Novotel Clarke Quay

I'm new here... I've also when NCQ to take a look at the ballroom and suite... Me and my FH like it alot... But the price has gone up by $80 from 2008 to 2009... So sad... But looks like we're too lazy to find others already... So my FH had decide that he dont mind the increase...

We've spoken to Huiling too... She's a very nice lady, even bring us to view the suite... Hehe... She told us that there will be a Banquets Rd Show (I think) coming up on 06Jan'08...
Anyone have got any idea?! Hehe...

i also spoke with huiling just now .. meeting her tml

Stef, you can look at my blog
www.michaelgwee.com got some pictures of the kitchen, i haven't gone about taking pictures for the whole place yet. The ID we engaged as mentioned by pringirl, Roy, is someone i feel honest and diligent in his work. Price wise i feel he is very accomodating.

Cheeky chick

Ya you are right, it is better to secure the date first and pray that everything goes well.My friend told me when she booked that time, there is only one colour table cloth and the ballrm is so so, but when her wedding approaching, they added some pink decorations and have more tablecloth colour...heehee, so I believe Novotel will keep imprvimg and that is the perks, :P. You din even see the suite...

Carlyn

Ya lor, it shoot so high that it is so scary but still worth it loh, :P. Ya Huiling nice nice, at least did not show us not happi when we bargain for perks heeee

Hey Michael,

I have just viewed your reno pictures..
Looks nice sia..

My flooring (except for 4 bedrooms) has been completed quite awhile ago and now, painting is in the process..
My carpentry design/measurements have been finalised yesterday.
HDB had started doing the cement screeding yesterday and my laminate flooring should be starting very very very soon.
Also, Roy mentioned that in 1 week's time, we will see alot of differences again..
kekez, very excited..

And you know what??
When I had decided to contact Roy, Roy had just started on a project whose house is just 2 storey below my house..
So QiaOz rightz??
Then when he brought us to a house to seesee, the couple happened to have visited Pringirl's house before deciding on Roy..
And the best thing is that this particular husband happens to be the elder brother of the male owner whose house is just 2 storey below mine..
Sounds complicating??
kekez..
I immediately smsed Pringirl when I know of these..
Such a small small world~!!!

Yesh, indeed.. My FH had told me that we shall buy our TVs at the PC show/s.. Fantastic promotions..

OhYah, I work in a Bank as well..
But different bank from Pringirl's but I dunno about yours..
I had left my previous bank slightly more than 7 months ago (after 3 years in the previous bank) and have been in the current bank for about 7 months loo..
And you doing trading yah??
Wow, spot gold lehz..

Also, please kindly let me know more about the details of PG & VG you have researched on..
Thanks yah..

Divasan,

Do rest well yah?? Take good care hor..
So that you can really enjoy your Christmas and New Year's day..

Btw, glad to hear your comments about NCQ.
Few months back, when I have not decided on my banquet venue, my God-Ma asked about my banquet venue area. I replied "should be Novotel Clarke Quay". Immediately, she said, "That hotel not high class lehz". Then my God-Pa immediately shut her mouth by saying, "Youngsters like it can liao." And the most angry part is that she still went to ask my Mum why I had decided on such a not-so-high-class Hotel. My Mum also shut her mouth by saying, "Why need to be high-class? As long as the food is nice can liao."
For a period of time, I was very upset by my God-Ma's comments. I personally understand that NCQ is definitely not a very high-class hotel. Reason to why people choose it is because of its reasonable pricing, countless positive comments about its food, ambience and services. NCQ is the one and only one Hotel which I have attended the Wedding Show and have done full-research on (including photograph taking). Majority of my banquet research are done online via emails from the Hotel Co-ordinators and comments collected from various forums.
Initially, I absolutely do not know about the existence of NCQ in Singapore until I read soooooo much positive comments about it that I made my way down to NCQ itself. The only thing I do not like about NCQ is the exterior appearance. I have posted my upset feelings in StyleWedding as well and there are alot of advices from various forum-mates. Nevertheless, I have still decided on NCQ (even without looking at its perks but will still be receiving perks from NCQ as well).

