Novotel Clarke Quay

for the march in, though a short one, you all must remember to walk slowly. my hubby and me walked too fast for the 1st march in and everyone told us after that. Zul will brief you when you're outside the door preparing for the march in. then for 2nd march in, we walked a little slower, but they still say it's too fast. think we too xcited liao. haahaa...

Zul will tell your hubby to hold abit of your gown and your other hand can hold your own gown. he will also tell you what to do if you step on your gown while marching in.

hi divasan,
we confirm with Jamie 1wk before. before we confirm, we ask and gently remind all our frds 1 more time thru SMS. they will sure respond to you.

on my AD, those who confirmed with us came. but there's 4 of them who are stuck at the causeway and can't make it. but these 4 already told us beforehand that they are gg Malaysia on fri and will be back on sun late afternoon. but becoz of the jam, they can't make it. their angpow came though.

overall for my banquet, it was almost 100% attendance. we had 5tbls of frds and 5 tbls of colleagues. the rest are all relatives. one thing, we only invite ppl whom we are close to. those not so close or hi-bye frds, we didn't invite. but not all our tables are 10pax, cos it's difficult to arrange until so accurate ley. so some of the tables only got 8 or 9 pax.

hi Doric, I opened a total of 50 bottles of wine, a barrel + 2 or 3 jugs of beer, 3 btls of Chivas and 3 btls of Cordon Bleu.

Huh, so many? U got 30 tables, rite? Yr guests really can drink leh. I thot Sun less pple will drink.

We will hv 1 wine per table + 1 barrel of beer and intend to bring 4 bottles. I think btr ask my hb bring more hard liquor.

Gosh ladies...my turn to get cold feet tis week...heehee...eemoo i got zul too...hope he can put our nerves at ease on the nite itself! =)

Hi Doric & Happiness&Bliss - ya lor..i also quite surprised at the consumed rate..i think the red wine is good cos my frds feedback to us.

hi cheekybee - heehee..what can i say?? just relax (i know it's hard)...Zul is really good. the most xciting part is when you're about to march in where you standby at the door. you hear the emcee talking and you hear the music starting. and Zul will brief you on what to do and ask you to get prepared. that was the time i sort of started trembling abit and told my hubby i am really xcited and scared at the same time.

just wanna share with you so that you can be self-prepared.

No worries ladies.... the captain will brief u thru during the dinner. Things like the 1st march-in, time to go change, calls to dwn to get ready, 2nd march-in etc etc etc....

Nw I still hvn't got myself into the nervous mood leh. I think the moment b4 March-in will be nerve-breaking. My hb always say his heart will probly pop out cos he dun feel comfortable to be the centre of attraction. I told him we must act very cool even if inside nervous like mad. I even thot of singing song with him as we march-in. But I think he will be so nervous tat he forget all the lyrics. So, btr drop the idea

Hi Doric,

Yr AD is this sunday... must be really busy now huh? My HB also say he not used to be in the centre of attraction, thats y he dun mnd that the march in is short... hahaha... but for us girls, its a once in a lifetime issue so of cos we want to be in the limelight that night... You take care and sleep well... be the prettiest bride that night ya!

hi divasan - you mean my wine & liquor consumption? actually,don't worry too much. just let the things flow...and everything will be fine. we didnt control the consumption, so perhaps that explains the amount.

the most important thing is to enjoy yourself that night.
have fun!

I met up with Hui Ling this evening to make a payment for deposit. We wanted to book xtra rooms for our friends, but Hui Ling says the 2008 price list is not out yet and also mention that since our wedding (27 Sept 2008) is also F1 race, the price will be more expensive...

Hi Happiness&Bliss - yup, i heard from Jamie too. cos she mentioned she will invite the newly-weds back again on their anniversary. she also mentioned it's a good bargain cos the prices will be up due to the F1.

why not you try asking them for a special rate? i'm sure they will accomodate to that.

eemoo>> what do u mean by invite back again on the anniversary? u mean giving us brides a special price to book the hotel? my hb a huge F1 fan..

