Novotel Clarke Quay

Queen, i also prefer NCQ. But now MIL is saying Clarke Quay too far for some of her relatives & frens...wan us to charter bus *sian*

Ayukie, agree w u...the menu is so-so...Quite alrite but not fantastic. 88 restaurant has better menu than NCQ, lol.

Michael, i will try to ask loh..Juz dat reading posts here, seems like its unlikely...cos corkage is the only way they can earn rite? Meeting them tonite. Beer is one barrel free only & i duno the barrel is 20 or 30L. If cannt waive corkage (which is $15nett), most prob i will get wines from them too as i tink it will cost more if i get my own...If go by 1.5bottles per table, i would need 30 bottles. Meaning i gota buy 10 more bottles cos already have 1 bottle of wine free per confirmed table....Thks, i'll look out for the names u've mentioned in Carrefour!!!! I noe nothing abt wine....

Here is the information for the novotel clarke quay wedding show, to be held at BOWS 2008.

Date: 4 to 6 jan 2008

12 noon to 10pm

Bugis Green (beside Tan Quee Lan, opp Bugis Junction)

Admission: Free

Booth B9

Wedding show perks:

Weekends signup for 2008 and first half 2009

Phoenix Grandballroom:

-One Complimentary table for 33 tables and above

-Additional barrel of beer

-One anniversary buffet dinner for 2 persons

Cinnamon Ballroom:

-One complimentary table for 20 tables and above

-Complimentary upgrade to Bridal Suite for 1 night

-Complimentary food tasting for 10 persons

-One anniversary buffet dinner for 2 persons

Weekdays signup for 2008 and first half 2009

-$100 nett off weekend prices

For more information, please call our wedding planners at 6433 8632/3 or email to

Cheeky,
Always press hard for bargains. ultimately do your sums and see what is better. because in house wine normally not so fantastic.

but to be honest, the 100 off weekend prices is damn good deal. lol

anyone managed to waive the charges for the usage of ncq's 2nd LCD projector since they only provide 1 free usage of projector? they said it will be @$500++...

Hi gals..didnt manage to get waiver of corkage. For price of wine, thou now is 23++, 2009 prices not yet cfm. When the time comes then see how loh...but i've booked my date already, 12/12/09...

Queen

Thank you for sharing. Aiyo How come the perks for wkday is so GOOD. Mine is wkend ley...Me also like Furama Riverfront mercury ballrm heehee, from the way forum has stated it seemed that compared to Furama, the coordinator from NCQ everything also not sure ley, making us insecure.

Cheeky chick,

You so cute, you are booking at least 2 yrs in advance man!!!

tortoise, ha ha ha.. don't say that la.. cheeky chick also no choice... earlier dates alot booked up..

please don't go to carlton. trust me. its small and low ceiling.. if u want take furama or ncq also better.. go and take a look at carlton if you don't believe me.

Carowl, i din ask for 2nd LCD projector as i only need one & its already provided wor...But then, mine is Cinnamon, small room so actually no need 2nd one. Errr...but i do noe 2nd barrel of beer (30L) is 600++ now...

Tortoise, hehe...i also feel paiseh when i told her my date & at the end of it, she asked me is 12 Dec a super duper auspicious date, lol. We told her no, we juz choose it ourselves..then i ask her am i the first one to book 2009 & she said no lar, first half of 2009 got quite alot of bookings already but im the first to book Dec...*cough cough* I went Carlton to see before but juz the ballroom & not the wedding set-up. I would say i prefer Furama...

M, u noe actually i wanted Sep rite..lol. But after much tinking, gave it up cos 19/9/09 is 1st day of 8th lunar mth...i will have probs with the invitation cards...will have to give out 1 mth earlier *faint* So i tink dun wan lar...

Hi all..

My wedding on the 13th Dec. Think some of you went to see the ballroom setup on that night?