Pringirl,

You got miss me ornot??
kekez.. Hehez..

thanks xuelunbaby! we like our place alot! one thing to say, roy's service / honesty really speaks for itself. look at the referrals.. lol..

i'm glad that you went with Roy! Its really a small world after reading what you've mentioned..

Good that you guys are going to buy during the PC fairs.. trust me on that.. fantasic deals.. you won't go wrong..

Lol.. yeah i work in a bank.. left the previous one abt 5months ago.. used to work long long time ago in the same one as pringirl though.. lol..

no i'm not doing trading.. spot gold? wa lao eh.. so expensive already.. if already long.. then keep.. if not.. better not.. fluctuations very big and now technical rebound on the usd.

cannot give you all details on the AD photographer already.. coz i just signed a package.. and that includes a AD photographer.

Here is the information for the novotel clarke quay wedding show, to be held at BOWS 2008.

Date: 4 to 6 jan 2008

12 noon to 10pm

Bugis Green (beside Tan Quee Lan, opp Bugis Junction)

Admission: Free

Booth B9

Wedding show perks:

Weekends signup for 2008 and first half 2009

Phoenix Grandballroom:

-One Complimentary table for 33 tables and above

-Additional barrel of beer

-One anniversary buffet dinner for 2 persons

Cinnamon Ballroom:

-One complimentary table for 20 tables and above

-Complimentary upgrade to Bridal Suite for 1 night

-Complimentary food tasting for 10 persons

-One anniversary buffet dinner for 2 persons

Weekdays signup for 2008 and first half 2009

-$100 nett off weekend prices

For more information, please call our wedding planners at 6433 8632/3 or email to

Xuelunbaby

Dont be upset!!!In fact, I have attended my friend's wedding before decide to go for Novotel...I would say the phoenix ballrm with its crystal theme is GRAND and NICE...not high class, Novotel is a prestigious hotel worldwide ley why not high class ley??? So dont be upset over it...

Xuelunbaby, had seen ur postings abt dat incident at Styleweddings forum as well...its hurting & demoralising to receive such comments. But we cant do anything rite? Cant pls everyone..and i duno why we have to pls everyone else when its OUR wedding, not theirs lor kaoz. I tink its undergg reno rite now & shld be completed by mid 2008. So im also hoping for a cleaner appearance overall, lol. Am glad u remain unaffected by it...mouth is hers, she can say watever she likes & u will do watever u pls :P

Wow. Time really flies. Now can see getting more 2009 brides coming in.
Think we can create the 2009 list.
Any confirmed 2009 BTB may add in.

Michelle, your AD is this coming Sunday.
Wishinig you in Advance, Have A Blissful Marriage.

Michelle 30-Dec-2007, Sun, Cinnamon

~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Raycia 26-Jan-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Yvonne 3-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (about 35)
Fantasy 15-Jun-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur, Phoenix (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (30 tables)
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
R&J 06-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
kc 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
eden_dream 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
TomC 12-Sep-2008, Fri , Phoenix Ballroom
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Dawson 21-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Happiness&Bliss 27-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Jelly Beanie 28-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix (35 Tables)
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
ChunChun 10-Oct-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Miseep 31 Oct 08, Fri, Phoenix ballroom
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Funfun 11-Nov-2008, Tue, Phoenix
Blurgroom 16-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
earthsea 26-Dec-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

eh xuelunbaby, me come to this thread specially for u leh, wat u think? hehe...

actually novotel is a gd choice. both e ballrooms are pillarless & location is good. price also reasonable =)

Merry Christmas to all NCQ brides!
Let's have a great year ahead!

Rei: sry for late response, yup, I booked with NCQ so they told me they had those types of wedding favours lah.

Hi everyone.
Merry Christmas.

Hi Tortoisezz.
Just copy and paste the latest list, also include your own AD in list.
Then you may review and post the message.

Hi Cheeky,

So did you have your cards printed by Jasvy?

See quite a number of negative comments about them from the other thread.

