My Dream Wedding

silin,a few options:
1. r u planning to go HK again if i told you that i had found some nice items? provide u the pictures of the items when i m back.
2. or u need me to help u to buy (if u trust me... :p)? but u need to provide me some designs which u saw in singapore.

one qn, when u r at HK, u din look for it?

do we need to buy fans too? beside the bedlamps and teapots...

May I chk if the selections gowns for the AD is limited? like in terms of their designs and sizes as I understand from my fren that its off the rack and not made to measure right? Thanks.

Hi Wendy,

yes, not MTM, all off the rack. I suggest you go down and tk a look at their designs b4 you decide. All of us were grumbling because we were over-pamered by the choices in HKG. I realised S'pore's gowns are not that fantastic. I won't mind MDW staff reading my comments as i think negative comments are the way to improve rather than hearing good stuff.

I'm actually impressed with their PG skills and follow-up service provided by my coordinator. However, what most brides fear and worry the most is the gown, the gown we wear on our AD!

Sizes generally I would say S'pore gals either v small or v big. and the designs not very glamorous...not very wow...like what others said...so galmour impact.

I meant...no glamour impact...

Vanessa,

Not planning to go HKG again b4 my big day.I din managed to look at the stuff when I'm there and ya, I wanna buy a fan (shan zi), those for throwing out of the car, not for blowing...those held by hand de...not standing de.

I let you know if I wanna ask you to help me buy...hehe...thks a lot...

Jo: mine is wedding gown MTM but if i can find my wedding gown off the rack and cant find evening gown i can ask them to MTM evening gown instead. My package i think actual price is 5688?

Back from gown trying. Wedding gowns nothg much caught my attention, evening gown tried one look quite nice but still dont have the wow factor.....

Cherie,

not sure, I paid a small amount as deposit then remaining as instalments.

Trina,

Yup, their gowns not all will get your attention. I think HKG is still better. that is the disadvantage when we are not the HQ.
HQ will always get the best stocks.

Sometimes i realli wonder who's the one in charge of importing and selecting the gowns to import. That person must work hard to find outmore on what we like. I personally like Dang Bridal & Di Gio gowns...very wow wow wow!

Trina,
ya 5688 if I rmb correct is OTR only. Lucky you, to have get the MTM "special offer" from them.

Silin,
yes yes DiGio gowns are really nice! if only MDW have similiar at sg outlet here!!

for those who had taken PS at HK, can share with me who is your photographer? I am not sure if i had missed any of the threads that you all may have mentioned before... paisei...

silin, just let me know before 9th of jan. it will be better if there is pic of the items that you need me to help you to buy...

hey MDW brides/groom,
was re-looking at my invoice & notice mine dun seem to mention OTR or MTM gown leh...
any1 rmb wat is stated in their "price booklet" for 5688 pkg? if invoice din mention, den is it suppose to be OTR or MTM ??

Silin: if i cant get to see one i like in SG, when I go over to HK and see somethg i like, I can ask them to get somethg similar back to sg. Not the same actual piece but somethg similar...

joskyteo: they could not give me a definite top up as this depends on the lace and beadings but I understand it starts at min. $1000 for what I asked for.

hi trina, thats oso my intention to request for some designs of gowns to be in singapore too... hope they will take my request into consideration... ;)

MDW friends who going hkg for photoshoot:
just found out abt this webby on Golden Plaza (in hkg) but it's all in chinese characters.
no harm trying to take a look. can see the list of shops there.

www.goldenplaza.com.hk

hope this info is useful. =)

Vanessa,

Ok, my PG is Ben. By the way, you need nt buy the guo da li stuff for me le, I only need you to buy a particular face care product for me from HKG. I will PM you the pic and furtherd etails later.

Thks!

Trina,

That's what my coordinator told me, can fly something similar not exactly the same...I dun get it...what the...can't they just get same piece. I think good and nicer ones are for HKG. That's why they can't provide the same piece for us. I got a feeling what we are trying on now are older pieces from HKG.

