBaby 03-Jan-2009, Sat, Phoenix (about 40 Tables)
Queen 25-Oct-2009, Sun, Phoenix

Dear Diva,

Nice taking a peek at your photos.
Post more for us kae???
Heez..

So you have confirmed 28 + 2 tables which means you are paying for 30 tables right (no matter if all your guests have turned up or not)???

Dear adathong,

It is alright. (",)

Dear Cheeky_chick,

You lazy gal right? kekezzz...
Most of us prefer to help ourselves as we can also choose what we want to eat and those that we don't may be liked by the others.
So in this way, we also dun waste the food..

Dear Queenly,

Yah, looking forward to those new themes too..
kekezzz...

Dear HappinessBliss,

Hope you will have a great year ahead too~!!!
Smilez alwizzz...

HiHizzz JiaHui...

Dear ~bliss~,

Your AD is one year ahead of mine..
Hope you will have a great, enjoyable and smooth-sailing WeddinGz todayz...
Smilezzz...

Dear Ayukie,

okieokie..

Actually 3rd Jan 2009 is my 2nd best date.
My best date falls on a damn hot date which some of you may be aware of.. -14th Sept 2008-
I knew that NCQ Phoenix was already taken up even before I went to NCQ Wedding Show on 1st Sept 2007..
And I was told by a forum fren (whose best date is also 14th Sept 2008 and also wanted NCQ) that most hotels were taken up.
She had changed her AD to her 2nd best date.
For me, we change our AD as well..
Instead of going to those ulu places (banquet) which I absolutely have no confidence in or I absolutely have no clues about, I rather change my AD.
If I still insist on 14th Sept 2008, I will have big problems in booking my AD banquet venue, my Bridal Studio, Buffet lunch at our homes, etc...
I am glad that I have settled on 3rd Jan 2009 and most of the important stuffs have already been confirmed and booked le..
Eg : BanQuet venue, Bridal Studio & package...
In addition, I have really waited very long for booking of 3rd Jan 2009, thus perks are not important to me..
If NCQ is giving me (which I have been offered), I will greatly welcome them.
If nope, I am still perfectly fine as to me, having the AD confirmed is more important than anything else..
IF no confirmed AD, I can't even proceed with other preparationsz..
So Galz, dun hesitate too much just becoz of the perks which may be offered to you..
For booking of 2nd half of 2009, just BOOK it and dun wait anymore...

ayukie

i also tried getting 14 sept 2008 and 3rd Jan 2009 unfortunately im unable to book them both lol ..

my best date also is 14 sept 2008

jiahui

Hi Xuelun
Welcome to the NCQ thread
Ya. Most important is you are able to book the hotel you want.
I booked NCQ in early 2007 without extra perks too.
But I don mind as I wanted so much that my wedding to be held at NCQ Pheonix ballroom

Dear Ayukie,

Oh really???
You have gotten a list of auspicious dates from a shifu as well??

I have gotten mine but sad to say, only 2 weekends (1 Sat and 1 Sun) are in the list.
Most of them fall on weekdays..
Reason to why we only insist on weekends is that my Hubby is on shift-work, if we hold it on a weekday, 1/2 of the colleagues cannot turn up and Hubby doesn't want to trouble people to take leave on weekday just becoz of our WeddinGz..
So we are also left with limited choices..

Are you insisting on NCQ only or you are actually opened to the others??
When did you contact Jamie or other NCQ coordinators btw??
For my case, I only insist in NCQ..

ayukie

yupz i gotten 3 list of dates frm my geomancer lolz ...
my list of dates on saturday is very limited lol and my wkends dates apprently are quite "hot" lol .. that's why worse case I might have to hold on friday lor ..
Im not really insiting on NCQ .. i shortlisted a few hotels lor ..
i contacted Jamie 2 - 3 wks ago ...

Oi@@..
I have been pestering her for more than 3 months liao but of coz she still said it is based on first-come-first-serve basis.
I perfectly understand her position.
So basically, I checked my email inbox everyday for her notification.

Which are the hotels that you have shortlisted??

pringirl

my dear xuelunbaby, u really inviting me to ur wedding? hee must start saving for ur angpow liao keke. it's exactly one yr from now! =)

koko_coco

hello everybody.. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!
wooo.. im seeing so many new names here..
hehe.. haven't been here for ages, n its still as lively.. the list of NCQ brides is also getting longer.. and there's even 2009 NCQ brides now..
miss those days here..

diva79

XueLun (xuelunbaby) >> we used up 28 tables and 1 reserved table. so we only paid for 29 tables.
u wouldn't be billed for reserved tables if they are not being used.

xuer21

Divasan.. which ballroom did u choose? Phoenix? can have only 28 tables??? i tot min is 30? cos i only have abt 28 tables also... but that time ask huiling she told me still must pay for 30 tables...