YeaR 2007

YeaR 2008

YeaR 2009
XueLunBaby 03-Jan-2009, Sat, Phoenix (about 40 Tables)

met jamie yesterdae to place my deposit le...they dun provide dar room but i ask her to include in the rates for getting a deluxe room

if reasonable rates then can get 1 night stay for my helpers.

hey gals..
if u're asking about perks.. i would suggest u all book at roadshows.. heh...

i did not book during roadshow and end up .. din get any perks additionally. jus the usual.. more carpark/cards etc... heh............
oh, and i did not want beer so manage to chg it to something else.

btw, if i am not wrong, ncq is very strict with corkage charges .. so not possible to get waiver for wine.. but hard liquor is fine.
their bridal suites and day-room also... dats why if u sign up during roadshow, these are given quite freely tog with the complimentary table. =)

Hey Michael,

My carpentry workz are in the process now.
Roy called me yesterday to confirm something.
He also mentioned that my bedrooms' laminate flooring will be done on this coming Monday and cleaning + washing will be done on this Wednesday.
Carpentry will be up by this week.
Keke, so excited to see my finalised designs and colours.. Heez..

I have worked in the bank Pringirl is in now before too.
But that was very very very long ago
Only for 6 months, from Dec 2000 to Jun 2001.
I was then waiting for my 'A' Levels results and was also waiting to go into Uni.
Then, I was in a Branch as well.
Had enjoyed my 6 months there..

Oh btw, which Bridal Studio have you chosen??

Dear Tortoisezzz,

Thanks for sharing your experience with me.
Don't worry, I am happy to have decided on NCQ.

Dear Cheeky Chick,

Oh, you have seen my postings in StyleWedding NCQ ah.. keke..
Yah, it is definitely true that we can't please everyone.
If I were to choose 5* or 6* hotel, no one will be there to help to fork out the extra expenses $$$ and most importantly, more $$$ does not mean better food in any way.
I have just attended a WeddinGz at Shangri-La beginning of this week.
The food is really so-so only.
But waiting for each and every dishes reallie made me sleepy and hungry.
Can't keep guests too hungry.
Hungry people can become angry people.

Dearest Pringirl,

Dun bluff lehz..
You have already come to this forum since long long ago.. Heez.. kekez..
We smsed each other so much till dunno what to say to you here.. Haha..
Yah, NCQ's prices are reasonable and I am glad that I have chosen this hotel..
I invite you to my WeddinGz kae???

Dear Ayukie,

"eh as long as the "bian tai" users goes i can go le ..." ??????
**Dun understand**

Dear Michelle,

Advanced CongratulatioNz to you for BiGz DaYz tomorrow..
Have a smooth, pleasant and wonderful day tomorrow..
If I can, I may drop by to see ya WeddinGz.. keke..

Hey Queenly,

When is your WeddinGz Dayz???

Hey xuer21,

Remember me???
We have chatted at StyleWeddingz..
How are you recently???

Dear crayongal,

Your HusBand is Shin Chan???
**griNz griNz**

Anyway, to my knowledge, NCQ does not give corkage waiver, day room and extra stay at Bridal Suite even if you were to sign up at the Roadshow.

dear all...

been mia recently. all i can say is that novotel is reallie a worthwhile package. its not very ex considering that it has a pretty grand ballroom. even my frens are very impressed. somemore its not any other hotel that they have been to until very sianz liao. so its really a fresh new experience for them.
we chose red for the VIP tables and dark grey for the rest. however the ballroom is so big that even such dark colors didn't make the ballroom look small or dark. in fact I understand from Jamie that we are one of the few couples who dared to use such orh lulu colors. the pink drapes and crystal & intelliegent lighting really makes the ballroom looks *wow*.

