Novotel Clarke Quay

Hi Vanilla,

I like the idea of your poster.. would u be able to get the supplier to do for me??
And the picture layout, u DIY or wat?

you have been a great help to all of us here

Hi Vanilla,

No worries, since i post up here is open for opinion. I dont mind to pay extra just dont like the idea why they call us up and request us to prepare dinner for them. Cos sinner suppose is not included in that package. My friend have just engaged them 2month ago, and thru that, he told me 2 of them had order till $80.
They will just order whatever they wanna eat instead of choosing something cheaper. Thats y i have the feeling of been take for granted thats y after discussig with hubby decided to let them settle their own dinner initially. But they call up instead and request for that so my hubby just say ok.
Anyway, what happen already happened, will let my hubby settle it la.
By the way, did you let them have the menu and order themselves? Where did you arrange them to have their dinner at huh?

Hi Belle,

Don't worry abt the dinner part la....juz order fried rice for everyone n buy from outside some drinks for them each will do loh....

Saw some of u still searching for stuffs.....I'm selling off my Ang Bao Box etc.....who wants?

My corsages bought at $2 only....who wants can get the contact from me......

NCQ guestbook? I've taken the pic....once posted it in here too.....

For those who wana see can view at my multiply
http://suika02.multiply.com/

Belle>> i cant help but feel that they "buay zi dong". order until $80 is a lot of $$$! we ourselve seldom exceed $30 for our own meals. so i think its best to arrange it for them..

Ya Divasan,

Thats y i also shock to hear that lor, so not very happy to let them have free meal. If zhi dong i dont mind lor. Think better arrange for them then let them order themselves.

Hi Suika, kk, dont worry will throw everything to hubby.
Now another headache. Left with 1 week only suddenly both side parent wanna increase 2 more tables, total 4. I already have 42 lei so means now become 46 + 2. Like so squeezy lor.

here to share this. GDL cakes. Think mine is total 12 so with names on those extra.

553283.jpg

Belle >> did u order from Cupcake Divinity.. Cupcakes fit for divines? i also ordered from them for my jie mei xiong di on that day for the gate crashing...btw have u tried them before? is the icing very sweet?

suika>> u are very pretty! i espcially like the cake cutting photo (e first one). btw is the reception table arranged by novotel plus the crystal stand or we do have to pay for the additional crystal stand? i dun remember the reception table so nice looking. :P

Thanks divasan!!

The decos are all from NCQ, I no pay extra so I think it's their deco ba....i wasn't there during the setup...heehee busy makeup at that time

suika >> hee..so envy u gals. my face very chubby one...i am so tiny and skinny but dunno y my face very flashy and chubby. saw your photos and wah, i am thinking novotel brides really all babes lei. ;)

suika >> mine is around 6 weeks away. its on 13th dec. now left invites to send out. and some stuffs like AD program and video montages to finalise..i think. not sure if i missed out anything yet. and ya, not met up with jamie for the theme and also the wedding favor selection.

divasan, no nid to worry so much...things will b fine, even if u've missed out things....most imptly is to get enuff rest n as for meeting up with Jamie, u can do so abt 3-4wk b4 ur AD den mit her.....btw, u done ur food tasting yet?

suika >> for the meeting jamie told me she can only meet up 1-2 weeks before. which i am not sure if its too late.
and for food tasting we are doing it today as hb will be busy for the next few weeks...

divasan, 1-2wks b4? can can...not late coz i did my food tasting at that time too...heehee everything all last min 1

Hi Belle

$80??!!!! *fainted* Then I have to say tats a lot liao for two pax.
Hmmm..I just asked them through email whether they wan dinner I can order for them, and they say just ok. And their reply was ok. My frd hired them for her wedding, ordered room service for them - fried rice n hor fun, so i did the same too.

The cakes looks soooo yummy and pretty. Not like mine, jus some Begawan Solo walnut/banana cake.

Hi Erica

Thanks! Ya i DIY the poster using photoshop, then burn the file into the CD and pass to my printer. Its mounted onto foam board, then frame wif silver frame. Quite light, easy to carry. I can help u ask him if u wan.

