My Dream Wedding

they should really consider suitting to our sg " style / culture". they keep using hkg as their base ref.
previously I enquire abt fathers' suit & they said norm in hkg got 4 seasons so the fathers have their suit tat's y the pkg dun include suit rental for fathers on AD.
gosh~ sg dun have 4 seasons leh... y would our fathers have suit at home ready to wear de?

i believed that if we mentioned to them, they will try to think about it. Like the styling for the groom, they had received feedback that the groom is not style, hence from now onwards, those couples who go to HK to take PS, the groom will be style.

trina, can i asked if the MTM is upon your request or they propose the idea to you.

Even after I voice out, my coordinator still said that the package don't include jewellery on AD. However, they can loan the jewellery for $60. But I find it's still a bit ex loh. After all, these are all custom jewellery. If we top up a bit more, we can buy a set and use it for future functions.

Yup, vanessa, the holding of the cheque have no impact. However, it can come as a shock if we not aware of it when we collect the gowns,. Luckily, my friend who just got married informed me of these small details to look out for, so i took the initative to ask my coordinator. Otherwise, I would be totally unprepared for the additional cost. It's not everyday we bring our cheque books out, and I would need to reserve my credit card limits for the banquet. =(

Actually, there is no terms and conditions stated on the contract. Everything they had stated on the invoice will be what's provided to you. Personally, MDW's package is not too bad lah. At least, MDW's photo albums and frames are of a good quality and there are quite a lot of choices to choose from. I had been to another local studio which my friend took up a package with, and the album and frame they gave in the package is pretty simple (as in can get at ikea those kind). To opt for a better frame, she has to pay substantially more. Once she rejected them and refuses to top up her photos, their attitude immediately changed and gave her the black face and ignored her . At least I'm still getting service from my coordinator though i have fully paid up.
. It's only those small details MDW do not take note of. Maybe it's not their culture to do things that way in HK, but now they are doing biz in Spore and got to adapt to Singapore culture mah.

Vanessa: Is it the culture to give gold for other dialects? I thought some relatives only give gold to substiture ang pow?

Trina,you couldn't select a wedding gown you like at MDW? I'm quite fine with the wedding gown choices, it's the evening gowns choices which i find lacking.

Van: I cant really remembered cos i was with them for around 3 hrs plus to neg on the package. But I think is i do not feel safe to sign that y MTM was put in as I told them they r so diff from SG, so many things didnt provide etc and for the price i am paying I could have get a good one in SG. BUt this price at MDW didnt really have much things. That y I am able to get afew more things.

Aud: ya they doesnt have the kind of gown i like...evening gown i only tried one, that one still quite ok but all lack the wow factor.

Of course being a bride, you sure want to be pretty mah esp when u wear the gown look at the mirror and tell yourself that wow u look really beautiful....must conv myself before i can conv others mah

Hehe, trina, understand. ^_<" . I'm lucky i managed to get my ideal wedding gown there, but the evening gown i selected, it was just like ok lah.

Which evening gown did you try that day? The red swavoski crystal one?

Oh! Btw, additional things which MDW do not provide : (1) no ampoules on trial or AD (2) no false eye lashes. I'll be going for my trial mkup this thursday. If i don't like the makeup, think i'm going to get my own makeup artist instead..

audrey, i heard certain bridal shops now do collect the deposit for the AD gowns due to they have received returned gowns that are torn and the couple do not want to pay for the cost.
Actually this is wat i heard from those "aunties" who sell the guo da li items... they say now bcome "common" for the gold to be given either from the parents of both bride and groom and also relatives too... the thoughts that count. ;)

i oso check with my coordinator why there us no ampoules, they say due to the makeup artist are follwing us to help us on the makeup touch up, hence ampuoles are not required. False eye lashes are provided for the PS rite?

