Novotel Clarke Quay

hannah, no problem, i found the previous food tasting reviews by other brides very useful too so i think i should put one up as well for references
That's true...everyone's taste buds is different. But after the food tasting, i'm confused about which menu i should choose too. Most likely will choose the 8-course menu with the yam ring because my tasters really don't like the rock garoupa
Yes yes, he is very happy about it, to him, its a sooner or later thing...he was grumbling should have kenna earlier, if bb comes out before CNY, can earn back some angbao money for him.

thomas, i've not chosen my AD gowns yet...in another 2 weeks. Those gowns i've worn for PS are only for PS, AD gowns will be a different set. No choice, just choose loose fitting ones. Praying will have decent gowns for people like me...

lilmspep, thanks! Boy or girl the same since one is enough for me. Really phobia due to the bad morning sickness...

hihi morning...thanks cheeky..must be very tough...but just bear with it...i think by the time u give birth and saw ur little baby boy...u will feel all is worth it...:P
ur mango pudding look nice...think will change to this 2..cos already choose yam ring then dessert yam paste...mum keep complaining...say that it will be 2 full for guest...aft thinking is also quite true...hmm think aft whole dinner is better to hv some refreshing dessert.

hi lilm saw ur ang bao box...hahaha wow not bad ar...where u bought all the material???

just to check with all of u...how much u all will bao 4 helper ect...now do bank hv new note??
gg to change $$$ for ang bao...sian spend $$$ again...

Hi Cheekychick,

I think to have a child 26 years apart is really ok which means you are gonna be a young and pretty grandma like my mom who is her 60s :D At least your husband are ok
I heard of one story was the wife pregnant after the ROM then requested if can skip the whole AD event. So sian

Thanks for the feedback too! I think i need to make arrangement with Huiling liao to makan. haha nervous for both sides to meet. Although not the first time but it was different!

Limsprep, I confirmed my honeymoon too, i am going to Japan as well. But only in tokyo becos the both of us no leave liao. Which part are you heading to? Both of us are planning F&E and just got my main thing settled > airtickets and hotels. Now need to find one more place, Ryokan to stay so we can go and try their hot spring!

shirley - i gt d materials like cloth etc from arab street, lace n d foam flowers, ribbons from spotlight.. d bear is from d proposal flowers he gave me.. =)

winter - wen will u be going?? we haven really plan.. still considering btw F&E or tour thought we r leaning more towards F&E keke.. gonna start planning after my AD

Hello limspep,

right after our wedding 24th Jan to 30th Jan. Will take a night flight. I wanted SQ which comes with A380 but then the coming home timing was bad and my HTB wanted to have a full day rest and go to church on Sunday before starting work on Monday. So i found ANA tickets @ $570 per pax which fit our timing :D ANA also having promotion till March 2010 so you should go check it out at their English Singapore ANA Site.

For hotel i secured a hotel call Sunshine City Prince Hotel at $125 per night good deal considering is right in so call our singapore orchard area. I booked through priceline.com But is a long walk to the train station (think staying in St Regent walking to Orchard Mrt Station) But i chosed this because there is a direct Airport Bus that goes straight to our hotel and which means you don't have to pull heavy luggage around in the train station! What i like about this hotel is because the hotel sits on top of a shopping mall which means i can still shop @ night :D hehehhee

The rest we are still planning. hehehehe :P

winter - wow.. u're going after wedding... so gd.. i still have to wait ard 4-5mths keke....

$570 is inclusive of tax?? if inclusive, seems like a gd deal keke....

wow.. mayb i shld jus get my sis to plan my itinerary for me n i shall go F&E since its not as ex as i tot.. =)

oh actually i wasn't able to go one... we initially wanted to go for a short getaway like to Langkawi for honeymoon cos my HTB leave was not approved at first. It is his peak period and we wanted to plan US in May or June 2010 for honeymoon instead. But then the company kindly granted him 1 week leave so he could go

By the way guys, you all know you can claim marriage leave. =) 3 days i think.