VaNiLLa, i think cos u arrange the dinner for them thats why didnt cost too much.
My friend let them have the menu thats why end up so ex. Where they have their dinner? Room service as in there is room for them ah?
Those cakes research done by me....so i told IL i want this lor.

Belle,
what those ppl ordered? Steak for both har? if not how can b so ex...? already pay them so much liao wor still hv the face to order till so ex sia

Hi Belle

Maybe lor. They din ask mi to provide dinner, until i asked. Think one or two days prior to my wedding. So perhaps can tell ur hubby to order the not-so-ex kind on the room services menu for them. Oh, they will be consuming the dinner in the ballroom, after their rehearsals at 6.30pm

suika>> oh dear i can i missed that? Happy hatch day!

i am still going through your photos in your multiply. :P btw even for the VIP table the crystal stand also foc? no need to top up?

Belle>> mind share ur cupcake contact?? i wonder whether i can request tt for my GDL next yr too..
ver nice! is the icing very sweet??

for the band thg... hmm.. I bought my jiemui to c their performace during her world mag fair lately.. her feedback was they r not as gd as I described.. 'both singers got no eye contact when sing love song..' feel abit 'fu yian' 'cincai', 'even the keyboardist more enjoyed den the singers wor... '
After hear all this, i lik '.......'
my jiemui always go those live band performance one.. so she got more exp ba.. she asked me to find those philipino band which can sing better n cheaper wo...

My PG intro me one Jazz band that he saw during his client's wedding.. but is Malay one la.. I called them and they reli cheaper.. but i not sure whether reliable or not..
Wat do u all tik..??

divasan,

Thanks....YUP!! all those deco r from NCQ...the themes that we've chosen...mi is 'so call' mixed design....all the stands r cystal theme.....den i hv flower petals on all tables are extra deco

funfun,
u looking at live band singing chinese song? or purely English songs? If oni English songs den I think u can consider ur PG's recommendation.....i feel malays hv better ascents esp in english songs

hi suika,
thanks for sharing yr photos, real looks good leh.
me start to 'kan jong' now, 3+ weeks to go but those invite cards still not written & distribute yet... (both hb & my dad don't seems 'kan jong' one, still taking their own sweet time)
a question: are the pens for the guest book self provide?

Hi Suika,

I also wanna see yr pics lei. Can email me at [email protected]
Ya i dont know what they order. But the wedding was at 5 star hotel, i was there that day also. Maybe the food there more ex ba.

VaNiLLa, they didnt request from you ar...weird lei. They call my hubby up yesterday 1 week be4 the wedding to request. Thanks for advise anyway, think will order for them. Dont wana spend time on them, let my jie mei go settle.

Funfun, i yet to tried them yet lei. When i eat liao let u know.
http://www.c*pcakedivinity.blogspot.com/
replace * with c.

Thanks Mrs Leong.... heehee

pp75,
U can get those normal pens from the hotels but sign liao not nice 1 lor....go get those colored pens....sign on it will look nicer or u can get ppl to dress up the pens for u too

Belle....the photos r in my multiply acc, u in my contact list liao rite?

Hi Belle

Dun worie..jus be a pretty bride will do.
Dun ponder over it too much.
SMILE ya?

Oh btw, I think Tweety is having her AD this sat. Think she's too busy to log in here for the time being.

Hi all NCQ brides

Need ur help/advise here. Have a copy of the draft contract fm NCQ. Inside the contract, there is a "Right to Assign" clause. Have read thru n feel that it is not benefical to the couples at all. The hotel has the right to assign to another caterer/hotel. For instance if another couples took up a more expensive menu and have more tables than me, the hotel may assign me to another hotel. This is what worries me..

Just wanna do ur all have such clause? How to deal with it? Accept?

Thanks ya!!

suika..
Happy bday!! How much is ur cupcake ?

For the band again... anyone hv any other contact?
The Malay band tt he offer which within my budget is guitarist, bass cello, 'drum' (jazz type but i forgot the exact name), they not only can play music instrucment 3 of them will sing.. not sure who is the man vocalist.
ooh.. they oso know how to sing chinese song but i tik not pop song la..
1thg i worried is they dun hv song list for me to choose my songs... but i can tell them my fav songsss la.. c how many they can remember lo.. someth like ' zi you fa hui' lor..
cantonese song oso can wo....

miseep,
I forgot whether got tt clause or not le.. din reli go n read den signed...
But mine is on weekday and i took phoenix room.. I dun tik will affect mine kua...

