Novotel Clarke Quay

hello everyone!

Wishing all Novotel brides, grooms, as well as BTB n GTB, happy è™Žå¹´ï¼ may we all Huat in 2010! :D

Sunshine Girl!

hey everyone..sorry hav been very busy recently due to work and church..hehe..wish every1 a HAPPY NEW YEAR wor!..yeah...tiger year..i'm born in the yr of tiger lor..haha..oh thomas..i dun hav a picture of my ring..but is the series of jac laurent lor..haha.r we having the same ring?..haha!

hi pple...think everyone is busy house visitation..ya...today at hm..juz quarrel wit my parents...dun like them n can't stand them lor..really wish i'm nt on earth lor..*aarrgghh..*..sorry everyone to hear my COMPLAINT..juz feel very frustrated...

Morn!

Hannah: cheer up!

I'm starting work today.. Hope all those that are also starting work today a good headstart at work for e 虎年!

morning all....

sunshine girl: i'm starting work today too.... same wishes goes to you too... have a good start for the lunar new yr

I'm still at home sunshine haha...

hannah: what happened girl? *patpat*

my AD is less than 30 days away...hope all those who are having their wedding this yr will have a smooth one!

time really flies!!

don worry thomas, all weddings held at NCQ will go smoothly!!

Yup, i started work today too! but so many ppl on leave... office is empty!

Morning all... i'm back to work =_="""

Hannah - hope all is well now.. *hugz*

thomas - fast fast... heez....

winter - time passes veri fast hor....

all NCQ btb/gtb - hope every1 had an enjoyable CNY d past few days... =)

Morning All... i also did not take any leave for CNY... but office is quiet and peaceful.. 90% of the time doing my own stuff!! haha!!

thomas, dun worry, sure will go fine one!! forgot to tell u all, during my AD.. we forgot to bring all our songs to be played during the reception and march-in! but kelvin helped us to gather the songs! he is so calm over it!! thus i am sure u are in good hands!!!

good morning everyone.. feels sucky to work on CNY week bleah!!
anyway, did you all get ur friends/relatives to be your emcee for AD? or the professional emcees? i am stuck at who to get for emcee.....

tickpoe - i got my cousin & sis as d emcee...
well if u haf $ to spare, gettin a professional sounds gd n ur frens/relatives get to enjoy d dinner w/o havin to run up n dwn d stage... bt if u dun.. it's fine to ask ur frens/relatives to help out too

Hi tickpoe,
we also got our best friends to help us out as emcees! actually emcees only have to read from the scripts, they will get to reheasl before the banquet starts. thus no need to worry much.

thanks guys for all your replies!!
Usually you all get emcees to speak English and 1 in mandarin right? thinking if it’s ok if I have English only.. those weddings I have been to have both..

tickpoe - u're veri welcome =)

Hmmmm, usually it'd b best to have it in both eng & mandarin to cater to the older folks or non eng speaking guests

HAPPY NEW YEAR to all!!!

jus got some time to come in to chat ;) lotsa msg to read... hee....

tickpoe: we got our gd friends as mc... n they r as gd as professional ones commented by our guest.. but some found them too noisy.... so again its hard to please every1... as long as u n ur hubby s ok wif e mc, can liao...

wow lilmspep: soo gd.... gg somewhere? then u hav a slightly longer wkend... hee....

thomas: even thou i didn move to new hse (stayin wif in-law) but i still miss my parents place durin e 1st 2 wk aft weddin... n prior to weddin, oso cant bear e thots of leavin home n stayin in another place... but am ok now... so jus need some time to adjust n like wat e rest say, u will treasure e time spend wif ur family members... tink ur wife will feel e same too..

tickpoe: if ur guest n parents understand english, then u can hav it only in english, if not, it s better to hav both languages... 1 pax can also speak both langage if he s comfortable...

cheer - welcome back ^^

jus takin leave cos rather sian at work n feelin abit sick from all d steamboats n cny goodies... sore throat etc...

to all - drink lotsa water ya~~~

I have to rack my brains to find a friend who can speak Mandarin properly haha…
Cheer- totally agree with you.. it’s hard to please everyone!!!

