New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
angtan

this january was a lousy summer. The weather sucks and even the kiwis are complaining. But dont take that all summers are like that.

When you are up the in mountains, i am surprised your guide did not ask you to bring suntan lotion.

Because of the height and the reflection of the sun from the snow, it is always advisable to put on suntan lotion and wear UV protection glasses.

it is hard to check the weather what it is like in NZ. The country is so big. But obviously coming around the end of the year will be warmer than in June.

Haurko,

dont assume Jan sure got tickets as the kiwis children are at the tail end of their holidays.

Hello Angy
We went F&E not with guide, and we did apply suntan lotion but still sunburnt

F& E is really enjoying, you will get to see more.
But again, alot of preparation need to be done, map study, route study and all the infos.

precioustots, you've got mail!

all,

whale watch is fun, but it is a matter of luck. The guides cannot guarantee you if you can see one when you are out there.

The problem with Kaikorua is, the town is in the middle of no where. If you drive down from Picton, you have to endure a couple of kilometres of windy road. If you drive up from christchurch, it is a long and boring drive.

serene
did you see your earlier question, I live in NZ, do definitely no F&E.

Hi angry, i'm not assuming that there will be tickets in Jan. I can only go earliest Jan cos of work commitments. Looks like going to NZ is safest to plan 1 year in advance is it?
Then I better not go... got to plan so long in advance....

haruko,

the problem is since Air NZ pulled out of Singapore, SIA is the only plane that flys direct to NZ. So, the flights to NZ is almost always full.

Or else, you can fly Brunei Airlines, Qantas or Emirates.

Hi Haruko,

We went to NZ last April and booked the SQ tickets about 6 weeks beforehand. I guess if you dont go during NZ summer holiday or Spore holiday, it should not be that difficult to get tickets.

Hi S'rene,

Thanks for the info.. would love to see ur pics

Can email me at [email protected]??

Decided on the tour oready more or less.. I will take 9 days Southern Island tour with AAT. It cost 1660NZD originally.. but after discount it cost abt 1525NZD. Plus I dun wanna take the dinner.. so it will cost abt 200NZD less.
Guess tt's the cheapest I can get for now..
pay so much for air ticket oready.. n plan to take more optional tour.. hehe need to start saving from now

Thanks in advance... =D

Hello chummy... You've got mail.

You said you paid NZD 1525. Is that per pax or for 2?

I think you'll like NZ. It's a beautiful beautiful place. The mountains, the plains, the architecture, the people... absolutely gorgeous!

i also going NZ for my honeymoon in Dec....
now i pondering which tour agency should i bk??
hope to seek some advice here ;)

Hi J,

In the first place u need to decide whether u wanna take local tour agent from SG or u wanna arrange local tour from NZ directly

From SG they provide the air ticket.. but from NZ u need to search ur own air ticket.
But tour from NZ provide more flexibility in terms of date n most probably is a confirm departure.. no last minute cancelation. But usually u end up with slightly more ex than tour from SG.

The itinary will b different too. So u need to check out which places u wanna go.

Hi chummy,

thks for the advice...actually i thinking of going on a free n easy trip...but my wife she want those package type..

i've been asking around and i found that Chan Bros gd in NZ tour package....tml i will pop by suntec(they hv a fair there) to c what they offer..

Hi chummy,

Wha lau...hell alot of pple manz....din book any package...reason is my wife dun want to go in too crowded

I guess this wkend we going to pop down Chan Bros shop to c c the package....sign...miss the yesterday offer..

The offers are ok only. Very crowded. NZ package tours are expensive, range from $3000-$4200. It's really peak season. Lots of people signing for NZ tour. Anyway, I managed to book Exotic! 10D Egypt tour in Nov for only $2,380/pax, full board. Nov will be 20-25 degree! Yeah! :-) Looking forward to the camel ride & seeing the pyramid!

Hi Haruko..

Thats nice.. I heard Egypt is very unique.. u shall njoy it a lot
just be careful with those pickpocket n thief.. but I guess in tour group shld be safe..

Hi J,
If what Haruko said is correct, 3000-4200 is not much cheaper from booking those NZ tour.

