New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Just wondering what will the temperature be like in may? Planning a trip to NZ in mid May. Any recommendations in hotels in Queenstown? Hope to go n visit the LOTR sites.

Hi angy/ any residents in NZ
I am planning to take the transalpine at Christchurch to Greymouth. But do u recommend I take the traine back to Christchurch or should I pick up my car at Greymouth? Issit a big city? or a small town..now at a small loss..

I'm not sure about what other accomm there is in Queenstown area, but I'm going to stay at A Line Hotel, which is apparently quite central.

Anyone going to bring instant cup noodles to NZ just for snacks and in case there's no time to get a meal? Got info that NZ is very strict on bringing in food, but if we declare it should be ok? Or is it about the same price to buy cup noodles from supermarkets in NZ?

hi twinkle,

NZ is very strict. u will be asked to throw away. price wise is around the same.. not super ex. u can get them from the supermarkets.

hope this helps!

hi twinkle
yes, NZ is strict.
Doesnot mean you declare and they will let you bring in. They will check the actual ingredients of the food. If it contains no animal products, then u can bring in. Otherwise they will confiscate them.
I once brought 3-in 1 coffee. But because the creamer is dairy instead of non-dairy, the customs confiscated my coffee...
Then in the end, have to go Chinatown to buy..

thanks dolphin and kenshare!

In that case will save the trouble and don't bring. Heard from travel agent that even if you declare nothing, they will still check through your whole bag to make sure. If you bring something and declare it, they will not check through your whole bag.

but if they are likely to throw away what i bring, then I'll just bring nothing, declare nothing and let them check the whole bag if they want, bo pian.

I stay in NZ for 5 yrs...and they never check my bags..even i have nothing to declare leh...but i will b going back next year for honeymoon...i m glad to know my FH said to have 2 honeymoons LOL...

my mum brought over roti prata for me leh...and i brought knives back also no problem LOL...so shldn't b a problem..just becareful..i dunno if law has change since its been 5 yrs i been back in spore...

yah i dunno how strict the UK is in comparison, but just to say my relatives have managed to post bak kwa to me before! 1 whole kg of it!

I think as long it's non-dairy and non-fresh fruits and vegetable, it should be ok.

My aunt just went back to NZ last Jan and took a whole bag of foodstuff.
Just remember to declare, if it's not ok they will just take it away. If you do not declare and they found it, you might get fine.

cool thanks guys!
I'll be staying in these hotels - anyone had experience there so can share?

CAMELOT CATHEDRAL SQUARE (christchurch)
DUNEDIN CITY HOTEL
A LINE HOTEL (Queenstown)
Farmstay @ Mayfield Farm

I brought "ginseng" tea over (those packet one, jus add boiling water) cos self drive we need the "jing sheng" , was surprise that duned to declare leh.

Mrs Ang

hi, am planning for a NZ trip to the South island towards the end of the year--between Oct to Dec.any advice on when is the best time to go?my hubby and I love nice scenary and plan to do the adventurous sports too...Thanks in advance!

hi preciousthots,
i am planning my NZ trip in Oct straight after my wedding.

i think Oct is a good time cos its spring and and the days are starting to be longer..
But I heard that it will be peak season in NZ too due to some school holidays..need to confirm on that..

we are planning free and easy and have booked our car. we haven planned our itineary but mostly will be self drive to most of the places mentioned that should not be missed out..

wat about you??

hi kenshare,

we haven really palnned yet...but we are planning to do self drive..we did that when we went US for honeymoon last year and it was real fun and carefree...still checking out air tix..have u booked yours?btw rented car co. did u book from?

hi preciousthots,
I booked with Hertz during the Natas fair. I have 10% +1 free day. We booked the category of 50 plus..after discount and the free day, I think one day is ard 40 odd... I am collecting my car at Greymouth cos I want to take the transalpine route train.
I think there are some other car rental co. ard, but i booked with a reputable one in case... my personal opinion lah...
The last time I booked with them last year, I got a free upgrade from 1.6 to 4L!!!!! really powerful ah..

we are redeeming our Krisflyer miles so need to redeem only.

I am planning to go New Zealand (South Island) with my wife this end of May for a holiday.
I have check out with the various travel agencies for the tour package.

Agency: SA
Price: 2298
Tax: 216+NZ25

Agency:CTC
Price: 2398
Tax: 215+NZ25

Agency:Hong Thai
Price:2399
Tax:218+NZ25

Agency:Chan Bro.
Price:2538
Tax:244

Agency:ASA
Price:2468
Tax:260+NZ21

Agency:Price Breaker
Air Fare:1000
Tax:212
Agency Fee:86
Land Tour:NZ 979

Comparing the itinerary and pricing, CTC seem to have the better offer for package tour.