The cordinator for the night for us was Sean. He was pretty Onz and very assuring. Think more kan jiong den us, even my bro commented dat he is quite a good time keeper and responsible. He kept on updating us on the progress thorugout the night.

even thu jamie was pretty buzy, she came down during the first march in. we really appreciate her kind gesture that she hasn't forgotten us. she even helped me with my heavy wedding dress.

the presentation of 1st dish was pretty entertaining and most of the guests laff. i must admit that at frist i was worried that since the ballrooom was so big, it might looked bare. but our choice of table cloth colors didn't disppoint us and the crystal theme was very appropriate. the intelligent lighting really made the ballroom very impressive. *two thumbs up*

the food was good but there are some issues with the VIP table. my family complained that the portion of the food served by waiter was too little. even my BIL complained he still feel hungry. its kinda embarrassing..we r worried about the other guests tables...but for us all the tables are not filled. so dun think the proption would be an issue. maybe the waitor for the VIP was a newbie so didn't know that the proprtion served was too little? however we will feedback to the hotel on issues with the vip table.

however, the unfinished portion of the food was served to our room right after the banquet.

The view from the suite is awesome, my guests who went to the suite was all very impressed. also, the snacks, chocolates, strawberry all very nice. so nice untile finished all by my helpers..*hahahah*

We managed to use the "jacuzë" (dunno the spelling). the motor was spoilt. however the maintaince guy came up to fix it...but still a bit noisy. think the previous wedding couple must be too busy didn't use it so the hotel din know its spolit.

nonetheless, overall its a very pleasant experience for us. glad we chose novotel. jamie was a great person and our cordinator didn't disappoint us.

Hi diva79 !!

Wanted to drop you an ecard that day.. lol.. but couldn't find your email *heh heh*.. cheesecake and myself was just msning and wondering how was your wedding.

Catch up with you again! If you have msn let me know.. then me and cheesecake can ba gua with you online... lol..

I have frequent SingaporeBrides Webby & Forums since few months ago but have only just registered today. For the past few months, I have been pretty active in StyleWeddings Forums only.

I am a 2009 BTB.
Please kindly add me to the BTB list.
My AD is 3rd January 2009.

I personally dun think so much of whatever perks that are being offered. Ultimately, booking your desired venue to have your wedding banquet held on your auspicious date is the most important thing. Only when your banquet date is booked then you can really proceed with the rest of the preparations like Bridal & Photo-Shooting, Buffet Catering (at bride's and groom's parents' houses), etc etc etc... There are alot alot of things to be done after the booking of banquet venue. Thus, I strongly advise DON'T delay anymore just becoz of the perks that you MAY be getting.. Most importantly is to secure your DESIRED DATE..

NitEzNitEz...

Hallo divasan!!!

welcome back and glad everything went smoothly for you.

Hi Divasan, i was there on 13th to meet jamie....my hubby saw the photo of u n ur hubby the brown one..and he commented....

"very got character" cos u 2 were not smiling in the photo..

Anyway u got 32 tables rite? we find it the right size not too cramped nor sparse in the ballroom.

anyway, me n my hubby more or less will be settling for ncq but i wan to go furama take a look first since heard lots of good reviews too.

anyway, anyone got any comments on wedding lunch? im thinking to change from dinner to lunch instead...

Diva!! Very happy to see ur updates
R u well-rested by now? keke...rem to share ur photos with us when they r ready leh...heh.

Hi Xuelunbaby..im something like u also, not super bothered by the perks. If got, i'll b v hapi but if not, im alrite loh...But tot u would wait to book, keke..cos urs if first half of 2009...

Queen, let us noe ur decision ya?

HeyHey Pringirl..

So surprise to seeya here~!!! kekez..
Thought u hardly come to Forum liao..
So you have already confirmed your AD yah??
Btw, HIPV is ???
Sms when u are free yah..

HiHiz Cheeky,

Yah, if perks are given to me, then that will be absolutely fantastic. If none, I'm also alright. Coz at this point of time where I only have a year's time of preparation, I have to be busy with our LoveNesT's renovation, purchase of furniture appliances accessories and also our Big DaYz preparationz. So I really need to prioritize everythingz, including timing & finances..