Vanessa, yup,I agree that deposit should be collected by the studio just in case the gowns/suits are torn. But it'll be nice of them to inform us proactively, rather than reactively. As a first time bride, these details would never occur to us. I'll be very stressed if I suddenly knew i have to "pay more" esp just the day before the AD where there are so many last minute details to take care of. :P

Oh! i think the coordinator is referring to the PS where there is a dedicated MUA who follows you around. There is no ampoules for the PS, but my MUA had applied a lotion (i think it's a primer) that works fabulously! Makeup lasts for the whole day, and my MUA only needs to pat my nose twice. False eyelashes will also be provided on the PS.

It's the AD where the ampoulse and false eyelashes are not provided..hmmm...

Dear gals,

just read finished your posts. Yes, AD MDW dun provide ampoules and fake eyelashed. Fake eyelashed can either use your own or buy from the MUA.

As for the security deposit of the AD gowns, I totally agree with Audrey that MDw shd told us right when we signed u with them and not when we asked them. I think it's a strategy used as if we were to know we must pay 1-2k more, we will ponder and not sign with them.

As customers ourselves, I urged all fo you to learn the tips and qns and ask whenever in doubt.

As for the jewellery, I'm shocked that they provide only the head set and not others. I agree we were supposed to be dolled up from head to toe, and not just make up and hairdo. I'm really shocked. I guess I got to call up my coordinator.

As for the gowns selection, I agree their evening gowns really v limited. As what Audrey have said, we were given 2nd class treatment as if they were to bring in more and nicer designs from HKG, then what can HKgers use for PS? That's why I said earlier, I got a feeling we are getting older stocks, those reused and recycled many times then give us.

In fact, when I signed up with MDW, I did feedbacked to their big boss that my main concerns are the albums and gowns. Gowns must be outstanding and not normal, if not what's the point of showing your guests that I'm a bride?

Talking abt nightmare, I did had a bad dream when I went down to check on the gowns, I think I'm a perfectionist. Even if something is fanciful, I was still thinking they are nt the best. Coz I have the feeling the best is not for us.

So much said, of course my exp in HKG, my PS and my albums really are very good. Now the issue is, can Singapore staff from MDW carry out our AD flawlessly like what their staff in HKG has provided for us? Think.

Audrey - who is the MUA that will be assigned to u do u know..?

As for the jewellery/fake eye lashes/ampules, yes they stated from the start they will not provide on AD. Guess we have to negotiate with the MUA assigned to us on the costs etc...

But on the deposit, I have no idea as well. If its not in the contract, or mentioned to us right from the start, I dun see why we should pay it even though its a deposit. Not as if we are going to loan it for many weeks.

actually for the fake eye lashes and ampoules, at first i thought they provide for us cos when i signed i remembered clearly the HKG staff told me MDW provide blah blah blah but ended up the SG ppl says no, i was quite fed up but then just let it be nothg much i can do.....but they didnt mentioned about the deposit for the gowns and those SG bridal shop that i went to dont collect deposit on the gown.... i really dont see a reason y they should impose this on us.........and the jewellery.....maybe really got to rethink again if i should go for the AD....

Silin: i totally agreed with u on Gowns must be outstanding and not normal, if not what's the point of showing your guests that I'm a bride?

and I thought i was the only one having nitemare after the gown trying session...so now i knew i am not the only one

Shanice: Ya AD amp n lashes all need to pay extra, they dont provide FOC.

Aud: if u dont use their MUA, they dont exchange that for other things right?

The evening gown i tried was green in color

Audrey:
same qns as Kodomo Concert post to u : do u know who is ur MUA?
I actually had my trial used for ROM make-up (btw it's done by Mico) &amp; it's really fantastic! my friends all commented that it look natural &amp; very nice.
if I rmb correctly, the lashes are $18 &amp; ampoule is $30.

abt the deposit thingy, personally I also dun feel easy abt it too. I mean they can always have so-call "reasons" like we dirty it etc so they want to take % of the deposit for cleaning etc etc. u get what I mean...

I don't know who's my MUA leh, my coorditor didn't tell me. But i'll know tomorrow when i go for my trial makeup.

Jo: Really! Whew! That's one worry off my mind. I was quite worried about MDW's MUA's skills, and had even digged out one MUA's contact i had used before, to stand by just in case MDW's MUA can't make it. How was the hair styling? Do you find it's good too?

