Novotel Clarke Quay

hmm..my parents say one leh..for the 女方 when sending the invitation cards to the gals's relative will hav to giv "traditional cake"..but now mordern liao..so that giv those normal butter cakes like those cakes u receive during baby first month celebration..yeap..dunno u gt wat i mean..yea..but i'm nt sure this 习俗 is it according to the traditional chinese or according to the "dialect" u from lor..yeap!

o.. d "li bing" rite??? tat time my elder sis, my parents did gif.. bt nw my turn they say no nid le.. make it simpler... heng ah kekeke....

yup printed n cut in office.. FOC hahaha...
eh i put B lei keke cos my sis tat time took train she exited from B..

oh that's call "li bing" har..now i know..oops.sorry..i dunno the term..wah..that is gd lor..can save $$$..n time..so gd..mayb next when my younger sis turn to gt marry..then she dun need too..now my the eldest daughter..cannot say cannot..*sobz*

haiz.. now my colleagues are discussing about one of our colleague's wedding that we all attended last sunday.. getting abit stressed up now.. all commenting on the food part..hopefully Novotel dun let me down..

hannah - i tink tats wat its call ba..

vivi - o.. wich hotel was it at? they say bad? bt hor taste differs frm people to people..
n d banquet manager did mention tat if we start late, food will be affected aso...
dun stress.. must enjoy d process.. =)

copthone King hotel, personally i feel the food was rather good!! portion is quite big, and the menu i think is one of the expensive kind lo.. and its nice! too bad u know.. one of the big shots in our com is a pricky eater! whatever she says, ppl will support her lo.. she dun eat this, dun eat that.. piang.. dunno she purposely say it loud or what so that i can listen. hahaha!

vivi - dun care bout her.. there r alwis such picky eater.. as long as u like d place n d food. n u enjoy ur wedding.. tat shld suffice =)

haiz.. cos i know i definitely loss out on the food part~~.. of course hope dun lose so much lo.. however the ambience and location sure win over my colleague's one. haha! will try to be deaf until my wedding is over.

vivi:...dun care wat others say lor..cos everyone is diff lor..we sure cannot satsify every guest of ours..the most imp is nt the food..but the ambience n of cos the most most imp is the BRIDE n GROOM lor..like wat lilm say..muz enhjoy the process lor..cos the AD itself is all ab U n UR HUBBY lor..u all r the 主角..yeap..agree?..n most imp we know wat we gin the guest is the BEST of wat we can giv lor.. rite?

Thomas, i've decided on which invite i want already but i haven't collect yet. Now forcing my husband to cut down on his guestlist first because i want to keep to 18 tables thereabouts. Because my contract states 18 tables so i can only collect around 120+ invites lor. If my husband really cannot cut down, then i may have to ask Huiling to prepare a new letter for me so that i can collect more invites from T-dragon. Feel so lazy to do all these things....ZzZzzz....

vivi: dun need to be bothered by ppl like them, just enjoy ur big day will do.

cheeky: wow 18 tables only? me planning ard there too, the lesser the better keke

lilmspep: i gg down tis sat pm to confirm e details... uderstand fro e service staff tt e stage deco s std for each ballroom, then can select flower, crystal or combi of both stands... table cloth got 5 color to choose fro... went to their sep weddi fair to c e set up, so we sort of decided wat to hav... now they hav red carpet but u got to pay if u wan to use it accordin to e service staff...

cheekychick: if ur htb really gg to icrease e table, then jus drop huiling on email n she wil forward u e letter.. not tt tedious lar better than later not euff card to use... but u cant decrease e no once u increase it..

I intented to play a compliation of love/wedding songs throughout my dinner. Any1 have any idea whether Novotel can play it for me using thumbdrive or CD? Coz some hotel will onli play it for u if ur cd is original coz they scared might spoilt their player..

