New Zealand

• Thread starter Thread starter franz
  • Start date Start date
Hi Jas03,

Since our wedding is on same day and honeymoon same day same place, maybe we can go together. Like angelia said, maybe we can share the car so that can save a bit money for other purpose. For the first 10 days we will be staying at South Island, if u keen, maybe we can discuss further.

hi gals, so wat is the average cost to go NZ?? Include accomodation (how many days?) and air tix... just interested to know...

JenJen,

At first I thot of Switzerland and Scotlands but seem very ex, so after discuss with hubby we decided to go NZ and went to NATAS fair for one whole day to make enquiries and the one whole day only checking on NZ, so we are so lost when the agency staff told us all are fully booked and we are on wait list becos we don have 2nd choice of place to go. Then we thot of Turkey but someone reminded us there shd have a war then we scared.

cherly, mine is not a package tour... everything is separate, so it's abt $1.5k for 1 air tix to Swiss... and we checked NZ air fare is more expensive leh!!

I never thot to go swiss or scotlands with package tour. Was actually thinking to get a basic package like few days accomodation and tickets then we take their train or public transport or I can go there to look for our customer and perhaps ask them to show us around. By doing this way also need abt $7k - $8k.

cherly, that's what I'll be doing... from the way I count, my "package" cost $2.1k per pax including accomodation and public transport for 17D/14N cos go and come back take extra day...

Hihi!! Aiya Cherly, u got yr tickets liao uh! oh i better ask hubby call agency now!

Dun think can tour together liao lah, since we will most likely be going to the North islands, arriving at Auckland, and driving down until we reach Christchurch. Hubby prefers North island.. now i just hope hope hope we can get the tickets!

Mayb we meet each other in ChristChurch??? hee hee so fun hor??

We will be going to South & North island. We will start our first trip from Christchurch all will be all the way to Auckland. Most pple said shd go South island first becos there are more activities than Auckland. Anyway, will go and meet my customer at Auckland, my collegue is making arrangement for me. I think we shd meet each other at Changi Airport first

Hi Cherly, aiyo the agent very bad. I called on fri and sat to check my tickets - on waiting list still! Then i asked him, how come that day at NATAS u said the chances of getting it within one wk is 95%? then he very rude, said now it is still on waiting list. U want, u wait and call back next friday, dun want, we refund u yr deposit in full! So rude rite? I was furious.

Then last nite i itchy hand, go and play with priceline... tried to book melbourne (our alternative destination)tickets for S$400. (less their bonus cash promo wld be oni $350). I clicked for fun, thought sure cannot get one, then scully they tell me congratulations, i got the tickets for $400 by Emirates!

My heart dropped uh! now hv to call agent to cancel NZ tickets. Hubby screaming mad at me... i oso duno wat to say..

so the sad news is, me not going to NZ anymore - cos of my itchy hand.

Wah the guy so bad and rude ah? Why don yr itchy hand click NZ? The person who served us is a lady a very nice young lady. She even help us to plan our itinerary.

Pls check with them is there cancellation charge b4 u cancel yr trip, sometime travel agent can be nasty.

Cherly, priceline SG has no arrangements for NZ tickets yet. Yeah muz check w them how they going to refund me.

Now cannot meet u at airport liao.

jas03... aiyoh... really itchy hand... we dun even dare to try... scarly get emirates and have to transit in middle east... :p

Jenjen!!! where got transit to middle east one?? no lah, direct rite? dun scare me. I indicated at priceline that i dun want transit leh..

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">JenJen</FONT>

Jas03 is not going to NZ anymore, she is going to Australia but seriously I dare not try to use priceline becos we won't know the timing of depart and which airline we are taking from, a bit scarely wait they gave me those lousy airline.

<FONT COLOR="119911">jas03</FONT>

When are u travelling?

Cherly, me same day depart.. nov10 and back on nov18. Wat time is yr flight?? mayb can still meet at airport.

Jenjen, for a moment u scare me... flight to melbourne shldnt hv transit rite?

I think mine is at 8.30pm or 9pm flight. Have not got the itinerary from the girl. Maybe should ask her to fax to me.

Mine too! abt the same time.. haha we get to meet at airport after all... dun be too happy, scully different terminal.