Actually i have no problem with the deposit as it's just a temporarily "placement" of cheque with them. After all, we could run off with the gowns/ suit or damage it, and they have to claim some compensation. It's just the informing part which I'm unhappy with.

I'm also not too worried about them having factitious claims of damage of the gowns,as my photoshoot experience in HK had been great(other than no styling of my HTBs hair). My HTB's family had initially been apprehensive of us signing up an overseas package, and that we will get coerced to add up here and there during the PS . Fortunately, the worry turned out to be unfounded. I did not come up with anything at all during the PS .In fact, MDW's team was very nice to even include lunch as part of the PS package! I heard from my PG that the HK clients dont even get this benefit.
. And i can say I'm really satisfied with my PS photos, even before touch up.I can't wait to see the finalised album, where they further edit the colour of the skies and water! =DD

So conclusion, it's good to take up the PS package, but not the AD package lah.. =P

Hey Audrey, no la my HK fren who took up the France Bridal photoshoot package also got lunch provided to them FOC. Mico should be gd (i hope)... nice lady. I've requested long time ago for her to be my AD MUA, but not sure if they will keep to their words.

Haha... cos the AD package not tested yet... we are the first few "pioneer" batches to test it out. Audrey, I think u're one of the first leh.

Dear Trina &amp; Gals,

I just went down to MDW 2day and had a wonderful exp trying on the gowns. Needless to say, my coordinator has always provide me with good follow-up and service.

I tried on more gowns from kua to day &amp; evening gowns. Personally, I have found what I like in all 3 segments. I believe I will have a peace of mind on my AD. I think partly because of my height, I fit in very well in gowns. Except I have smaller boobs, the only alteration are at my boobs...hahahaha

By the way, I think their gowns are getting more and they promise to import what we want and gals we'll see better gowns in due time. Don't worry. I have found my perfect gowns. I believe you gals will too. It just takes time. Till now, I still can visualize me wearing these gowns...I hope the same for you all...do keep updated if you gals have found your dream gowns. Cheers.

Audrey:
as my hair length is not long enough, there's no much style to play with. but overall I still like it. Maybe u PM me ur email add then can share with you some photos taken of the make-up/hair do. =)

btw, r u able to preview the layout before they print the album??

Hi Jo:

When's your AD? Glad to hear you are very pleased with your make up and image.

I tried on 3 KUAs and 3 teadress each...I chose KUA. As to whether wide range or nt, I'm nt sure as my coordinator stopped brining out when I'm done with my choice. Perhaps you can ask them. have you chosen your KUA. I believe they have more KUAs than teasdress. Heard that 1 KUA cost 1k...coz hand-made.

Silin - lucky u this time found all the gowns u like ! Good to hear tht ! So will u be visiting them again once they bring in more maybe in feb 08 or so..? Did u take the whole day this time to try all the gowns..? =P

JoSky - I asked them the qn on whether we can preview the layout before they print the album, they said no
sigh sigh.

silin:
actually have not selected the AD date. but just wann find out/research earlier. ya they also tell me the KUA very nice etc cos is "1 needle 1 tread" hand-made, a lot of work.
btw got ur PM, ok will send later k.

kodomo:
did u also ask them if we will be getting the softcopy of the layout image? or we only get the photo softcopy?

Jo,

Gd qn...maybe you can ask them for us.

Kodomo,

Yeah...but I'll still be dropping by in Feb as choices will be more...I took 3-4hrs to select..