Hi eemoo,

Ya i've asked. Hui Ling says will get back to me in a week or two on the prices. But also caution us that the price increase might be quite significant....

Happiness&Bliss >>maybe u might want to consider another day for your AD? becoz if the F1 race is also on your wedding day, your guests might find it hard to turn up on your big day. imagine the crowd, traffic jam towards the town, also road closure. etc etc...

divasan - yes, they will offer us a special price on our anniversary to come back and stay for a night.

Happiness&Bliss - or you can make do without the room for ur helpers? maybe you can get them to go to your room (since it's huge) and rest there instead? for me, my helpers went home after the morning event and came over at ard 5pm.

Hi divasan,

No we cannot change date since the deposit is already made and confirm. And its a "chosen" date.

eemoo,
HB says most probably will just extend the helpers room to check out the next day instead of getting another room. We will see how it goes... The purpose is for the helpers to rest after the dinner, and also a gathering since our helpers are all longtime frds and such...

Thanks Iris for the list! I've added myself (earthsea) in for 26 Dec
Happiness&Bliss, Hui Ling says the helpers room is a standard rm, so it's pretty much the normal room rate. Even if you can't get addn rms, I'm sure it's fun for all your friends to stay in one room together, share the excitement, right?

DiorSnow 29-Nov-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Doric 02-Dec-2007, Sun, Phoenix
Divasan 13-Dec-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Crybaby 21-Dec-2007, Fri, Cinnamon
Blur_girl 22-Dec-2007, Sat
Michelle 30-Dec-2007, Sun, Cinnamon

~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Raycia 26-Jan-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Yvonne 3-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (about 35)
Fantasy 15-Jun-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur, Phoenix (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (30 tables)
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
R&J 06-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
kc 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
eden_dream 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
TomC 12-Sep-2008, Fri , Phoenix Ballroom
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Happiness&Bliss 27-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Jelly Beanie 28-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix (35 Tables)
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Miseep 31 Oct 08, Fri, Phoenix ballroom
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Funfun 11-Nov-2008, Tue, Phoenix
Blurgroom 16-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
earthsea 26-Dec-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix

Hi all, my AD is 2mrw. But hor, hw cm I dun feel nervous or excited huh. Nw I'm only trying to recall wat r the things I hv nt done. Afraid I will forget tis & tat. Just hope eveythg runs smoothly. Talk 2 u all again next week

Hi Doric,

CONGRATS!!!! Try to relax and be a beautiful bride tomorrow...

Hi earthsea,

Hui Ling told me that all the rooms rates will increase during the F1 race period irregardless of rooms types. We will se what we have to do when the date draws near...

Hello Gals

Me thinking of choosing between Furama City centre and Novotel ley...anyway what the diff between cinnamon and phoenix ballrm

Hi Tortoisezzz, both Furama CC and Novotel have beautiful square ballrooms. Furama is actually cheaper and offers more perks but we were already in love with Novotel's ballroom and reception area ;) The best thing is for you to go and take a look at both set-ups yourself- most Sats will have weddings on.

Cinnamon and Phoenix ballrms are on 2 diff floors. Phoenix has its own reception area, while Cinnamon shares the area with the function rms (but if it's dinner, doesn't matter). I'm not sure what the size difference is, maybe someone else can share?

As for the size difference, Cinnamon is smaller than Phoenix. Phoenix has high ceiling so it look more grand. Cinnamon room has a lower ceiling than Phoenix. If you are interested, u can go & take a look at their ballroom then u decide.

Hi Tortoisezzz,
Cinnamon room is a smaller ballroom with minimum table of 18 and max up to 24. Phoenix is a bigger ballroom and as earthsea has mention with higher ceiling (5m if i did not remember wrongly) with minimum of 30 tables...

is there any difference between company D&D and weddings?

My fren just attended his company D&D on Fri and his comments were damn negative.

Firstly, he say service was very slow. it could be due to the lack of servers for the no. of tables... (think he got 70 tables)

Then food portion was too little and the food he mentioned all cannot make it.