HiHiz Queen,

Yupie, I have heard pretty many positive comments about Furama as well. Update us on your decision. (",)

Carowl

Dun need 2 projector, cos I went for my friend wedding at phoenix, she also use one projector and my bf walk to the end end end and the image still veri clear, so save the $$$$

Michael

Serious???hahaa, that time the carlton coordinator called me and as teh no. also start with 63.... it tot is novotel and says the person has arrange us to go there. When I realised my mistake and leave a voicemail, they din call bk, so then dun go loh, but the pic looks like high ceiling MAN

Diva

Do you mean Jacuzzi!!!!!!!!!!!I din know there is one cos I just peep at my fri' suite and I must say that it is nicely decorated!!!!!!!

Cheeky chick

A least you book you rdate already. 1st half of 2009 really taken up quite alot...oh no worried worried...me meeting them this wed,

xuelunbaby, me stalking u, u dunno mah? hehe... how's reno & everything? u buy ur TV yet? plasma or LCD? just abt another 1 yr & will be ur AD liao hor. time really flies...
(HIPV = holiday inn park view)

tortoisezzz,
No joke, its the first place we went in fact. We just held our ROM in the restaurant private rooms and push back our Actual Dinner.. The ceiling is really low. Actually i feel that ceilings don't have to be like 6 metres high or whatever.. but a little too low feels claustrophobic imho.

xuelunbaby, my friend is holding on the 28th of Dec. Will be taking a look at his pictures and videography after that... coz sadly i can't attend.

I dunno if he's going to post his pics online though.. if yes i'll let you know.. Cheesecake/pringirl.. its devilaz's wedding.

Went to friend's wedding dinner at Furama City Centre the other day, and did a comparison. Might be useful for those trying to decide between NCQ and FCC like me earlier on.

Parking: FCC's parking is not so good. FCC carpark was filled up by 7pm. Everyone else had to park in Apollo Centre or People's Park. Not sure how this compares to NCQ as Liang Court carpark may be crowded next yr after reno.

Set up: Ballroom set up was Starry Night- very nice, but otherwise the ballrm quite plain. There were crystal candles on the table but they didn't light them until 1/2 hr before the dinner (quite no point right?). The table set up is all white in colour. NCQ definitely is superior here with their elegant table set-ups (5 choices of table cloth, two-plate arrangement).

AV: FCC has 2 large screens on each side, which are very nice, but the sound system had problems that night. The music didn't play for the ppt montage, and some of the mikes had problems. NCQ has one screen on one side of the room- any comments on sound system?

Dinner: Dinner started very late- gaps between first few dishes, and very rushed at the end, but the food was not bad. Service at my table was generally good but they didn't refill my tea after dinner started.

Overall: FCC is not bad and I think is definitely value for money, but you need to be aware of its flaws beforehand. Also, make sure you do sound checks and keep track of timing.

I'm still happy that I chose NCQ!

actually if im doing a wedding dinner should b going for NCQ liao but backside itchy.....thinking to do a wedding lunch...cos i hope i got more time to mingle with my guests after eating...

i wonder does NCQ provides wedding lunch...and if yes dunno start at wat time..

cos i scared very rushed...think its time to call jamie again....

Anyone use Jasvy Printers recommended by NCQ? Would like to hear your reviews.

Or does anyone have any good and budget printers to recommend?

Hi Xuelun, u do so many things at one time! Must be reali stressful rite? But do enjoy the preps esp the reno part
I kinda miss the times during my renovation, keke....Agree with u...most impt thing to me is the date. And since i only have little little tables, i'll make do lor. Cos its not like alot of places i like, can accomodate my 18-20 tables -_-"

Michael, reali ar? 28 Dec is next Fri leh!! His nick is always 'Tired'...lol.

Tortoisezzz, why cant u juz call them & say u r ready to place deposit & ask them to block date for u? Cos dats wat i did...but i dun tink anyone is so siao4 like me lar, book 2yrs in advance. Huiling did tell me that alot of dates for first half of 2009 are taken up. So u shld act faster...dun wori, juz quickly meet up but dun forget 2 prepare ur list of questions else later forget to ask.