cheeky: dun worry even if dun have gowns for u, ur BS will alter some nice ones for u on ur big day
btw dun think u are in my FB, can add me? [email protected]

if ur family dun like rock garoupa (maybe too hard for them), can try switching to Soon Hock, a lot of ppl here changed to that and they all said its nice.

winter: why u so good one, after AD can go japan, me dunno can go or not cos wanna count how much losses on my AD then can only decide from there when/where/how long to go

I love Japan too and hope to be able to go there for my HM sobs

marriage leave will differ from company to company...some give 3 days, some 2, some dun even give. Mine's 2 days only but I've oredi used up for my ROM this yr

oh cos mine was a short trip.. hahaha
think positive =) can cover just nice will be great :D

Actually most pple have the perception that Japan is expensive. After i did my research, i think is possible. My price ticket and hotel is almost the same cost of me going to HK during last year dec.

Will you all be getting the extra wine consumption from NCQ as well? For convenience, Hb and i thinking of just getting it from the hotel after the "free entitlement" runs out. Anyone knows how is their house wine quality? I have friends who always conclude house wines are CMI. quite skeptical too.. HOw??

Do you all try to 'budget' the alcohol consumption for the night? Last night hb and i were discussing... on top of our 1 free wine bottle per table + 1 free beer barrel, we will allow up to 2 more barrels of beer & 30 bottles of wine to be opened up. U guys think this is enough?? Or too much? For abt 23 tables. Dont wanna get a shock when we see the hotel bill u see. haha.

winter: wah that a cheap deal for airfare.... i wish to go Japan for HM too..... thinking of joining a tour den extend F & E to tokyo

ixoral - yup tink me n hubby will b getting the wine from the hotel too... as d corkage alone is 15+ i tink...
buying from them is 23++

more worth to buy from them...

hmm as for the consumption, will b best to assign a trusted fren/relative to overlook tis.. my fren recommend tat whenever require to open a new bottle, the banquet manager is to consult the assigned person.. make sure the prev bottle tat had been open is empty before opening a new bottle..

u wldn't wan to haf 1/2 a bottle here n there wen d banquet ends... wont b ez to keep track bt i tink its a must to try n do so

winter: is it ur first time to japan? actually japan IS expensive, from the food to their stuff there, most of the things cannot buy one...u see their cab fare u cfm will faint hahahhahahaha

ixoral: their house wine's quality not bad, some here also commented that they're good. If my one free bottle per table runs out, think I will ask them to open ba. Dun forget, if u get their house wines, they will waive corkage charges but not if u get ur own wines. So after u calculate all in, will still be around the same so I dun bother lah. Anyway their house wine is like $23 iirc? that's ok to me.

lilm's got a point there...make sure it's empty before they open a new bottle for u...have heard of other hotels trying their best to goad u into opening as many bottles as they can even when bottle is still half-full. Or when glass is half-full, they start topping up for ur guests...

Shirley, quite tiring and stressed. Eeeks, i don't want to think about the delivery yet, so phobia of it. Still very unprepared about this whole thing. Cocktail mango pudding is nice! But i think hor, the 'look' of the pudding won't be so nice after serving it, can look quite mashed up :P Same as you, i think the yam ring is a must-have, so if choose yam paste for dessert, too much yam already...

winterpolaris, actually i don't mind cancelling the wedding dinner but by the time i know i'm preg, it's just too late to cancel everything because i was so kiasu, booked everything in advance, all deposit paid. Also lazy to bring forward AD so lan-lan just go ahead. So envy you can go Japan!!!

Thomas, have added you on FB, i think you've seen my PS photos before, lol. I still confused about the menu...Am tempted to take the Destiny menu which has the yam ring, then cold dish have lobster and the fish can choose between red garoupa and pomfret. Soon hock has to be fried right?

ixoral, i intend to get the additional wines from NCQ too but my relatives have volunteered a number of bottles of duty-paid white wines so it really depends on the consumption. I find it very very hard to monitor. I think must have a few trusted friends to help? As in, surely they need to ask us for permission before opening new bottle? My AD is on a Saturday so i'm expecting higher than normal consumption of alcohol...

thanks all for your replies

U girls make me feel more comfortable in our decision to use the hotel's wine. hee. Ya mine is also saturday.. and my hb already warn me his colleagues will definitely drink alot. We are fine actually, just want to put a 'cap' to it in case things get out of hand. :p Ya we will also be assigning a brother to be the alcohol coordinator.

