Novotel Clarke Quay

me too decided to hv my wedding in NCQ..hehe.. bt date nt yet cmf.. abit kiasu.. hvnt cmf date, bt cmf location liao..haha.. :p

really love it the moment i step into the ballroom..

winter: LTNS! how's ur preparations coming along? me damn stressed over reno...

hello Thomas,

why u stress over reno? I enjoy my reno process more than i enjoy my wedding prep. cos is something i can see and is worthwhile.. in fact i miss my reno process. hahaha

hihi morning all...

hi poody: as wht joyle say...do start to read fr jan onward..we had stated alot of useful info...hehehe...must follow this thread closely...here is more active and lively...hope u join us soon

wow thomas no stress lah...me so bored ever seem AD over...lets talk abt reno...ya agreed with winter...u shld enjoy the process...althou is tiring to source for lighting, furnture eg...but must remember the home u gg to stay at least 4 5-10yr...so cannot chin cai...OK!!!
the worst part abt reno...i think is to source for the lighting...furniture shld be ok...

hi jenny..as for food tasting...4 my case...i very particular..all food must be serve food (very important)...serving of dishes timing must not be too rush..cos think u also dun wnt to see that ur guests 1 dish not finish another is serve...

Below my sharing on the food tasting done yesterday.

Cold Dish (Octopus, Jelly Fish, Gold coin, Spring roll & Salad Prawn) - Ok, some mentioned that the jelly fish too spicy, gold coin very soft but saltish, personally i feel that the octopus and salad prawn too dry.

Shark's fin - Good, portion just enough for 10pax.

Roast Crispy Chicken Flavoured with Deep-fried Garlic - Good, the skin very crispy but too saltish on certain parts.

Steamed Rock Garoupa in " Traditional Classic Style") - ok, meat abit tough and the garnish too saltish.

Poached Live Prawns - Good.

Vegetables (Braised Abalone Mushrooms and Spinach with Conpoy - Good.

Wok-fried Ee-Fu Noodles with Yellow Chives and Straw Mushrooms - Good, but will be changing to lotus rice instead.

Cream of Red Bean Paste with Lotus Seeds - Very sweet and diluted. Will be changing to yam paste.

Anyone tried the lotus rice & yam paste?
Can share if both are nice?

winter/shir/lilm: cos its a race against time for me to get my flat ready before my AD, it clashes with CNY period, a lot of msian workers go home for long CNY break during this period
if no clash I will enjoy my reno process also...but not now

now even getting ppl to do my flat also got prob...a lot fully booked liao, some dun even wanna quote after hearing my tight deadline and also small job

damn sian...

jenny: their yam paste is good.
Alot of my guests love it. In general wont go wrong with the older crowd. the younger ppl may not appreciate it as much i guess.

thomas: all the best for your renovation! i know it's really tough to juggle both wedding and reno planning tog.

hi mrs ong, parking wise should be fine cos' there's upper-storey parking as well as basement parking and a public carpark just by the side and for those who wants to go for a after-party, park at CQ.

food-wise.. i guess its all the same everywhere. think same hotel/restaurant, quality drops when tables increase.

anyways.. u r over and done with for ur big day! so congrats!

oh yah.. jus need to ask NQC brides and grooms of recent weddings... have u all gotten 2 photographers for ur AD? or just one?

and BTB and GTBs.. have u all thought of getting 2 photographers and 1 videographer for ur AD?

just saw 2 of us photography package.. price for 2 photographer is same as some others for only 1!

joyle: no $$$ to engage 2 PGs leh...besides having too many also no good sometimes...may get in the way of each other when taking ur photos...

joyle: I have engaged 2of us photography leh. I think is okay to have 2 photographers as they are partners, so should have some basic understandings on how to work with one and another.

But I am still considering shld i get a videographer, as I don't want to wish to miss the gatecreashing part leh.

yeah... i think 2 photographer partners is good as one takes the couple and the other will take the rest of the ppl.

the first photographer that i was considering for AD charges $2500, and 2 of us with 2 PG is $2300.

with videographer... heh. heh.. quite exp lah.

ViVi: mine is afternoon too, i'm at level 6. haha.

how about a short trip to batam or genting? friendly on your pocket ;)

j0yle_t: in my view, one is enough as you will get more than 1000 soft copies. when you have two, will the photos be too overwhelming? i saw the softcopies and was like wow, see stars liao. lol.

stardust: glad you had a smooth wedding. ;)

thomas,lilmspep: only thing to stress over reno is budget and quality i guess? :P that's the stress part. :P

and a few more to take a peek. next year lunch banquet was so cheap. less than $600 per table i heard from Kevin.

the tables:
1292664.jpg

the stage:
1292665.jpg

wish: thanks for the photos! yalor, for my reno is budget and deadline cos mine hits into CNY period, dunno whether can finish by my AD or not

ya, next year's lunch is only $598, after I booked liao then came out this offer sigh

all: exactly 3 more months to go for my AD...my guest list all those haven't do also, totally no time for it cos reno takes up all my time now