Of course I dun see the itinary here.. cant really say much.. but I spend 3200 per pax for the air ticket + 9 days tour in south island.

just back frm suntec after seeing the Chan bro...abit crappy frm them....the package for north and south for 13 days is ard 4k w/o the TranzAlpine excursion...worst is gotto go by Thai air need transit too...when back gotto stay in bangkok another 2 more days...:p
whereas i pop by Dynasty, 10day tour cost $3978 with TranzAlpine excursion....plus SQ flight somemore...mayb i will chose Dynasty...
any bors or sis take on Dynasty package b4...any FR...thks.. ;)

J,

Gosh... Your package does sound expensive and doesn't make sense to fly up to BKK first then down again to NZ.

I thought of going to the travel fair last weekend too, just for the fun of it. From the sounds of it, luckily I didn't go.

Hahaha... I feel like paragliding again in NZ... or maybe skydiving/bungee jumping.

whaa u all buy so exp tickets?
lastime we book tix in Aug and fly in Dec (4mth b4)fly by SQ , 1 pax is $1300++ tat was last Dec lor..
Ours F& E.. we rent car tour south NZl 14 days.

Hi Ang,

i also like to go free n easy...but the hassle part is need to book all the hotels 1st and must know where to go....
how did u do all your hmwork?? can share?? ;)

whahaha..
I went with my hubby n 3 of his friends who all know how to drive. they hav meet up mani times b4 we fly for discussion on the itenerary and booking of stuffs like that. So ermm.. i m basically jus enjoy the whole trip :P I did cook on some of the days lah..cos they dont know how to cook mah..
I feel that they hav done very good 'homework' for the whole trip cos we covered mainly of south and truely enjoyed the whole 14days trip in NZL :D

Mrs Ang

J,

Just to share.. i went with dynasty travel to NZ last year dec for their 10 days North and South package.. not bad i would say.. but the accomodation not as good as the ones we had at aussie.. me and hubby went with dynasty travel to aussie twice and the accomodation at aussie was really much better than the ones at NZ...

Ya, SQ is good, else really die manzz.. really longggg flight!

For transalpine.. we find it boring leh hahahahaaa.. and can't really capture any shots in the train itself, so u have to go to this small open area to videoshoot or whatever.. i stayed all the while in the cabin so it was really bored.. my hubby told me pretty crowded at the open area..

hi kk thks for the info.
the tour consultant told me at least a 4star hotel..but is the Dynasty tour rushing kind??
the train ride boring ah....actually i looking forward to this ride...keke...what abt the fox glacier??is it beautiful?

J,

I find the tour ok.. in fact i am supporter of dynasty haha.. i have always been signing up with dynasty for all my trips so far.. the next one is hokkaido this dec

I also looked forward to the ride, but such a disappointment to me haha.. there is only one part of the journey which was really good.. other than that i think so so.. and u must sit on the right side of the train.. i think me and hubby sat on the wrong side.. and the sun was so strong.. so spoil the mood also lor :p

Fox glacier.. sigh, regret never take the heli ride! The heli ride would give a much better view from the top. We also walked to the terminal face, which was already challenging to me hahaha.. but anyway no time for heli ride also

I only took heli ride at mt cook region.. very nice!!!! Expensive, but worth trying

Hi Ang, just email u..thks ;)

Hi kk, thks for the info...in that case today i gotto chop chop bk the tour liao incase all sold out... ;)

J,

Not to worry.. dynasty told me this year NZ tours going slow because it is expensive.. with that price, a lot of pple prefer to go europe instead.

NZ is really beautiful!! Do update us once u booked

hi kk,

today bk the 10days tour package....the cost> $4288 + $250(airport tax)...quite ex hor...i knw can go europe liao

should hv bk early that time cost only $3978

but i believe the $$ will be well spend...keke...hopefully sg pool will sponser my trip..

J,

wow, seems like price increase again!! last year dec i went dun seem that expensive... although it is also around $4K. i know end up spend 5 digits for 2 person.. expensive

HAHA!! I also hope singapore pools can sponsor all my future trips and best still, dun have to work anymore :p

J,

i think the 10 days trip is more popular than the 7 days one.. we booked the 7 days trip last year and it got cancelled.. so we were asked to go earlier to join the 10 days group.. we were sort of pissed off that time though heehee.. but after we return from the trip, no regrets.. it is a right thing to go North and South.

kk, yup it a confirm...
plus SQ flight somemore...keke....i got the 10days package north n south tour....wha...really can't wait for that day to come...yipee....
what u say it true loh incl spending i think i gonna spend ard 10k liao....gotto bring maggi mee there n when back eat bread....