Hi miseep

i have serched thru the net and found some similar terms on 'Right to assign'. I think it meant tat in any case should the hotel be bought over by other group or group of hotels, the client shall gave his/her rights to allow the new hotel to take over this contract.

Not between the other couple or u, and who's better.

<font color="aa00aa">I didn't notice tat clause too. I had received the draft contract long ago, yet to sign cos busy lately, will arrange with Jamie to go down and sign soon.</font>

VaNiLLa >> yes you are right about the right to assign clause. Jamie explained to us before.

Hi gals, I have just went for my food tasting. Maybe I have been expecting too much ever since reading the fave reviews and thus become more critical: Our comments as follows:

1. Phoenix Platter:
Jelly Fish, Gold coin mean, mini Octopus - pretty good. thumbs up
Prawn Salad - not fresh
Century eggs - a bit hard and tasteless

2. Shark's Fins - not bad but the crab meat is not really visible

3. Roast Cripsy Chicken is the best and most memorable dish of the day - thumbs up

4. Fish - I have heard comments its too salty but we found it too bland. The preserved vege is also tasteless and the most disappointed dish

5. Poached Live Prawns - not bad but table's remarks is that the quantity seems too little

6. Vegetable braised abalone mushroom &amp; Spinach with conpoy - not bad

7. Noodles - thumbs up

8. Yam Paste - my family said not bad but MIL feels its not like a paste but like "gor"". hb feels its tasteless... so we decided to change to cream of mango with pomelo.

Overall the reviews is mixed. but the chicken is definately the most tasteful chix dish i have tasted.

I have also taken some pictures during the food tasting..will post them tomolo...

Hi divasan

U're making me hungry again...hehe. I miss the chicken....

Rest assured the sharks fin given to u n hubby on ur wedding day iself should be quite generous. The sharks fin will be served to u 1st, while the guests are still having their cold dish.
My hubby even joked abt the generous serving of sharks fin, he said we are the boss who are paying the bill so sure a lot de! :p

So how much did u grade them in total? Lets say out of 10?

VaNiLLa >> wow u are still awake? me tot me only one hanging around.

i would grade it as 7 out of 10. I think its so-so not extremely good nor its aweful but the chix definately made a good impression. wat about u? ;)

Michelle, it cost about $1.80 per cupcakes.
you can visit their web for more info.

Hi Vanilla,

KK, sure will try to relax and be a happy bride.
Just throw everything to hubby can liao...wahaha..

Hi Suika,

isit, i go check cos i seldom get into multiply also la.

Hi Gals.......Thank you all for the wishes :-)
btw, mi this simple girl made a simple wish and IT CAME TRUE!!! hahaha ;-)

divasan,
The fish tasteless?? OMG...mine was so salty sia but the rest says ok...The mini octopus was out for mi coz it's too big n we finds it unsightly. The chicken was the BEST! My prawns was ok...althought i can't take that but still took 1 to test test n quite fresh for their dishes.....
Portion not enuff? How many of u went? It's supposed to be food tasting for 6 oni ley...heehee

Vanilla....^5 I missed the chicken too and I missed AD sharkfins....really we're the boss they gave us alot lor.....1 of the few times where i 'see fins swimming inside'.....hahaha

Belle...no have add me hor

Hi divasan

Me late night owl one...will onli sleep at 12am. Hehe. Would rate their food 9/10, cos me hor, seldom picky abt food. So I reali cant differentiate between nice or not nice. In short, me 'tam jiat' (loves to eat) lor! :p

Hi Belle

Yes! Tats the way gal! LOL Been doing enuff homework on ur side liao. So leave it to the rest! Rem to go for mani n pedi, massage, spa to pamper urself.

Hi suika

Ya lor...i missed the sharksfin, i mean i reali MISSED it. Din get to eat it when it was being served to me. I went off for 2nd change. So by then the whole event ended, they sent the food to my room, the sharksfin become, 'cold fins' liao lor...