I'll be going to NZ South Island on 19 Oct. Can anyone advise me on how is the weather like and the kind of clothings to bring?

Hi Hwey,

I just came back from New Zealand last week. The weather is still cold. Christchurch is ok but once you hit down to Dunedin, Queenstown, Milford Sound area.. the weather will get chilly.. esp it rains. The temp was around 5-7 degrees at nite and mid 10s in the daytime. However, on our final day at Christchurch, it was cold in the morning cos it rained the previous day.

Hi Cherly,

I went Free N easy.. so much more relaxing and the pace is slower. We booked our F &amp; E package with GBC Pte Ltd... it specialises in New Zealand tours.

chemson

can you adv what clothing do we need to bring to NZ for departing 1st nov? do we need to buy long john for winter temp or just normal 10 degress abv? thanks for yuor advise cos i've not been to any cold countries before.

Hi nz,

Dun think u need long john for the weather in Nov. We did not even bring our long john along...perhaps we both love cold countries.. :P Anyway, Nov should not too cold.. it is getting warmer by then. Maybe bring a jacket or wind breaker.. it should not be cold in Christchurch but if you are venturing to the mountains the weather should be cooler there.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Chemson</FONT>

Do u think we need to pre-book our accomodation and car here or we can do it when we arrive NZ? Our first stop will be Christchurch.

Hi Chemson, may i know where's the location of this GBC pte ltd, do they have any package tours or just F&amp;E ??

Cherly: I pre-booked everything in Singapore with GBC... saved us a lot of hassels.

nAtsU: GBC is located at Middle Road, GSM Building. Ok...let me explain.. the way the tours are done up are different from what agents like Chan Bros. What they do.. you booked a designated tour package with them.. you will be handed over to their handling agent in NZ... and I tell ya.. they are so efficient and prompt. You are in safe hands. So.. what they d.. they pick U up when you arrive..transfer you to your designated hotel and from there... you are free to move around.. that was in Christchurch. The following day we started to move down south, we were transported to Dunedin via the Inter-city Coach lines.. they will take you from A to B in between there will breaks. On the way, they will explain to you the sights and sounds. For those days you are free, you can opt for the optional tours... and you can pre-book in SIngapore. IF not, you can book the tours from the tourist bureau over there. Hope this helps.

Hi Chemson,

Just like to chk with you. I have booked a tour to NZ next yr and a 4 nite accomodation at Golden Chain (GC) motel is provided. Have u stayed at GC, and is it advisable for me to book my extra nites at GC as well. I was also thinking of booking accomodation when we are there, say before we get to the next town, call the hotels and book. But don't know whether this is feasible.

Can u pls advise? tks.

Keith

Hi keith,

I have seen GOlden Chain motels before... but I stayed mainly at The Scenic Chain of Hotels. Motels is one level and my advise is to try to stay at hotels... cos they are usually about 2 floors... if the accommodation is one floor only.. it is a motel but more than 2 levels... it is a hotel. I think it is feasible to book the hotel before going to the next time... but pre-booked is a better idea.

Harlow, just to share....
My uncle runs a car rental business in NZ, where they provide services like pick up in airport, different city return of car (rent in Auckland, return in Christchurch). My family just came back from NZ and had praises for the huge MPV they had....

Telephone: 0800 45 55 65 (free from any part in NZ)
Contact Person: Russell Bennison
Add: 26 Rennie Drive Airport Oaks Mangere Auckland

Can someone advise me how to plan my itinerary to NZ South &amp; North island for 15 days tours? Where should I stay becos my travel agency ask me to provide them the motel name so that they can pre-booked here for me?

hi cherly,

You can try the below link or do a search at yahoo NZ for more info on motel. But i guess most of the small motel don't provide a online service but i guess you can at least call or fax for more info.

Me and my husband personally felt that the below link is rahter informative on intineary and they provide stay at YH for cheap stay.

I am going to NZ on both island this sat night and shall provide u more info if you are still keen.

omveganyogi :P

http://www.magicbus.co.nz

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">omveganyogi</FONT>

How many you intend to stay there? Do you mind to give me your itineray which u have planned as I need to settle all these with my travel agent by tomorrow evening.

Would be appreciate if you could update me more info when u back.