CH: if wkday date then shd b no prob unless it s a hotdate...

vivi: can try bali... me n hubby oso went there 4 a short getaway... s really relaxin... enjoyin e sun, beach...

j0yle_t: dependin on wat u wan.. i hav 1 PG n 1 VG... some of my friends oso took their own camera n take photo of us too... so we got quite a no of photos to look....

thomas: hope u wil b able to find a contractor soon... tink many ppl busy wif reno now as CNY s near....

cheer>> yah, we had our rom on 09-09-09.. so hope to hv our customary on 09-09-10 or 09-09-11.. see hw 1st lor.. hehe.. :p

thomas>> sori, kinda missed out the 1st few parts.. ur hse ready liao huh.. nw u r gng into reno huh.. so far, hv u found any contractors?? if yes, do share leh..hehe.. :p

ch: nope not yet, am finalising my contractor this week after weeks of headaches

I will let u know once I finalise, no worries

morn all
Wish: thks for sharing the pics! It's lovely!
Thomas: Dnt be too worried ya.. I'm sure ur renos will be in time for ur AD, all the best!

thomas: no mia... come in durin lunch time.... ;)

lilmspep: mmm... got gd news? seems like 'mornin sickness'...

CH: tt's an easy date to rememeber ;)

yah.. so trying to see if the chinese date is good nt lor.. like my rom date..hehe.. we specially choosen tat date 1.. 09-09-09.. special mah..hehe.. :p

must find good day to "kai gong"... =X

heard some ppl also find right time to start reno.. super pan tang, and leh chey... but if gd for u and got the time to do so.. can try.. haha!

hahah~ oops...

means... i heard correctly! not dreaming..

so u found the right time and date to start reno? and got procedure one? like first thing to do (eg. hack floor, knock something to signify the start)??

for me, jus need to reno my htb room, like tearing down his wardrobe to do a walk-in one, putting up tv console and x-box space, shelves for my precious moments and his model kits... sounds as bad as doing a house liao. but i think i'll do it anytime cos' its a small job.

morning all...

thomas & cheer - no lei.. gp tested negative lei

haha... bt dun kena aso gd else honeymoon postponed lei.. lol

hey morning all.. sorry MIA a while! thanks for all the feedback on where to go for a short getaway! wished to go BKK but want to wait for flight promotions first. haha!

to renovate a house is a big headache right.. abit lucky that we bought a house with min renovation. but kinda regret as we dun have the experience with renovation.. hopefully in future, we get to design our own house!

joyle: master haven't replied our email yet, still waiting for his advice. yup got procedure one

morning all...busy day for me

lilm: then try again? =P

vivi: me gg BKK next week hehehehehee

yalor min reno also headache, cos u dun do much, reno contractors also diff to quote u. some dun even bother once they see urs is 'small' job

thankfully mine is over liao, will be meeting him to sign this sat

thomas - wow.. great to knw u found a reno contractor le.. =)

shiok ah going bkk...

try ah.. prob is nw aso duNno wat prob.. "aunty" not willing to come

hihi all:

wow thomas: reno is really very tiring...must be prepare cos think most of the reno co is fully pack for CNY period...my is super tired cos is 5rm...with 3bedrm +1study +balcony...the worst part is looking for the suitable lighting...my living rm LED crystal light give me the worst headache...source for 1week time...some shop price is crazy...

hi joyle: haha u also gg for the walk in wardrobe...haha me too...but me using the whole common bedrm for walk in...cos only two of us...so dun need so many rm...if not clothes not enough space to store...hehehe

hi lilm: hmm it ok...maybe had to ask hubby to work harder...wowhahaha...during ur honeymoon in japan...

lilm: lolz...'aunty' can chase her one? =P

thanks...my well-deserved mini break after such a hectic few months...really looking forward to it!

shir: yalor, that's why I was so worried last few weeks cos I realised many cannot do within my timeframe, somemore mine small job. Reno line really good biz, next time can consider gg into it hahahahaaa...sporeans too rich, keep on buying new houses =P

me went balestier see lighting also see until blur, so many shops there zzzzzzzzzzzzzz. have u found urs?

u dun ask lilm to work harder, u urself leh? =P

shir - thanks.. keke bt nw is "aunty" not coming.. mayb she "missed her flight"..

thomas - hmm balestier really alot wor.. sure c till get stars haha....

chase ah.. can la.. take med frm doc lor hahah

any1 balloting for the skyterrace???

no hse lei.. staying wif hubby n family...
hse under his n his mum name...

tinking to try d new BTO lei heez..
bt will cont stay wif d family...

try lor, u got chance to try just go, maybe will be lucky?

looks nice I must admit..esp since the ones in queenstown so near my MIL's house somemore