Im like....realli got so bad anot...cos its all praises here in this thread.

Im wondering, do the guests tell the wedding couple everything is fine and good not to disappoint them when in fact its not the case?

I still very much prefer NCQ and 99% will book with them for my wedding in 2009. But after hearing, indeed will abit scared....

hihi! can add me to the list? 10 oct 2008, friday phoenix ballroom
so glad and relieved that i have done the booking! i love the ballroom!

there's still 10 months away! whee~

Queen >> i dun think the food is that bad but honestly its just alright. the chix still the best one i ever tasted..

n honestly, for every hotel and wedding i have attended the food is just okay lar. even for ex hotel..so i guess the $ paid just goes to the booking of the ballroom ba.

i heard the chicken is the best as well...but my fren commented is too salty...

i guess it realli very much depends on individual....

maybe i will just tell my fren....dun tell me negative feedbacks....haha

Hi, i guess diff ppl got diff criteria abt whether a serivce is good or bad lor.. just like my hubby fren.. she attended a wedding dinner at NCQ also.. but her comments was also that their serivce very jia lat... but hor... i still believe the comments made here. Anyway.. its hard to please everyone. One might feel its bad serivce while others might feel its alright or good.

As for food wise, as NCQ is the former hotel otani.. dunno if the chef got change anot.. but i attended my god bro rom soleminzation there, the food alright. Portion wise, i've heard some comments made here regarding small.. but hor... i guess the chef actually makes sure that the portion is just sufficient for everyone... i mean its not nice to have left overs also right... later ppl say must be not nice thats y left over... chefs normally have such pride.. so i guess that explains for the "just nice" portion. Some ppl are big eaters so maybe they might felt that its not enough.

My adivse, as long as u are comfortable and like the hotel, dun bother too much abt feedbacks though.

Hi.. how's everyone here..
Kind of miss alot of post here..

I'm trying to upload my wedding photos now.. however still haven finished yet.. already finished uploaded the morning session.. Please feel free to view at my multiply...

As promised, I will share the decoration of that night from NCQ with all of u here.. please bear with me.. multiply is really slow..

hi tweety, forgot if u are in my contact list, can add me if i'm not in ur list, thanks. my id is irisme.

Added ChunChun in the list.
<font color="ff0000">
Divasan 13-Dec-2007, Thu, Phoenix
Crybaby 21-Dec-2007, Fri, Cinnamon
Blur_girl 22-Dec-2007, Sat
Michelle 30-Dec-2007, Sun, Cinnamon

~bliss~ 03-Jan-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Raycia 26-Jan-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bubble-bell 24-Feb-2008, Sun, Phoenix
yesfeb 29-Feb-2008, Fri, Phoenix
merribell 29-Mar-2008, Sat, Phoenix
bernice 30-Mar-2008, Sun, Phoenix
tevetoh 19-Apr-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Yvonne 3-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Bearyxmm 15-May-2008, Thu, Phoenix
Val 21-May-2008, Wed, Phoenix (about 30)
Ting 25-May-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Kelluvjer 30-May-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Sharon 31-May-2008, Sat, Phoenix
henyve 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Cinnamon (Abt 22)
Rac 07-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (about 35)
Fantasy 15-Jun-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Lara 19-Jun 2008, Thur, Phoenix (about 30)
lingandyang 21-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix (30 tables)
Joyce 22-June-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Joy 28-Jun-2008, Sat, Phoenix
R&amp;J 06-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Vividz 20-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Stef 27-July-2008, Sun, Phoenix
kc 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
eden_dream 6-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
TomC 12-Sep-2008, Fri , Phoenix Ballroom
Flora 13-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Gina 20-Sep-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Happiness&amp;Bliss 27-Sep-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Jelly Beanie 28-Sep-2008, Sun, Phoenix (35 Tables)
Jiahui 5-Oct-2008, Sun, Phoenix
ChunChun 10-Oct-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Michelle 18-Oct-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Miseep 31 Oct 08, Fri, Phoenix ballroom
Gina Wee 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
Maltese_lover 1-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
youkie 2-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Alyssac 8-Nov-2008, Sat, Cinnamon
Funfun 11-Nov-2008, Tue, Phoenix
Blurgroom 16-Nov-2008, Sun, Phoenix
Ivy_sammc 22-Nov-2008, Sat, Phoenix
suzukai 30-Nov-2008, Sun, Cinnamon
earthsea 26-Dec-2008, Fri, Phoenix
Ann 27-Dec-2008, Sat, Phoenix</font>

