Novotel Clarke Quay

ling: why no need leh? u on leave?

lilm: haha yalor...now feel a bit heartpain cos we actually had to pay higher cos its sakura season...

when u gg for urs?

cheer: haha not fast liao lor...signed up with chan bros. yup package tour =) u leh? F&E or package?

share with u this link since u've always shared info with me
its the forecast of sakura season for the whole of japan...as of now, first bloom in Sapporo is expected to be ard 7 May
do click on this link regularly as the dates may change due to weather...

http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/indepth/seasonal/sakura2010/

Hi All, I'm new to this thread. We went down to view the phoenix grand ballroom, and I fell in love with the venue. Wat are the perks tt we can negotiate e.g. helper's room? I read the thread history, seems like parking is a serious prb *worried*

hi ctrus, perks-wise, if u look through the posts, quite inflexible also. but different perks are given based on the packages you have with them. NCQ has 3 different package (Pleasure, Destiny and Eternity, diff. in price and range of food to choose frm). Some BTBs got better perks cos' different package taken, if u r thinking whether can bargain..

Hi Joyle, wat abt the parking prb? Was it jialat? Was the food still hot (at least warm) when served?

Currently on their website is the pkg for 2011. Anyone of you have their previous pkg to share (e.g. 2010 / 2009). My email addy is [email protected]. Jz a rough guage hw much was their inflation in pkg price and/or perks.

ctrus>> my wedding will be in mar 2011, so can't answer all ur qns..

definitely have -ve and +ve comments on every hotel. so it's up to you to decide. for me, i hesitated initially, but KIVing novotel and looking ard, other hotels did not fit my budget or other criteria, and my family told me just go for the one that I like cos' I cannot pls everyone.

just to share, I was looking for pillarless and high ceiling, at least max cap. of 40tables, gd food & not in areas clustered with hotels.

my dad thinks that parking problem is more prominent in places like marina area, so i cannot choose those there.. and for meritus mandarin on wkends, before u even reach the carpark, u already in the orchard jam. for sentosa weddings, jam start frm 6plus once cars off the ECP and its not even slow moving jam, the cars not moving at all.

nothing's perfect, except u and ur hubby on ur wedding day. it's still ur choice to choose ur dream venue, not too think so much abt all these factors which will never end!

Joyle >> Indeed, we can't please everyone. Guests may complaint abt food/ service/ parking (almost everything under the sun) Most imptly is we both like the venue and enjoy ourselves

Just to check, how's their coordinator? Approachable/ meticulous?

welcome ctrus...

yes joyle was right. every hotel has it + and - points. so reali depends on which u think it is more important. I just had mine on last weekend. Feedback is good.

morning all...

lilm: nvm let him finish his course first...u will get to enjoy one dun worry
me looking forward eagerly to mine, just attending briefing session yest on our trip =) Sakura here I come! haha

ctrus: welcome...like what joyle and ling had mentioned above, dun be too bothered by what others say...it is difficult to please everyone and it is also impossible to do that. Just book the place where u like most =)

is urs lunch or dinner? if lunch like mine, parking is no issue. Dinner will have cos a lot of partygoers like to park at Liang Court to go drink so jams are expected, esp on weekends. No need to get overly concerned too cos the pros will negate the cons if u decide on NCQ

for mine no complaints abt the food, mostly warm. my guests also said food was nice and portions were just nice. I did a calculation for u, prices for 2011 have gone up by ard 15% as compared to 2010. This increase is not restricted to NCQ only, in fact almost all hotels have increased their prices yearly. Wedding is a lucrative business I guess hahaha

as for coordinators, they used to have two...Huiling and Kevin. Kevin has been transferred to events section so another new guy will be taking over from him. Think they are restructuring their ops to serve new couples like u better =)

thomas: thanks 4 sharin
but me not gg 4 sakura... by e time i go s end of sakura season, most prob s e pink moss n tuilip seasion.. 3 more wks to ur honeymoon, enjoy!!

ctrus: welcome to NCQ! can try askin for more invitation card, parking coupons... e rest r quite std dependin on when u sign, if u r not in a rush, can wait for their yearly weddin fair in sep or promotion in their website http://www.dreamweddingsatnovotel.com/promotion/index.html

thomas - ya tats y i din even ask him bout d trip aso already.. keke.... enjoy ur trip ah~~~ =)

ctrus - welcome to NCQ.. hope u get a gd deal.. do u haf any date in mind yet?