I regret that i did not take a photo of the setup with the lights dimmed to show u guys what i mean...
for those who are looking into floral setup, i understand that floral setup do not have a stand for the vip table. but for crystal setup there is a crystal stand with candles for the VIP table.

when we booked the ballroom last year, there are no crystal stands or pink drapes and i was pretty worried that the grand ballroom looks very bare. however by the time when it comes to our turn, the management made a decision to add in more table clothes colors, drapes and stands. so i guess by the end of next year, the ballroom will look even more fanstastic since I am sure the management makes sure the ballroom looks even better!

btw, the guests really laffed at the 1st dish dance novotel did for us. this is really a nice touch to see all the waiters swaying and danci`ng to the music which is so far the first for me to see waiters dancing even thou i have attended a few weddings this year.

we asked for more carpark coupons, wedding cards etc since we are unable to ask for waiver of corkage. but nevertheless, none of the guests bring any wines or liquors..so it doesn't matter. We consumed 36 bottles of wine for 29 tables. we have around 2 tables of guests who didn't turn up becoz they cant return from their detachment on time.

btw the printing costs by jasvy is not cheap...in fact you can get them printed much much cheaper by other printers.

We are still waiting for the softcopies from our photographers. will upload once we have them..

Hi Diva

Thank you so much for sharing. My friend shared the same experience as you. She told me when she book the hotel, there is no choice of table cloth but when it is her turn, she is glad that there is...THe crystal theme in my friend's wedding is beautiful, I am impressed by it...and but I like roses but I dun know it will have an effect like the crystal theme...hahaha...i feel like choosing all red cloth for the tables but my bf says it is too oriental...

Hi Xuelun, i noe wat u mean abt hungry sia. Went for one at Sheraton, reali quite jialat sia...abt 25mins for one dish *faint*

Hi Diva, how r u?? U feeling better now anot? Really glad that u've enjoyed ur wedding, keke...I understd from Huiling dat table cloth got red, grey, silver & gold..i tink so..cant reali rem also -_-" But she said 2009 will have new choices so see how lor...im already hapi with the way things are now..Actually, if they have black table cloth hor, even better, cos i like orh orh also, heh.

Tortoisezzz, if i rem correctly hor, i tink can ask for both leh. As in, mixed theme, combine floral & crystal? I rem i've seen the photos somewhere before...one of the NCQ brides here. Looks not bad too!

Tortoisezzz >> i like roses and the floral arrangements too. however, since the ballroom will be dimmed, i feel crystal setup will look nicer and more romantic. becoz you can see small brightdots peppering all over the ballroom. if i am using the roses, they cant be seen once the lights are dimed...so i give them a miss.

Cheeky_chick >> tks much better now.
we chose the red and grey. i feel silver and gold too near the colors of the ballroom walls and thus will not make the eyes "anchor" and the place will look bland. however, same as u if they have black i def will use black!

yup there is a mixed theme. however, i prefer the crystal theme better since lights will be dimmed.

YeaR 2007

YeaR 2008
adathong 5-Dec-2008, Fri, Cinnamon

Congrats, Michelle.
I haven't being here for quite awhile, the list became so long, happy to see more btb joining this talk. Welcome all new btb.

<< YeaR 2007 >>

<< YeaR 2008 >>
R&amp;J 06-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Happiness&amp;Bliss 27-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
adathong 5-Dec-2008, Fri, Cinnamon

<< YeaR 2009 >>
XueLunBaby 03-Jan-2009, Sat, Phoenix (about 40 Tables)

Dear Cheeky_chick,

Yah, it is reallie reallie horrible..
And being such a high-class hotel, its food was just so plain, nothing fantastic..
And the worst thing is that they treated every table like VIP table where food was served in individual plates and we felt no freedom at all..
All of us dun like it..
In addition, the waiting time in-between every dish was horribly terribly long..
I waited till I nearly dozed off..

Dear Diva,

Thanks for sharing your experience.
Really glad that I have chosen NCQ for my WeddinGz BanQuet venue.
Happy to know that they will try to do their best for every couple's WeddinGz..
Yah, I can somehow visualise the crystal theme setup..
But, if I can take a look at your softcopies, that would even be better.. Keke..

Btw, you had confirmed 29 + 2 tables OR 27 + 2 tables???

Hi There vividz~!!!

Hello All,

It has been a while since my last post here.

I have a qus to ask for those who had their solemnisation in NCQ before. Any good JP I can engage on that day? Able to help? Thanks in adv.