Novotel Clarke Quay

sunshine; rice level too low, rice cooker will spoil de leh...u dunno ah? if we cook the minimum level in the cooker, we will end up with too much rice. How to finish? lol

using gas to cook quite easy lah, just boil until water almost dries up, then transfer to steamer to steam for another 10mins roughly and its done.

cheer: hehe thanks...we specially asked our PG to take for us after the banquet de. My AP box was done by my bro's gf, she's very good with her hands

i went to meet a VG last night and his package not bad also he very frenly... very likely to sign up with him cos he is easy going and i like his VG style and the express highlights he did before.. he has a PG partner and he already reserved our wedding date for both himself & his partner...
He was still very nice even after i told him that i actaully want to meet up with some more before i confirm, which is good.. no pressure to sign up from him at all

++ he did mention that, if couples want to use music not licenced with the hotel, we may need to pay $50-100 per song!! also the VG / PG will probably have to get the licence if we want the songs on our videos.. but he said they are looking to sign up with a company to get songs that don't need licencing...

pris: u haven't gotten ur PG/VG? wanna try mine?

no obligations...just compare the prices first and then u decide later. me very happy with mine

thomas, you can get a small rice cooker ba... mine at home cooks for 2 ok..

you soo good, learning to cook!! and your flat reno very well done, does not look like budget work at all!!

sunshine girl, lucky you, he coo, den u wash up loo... hahaha

cheer, yup, spliting by % makes sense to me as well
i going to sign up for the prep course soon.....

pris: getting a small one also troublesome cos if my MIL and my wife's sisters come to our house, def wun be enuff for them. End up maybe have to cook many rounds of rice for them haha.

haha I have the interest to cook also lah...I always watch my mum when she cooks
Reno cld be better if only I had more $$$ sigh...but right now have to be contented with what I can afford =)

have fun for the course!

thomas, ooo...thats nice that you close with your in law side as well.... you realyl is jing pai lao gong!!

also thanks for the offer, i just want to choose between the 2.. i have been looking at tooo many until i very sian... hahahaha...

i oso like to cook but staying with MIL and wans to cook quite stress. MIL cooks veri well.

Thomas: can get 2. one big one, one small one...

hi everyone..gt so many updates..hehe..read until eyes tire liao..hehe..so busy..cos nw started my training wit my personal trainer to lose weight lor..so tire lor..twice per week..now whole body aching lor..then HTB also..to bcome more muscular lor..hehe..so looking forward to seeing him being more muscular lor..*smiling..*..hai..the licsening for music so headache lor..=(...will meet my caterer next thurs lor..to discuss further..hehe..

hmm toking about pre-marriage counselling har..mine gt 3 more lesson to go..my next seesion is on fiancial lor..really imp to sort it out b4 marriage...yeap..but my context abit diff..cos my is wit my pastor in church..so gt bibilical things lor...hehe..yeap..but really learn alot in the counselling session..

thomas:...wah..so gd..u cook...hmm..my HTB dunno hw to cook..hehe..he expect me to cook next time lor..hmm...but he promise tat he will wash the dishes for me next time...haha..*smiling..*

pris: lol...u are really making me blush with ur comments...thanks anyway
no worries, I understand...hope u settle ur VG soon!

ling: no space to put lah haha

hannah: haha I got interest to learn mah...u must get him to learn also, tell him next time if u not ard then how? call Mac or KFC? lol

i went to my BS just now, picked a wedding gown on the spot... hahahaahahhah...
my sis was saying are you sure? you only tried like 4 or 5 gowns... and already you confirm.... hahahaha... again worknig on impulse.... couldn't take any photos cos the BS girl was around all the time :P

thomas>> use pot and stove cook rice, the rice also taste quite good~.. ur wife v. xin fu. my htb is yue bang yue mang. he dun even noe where the pots and pans are in his own home.

pris>> u got ur gown so soon!? what if got new ones?

joyle, yeah... my sis also said that...but i think i can live with the gown i chose... completely not wat i had in mind before i went... but after trying all the different cuttings, i think that suited me best.... hahaha
feel like princess... hahaha

thomas: oic... ya, mus b some1 who like to do scrapbookin ;) cos not easy to do it....