Sushi347, not sure abt Jasvy Printers. But seems liek most comments range from v expensive to very fast service? lol. Didnt even get to see the variety of the invitation cards. Was told to make an appt with Jasvy to see.

haha..thanks cheeky and tortoisee....save $$ will be better n spend it on honeymoon =P

too bad i cant book yet cz still waiting for shifu to choose my dates......bt look like NCQ beri "HOT", hope i will be able to book it for 1Q 2009..heee

Cheeky.. Yup.. he invited me but me and my wife can't go.. but i'll be meeting him to see his photos and AD video done by his videographer.. lol.. he always got lobang one.. lobang king.. lol..

Pringirl: scared that there is a misunderstanding.. i'm talking abt Furama Riverfront.

pringirl is stalking me~!!!
Oh Nooooo... ** RunninGz away **
kekez.. Haven buy TV yet leh..
You told me that electronic prices also come down very fast mah, so I will not be buying now.
Most prob will do so during 2008 Mid-Year sales.
Anywayz, I also got lobang to buy at good price.
I love Samsung TV~!!!

Hey Cheeky,

Yeh, alot alot of things to be done at the same time when my work schedule is also very very very tight.
Recently, had been "forced" by management to work on several consecutive Sundays too.
Arghhh.. S h i t t y - S H I T...
Burnt my weekends which are supposedly to be used for my reno and weddinGz preparatioNz..

Today on OFF.
Will be going down to my Bridal Studio to place deposit and tomorrow, will be meeting my ID to do final confirmation on my carpentry workz.
My ID is recommended by pringirl whom I had metup at StyleWeddinGz since few months back.. Heez..
Since then, also asked pringirl alot of thingys and she has become my Bigz Jie-Jiez leh.. kekez..

Yupie, renovation of our LoveNesTz is pretty enjoyable.
It just seems like a plain piece of paper where u do some colouring or decorations to it and slowly day by day, u see something new on each and every day..
My Reno should be finishing in 2nd/3rd week of January 2008.
As for furniture appliances electronics accessories, I can take my 1 year to slowly choose and buy, then fill up our LoveNestz item by item.
kekez.. Meanwhile, am shopping around liaoz.

Michael,

I initially also thought you were referring to NCQ.. kekez..

eh mic, got lobang for PG & VG ah? must share hor. haha me sound like a parasite...

heh xuelunbaby, the ID i rec to u, is actuallie rec to me by michael! so now u noe who ur predecessor is liao haha.
yupyup, electronic stuff can wait. sometimes, is gd to buy during yr end, cos the sales folks wanna hit their target. sounds familiar? haha. u can go see which model of TV u like, den call up places such as everjoint to check on the pricing. we ordered our TV via phone from everjoint. good pricing. big jiejie will check e num for u ya.

Ohhh.. yuan lai is recommended by Michael norrr..
Heez.. Thanks Bigz JieJiez & Michael..
kekez..

Yawnz.. So tired..
Turned in late last nightz..
Couldn't sleep long as well coz meeting Aunt (GHA, Yishun) at 12pm..
Also, need to drop by branch awhile before GHA, forgot to do something for a client..
Oppsz..

For PG & VG, my mum commented that the photos etc taken at my cousin's wedding are very nice and natural.
I haven't gotten the chance to take a look at them.
If I do find them nice, then I would get Aunt to help me with this lobang as well coz she's the one who hired them for (her daughter & my cousin)'s weddinGz..

Byebyez, gotta run loo..
MeetinGz FH at 11.15am..

michael >> hi hi...i fell sick right after the wedding. my mum and MIL too,..think we are too busy prep neglect our health. thus all 3 fell sick right after everything is over. thus i didn't login here right after the wedding.

my colleagues and family was surprised at the nice ballroom and bridal suite. think becoz not a lot of our frens had their AD there. they even asked how did we manage to find such a nice place. the view from the bridal suit is awesome! my bro took a lot of photos..but he hasn't burn them into a cd for me yet. will upload them once i got them from him.

eemoo (eemoo) , Cheeky_chick (cheekychick) >> everything went on smoothly except for: hb forgot to asked the helpers to play the reception photoshoot video montage.
darn wasteed my 1 month plus of hardwork and sweat. also the slight hiccups at the VIP table.