Hi all morning!!
thanks for the advise, have to keep reminding myself that its our big day.. most impt, we must enjoy!! will try to glue this into my head!!
ya!! kindly advise on the songs as well, cannot imagine i have to bring all the original CDs.. also dunno where to get!

cheer - o u're going this sat.. iw anted to go dwn tis fri bt huiling has 2 other appt & she can onli mit me at 5.30.. bt i have not knock off yet lei.. tink i haf to change it to nxt week...
o.. they haf redcarpet.. hmm.. shall ask huiling bout tat wen i c her keke.. thanks for the info...

afternnon all!!!..nothing to do at hm..so was juz browsing for buffet caterer..yeap..u all hav any gd caterer in minds can reccommend?..but i wan halai one lor..its my for church wedding lunch...

hi lilmspep..hehe..thanks for the info..hav u hear ab food tasting for buffet caterer..the caterer has a session which allow u to taste their food..but u hav to pay la..any ideal which caterer is tat?

Thomas, ya i take the Cinnamon room mah. 18 tables is the minimum and i think it's the best else it will be squeezy...also don't wish to have any tables to be blocked by the pillar. I can have 30 tables and take the Phoenix but i rather not. Can't imagine couples who have 50 tables! Will concuss due to the seating arrangements and the losses...the more tables we have, the higher the chance of incurring more losses right :P Very close friends and relatives are enuf le, im sure u agree...

cheer, i reluctant to increase the tables..but yes, if really bobian, i will have to email Huiling. Forgot to ask T-dragon what if need to get more cards, how much they charge...

cheeky: totally agree with u, that's why we also wanna keep our tables to the minimum =P mine's min 16 though cos mine's lunch.

hannah: can try Rasel, Mum's Kitchen etc.

fiona/vivi: that's what I was saying a few posts above, guess u all missed it. NCQ will only allow ORIGINAL cds from what I was told cos they are worried if pirated ones will spoil their player.

oh hi... elise kitchen.. i dun really have very good reviews about them. But seriously is really subjective.That day happen to be no good and the other days are like thumbs up! So but yes... this is my review
hahaa

winterpolaris:.harlow...hmm...thanks for ur comment..its helps..i hear fr some of my friends too.its nt very gd..any gd reccommendation u hav?

hannah: rasel no, mum's kitchen, yes. Company used them for new year's eve lunch buffet for the past few yrs, not bad. Rasel i heard not bad also.

queen: have fun!

lilmspep: i m miti huiling in e early pm... u still need to work till so late on sat? tink nite time, huiling wil b busy wif e banquet bah.. thus cant mit u @ nite..

babyangel_86: u may wan to try orange clove, its halah certified, a subsidary of neo garden... some of e caterer hav food tastin, u can try callin those u r interested n chk if they hav food tastin session...

lilmspep: s urs @ phoneix ballroom? if it s, then still ok... but u got enuff invitation card to giv out? mayb can get him to confirm whether e 6 table guest r able to attend or not, jus in case they cant n u hav commit e no...

for me, cos my parents wan to invite more relatives, n i oledi max up cinnamon room so havin a separate banquet in JB for malaysia relatives...

cheer - yup at phoenix.. bt prob is, they haven even come up wif d name list at all =(
not even 1 table.. i'm gonna b a bridezilla soon....

Happy Girl: can cos Huiling told me can use MP3 so burn CD should be able to.

I be meeting her on 11th. I will test with my MP3 then let you all know.

lilm:..oh...poor gal..sat hav to work until so late..dun b sad..muz cheer up..cos in a few month time need to b pretty2 bride...wah..u FIL wan to add 6 more tables..wit no name list..i can feel hw u feeling lor..hehe..dun confirm wit huiling the add 6 tables..after the namelist is confirm then u let huiling know..if nt..later u "lugi" lor..yeap..

cheer:..thanks for the reccomendation..=)

HG: yup cos they said they worried pirated cds may spoil their player...me also planning to burn all our weddings songs into one cd, carrying so many original cds damn leychey leh...

lilm: aiyo I wanna faint on hearing that liao, u got more than 40 tables still wanna add 6 more?!?!?! kaoz...