Happy new year to all! =D

Silin , so happy to hear that you managed to find your dream gown! So no more nightmares eh. ;)

Josky : Thanks! My email add is [email protected] . I have tried the trial makeup yesterday and my MUA turned out to be Mico too. Really love the natural look which she gave me!=D.
Sigh,my hair is also not long and i really want those cascading curly locks type of hairstyle. I asked Mico whether it's better to put hair pieces or hair extensions, and she said the latter is better as the effect will be more natural. So, straight after the trial, i went over to chinatown point and did hair extensions. <grin> Now, i have long waist length hair. Really can't wait for my AD where i can envisionalise myself in my dream gown and hair style. =DDD

Nope, I'm not able to preview the album before print out. I had just selected the photos, and let them zi you fa hui.Not too worried about the layout cos i think they did a pretty good job on my sample book and within such a short time frame too.The album should be spectacular bah. =D . My concern now is only the MV..I have totally no idea how it'll out to be! Hope it'll be as good as what they play for us as the advertisement (keeping fingers &amp; toes crossed!)
I should be able to get the whole lot back before CNY. Share with you gals on how it looks like then ok.

Kodomo: Eh, the hk clients have free lunch too? What i was told was they gave special priviledge to s'pore clients as we won't know how to call for delivery unlike their locals. I even overhead my MUA's cantonese conversation with my PG to grab some lunch on the way down the hill and to bill to france bridal. My PG look confused and even called up france bridal to confirm before buying the food (it's just pork chop rice, but taste great! Don't know whether it's cos i'm famished after a whole day of photoshoot. haha!)

Anyway, to reassure all BTBs here, yest when i was there, i also saw more new gowns on display too. Don't know whether it was taken up from the storeroom or it's newly imported from HK. But the designs have more of the "wow" factor. My coordinator said more new batches will be coming in Feb .So for those whose's wedding is later,lucky you!you'll have more choices. :D

Package: SFD (Highest Premium Package)

Photoshoot in Hong Kong:
2 Deluxe Wedding Gown for Photoshoot
2 Deluxe Evening Gown for Photoshoot
2 Tuxedo for Photoshoot (LUXE Collection)
1 Hand Bouquet (artificial flowers) for Photoshoot
3 Bridal Make Up with 4 Hairdos (Cosmetics Eye-lashes included)
La Mer MV (Includes PS on a yacht)

Includes 2 Large Album, 1 Small Album
1 of the Large Album is a VIP colletion which need to top of $500 more to entitled for the VIP collection but I am letting go the whole package includes VIP Album collection @ $8888 w/o the $500 top up. A selection of 60 poses

Actual Day:
1 Bridal Gown (VIP)
1 Evening Gown (VIP)
1 ROM Dress or Evening Gown
2 Groom's Suit - LUXE
Actual Day Make Up &amp; Hairdo (Day &amp; Night, Trial Make Up)
1 Hand Bouquet, 6 Corsage
1 Car Decoration, 3 Following Car's Ribbon

Package is $8888.
Deposit $500

Dear Trina, Shanice &amp; Audrey,

Yeah...3 cheers...hahaha...wow factor must be there...looking forward to hearing more wow's from ya...

Silin,

No hair do cos the trial makeup doesn't include leh. But i did take a pic of my makeup in my hp.
I had pmed you my hp no. Just pop me an sms and I'll mms to you ya! =D

Hi Silin,

Hehe, you are really super fast! I've over mms a pic of me after the hair extensions.

I did my hair extensions for $150. The salon was having a promotion, and if i took 150 strands ($10 each), they will give another 50 free. So, altogether I had 200 strands on my head..But hmm, i still think my hair don't look thick enough leh. But the stylist reassured me that once it's curled up, the volume will be there..

It's braided. I heard clipped extensions come off easier.Morever , it can be quite obvious when hair is tied up with the clip being a metal piece.

Where did you enquire from? I had previously enquired from Jean yip b4 and the stylist quote me a price of 400~500 bucks for the whole head. However, the stylist don't seem to willing to promote hair extensions. She kept emphasising to me that hair extensions get tangled very easy and is not easy to maintain. First time i was dissuaded to do additional services at Jean yip.Haha!:P

Hi everyone, for those who have attended the 1st interview, I need your advice... I'll be going for my 1st interview soon. Not sure what to expect. Is there anything I need to prepare? Will we be discussing only the pre wedding photoshoot or also all the AD stuff? Or will there be a 2nd interview later on to discuss the AD? Thanks!!