Hi Cherly,
I did a tour of South &amp; North Islands on seperate occasions. Both times, we mainly took the coach round, only driving for short distances/around town. The Newmans coach service provides commentary along the route, so they serve as good tour guides.
Below are:
I. where we bought air tickets
II. the Coach company in NZ
III. Suggested Itenerary
IV. Accomadation suggestions
V. Websites

Let me know how it goes.
email: [email protected]
cheers, TF

I. We bought our air tickets from an agency called GBC. They're located near Middle Road/Bugis. They focus on NZ &amp; Australia and may have some discounts on car rental/day tours.

II. The main coach company in NZ is called Intercity.
http://www.intercitycoach.co.nz
http://www.newmanscoach.co.nz

Below are 2 suggested iteneraries using the Intercity Coach Passes
A) for both North &amp; South Islands: Auckland to Christchurch
B) for only South Island
the price quoted below is for the transport only. Accomodation not included.

Alternative to the Coach Pass, you can get the tickets for the individual segments
Christchurch to Queenstown on Newmans Coach $132.00NZD
(or Christchurch to Mt Cook, Mt Cook to Queenstown - 2 seperate tickets)
Queenstown to Franz Josef $97.00NZD
Franz Josef to Christchurch $82.00NZD

If you book early, you can get the tickets at half price. (but no half price discount for Coach Passes)
Payment for tickets is 2 days before travel.

III. Suggested Itenerary:
A) New Zealand Pathfinder Coach Pass NZ$408 per person

Day 1 8:10pm Singapore to Auckland on SQ or Air New Zealand
Arrive Auckland 11:10am Tues 8 Oct
Go to Sky City downtown Auckland, Intercity Coach Center

1. Day 2 Auckland to Taupo 1:40pm - 6:30pm
8-10 Oct, 3 nites in Taupo

Rent a car to go to Rotorua to see
geothermal pools, Agrodome farmshow, Gondola (cable car) ride

2. Day 5 Taupo to Wellington 10am - 4:35pm
Wellington 1 nite

3. Day 6 Wellington to Nelson 2pm - 7pm
Nelson 1 nite

4. Day 7 Nelson to Franz Josef/Fox Glacier 7:30am - 5:20pm
Franz Josef/Fox Glacier 1 nite

5. Day 8 Franz Josef to Queenstown 8am - 4:20pm
4 nites in Queenstown

6. Day 12 Queenstown to Mt Cook 8am - 12pm
Mt Cook 1 nite (Optional)

7. Day 13 Oct Mt Cook to Christchurch 12:55pm - 6:15pm
Christchurch 1 nite

9. 20 Oct 3pm Christchurch to Singapore
Arrive Singapore 8:50pm Sunday 20 Oct

B) Southern Discovery Coach Pass NZ$247 per person

Day 1 9pm Singapore to Christchurch
Arrive Christchurch 12pm Tues 8 Oct

1. Day 2 Christchurch 1 nite

2. Day 3 Christchurch to Mt Cook 8:20am - 1:45pm
Newmans Coach, Mt Cook 1 nite

3. Day 4 Mt Cook to Queenstown 2:40pm - 6:40pm
10-14 Oct, 5 nites in Queenstown

4. Day 9 Queenstown to Fox Glacier/Franz Josef 8:10am - 4:20pm
Franz Josef/Fox Glacier 1 nite

5. Day 10 Franz Josef to Christchurch 8am - 5:20pm
Christchurch 1 nite

6. Day 11 3pm Christchurch to Singapore
Arrive Singapore 8:50pm Thurs 17 Oct

Other towns to visit:
Te Anau
Milford Sound (has a cruise but on a cloudy day, not really worth it)
Invercargill

VI. Accomodation in various towns:

1. Taupo - Ambleside Bed &amp; Breakfast
http://www.ambleside.co.nz/ruapehu.htm $110 per room per night

2. Wellington -
Booklovers http://www.bbnb.co.nz/
Ngaio http://www.bnb.co.nz/hosts/ngaiohomestay.html $110

3. Nelson -
http://www.grovevilla.co.nz/accommodation.html $120
http://www.sussex.co.nz/rooms_&amp;_rates.htm $130
www.porthaven.co.nz $135
http://www.serendipity.co.nz/Booking.htm $145
http://louisashomestay.co.nz/booking.htm $120 per room per night
http://www.nelsonparadise.co.nz/Rates.html $85 town about 6 kms away
www.132.co.nz $70