hi everyone...thanks..i feel beta nw...feeling so tire lor..dunno y during CNY still gt so many patients come for surgery...hmm..hw is everyone CNY..hmm..last yr of getting ang bao liao..almost 70% of the pple who giv me ang bao tell me that is my last yr lor..*sigh..*..ya..well i believe next yr when i giv out ang bao..i can understand more on "its more blessed to giv than to receive"..haha..LOL...hmm..wah..now tok ab emcee har..i getting my church mates to help me..a gal n a boy..one for chinese n one for eng lor..hehe..they quite comical one lor..hope it will bring laughter to the guest..haha..

lilm: very tired lor...worse than working. machiam like marathon lidat.

all: very sian...starting to get headaches over my guest list now, keeps changing cos got some informed cmi even though they told me can initially...

Morning all... TGIF

thomas - ya i understand hw tiring it is =)

guest list is alwis a headache...
on d bright side, at least they informed u in advance.. i haf a malay fren, i specially cater halal food for her.. end up she no turn up no inform no nothing.. dan nw MIA.. so disappointing 1...

hannah - glad to hear u're better already =)

hihi all

lilm...must drink more water...

wow yr aft yr...time passed so fast...but still the same hv to work and work...so sad hubby complained that i did cook during cny...sob sob..
cos he family side visited us on 2nd day of cny...is it a must to cook...c if u cook. later u hv to wash and clean up the whole area...i can't stand my house being mess up...hahaha

i take that all of you had or are having your wedding dinner at novotel, I went to see the ballrooms today but haven't met with any of the wedding co-ordinators.

How are the staff and are they flexible? Also is the food there good? I am considering the destiny menu....

hi pris>> i personally have not met any of the coordinators.. htb did all the appointments and the viewing. here's my 2cents worth. =)

the packages are fixed and not much avenue for bargaining, so what u see is what u get. Food wise, there's positive and neg comments if u look back into previous posts. we have very helpful brides who gave really detailed comments so do check out the posts if u are very interested.

the menus fixes the price, so if u are to change any of the dishes, u just have to top up the difference according to the original one on the menu and the preferred dish.

shir: did cook or 'didn't' cook? haha

if he thinks its better to cook to please his parents then just cook ba...cleaning up is the most sian part I know.

pris: yes my AD is less than 3wks away =)

food is not bad, I just had my food tasting last mth. Flexible as in giving perks? not really, the standard perks are there but quite difficult to squeeze anything out more from them. Largely depends on your neg skills also. Only 2 coordinators as of now, kevin and huiling. Mine's huiling...if u need her email let me know.

Hi j0yle_t,

Thank you, i did read but most of the comments was for a different menu.. Main draw of Novotel was the menu pricing as well as the sucking pig appetizer, which i cannot seem to find in other hotel menus...

Hi Thomas,

Congratulations!!!! Hope all your planning already completed

Can give me huiling email? I sent my enquiries to Novotel last week but no response, maybe is due to CNY holiday cause when i called the hotel, a lady told me that the catering team was not around but i can go take a look at the ballrooms...

hi pris> if u looking for suckling pig dishes, probably wanna look at peony jade keppel's menu. Their menu which include 1 dish of suckling pig is cheaper than NCQ's pleasure menu for 2010 pricing.

hi all i got one question to ask for the corkage charge for wine isit charges when it is open or if we bring in the hotel it will charge already?
or anyone can advise me more information on the additional wine charges isit cheaper to bring our own or buy from hotel

Foo Li Nian,

corkage charges is only billed for any bottles that are opened.

you need to check with the hotel if they can waive. Some will, some will not. Some may waive a certain number of bottles, but it depends on what you can negotiate for...

thanks lilmspep ;) do drink lotsa plain water... n hope ur throat s better now...

tickpoe: tink its ok if ur friend speak singlish ;)

thomas: look @ e brighter side... @ least ur friend tell u now, still can make changes...

li nian: e corkage charge s payable when they open e wine tt u bought in... if buy direct from hotel, then corkage charge s waived... dependin on e price stated in ur contract.... for mine, e diff of buyin fro hotel n self bought s $8... n its hard to find gd nice wine @ $8 so decided to buy fro hotel instead... but a friend offer us their left over wine fro their weddin n bought over to e hotel... eventually we didn even open any additional wine as we cant even finish e wine tt was given in e package.. so my friend bought e wine back... so if u r bringing ur own wine then got to consider e fact tt u may hav left over wine unless u can get consignment but usually the shop wil need u to commit to buy some bottles of wine b4 allowing consignment...