pris: decided which one to go to 4 ur pre marriage counselling course? wow... u r fast in selecting ur gown... but sometimes its strange, when ur eyes set on something, even if got new ones comin up, u will still like e 1 tt u choose... as long as u like it n look nice in it, can liao... cos sourcing s never-endin process.. hee..

pris: wah so fast, u must have liked the gown right?

joyle: yup taste ok haha. maybe 1 day u shld give him a house orientation lol.

cheer: ya she loves to do scrapbooking lol. very unique AP box, my guests said nice also hahaha

hi fellcy, just replied u at july thread haha

me...my wedding last mth. no issues cos I brought along all my original CDs.

luckily my wedding over, couples getting married later part of this yr will have a big headache over the COMPASS thingy, I had a chat with my PG/VG that day.

morning all...

fellcy: for me i juz use whatever songs that novotel is having. thomas is right, couples getting married later this year will have headache, coz alot of increase in PG/VG pricing due to this.

Thomas & Ling: "couples getting married later part of this yr" --> Looks at myself.. T___T

Thomas: oh by the way, I saw your lovenest pics. Nice!!!

morning all!
its fri again..yeah..hehe...yest went for my gym training again..nw whole body aching...gd new..i lost 1kg within a wk..will work harder one to lost weight..hehe...8smiling..*

sunshine: dun b sad..cos "the later part of the yr" which thomas n ling say..also refering to me..hehe..

thomas:...hmm...neva ask my htb wan to cook b4..but will ask him ..haha..lol

sunshine: lol..dun worry...bridge will be straight when ur boat comes to it =)

thanks for ur compliments...not bad lah hor considering I got budget...haha. Wished I had more $$$ though, can make even nicer but paid the stupid COV until I pok

ctrus: yes, got an ID. Sure no prob, pm u now =)

hannah: wah 1kg in a week, that's good progress! how much more to go?

tell him u willing to teach him also...in a way good cos no need to depend on u too =)

thomas:...ya..really happy...9 more kg to go...the trainer say..the ideal weight is 50 kg..if set as this mark..will hav another 9 kg to go..he say that it will b real gd if the ail is at 48 kg..which will b like 11kg more to lose..aarrggghh..hope i have the determination to do that lor..hehe..wah..u teach him har..that will b gd..mayb next time he bcome a beta cook than me lor..hehe..

Hi ladies and gentleman

I am considering Novotel for my wedding next year, however worry if this is a good hotel for my big day.

Any comment or suggestion?

Thank you very MUCHIE! :p

sunshine & hannah: If your PG & VG had confirmed and sign contract with you for the price they quote u, shld not be problem. While for hotel background music during dinner, is my friend advise me that no one will really listen to the music. Everyone is enjoying and chatting with friends. While for the 1st march in and 2nd march in, bring original CD to them can leh.

hannah: i oso wan to lose weight... although wedding is over but cannot let my weight keep going up... hahaha...

Carol: Welcome. U can look at the above conversation that we had chat abt...

hannah: wah 10kgs to lose ah...that's a bit extreme leh. beware of ur health ya? take things slowly, no rush. er, not I teach him leh, its YOU teach =P

carol: welcome! perhaps for a start u can read the recent threads, all our feedback is there =)

Thank u lingling and thomas!! :D

Yup, read a few pages.. but.. there are so many pages =.=" pro and cons, guess got to really see it myself, what i want/ expect etc..

hehe..

I can only say its a value for money hotel =)

u ought to go down to view their ballrooms if u are really interested...think u shld like what u see

hannah, your trainer target for you to lose 1 kg a week for 10 weeks ah?? with exercise only or with a food plan as well? If it works, i want to try leh!!

carol, welcome...

for me in summary:
pro - i liked the menu and the place (own reception area for both ballrooms)
ballroom table limits also good!!
pricing was also a good budget for me... hahahaha

con - parking, got bad feed back on congestion and not able to find parking for saturday dinners.
inconsistent feedback on the food, get a lot of good feedback, but also get bad feedback.. but the staff are very prompt if you have any problems.. and that is very important to me...

haha weight loss I think most here will be interested =)

pris, my guests majority of them loved the food, very tasty they told me. only 1 or 2 tables told me the food was a bit cold only.

anyway to all here, dragon phoenix restaurant has a promotion now for dimsum 50% off, very worthwhile but only for dimsum hor. ala carte no discount. dunno until how long though.