ctrus: yes mine was signed during their yearly wedding fair and the most they gave me was increase to carpark coupons to 25% instead of 20%. And i had bargained for another night at the suite. Hubby and I scared we were unable to wake up at that time for check out. U can try and ask.

just to check>> is the carpet changed already? cos' i saw in the virtual tour that the carpet looks new.. or it has always been the same..

joyle: Approved u.. huh my photos ok onli. Yes yes they just change, compare to last time. Now got some bright orange like leaves. But i tink no one care abt the carpet. To me no pillars and alot of friends, colleagues inform us, the ballroom is good. Squarish type which able to see stage clearly, not like rectangular type, too long.

ling>> yeah.. didnt see what was before this when I went to check out the ballrm the last time. but for places like Peony Jade Keppel Ballroom, definitely saw that they DID not have any carpet.. just parquet flooring...

ur pics are nice! i like the dreamy dreamy effect and ur crown looks like a real princess one lor.. hee'

which church did u go to take the outdoor shots? very nice and subtle..

joyle, you are very detailed, till now den i actually went to see what the carpet looked like......

guys, just wondering, after BS, hotel, PG/VG booked, does it mean that i can relax till about 6 mths before AD? cos i cannot think what else i need to pre-book at the moment and i dun want to miss out anything important... was thinking of getting my own wedding cake... but htb say only if there if extra $$ left.. hee...hee....

Hihi, want to check has anyone used NCQ's function room for solemnization before the wedding dinner starts before? If yes, the usage of microphone & CD Player to play for Bride March In, do they actually charge you for using it?

morning all.....

jean - i use their function rm.. bt we din use mics wor... n there was no march in cos we were late for 5mins n my JP was unhappy le >.<"""

good morning everybody!!

lingling12, the church allow photo taking de?

lilimspep, hahah.... my fren was late for her solmenization, kenna scolding from the jp about auspicious time...he more pan tang then them about the timing... zzzz... but they quite jia lat, late for half hr cos they couldn't find their rings....

pris: We took photos outside the church. Didnt went in and this is the last min decision to take here. PG from bridal studio recommend us. Maybe if u wanna take inside, there is a need to pre-inform the church first.

No lah All JPs are very particular about timing. As they might be rushing for the next one. U never knows. This type of things cannot be late.

this thread is moving fast...good sign

joyle: yup carpet has been changed

jean: we used the function room for tea ceremony only, not ROM cos we ROMed a yr ago. no idea on the charges, it will be better if u call/write in to ask.

yes thomas... good more things to read. Boring at work.

my hubby yesterday ask me why out of sudden i got so many new friends in fb... hahaha...

thomas>> u had both sides tea ceremony together? or one side did at home?

ctrus still got time to think.. by the time, so many places renovated, new places coming up. like.. Grand Park Orchard? not too sure they got banquet anot, but as usual, cairnhill jam is mad...

lingling: which s ur BS? e pics laypot r veri nicely done up!

pris: tink u hav did mos od e bookin unless u wan 'live' band... ;) tink now s arrangin 4 ur gown fittin if u hadn done so n oso taking ur pre-weddin shoots...

jean: i use e clove room for my ROM, no mic s provided... anyway, e room not veri big so can hear wat e JP say, but not sure if my guest can hear or not... i didn pay for e room as it s included in our package when we sign @ e BOWS 09..

Thomas >> NCQ is surely on my top priority list. Does NCQ participate in BOWS every year? If yes, will pop-by BOWS next year, hopefully can get better bargain since I can only do booking nx year for 2012 wedding

joyle: our tea ceremonies were all held at NCQ...mine was held 1st in the bridal suite cos they cldn't get the function room ready so early. My wife's side was held in the function room at a later time cos hers no need to meet the auspicious timing.

Grand Park the traffic there is real bad...major turnoff everytime when I go town.

ctrus: from what I know, yes they do. wow ur AD is 2yrs from now...plenty of time to prepare haha. Just take note, BOWS may not give u the best deals...I signed up mine during BOWS last yr but all the good deals started coming after that hahahaha..so keep yr eyes wide open on their webby cos they have promotions from time to time =)

hahaha..... i jus realise... most places are the same, bad traffic or bad parking... den like that i think wedding attendees should be pretty used to waiting...

ctrus, still so early...make a reservation for your date if you already have one for the hotels you like first if they allow den recce their promos next year for your confirmation...hee....

I think it is more of what other hotels offer as well as their "booking performance" that will influence their deals...cos all the hotels "try" to make themselves more attractive to customers.. so need to give better deals to compete..