pris: far from it, still got so many things not done. Guest list is my biggest headache now

Huiling's email is [email protected]

li nian: if u have the lobang to buy in bulk or from wholesalers, of cos buying on ur own will be cheaper even with corkage charges included.

cheer: more and more are dropping out...for my side initially got 8 tables, now left with only 5. Super sian.

morning all...

cheer - thanks.. throat is better already ^^V

shir - wah.. lucky everyday been going ard frens hse so hubby no grumble bout me not cooking.. cleanin up is such a chore hor

Thomas,

Stress..... your frens dropping out now...zzz.... hope it all works out for you...

Now i noe y ppl take 1 to 2 wks off before their wedding...so much to do ... :S

thomas:..wah..gt pple dropping out...u muz feel very frustrating lor..cos as the date gt nearer..so many admin things need to confirm lor..yep..but at least they tell u early so that u hav buffer time to work out ur thing lor..also gd lor..if last min then tell u..u more stress lor..rite?..hmm..my HTB nw chasing after me for helper list..so tat we can confirm n booked them lor..hehe..cos he wan to faster finished all admins thing..so tat when nearer to AD nt need so rush lor..JIA YOU wor..!

shir:..wah...hubby grumbled har..so bad...did he tell u this expectation to cook b4 ur marriage?..mayb this one of the expectation for u as a wife lor..cos my HTB tells me tat liao..tat he will wish to hav hm-cook food next time lor..so i'm "mentally preparing" nw for this expectation lor..haha..yep!..n of co telling him ab my expectation of him..hehe..

lilm:..wah...u take care leh...oh ya..go buy this "sa ka shui" (pronoun in hokein)..or call "三脚水“ to drink...very gd n powerful lor..very gd "cooling" water..sure recovered very fast lor..cso i try that..n tell alot of pple..n it works!

hihi: all

hi thomas, lilm, hannah: hahaha final decision = no cooking...I very bad ho
hannah: no he did not said b4 married...but i did say depend on my mood...pai sai too da nu ren

thomas: how is your preparation work??? all done???

Morning All...

hannah - oooh.. interesting.. will go recce n buy to try heez... thanks~~~

thomas - wow.. sounds bad... hope tings will get better for u as time goes... jiayou

shir - ok la.. not bad la.. we r workin woman aso.. veri tiring to alwis cook 1 lei heez

pris: thanks...very sian...I only took 2 days before and after my wedding cos shorthanded in my dept...maybe HM also no time to go...

hannah: thanks...really v frustrated lor

shir: hi babe...last night looking at my AD schedule, seems like timing quite tight..think my XDs no time to take breakfast. Cook for them also cannot cos too early liao...how ah? any suggestions? cos if eat too late also no point cos mine's lunch...

lilm: the water hannah intro u really works...try it. thanks for the nice words =)

thomas>> i went for one friend's wedding, i was jiemei and my htb was XD, i skipped my breakfast cos' need to reach early at bride's place to prepare, but when I called the XD gang, they were on the way to the bride's place and STOPPED BY MAC to grab a bite! can ta bao and eat in the car. I think that's quite fun, seldom got chance to wear so nice and go mac buy breakfast. sometimes reach earlier, just stay in the car till u finish ur breakfast lor.. wld be gd if ur XD bunk in with u the night b4, easier to gather everyone and save time, instead of waiting for ppl who cannot wake up, late cos' of traffic etc...

any Novotel BTB/GTB taking up live band fr ur wedding? Checked that a Little dream used to have discount for novotel, think they having some discount for 2011 onwards too... anyone interested?

thomas: my hubby's XDs stayed over together on the night before wedding. So the next morning my hubby had mac breakfast delivered for them. And they were all happy and satisfied b4 coming over to fetch me. When my JMs knew, they were totally jealous and scolded me! =p cos my mom only prepared simple stuff like pandan cake, coffee for them :p

joyle: thanks for the suggestion! I also tot of Mac haha

no budget for live band leh...

ixoral: thanks to u too! lol...lidat also can get jealous haha.