Reading through this forum, I find that a lot of u suggests going for a F&E ways to discover the country, which can either by self drive or booking through NZ local tour agencies.

So in order to understand more, I need some advice on the F&E ways.

Question:
1) Is it dangerous to drive, a lot of hilly terrain, long hour of driving?
2) Is it better to book with the local land tour and hotel, apartments or motel?
3) Do you think that this way will be much cheaper to travel and tour around?

wow - thanks for sharing! must also consider the number of days for each agency and what they include rite? some may be more exp but the entrance fees/meals are already included.

I have decided to go on land tour from NZ side cos:
a) only hubby drives. if u want to drive, best have at least 2 drivers
b) singapore tours might get cancelled last min when not enough ppl sign up - then you're stuck cos oredi taken leave and very sian to last min change plans
c) with land tours from NZ side, it's daily departure and you'll get a chance to travel with different tourists. not stuck with one singaporean group for the whole duration
d) a land tour package saves you the trouble of booking accom and arranging transfers from airport and between cities

having said all that, some ppl really enjoy driving, and I've heard that driving is the best way to see the most scenary cos it's your own time own target. and you can stop anytime you want, anywhere you want. just need more planning from yourself lor.

btw, anyone can share what rates they exchanged NZ dollar and from where? I need to exchange soon and dunno where more likely to have stock. oredi asked a few places, either rates very high or no stock.

Wow the rates are going up fast.
We changed last weekend and it was at 1.10 but I think it was not the best rate.

Twinkle, when are you going? I'm flying this weekend :P

Hi, anyone of u tried honeymoon with a group of friends? Will it be weird?
As my FH and I are planning to go NZ for honeymoon, we were thinking that NZ is a place that has lots to play and with a group going, the cost can be easily shared as we intend to go free and easy...
Drive trip, then more people to help to drive.

Hmm... personally think it'll be a bit weird. ultimately it's how close you and yr hubby are with that group of friends and how comfortable they will be with you too!

But you're right that NZ is a great place for group trips too. A lot of ppl go as a group after graduation.

the whole group of us went to Thailand for a trip before so my SO thought of asking them to join in the honeymoon too... haha... NZ need to go as a group...

For those who are planning to go NZ, maybe you can take alook at my photos 1st

I really like the scenic so much!

Mrs Ang
475879.jpg

Hi, i m also going NZ next week... i have booked a package with SA Tour during Natas.

Initially, we planned to go F&E, but only me n my hubby. he will be very tired to drive alone thru the journey, so we dropped the idea in the end.

wanted to book land tour from Resort, but learnt from my colleague's not so pleasant experience on land tour, we gave up on this idea too.

NZ is now approaching winter, should be quite cold....... anyone just came back recently?? can advise??

I'm planning for a NZ cum gold coast trip in Dec. Plan to have a stopover at brisbane and extend few days to go to gold coast when coming back from NZ. Anybody try this kind of arrangement before? How to book the air ticket online?

PigZ gal,

Weather is getting colder definitely. But some days the weather are beautiful. It is like air conditionning the whole of Orchard road. Expect around 15-20 in the day and around 8 to 10 at night.

I suggest bring along a small thermo flask along the way, so that when you are cold, at least got hot water to drink.

If you are worried about the cold, get some thermal wear to keep you warm.

Enjoy NZ

thanks for your info and advise angy. getting excited, departing tomolo..

i really cant wait till tomolo.. will update u all when i come back ya..

hi all!!

Just came back. Had a fantastic time! Angy's temp is same as what I experienced in South Island. think North island is slightly warmer.

NZ has GORGEOUS scenery. loved almost every minute.

For those who want to stop at brisbane, qantas flight would be best. think easiest to book thru agent esp if there's complex stopover. got my SQ flight thru agent.

we're going to new zealand too... this july... understand it will be winter time... anybody care to share their experiences? 8)

the ski season is starting next week, looks like going to be a cold winter. If you like skiing, it should be fun. 25 cm of snow on the mountain this week

I am going to NZ christchurch on Nov (F&E). Can anyone share how to book hotels online? Do share your itinery if possible. Will be there for about 3weeks.

hi hazie,

what px is considered good for purchase?am planning to go NZ in Nov..currently there is a SQ promo @ $1434 including tax.For Qantas, it's $1363