J,

Ya good to be in SQ flight.. if not can die manzzzz.. haha!

So u intend to go milford sound?

Oh ya, be mentally prepared that the chinese food there is horrible haha.. that's what i find it to be.. western food very shiok!

yah loh heng SQ manz...dunno is it the new A380...hahaha...
ok i will cover Christchurch, Ashburton(farmstay), Mt Cook, Queenstown, Glacier Walk, Transzalpine train ride, Rotorua(can see the super duper big kiwi), Waitomo and lastly Auckland.

where is this milford sound?

Hi J,

Milford sound u can go from Queenstown. I think it is one of the optional tour offered by Dynasty. Try to go there since it is one of the must see in South Island, NZ.

J,

For me, i didn't go ashburton for any farm stay. Itinerary changed liao ah?

Big kiwi.. dun sound familiar too. What is this kiwi about?

Yup, like what chummy has shared, milford sound u can go on F&E day (u have any in ur itinerary?). That time my whole group went.. pay cash to tour guide will do.

What is so exciting and beautiful is the journey to milford sound. Like wat they say, dun fall asleep!! U see the icy mountain caps along the way.. then also pop by mirror lake.. egglecton valley... and other nice spots before u reach the cruise terminal for cruise to milford sound

i do hv 1 day of free and easy at Queenstown...so this Milford Sound is a must to go lah....keke...

In Rotorua, we will visit the kiwi conservation plant...and over there they have a very big kiwi symbolise that farm...that what the Dynasty told me lah... ;)

Bring raincoat if you R going to Milford, 1st to prepare for bad weather, 2nd to protect urself from getting wet. They will GIVE YOU A SURPRISE which i not going to tell you..
Dont wear cap, cos it will get blown again, the wind is very very strong!
jus remember to go outside the cabin and watch the scenery and waterfall.. u wont miss a thing ;P

J,

if u dun wanna go to milford sound, can go deer park heights too, where they film LOTR.. but i think milford sound more popular with tour groups
In fact we were recommended milford sound, so none go deer park heights lor.

Ohhh the only "big" kiwi i saw was at queenstown, by the roadside outside the eating outlets where we had our F&E dinner :p

Ya, it is good if milford sound rains before your trip. The waterfall will be BIGGGGGG!! Too bad, it was really sunny on the day we went there.. but nevertheless, the waterfall splash into our faces too hahaha.. my hubby filmed his video and quickly kept his videocam :p I heard the tour guide say there was one time their whole body ALL WET!!

Yes.. go on to the very top deck of the cruise ship.. hmm they will ask whether u want lunch or not.. we didn't take the lunch package.. so all of us dabao some kind of maggi mee from the convenience store the night before in queenstown.

J,

Oh ya, did u get the list of hotels from dynasty? See whether the same as mine or not.. lake wakatipu in queenstown really beautiful! And from the hotel restaurant viewing gallery, it was great to see the sunset and sunrise

Can't wait to be there rite? :p

wha...thks alot guys....really can't wait for the day to come....keke...okie...tml i will call dynasty to get a list hotels....hope it not those motels....hahaha...

Hi all,I just booked a SA tour package with NZ because its the only package that is cheapest amongst all the 'reputable' agencies. will be going in dec. it costs 3300 for 8 days south island. actually wanted to go north and south but so damned ex.

J,

For hotels, i like the one at rotorua, at lake rotorua.. it is pretty big. i dun mind the sulphur smell, but some pple just simply hate it haha..

The one at fox glacier really pathetic.

Queenstown one at lake wakatipu not bad too

Auckland.. we stayed at skycity hotel.. big shopping complex too. Not bad.

The rest includes dunedin hotel, etc..

is it cheap? i dint think so at that time because its like 1k more than places like japan and europe. but yeh, it was cheaper than chan bro and dynasty i think.
for the itinary, you can refer to it from www.satours.com
mine is the 8 days glacier wonderland.

hi kk and chummy and others who used dynasty, what is the price for the 8 days south island nz tour in dec?
i dint really pay much attention to the 8 days tours because i was concentrating on north and south islands tours initially.