Queen (queenly) >*hahahh* we designed and make the protrait ourselves. becoz the one provided by our BS is too small. somehow we liked these 2 photos the best since both of us r not the e smiling kind. feels more natural for us to choose those photos. but normally ppl will choose those couples smiling one..but the smilig ones we took feels very unatural. :P btw its 28 + 2 reserved. so its 30 tables in total. but just right not too squeezy.

~Bliss~ (~bliss~) >> yup we got the guestbook from Sean.

Tortoisezzz (tortoisezzz) >> yup yup..got arh. very nice to use..too bad we dun have too much time to spare. else can lie there and soak the whole day. *hahahha* btw 1 project is enuff. no worries no need for 2 projects.

think that is all for today..me going to see the doc liao. *cough cough*

xuelunbaby also work in bank ah? lol.. small world.. and yes, Mr. Roy is referred by me.. lol.. yeah he's a good chap.. good in his work and never overcharge.. you will be in good hands! get your tvs during the pc shows every three months.. fantastic discounts.. no joke.. some of the full hd lcds are really below market rates.. don't go on the last day though.. and best if you can go early, sometimes their offers are while stock last.. or after 5pm...

Diva, hope you are feeling better.. i was sick for last 2 weeks.. cough like crazy also... get well soon! love to see the view from your bridal suite. GCW bridal suite like very normal only.. lol... sigh..

divasan....i see but the picture realli very nice and special....

oh so 30 tables is like dat...very good cos i looking at 35-40 and i was afraid will be very cramped.

Diva

Heehee, I went yesterdae and saw the Jacuzzi, from the way you describe you seem to enjoy it though no time...

Cheeky chick

Yesterday met huiling and we were thinking whther to wait for the 2nd half of the wedding shw, then she says then our dates might be tken up, then she says she got one client who booked 12/12/2009 and is willing to give up the perks and I know it is you hahaha...me asked her why I am not enjoying the same perks as my friend who hold a wedding there. She mentioned different pkages loh, haiz...anyway I will be booking it, :P

Tortoisezzz, hehe...i feel abit paiseh when she asked us if there's any particular reason why we book 12 dec so early. But we have no reason leh..we juz take this date cos its Sat & its easy to rem. We dun see shifu or wat so we have no restriction at all. Huiling said she tot 12 dec is super auspicious date wor, lol. Ya, actually, i dun much fancy the perks lar, except waiver of corkage. The rest like extra one nite stay, more parking coupons or wat, im not v interested loh. Its more impt for me to secure the date i wan else i will feel v disappointed. Too bad huiling say waiver of corkage is impossible. Very strict...then bobian loh. As long as on my big day, everything goes well, im thankful liao -_-" Eh, i nv even asked to see the bridal suite, lol. Literally juz pay $ then go home, wuahahahaha.....I nv even got to see the sample invitation cards as she told me need to make appt with Jasvy to view. But ok lar..mine is like 2yrs away...not in a hurry also. Then when u booking ur date??? Decided liao? Cfm liao? keke...Even if 2nd half of the wedding show offers many perks, i also no choice rite...juz console myself dat at least i get my date *gulp*

Diva! I hope u will get well soon...u must have been to stressed out by the preps
At least everything went well, its a relief loh. Have lots of rest & more water pls. I reali tink u need alot of slp...

wah... gals... some of you are '09 brides liao? hehehe....

i haven't logged in for super long le.. and i jus realised dat some of the previous gals who were chatting on e thread dun seem to be active le.
anyhows, i am jul 08 bride.. haha.. and ya... getting more and more ganjeong as 08 approaches us. haha

oh ya.. wanted to ask... michael/pringirl... wats the ID dat u guys are recommending ? hee.. seems gd... according to above thread.. can share? =)