I believe it's gd to monitor the consumption as far as we can. Dont want any surprises when the bill comes! haha. Am quite concerned abt this becos one of my friend who got married last year actually told me her 'free alcohol entitlement' was finished even b4 the banquet starts! She had alot of drinker guests as her dad is doing business...

cheeky: what's ur real name in FB? can't seem to find u...nope, soon hock a lot of them took the steamed version in soya sauce and they said its nice...only thing soon hock is smaller than garoupa usually so may need to have 2 fishes on the plate.

btw for those weddings over already, who is your banquet manager??

also when u check in, is it check in at lobby or just need to call huiling?

Thomas >> I heard about not emptyin the bottle too...my HTB bro's weddin lagi worse...they brought a cannon and red wine on their own, the hotel kept tellin the guest dun have their own wine insisted that the couple only ordered hotel wines. In the end all the wines n liquour brought was brought back unopened! So jian lo..

hello, i am likely to bring our own wine in cos it is a gift from one of the relatives. But the part of ensuring the wine bottle is empty before opening of the next one is a good one. Thanks Lilm for the heads up!

For about 20 tables i buffer another 10 more bottles need to be consumed total 30 bottles. I don't think most will drink alot especially my friends are drivers unless their bf/hubby very bad lar... keep drinking then ask the wife and send back. Maybe we can tink of "lucky draw" idea hahaa to encourage less drinking and get 20% off petrol bill coupons.. WHAHAHAAA sorry nonsense from me...

Hey Thomas, yeah first time Japan. Don't think is a place for shopping. More to enjoy their culture and the food. I know food are also not cheap but will do HW before that. Should try at least 1 to 2 delicacies like a good quality beef *melt*
who knows.. cup noodles are YUMMY than a main meal... LOL

Wanted to go HK cos it is a place i am familar with and I already know where are the good food but many of my friends asked us to go Japan instead of HK cos HK is good for bigger group of friends for good food

morning all =)

ixoral - no prob la keke... we must share our ideas so we can get d best n gd deal n haf a happy wedding.... ^^V

winter - no prob =).. jus sharing wat my fren advised.. i believe tat alcohol cost is 1 of d main concerns for all btb or gtb.. =)

fellcy - wow.. tat hotel really bad lei... my fren aso say doing wat i told u all is gd aso cos u get to kip track.. as u wont knw if any of d staff mite take 1 or 2 bottle back hm n charge it to ur acct

queen: u can ask for either Liz or Rico as ur banquet manager, both of them are equally good based on general feedback here. I think checking in no need to call HL ba, she shld have passed all the couples' names who are getting married on that day to the reception counter.

fellcy: where did his bro hold his wedding? not at NCQ I hope

winter: not all wives can drive wor ahahhahahahha...luckily mine's on a Sun so dun think they will drink that much cos next day still gotta work...

Yup, can go there see see but cannot buy lah...their prices are crazy really. Their stuff are expensive but their pay also high to offset lol. Average pricing of foodstuff there is abt 4-5 times of Singapore's hahahahhahahaa...must try their Wagyu and Kobe beef hor *slurps* U will def enjoy urself there de...me hope to be able to go there for my HM also

HK is also nice! I miss the fried rice and cheong fun there *smacks lips*

hahahhhahhaa...

Thomas, my name in FB is Nxx Wxxxxu...lol. I see...i don't mind 2 fishes actually. If you never mention soon hock, i would have forgotten about it! Thanks ah, now one more choice for my hubby :P

I miss mango pomelo dessert @ Xu Liu Shan. Yummy. Everyday one cup and i came back and was overheat haha.

I miss their roast duck, dim sum, breakfast and their gong zai meen (instant noodles), Wanton and many more !

thanks Thomas....

oh regrading the wine, its very troublesome if the person you allocate have to check every single bottle right? then he no time eat already.

i guess to me its a form of trust ba..but i will still ask my bro in la to be in charge. i have 38 table so i will ask the hotel to inform my bro in law after 40 bottles are consumed.

