Novotel Clarke Quay

hey tweety..

ive done my ps last week.. wah so fun! hee.. hmm going down to select my pics today.. but i took some pics of my second fitting and did a mock ps at home..haha so vain right? no prob! but i only have those right now..

u have multiply?

Hey ambush,

i was quite into photography too! I prefer those more natural pose, usually those like candid shots, not looking at the camera kind, more natural and sweet.

oh you get a pink london cab mah? it is very sweet!! but is it expensive?

maybe you tot i'm strange but sometime i also like to be moving when the photo is taken so some part of the picture is a bit blur because of the movement.

The starbuck idea was good too wo. more casual hor...

hey lingandyang..

^Hi5.. yah..me too! i love fiddling with the camera and looking for all these shutter-happy moments.. hee.. hmm.. you know.. initially i got the pink london cab for my PS.. but the day before the PS.. mr low, the owner of the cab, told me tt it was hit..so sad..had to send to the workshop.. had to settle for the yellow one instead..tsk.. the effect wasnt as good though.. but im getting the pink london cab for my AD.. hmm for PS, it's $45 per hour..

yah.. i like the starbucks pics too.. wanted to take pics of me shopping at topshop too..coz i loove shopping..haha.. but in the end i didn't.. kinda regretted..

Hi ambush,

hey great to know someone with same interest! Oh so sad about your pink London cab, but at least you can still use it on your actual day. Last week, I saw a couple also use a pink london cab as their bridal car, and it was very bright and eye-catching! THink you will enjoy the attention!

Your idea of photoshoot when you are shopping hor, remind me i should also include something i like wo!

I like to eat... hee...

Hi Tweety,

Promised to share my experience with NCQ after my wedding on 24 Dec.

Overall we're v satisfied with Novotel's service. Before anyone thinks that I am an insider from NCQ, I would like to share that we had some unpleasant issues with NCQ before we signed up. But those issues were ironed out after Jamie took over. We're glad that we still choose them in the end as everything turned out well and Jamie was really friendly and helpful to us.

1) Our guests' comments for the food is good and portions are good too.

2) Banquet Captain, Michael, was very professional, patient and helpful.While we were waiting to march in, he briefed us again on what will be expected to happen eg : after ballroom doors open, there will be dry ice effect, march slowly towards the stage and he will be there waiting with the cake knife etc. He was v patient, keep reassuring us to relax and not to worry. Most ppl will think that this is wat a captain should do anyway, but at the point of time, my hubby & I standing there waiting for the doors to open to march in, his patience and reassurance really calm us down alot :-p. We were v pleased with his service.

3) Bridal Suite was beautifully decorated. Not to mention the jacuzzi bath tub heheheh. There are some other nice surprises too, wouldn't let u in on that, you'll find out for yourself on your actual day : )

Hope all goes well with your wedding planning :D

hi thanks joan... for ur input... haiz... mine is less den a mth away now... kind of panicky... can i just chk wad songs did u use to play???

hey lingandyang..

haha..yeah.. we can talk abt photography and pictures here! yalor.. i just saw my PS pics.. got the hard copies of some unedited ones home..the ones that you quite like but dun intend to blow up..

the ones with the yellow london cab weren't as good.. the effect would have been so much better with the pink one.. tsk.. but i'm getting the pink london cab for my AD..

hey great idea! think it's fun and more meaningful to incorporate things that reflect who you are and what you like in your PS.. i'm sure you'll have lotsa interesting pics girl!

hey jaz..

are you talking abt songs for the wedding? ooh..one of my fave topics..(hurray)..i just posted this in another thread.. you wait ah.. i cut and paste it here..

here it goes..
if you like older songs...you might like these:

1) close to you by the carpenters
2) smoke gets in your eyes by J.D Souther
3) quando quando quando by engelbert humperdinck
4) can't take my eyes off you by frankie valli

late 80's to early 90's:

1) shower me with your love by surface
2) it might be you by stephen bishop
3) i swear by all-4-one
4) so much in love by all-4-one
5) can't help falling in love by UB40
6) at the beginning by richard lewis and mark richmond
7) forever by damage

mid 90's to now:

1) truly, deeply, madly by savage garden
2) i knew i love you by savage garden
3) if you're not the one by daniel bedingfield
4) i'm all about you by aaron carter
5) kiss me by sixpence none the richer
6) something about you by foo fighters
7) growing old with you by adam sandler

fun songs:

1) can't take my eyes off you by smashmouth
2) dying inside to hold you by timmy thomas

jazz:

1) fly me to the moon by frank sinatra
2) the look of love by diana krall

hee.. sorry.. once i start..i can't stop..

life will not be quite the same without music.. =p

Hi ambush,

I'm interested in getting a london cab for my wedding as well. Could I join in your discussion? Do you have any contacts for the london cab? Thanks!

hi ambush.... do u have the songs wif u??? can send me? i m not a frequent person to listen to songs thus now got a bit of problem... haiz... [email protected].... thanks a lots

s for the london cab, can i koe how much it cost to rent 1???

Hi Jaz,

I used 'I believe in you and me' from whitney houston & 'Endless Love'. Kinda last min for our songs selection, only decide hrs before the dinner :-p.

hey henyve and jaz..

no prob! i have the contacts..

pink london cab: mr low -- 97890455

yellow london cab: mr ram -- 90602922

it's $45 per hour.. hope this helps..=)

hey jaz.. no prob.. hmm how about i upload some of the songs on my multiply.. you take a listen from there..how abt it? you have multiply?

hi ambush!

but my photoshoot shouldn't be so soon but discussing with you all make me so excited liao!
Oh can share with me your pictures mah? Since we talk so much of them already.(Hoping to see your Starbuck ones) :-)

When you use london cab for your AD, are they still charging $45 per hour? or there will be another rate?

wow... is kind of ex lay.... a normal mercs 200 series... cost about 200....

hi ambush, i don't have multiply... how ah??? but, can i listen from there???

I understand tat Cinnamon Ballroom maximum no is 24 , Phoenix grand is minimum 33 .. Wat if I need 25 tables n 2 spare tables ???

I have checked the smrt taxi site, a full day package for the london cab is $588, so I think thee $45 an hour is cheaper as compared to that. Just fyi =)

Hi ambush.. what's yr addr in multiply??

Joan... COngrats on yr wedding.. glad to hear that everything goes well... thanks for sharing with us too....

Hi Joan,

Really good to hear that. Hopefully mine will be turn out as good as yours.
Congrat! Dont forget to share with us the photos.

Hi, gals & boys,
Just would like to check anyone got any experience with other hotels like Holiday Inn ParkView, Grand Plaza ParkRoyal? any commments to share as compared to NCQ? Still can't decide which one to go to..
Tks a lot! ^_^

thkq Jaz.
kao_cry.gif

hey jaz and tweety..

no worries.. you can look for my id on multiply yah...id is beldry.. the songs are up..

hey henyve..

yah.. think its very ex to rent the cab for a whole day.. but a half-day costs around $368.. half-day till 5pm.. im renting the cab for till 5pm for my AD..

Hi ambush,

Ohh...so its morning till 5pm...i think this is much better too...cos the car will not be of use after that too. =)

Newbie here, am considering NCQ to be my wedding venue in 2008.
Gonna go a appt to look at the ballroom but not sure what are the perks to look out for when booking for the banquet?

Any brides could advise? Hee......

Hi Lavis,

The other 2 hotel you mention is actually short listed by me before. in the end we choose NCQ. GPP looks abit old to me but for what i know they allow us to bargain alot. HIPV, alot of pillar so i dont like but serivce shd be good. NCQ is now improving and keep renovating plus reasonable price.

hey belle..

happy to hear such positive comments abt NCQ.. looking forward to holding my wedding banquet there..