4. Christchurch -
http://www.croydon.co.nz/
http://www.turrethouse.co.nz/
http://www.greatstay.co.nz/ratesetc.html

5. Mt Cook - http://www.mount-cook.com/index.cfm/accommodation/hotel

6. Queenstown -
http://www.accommodation-bed-and-breakfast-book-new-zealand.com/Otago.html
http://www.wynyard-lodge.com/lodgefacilities.html

7. Franz Josef - Holly www.hollyhomestead.co.nz $160 per night

8. Fox Glacier - Pekanga Homestay - www.fox-glacier.co.nz $130 per night

V. Bed &amp; Breakfast websites:
http://www.travelwise.co.nz/index1.html

VI. Street Maps - Get a map of the town to locate the B&amp;B &amp; to check how far away from the town center, etc.

Lake Taupo: http://www.laketauponz.com/images/maps/pdfs/taupo.pdf
Wellington: http://www.wellingtonnz.com/maps/Ctrcityaccom.asp
Christchurch: http://www.whatsonchristchurch.co.nz/map1.htm
Christchurch: http://www.ccc.govt.nz/maps/Wises/map3/map3.asp
Queenstown: http://www.atoz-nz.com/map.asp?Loc=15&amp;Map=1
Queenstown: http://www.nzski.com/coronet/qtn_map.asp

<FONT COLOR="119911">hi TF</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Thanks for providing those useful info. I would like to find out, did you pre-booked all the above in singapore or you book when you arrives?</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">TF,
so kind of u to provide such long list of information.. hope it comes in useful when we plan for our South Island trip next Feb..

thx a lot..</FONT>

hi cherly,

sorry for late reply, i dun relaly have a intineary of my own. I actually sign up with magic bus and follow their 14 days trip intineary on both south and north island.

hope i am not too late for any info here.

Hi Cherly,
How did your booking go? Its best to book your accomadation in advance. It's most convenient to just use the email to reach the bed &amp; breakfast or motel.

Angelia,
When's your wedding? Feb should be the height of summer. I went in January this year - it rained half the days and was sunny otherwise. But in the cool whether we're much happier than in sweaty singapore.

Keep North Island in mind - the place for hot pools &amp; geothermal land! We stayed in a Taupo Bed &amp; Breakfast that had its own naturally heated jacuzzi in the back yard. Nice &amp; romantic.

TF

<FONT COLOR="119911">TF</FONT>

Thanks for still remembering me. Just want to check with you, is the intercity coach as flexible as self drive. Which part of farmstay good? We didn't pre-booked our accomodation as we are thinking just book 2 days in advance b4 we arrive our next destination.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">TF,</FONT>
my wedding is end Nov.. but too ex to go in Dec.. anyway, the dates we wanted oso fully booked liao..

thought Feb shld be quite cool since Mar is autumn. anyway, that's why my hubby hv 4 days of shutdown which he can utilised cos he only hv 6 days leave left!

Hi Cherly,
I've not been on a farmstay before.
Perhaps you can check the internet. Most of New Zealand is farming area, both north &amp; south.

The intercity coach has a daily bus schedule. You can stay any number of days at the town of your choice. Booking ahead gets you a discount and guarantees your seat. The advantage of the Newmans coach is the commentary by the bus driver.

If you book the accomadation when you get there, you may be busy on the phone making enquiries on the vacancy, etc.

Hi Angelia,
Yes, any time before Christmas, there'll be the Peak Season surcharge for air tickets.

TF

TF,

Thanks for the information provided. We will share with you our experience when we back in late Nov.

Thanks a lot &amp; let's keep in touch.

How's NZ in June? Me having my wedding in June. Will it be too cold then? Wat's the temp like in June?

Hi June16,
I think June will be too early for the ski fields. Best time to try skiing is around August. In Auckland the temperature may be about around 12 degrees perhaps in June.

TF

I'm planning to go to NZ on 29 Dec and stay there for two weeks. Can somebody advise me whether this is a good date to go there? Cos I read in other thread that we should not go during the new year period as the shops will be closed.