I did ask Kevin about the wine arrangement. What they will do is they serve the wine in glass. When the guest finish the wine, the waitress will ask if the guest require more wine. If the guest want more wine, the waitress will get a new glass for him and NOT pouring the wine into the finished glass. Hence, they serve by glass.

If i have 20 tables, which means i have 20 bottles of wine. The banquet manager will inform one of the brother (the one in charge of such decision) when there are about 4-5 bottles of wine left and ask him if they have the permission to open more wine when the bottles are finished. Hence, you have to let ur brother know what you prefer.

One tip to conserve the beer and wine is to inform the banquet manager to serve only when the first dish is served.

Oh, wanted to ask you guys if you intend to place your wedding album in the recep area for the guests to view? Had concern of clumsy guest spilling drinks on the album lo. Hee

Hi Gen, initially i was hesitated to display my wedding album too cos also have the same concern as you.. but.. the purpose of the album is to show our guests! haha, thus i just planning to ask one of my Jie Mei to ''look after'' the album.

btw, can we request the waiter to put the ''leftover'' on a small plate before they serve the next dish?! cos some guests eat very slowly.. and usually for wedding banquets, i seldom see the waiters putting the leftovers on a small plate.

gen - i tink d album shld b ok..
jus put it close to recept so d sister nearer to it can kip an eye on it???

i had informed HL tat wine to b serve onli wen banquet starts.. beer can serve anytime cos mine is free flow

vivi- hmm i tink d leftover dish 1 can b arranged.. jus infor d banquet manager or ur co-ordinator ba =)

hihi morning everyone...

vivi...ya i also thinking whether to display my album...cos my is gold col...scare later let the guest make dirty...u know lah some children..later omg...hahaha

cheeky: can add me pls [email protected]

just to check...u guy will settle the bill by 1) credit card 2) ang bao collected 3) cheque ???
i m thinking to use credit card DBS got 2x point if u charge 4 wedding banquet

shir - htb n i are tinking of using credit card....
gonna call n extend d limit keke..
bt we dun haf DBS card hmmmmmmmm

mayb is time to apply haha...

shir - yup yup m done wif it.. nw i m tryin to confirm d guest liao haha
n those tat cant cum, i will find others to fill in d seat.. tedious

shir - ya.. really alot of work
do try to do early o.. =)

nw my HTB is regretting y he din listen to me n do d list earlier >.<"""

Think i will jus display my album and send someone to keep an eye. =)

Shir, which DBS credit card? Me and hubby got quite a few DBS cards. Kevin did mention that we can use several credit cards to pay for the banquet.

wah so many posts since I last logged in...

cheeky: just checked, I dun have any friend by that name, think u din add me before. Can add me again?

rand: yalor so cheap and nice somemore...feel like gg back there to eat now hahaha

queen: no choice ba, at most give that brother a bigger AP for his hard work lor hehe. Wah u got double the tables than mine *faint* hahahhahahaa...

genevia: thanks for the info...yup that's what we'll do too, only serve wine/beer when first dish is served. Have heard of frens' wedding where they finished all their allocation before the banquet even started! As for the album, I wanted to but my wife was saying why not we do a montage and show our guests on TV better? haha

vivi: think that can be arranged, just inform ur banquet manager before dinner starts ba.

shir: use CC to pay the balance, can make use of this chance to earn points also =P seldom get chance to swipe such a large amt hahahahahhahahaa

erm, only can use DBS cards? other cards cannot?

thomas - i tink other CC can jus tat DBS haf double d points if u use theirs ba....

anyone doing their schedule for the AD already???
i'm getting so confused over all d arrangements etc

any bride here, beside shuttling btw groom n bride house have to go some other relatives hse????

lilms:...i dun hav one schedule for myself..but my future sister-in-law..giv me n my HTB their wedding AD schedule as draft for our reference lor...but my is hard copy ..nt soft copy..so can't email to u lor..ya..mayb u can let me know wat u r confuse..then i can check out for u?