iris_met >> me next liao...*haiz* my wedding not as smooth as planned. something happened to my MIL..dunno if she is able to attend or not. the whole family morle very low...

Hi all brides &amp; brides-to-be,

Me back after a hectic preparations going on... anyway, i just went for the food tasting session last week, saw that there is renovation going on at the ground floor shopping area... wonder when will the renovation complete... if it will affect us in any way?
Any brides holding their wedding in Dec can share with us your feedback?

Hello Tweety!!! long time no see you here..

Queen - As far as I know, the service rendered to my hubby &amp; me (on our wedding on 25th Nov) far exceeded our expectation. I already knew that their service is great based on what other brides have said here, so I already expected that. However, the captain in charge that night really went all the way to provide the best service. Give you 1 example...my hubby's white jacket was quite wrinkled at the bottom part (cos he wore that in the day and the running ard and everything). Zul saw that and asked my hubby to give him the jacket so that he can go iron it nicely for him. My hubby so paisay he dun want but Zul insisted, saying that he will look more presentable. As for the food, the comments i gathered so far (i had 30tbls) was positive. So far no negative comments. hope this helps.

divasan - what happened?? your day is next Thurs...dun stress yourself too much ya.

Bliss - dun think the reno will be completed that early..it looks like a major reno to me. i thought it will affect our wedding too..but dun worry..cos banquet is at night so they would have already stopped the reno by then. in fact, when you're inside the hotel, you won't even realise cos no noise pollution at all.

Hi gals...i am back from my wedding too...overall everything went quite well...but we have an issue with them yet to be explained...i will see what they say first...

Hey bliss...my hubby told me renovations quite noisy when he went for briefing around 5 plus...but during dinner time tink the work might have stopped already so no worries...

Hi divasan...congrats!! You are next...have fun! =)

Gers, thanks for the assurance....im sure service to the couple will e very good. just worried for the guests.....

but if tables not alot maybe still ok ba...i foresee i will have about 35-40 tables max...

anyway, still yet to discuss with jaime as the 2009 list is not out yet....

i wonder will they participate in the bows 2008

divasan, dun be too sad. I think everything should be fine, maybe ur wedding can help up to make things better.

Ayukie, NCQ has pillarless ballroom. you might want to contact the co-ordinators to take a look. 2009 Tong Shu won't be out so fast, maybe next yr july or aug like tat.

iris_met, thanks for adding me!

divasan, happy thots. everything will turn out well.. dun be too stressed up.

ayukie, how many tables are u looking at? Phoenix ballroom is pillarless! it holds min 30 to max 50 tables. not sure abt cinnamon (smaller ballroom) cos i din view that ballroom. oh, &amp; 1 more thing, grab ur date once the tong shu is out! or else the good dates will be taken up real fast! good luck!

Hey there, just want to check with you girls, does ncq provide a changing room nearer the ballroom/function room or did u all have to go back all the way to the bridal suite to change?

Hi iris.. added u.. please approved..

divasan.. sorry to hear that something happen to yr MIl.. please don be too sad.. if u want, u can share your sorrow with us here.. **hug hug**

eemoo.. yeah.. really long time ya...

chuchu - yeah i called one geomancer he says 1st half 2009 this month should be able to give me lor ..
anyway ... im thinking of ard 30 ..

Hi eemoo &amp; cheeky,

Yah, i was worried there might be noise pollution as mine is on a weekday...
Hope everything will be smooth smooth... =)

Btw, after food tasting, whats next to prepare?

Me like so free now... hahaha...