I think it's good we air our grudges online here as I know they are reading our posts and comments. That's what a service line should do. Not just empty talk but consistent and unforgettable dream wedding provided for us.

I personally feel that my coordinator did an outtsanding job in following up making me pleased and assured. But I think because of the steep prices we have paid, the gowns shd look that price. I've been to many weddings. I'm one who's v v particular in wedding gowns. It tells a lot abt the Bridal shop and the image they have.

I think they should think in terms of marketing, long-term, not just opening invoice and that's it. I did told my coordinator very outright, we shd be given what we are paying. I'm v honest and I'm nt afraid my post will be read by them. That's what they shd be improving, not maintaining or becoming worse!

Silin: ya understood how u feel. infact i called up MDW today to tell them that I did not like any of the gowns i tried yesterday...

as for the gown from HKG, not so sure about that but then those that u r choosing in HKG, r those just for photoshoot and not for AD, is that the reason y they cant get the same piece?

I am also very particular about the wedding gowns cos that's what makes the bride pretty and of course the make up and hairdo. They have to be on par inorder to be a pretty bride.

I am disappointed after the trying yesterday so bad that I had a nightmare that i cant find any pretty one that i just wore a normal one that makes me look normal....

Trina - so did they say they will bring in gowns will soon..? Now me jitters le.. seems like i should go down real soon to see for myself !

Trina: Thought the package you took includes a MTM gown?

I've asked MDW why they cannot transfer the gowns I've picked from HK to Spore .The reason they gave me was that the HK customers wouldn't be able to use it then. <sigh> Though they might have treated us better than the hongkongers during the hk photoshoot, in the AD gowns selection, i feel like we are 2nd class clients to them. =(

Oh! another thing for you gals to take note. They only provide the head accessories, but not jewellery on the actual day. I asked why, and they said that normally, brides will have jewellery given to them by their family. But my friend remarked that the jewellery is only given during the tea session. So, in the morning, won't our necks and ears be bare? @_@?

And another thing, on collection of the AD gowns,they told me will have to pay a deposit of $1-$2K which they will refund when gowns/suits come back safe n sound.

Hi Audrey: Then did they say anything about the jewellry after your friend said this to her?

You mean we have to additionally fork out the extra money?

audrey, yes MDW will not ptovide any jewellery but we can loan from them. i think they have the concept of thinking that singapore have the same culture as HK so provide jewellery to bride is not required. Yes, based on "traditional" culture, the bride should be "bare" in order for the groom's parent to put on the 4 dian jin on to the bride. If the bride is already wearing something, how the groom's parent show-off the gift to the bride's family.
as for the deposit, i never heard of that before and this is never indicate in the contract.

mui mui, how much you willing to let go and what is yr package like.

Aud: they says need to give extra 1-2k? ya jew is usually during tea ceremony but i tot usually bridal shop will provide some?

ya my package include one mtm but the problem is we got 1 evening and 1 white gown mah so only one can MTM so if 2 also cant find then how?

i was told that all accessories including jewellry etc. will be loaned free of charge during the roadshow but after probing, I learnt that we have to pay. Terms and conditions were also not told verbally. In worse case scenario, do we just forfeit the deposit?

hmmm.. what i was told by my dream wedding is different wor.. they say there was no hidden costs. So i also never go and read the terms &amp; conditions.

trina, actually yes and no. In Teochew is called 4 dian jin but in other dialect groups, the groom's family also have to give "gold" to the bride to wear but i don know what it called. Now in general, all dialect called 4 dian jin.

actually, i don like to wear gold so i just wear the set of jewellery that my HTB had bought for me as my wedding gift... ;)

i think different period of signing up the package may have different things like MTM gown, etc. I checked with my coordinator that we can just give a cheque and they will not deposit the cheque until the gowns had returned and shown signs of damaging. My personal point of view is actually not much impact if they did not charge the $.