Hi Ambush.. saw yr PS photos... I like those taken at little india there... Nice photos...

Belle... NCQ is improving... glad to hear that... I haven sign the contract eh.. too busy liao...

U guys signed n mail back to jamie alr???

Yes Tweety, mail back months ago.
Dont worry ladies, they are indeed improving as you can compare last time a lot of bad review abt them but now at least you heard
some good review plus they are renovating the toilet beside the Big ballroom. I still have a year before my banuet so i believe within a
year is enough for them to keep improving and renovate those old places.

Just hope that the food will also be nicer and nicer.
One thing i am abit disappointed is that they dont provide red carpet.

hey tweety.. thanks girl! i had the most fun during the little india shoot.. the ppl there were so friendly.. and the place is so colourful.. lotsa great nooks and crannies to take ur wedding pics..

hey belle..glad to hear this! i have another 6 mths to go.. *crossing my fingers* hope their service will oso get better and better too..

my Ad is in Nov 07. Must say that i've have a fantastic impression of Jamie so far. She's pretty & professional. Think what some of the pple in here say abt her being cold & inflexible is just her being professional. As the manager, she's responsible for the P&L of the banquets so naturally, she'd not want to 'spoil her own market' by offering too many perks. As it is, the packages offered by NCQ are already quite reasonable so to ask for too much would really push their profit margin down too low.

If they're not making money by selling you their banquet, might as well don't sell you.

I'm definitely not affliated with NCQ in any way other than being a Nov bride there in 07. Just feel that even though we want the best for ourselves, just gotta be reasonable too rite?

Hi Belle.. I got the contract but too busy that I haven go n sign to return to Jamie..
They doing reno on their toilet in Big ballroom, how abt the cinammon room???

Ambush.. I'm happy for u.. at least PS is not so tiring n boring.. hee...

Babybear.. so u signed up with NCQ alr???

Hi Henyve,

i'm a mid 08 bride too with NCQ. When is your AD?

Hi ambush,

how can i see your photos ya? if i dun have multiply? THanks.

Hi lingandyang,

Mine is on 7 June, what about you? =)

Anyone has any recommendation for BS...having headache searching for one that is reliable and give good services...

i'm stressed out and confused by the multiple comments bout NCQ! But generally it sounds kinda ok.

I plan to have mine in the Phoenix ballroom. Anyone can comment on the food as well as the set up in the ballroom recently? Thank you!

hi ambush! can i see your pix as well? thanks so much! i'm still looking for unique places to take my PS. may i know how long usually you take to shoot in one location? my timing seems kinda tight. hai.. i start drawing my face in the BS at 11am, by the time i'm done about 12.30pm they say.. then got indoor studio shoot.. then by e time finish, i have to go outdoor.. and then kinda rush. I wonder if can make them start earlier. but the BS tells me it's the norm lei.. I'll hate it if i have to rush to take my fotos at the different venues! they say leave it to my fotographer to coordinate. cos he will know how to adjust the timings best. I HOPE SO LA!! stress.. my PS is on the 26th!! this month!! my email: [email protected]

Hi Henyve,

mine is on 21 Jun. Seem like we both book quite early wo..

My BS is Seletar B.way. HAven't really been there a lot of times so dun know how is their service, but hopefully not bad bah.

Hi lingandyang,

Hehe cos i got the auspicious dates, so wanna settle the hotel fast =) don't wanna face a situation whereby it will be all booked by the others. I don't like to have the rush here and there feeling =)

Hey henyve,

me same same!! I also got some auspicious dates. So once we decided on this date, we want to quickly book. In case we face a situation whereby we like the venue very much only to know the date we want had been taken up. it will be so upset. : )

hey lingandyang and GC..

no prob! but mine are not the actual PS pics.. have to wait 3 months.. these are just some candid shots we took..hey i'll send the link to you girls?

hope they are helpful.. one of my fave places for the ps was little india.. very colourful place..