crayongal

hey gals....
ya.. roadshow wont get waiver of corkage as well.. they super strict on dat..
but i tink u'll get complimentary table and also extra nite of bridal suite as well..
heh.. or upgrade la.. if u're booking cinnamon room.. haha.. den can get suite also. not sure la.. hehe.. i didnt book during roadshow... coz, also kiasu... booked 1st quarter of 2007 for my date. haha..

erms.. ya... i am also quite undecided on the theme. heard the roses theme is nice... i feel crystal may look abit plain but after hearing wat divasan say abt the lighting... i am tempted to get crystal too. hehe...
but ya.. i think the deco and all at the ballroom is super nice!
Divasan.. Congrats!! nice pics! show us more k ? haha... oh, and i rmbr u're the one who does super nice paintings. keke... r u selling anythg anymore ? haha =P

so fast its 2008 oredi..soon... our 2008 list also starts clearing off.. haha.. i am oredi preparing myself to get busier as the days pass. haha

tortoisezzz

HelLo Lara

Heee, I think they are not too sure that is why did not reply. I heard from my coordinator that there is no new themes yet...

wendycp

Been searching around, finally end up with novotel as is within our budget, had placed my deposit. They are very strict, hard to nego. Like you all said, waive of corkage charge and helper room.

My wedding coordinator, Huiling showed me the bridal suite and the cinnamon ballroom. Bridal suite seems to be quite small so guess most of the couple will have to get a helper room. Cinnamon too, I wanted 25 tables but guess I have to reduce in order to have a bigger stage and my guests who sit near the screen can get to see our photo montage.

yfeb29

Hi Summner Ics,

I was at NCQ earlier and saw Bliss wedding photo, I must say she is very pretty... Coincidentally bumped into her & hubby again during 2nd march in. Her evening gown was very princess-like. Really nice.

By the way, is Michelle back here to share her AD with us? Or i have missed her post?

diva79

Michelle (xuer21) >> i am not sure either but maybe we booked it much earlier? becoz i noticed now their min tables increased for 2008 liao.

stef (crayongal) >> hee yup still very busy with painting becoz there a few ppl asking me to paint some stuffs for their place.

for the rose and crystal theme, one thing to note is that the lights are dimmed for during the arrival of guests, 1st march in, the 2nd march in and during the dinner. the ballroom will be bright for the tables phototaking.

we decided to go for all crystal becoz we feel the place will look nice many many small lights peppering the place. with roses they cant be seen when the lights are dimmed. but it just personal preference.

we finally got the photos liao. will upload and let you gals take a look after its done.

xuer21

Hi Divasan, when u booked, how many tables is the min? cos hor i rememeber... 2007 weddings in Phoenix Ballroom is min 33 tables... then 2008 is 30... then 2009 i dunno...

summer_ice

hi yesfeb29

were you there to take a look at NCQ's ballroom when there are weddings going on? ~bliss~ is really a very pretty bride hor? she was looking so pretty and dolly last night!

To the rest of the BTBs

just some things that i noted at NCQ... they really need to hire some better waitresses.. the 2 waitresses that served my table looked as though they are waiting for their PSLE results! i mean she looked that young and was so small sized, and looked timid. she seemed to have problems carrying the big plates and bowls of food.

she couldn't de-bone the fish properly, and the whole fish became a plate of mashed fish. imagine our shock when we turned ard after the toasting! and the mango pudding looked horrendous after it was served into the various small bowls.

the serving time differed quite vastly too... our side finished the prawns dish, and the groom's side of tables had not even had that dish yet. it was served almost the same time as our next dish. so maybe the BTBs would like to take note and point out this to your co-ordinator. i mean if im that guest sitting at the groom's side of tables, i certainly would not be too pleased to have my dish served later.

their soft drinks also... seems that the soft drinks were very diluted, and almost totally gas-less.

just my two cents worth and hope everyone would have a happy wedding banquet of coz!!

cheekychick

Hi Diva, my AD is 12/12/09...loooong way to go, lol. Thou i booked in mid Dec, till now, i have not received my contract from Huiling...but i guess no hurry lar hor?

Summer_ice, paiseh to say, im one of those kiasu ones -_-" I actually booked 2 yrs ahead *sweat* Btw, u mentioned that the waitress de-boned the fish for u all ar? NCQ doesnt have VIP serving for all tables rite? But thks for feedback sia...Where u having ur AD???

tortoisezzz

Divasan

You are right, that is my worry too, saw my friend wedding using the crystal theme, and the sparkling effect is nice when the light is dimmed but I dont know for rose theme but will go down to take a look...

yfeb29

Hi Summer Ice,

I was at food tasting yday. Actually caught by surprise they displayed our name at the lobby TV panel. Haa...though i feel it was not necessary.

Do you know which bridal shop did ~bliss~ engaged? And from your description on the waitress, do you think i should just let the guests do their own portioning? And quite disappointed to hear the beverages are not up to standard.

Lastly what you had for dessert mind sharing? I am taking the risk to change yam paste to cream mango with pomelo despite my in-law side is Teochew. Because we already have yam ring and rice for our menu.

So will you still consider NCQ after this?