Afternoon everyone

Thanks Priscilla for the summary, appreciate it alot! Hey Thomas, thanks u as well..

infact i went to view the ballroom already thats why its under one of my consideration. I thought of grand hyatt too, but .. the ballroom seems a little small for 26-28 tables (which i am looking at) even though the co-ordinator told me can fit in 28 tables MAX.. i wonder..

I think hotel selection is already mind draining enough. My god cant imagine when the time for BS... i sure stuck left right centre :P

Help!!!! hehe..

Have a nice weekend everyone

pris:..hmm..its both diet n exercise..he will see hw is ur daily regime lor..yeap..cos some pple they gt reglar exercise..some dun..yeap..like my HTB..our training wit him totally diff lor..yeap..ya..by right a kg per week..cos its wat recommended by MOH...but sometime..ple can hav very gd result lor..ya..really depend on individual body lor..hehe..but usually the first few kg very easy lose..then will stay on for awhile lor..then cont on...but he will ask u for ur goal lor..yeap..so its like really make for u kind..i enjoy my session wit him lor..he know alot for prewedding "lose weight" lor..yeap..cos he has a few client liao..n he know wat to lose n tone so that can look nicer wit ur wedding gown lor..so really fun..but need alot of hardwork n determination..he is very encouraging too lor..yeap..but he gurantee will have result one..but thru the rite way lor..he is very honest one.u see hw lor..if u interested u let me know..hehe..

hi carol>> u saw cinnamon ballrm or phoenix ballrm? u taking about 28tables?

from what i saw, when most hotels put max no. of tables, it's really quite filled kind.. so it depends on whether u r fine it being a lil' packed.

carol: yes joyle is right.. depends on u now.. but most of all both of u have to in love with the venue u choose...

hannah: wow where is this place? Looks like after wedding i put on lots of weight especially the tummy part...

hannah, i'm interested, but how much does he charge? I cannot afford anything to ex, cos of all the wedding expenses :p

carol, take your time... hahahaha... try to narrow by places that you like, budget, menu... den maybe you can go down to see the hotels...

i think if you got budget constraints, that will already cut the # of hotels to see by half... i know mine did...

BS will be more fun... cos you may want to go down and try gowns as well!! I missed out on that fun.. cos i sign up too fast for BS... :p

pris:hmm...wat is ur budget?..it depend hw many session u signing up wit him..
10 session-$85/session
20 sessions-$75/session
30 sessions- $65/per session

ya..u can dun need to pay all the amount up front..can tell him like u signing 30 session..then pay him 10 session first..yeap..for me n my HTB..we pay 20 first..when the 20 session ending then we pay him the remainer..cos we also wedding expenses constraint lor..hehe..u can dun decide one..can meet up wit him first..then see hw u feel ab him first..ya.. then let me know..i can help u arrange lor..

thomas:..hmm..i dun know who is next on line leh..have to check the table that sunshine has come out wit..hehe..

ya talking abt sunshine where is she huh?

think its evergreen who came out with the table, not sunshine hehe

evergreen also mia le after her wedding

Thomas: haha.. here! here! looking for me? :p

Hannah: the table wasn't created by me

Btw kudos to you for your determination! I said I wanted to slim down months ago and my hubby is still waiting for me to "take action". haha!

Morning to you too!

joyle: I view both ballroom as i want to compare and see what's the difference..

Lingling: i can understand how u feel, no motivation at work. Thats why am currently serving my notice.. :P

This week gona be my last week here!

Priscilla: BS more fun? hmm.. any recommendation? Many of my friends signed up with White Link, but i would prefer something different, if not all the photos look same leh, just the face different. Lol..

Thomas, should be soon i think.. waiting for the news (pray hard!!) anyway, wanted to leave long ago and finally made up my mind to leave!