hannan - yup bt my saturday is alt so today is my off day woohoo... kekeke

thomas - ya.. tats my reaction wen my bf told me tat >.<"""""

nw d prob is, not onli did they not haf the name list for the 6 tables, even the 15tables they requested earlier on aso no name list lor

lilm: wah...so today u off har..gd2..can rest lor..huh?...even the 15 table also..hmmm..very dangerous..the namelist muz b out n confirm coming lor..if nt later..u over confirm the no. of table..u going to hav extra..then nobody eat n u hav to pay..muz keep after ur wedding to eat lor..ask ur HTB to "cui" his parent for the confirm coming namelist lor..ya

lilmspep: u can still 2-3 days b4 AD, so mayb u confirm then in case, ur PIL cant fill up e table.. cos some of e friends may not b able to make it though they r invitin them...

queen: rehearsal for? got ask HL whether we can test e cd, montage etc prior to the AD, she say can call n arrange for the testing.. as for MC, they wil practice on their own n test mic on AD.. which deco n table cloth r u usin? we hav e gold tablecloth for guest, red sash n light + bright pink for flower stand...

ladies n guy, i jus mit HL n she say we can burn e cd n giv it to them for AD, need ard 30-40 songs throughout e dinner, can b in MP3 format too... so dun need to bring original cd...

here's my food review (delay quite long):

cold dish (mini octopus, jellyfish, drunken chix, prawn salad, popiah)
the popiah s veri nice, 8 out of 10 dun like e drunken chix, find it too cold n got e frozen tast, e rest r ok

shark fin wif roe
it s nice but a bit saltish

chicken wif garlic
delicious! e garlic deep fried till u dun feel tt it s garlic.. some commented tt it taste like 'chao po'..

groupa wif traditional sauce
e sauce s unique n taste nice, got bamboo shoot, sliced meat, red dates, etc... initially we plan to taste tis 'traditional sauce' n change to HK style if not nice.. but e sauce s real nice tt we decided to stick to it...

steam prawn
ok

yam ring wif stuff vege
veri yummy! e yam ring s veri crispy! tink tis s every1 fav dish..

fried ee mee
big plate, most of us cant finish it.. taste nice.. but i find e noodle a bit tough but my htb say, tis s correct, if not will b too soggy liao..

yam paste
mmm.. so-so.. mayb we r too full liao... or bcos we hav eaten yam ring oledi so find it overwhelmin wif another yam dish..

mango sago wif pomelo
its refreshin aft a heavy meal... but find tt it s a bit dulited n not much pomelo... but we decided to hav tis as dessert since we oledi hav yam ring..

e portion s real big n every1 s full by e time we hav e noodle... hopefully on e AD, e portion s as big n nice...

queen: r we havin e same dish?

cheer: yah i oso going to test the cd n montage loh...n test the march in music n try to march in loh

the dishes ah...not the same, hahah

my table cloth i using red for VIP, dark grey for the rest...red sash for the aisle stand

hihi everyone...me just back fr holiday..today still on leave...hehehe (trying to clear leaves)

wow cheer u had ur food tasting liao...
ya the drunken chicken is FUNNY..lilm and me 2 thinking to chg...THE MANGO is too watery...till now still can't decided which dessert
(but how come u got 2 dessert on food tasting? did u pay extra to try??)
But overall do u think the food portion is enough??? cos all my family member feel the portion too little and not full enough..HAHAHA

lilm...m so headache now...still hv not confirm the no of guests not to say the table arrangement...DAY R GETTING nearer..omg

1 question...may i know where can we get those traditional thing...like GUO DA LI and where to order the cake (for relative)???

shirley - me too.. had been having alot of arguments wif my bf lately over his parents name list.

so stress so upset n d fact he's not understanding my POV.. haiz...

d guo da li stuff, chinatown haf, i'm heading dwn tis sat... cake u can get from china town aso... i rem there's 1 quite popular 1 there.. will check for u if u wan ^^V

thk lilm...pls advise the add if u hv it ...thk

u had argument with bf...me is wif my parents...they like taking their own sweet time...and me so anxious to confirm the name list..really really so headache..