My Dream Wedding

Hi Kodomo!

I will be staying at Royal Plaza Hotel.. Will be reaching HK on 17 Nov morning.. I just took one of the 2 hotels which MDW recommended..

How many days will you be there? And which day is ur fitting? If you are reaching on 16 nov nite, 18 is your ps, then 17 is your fitting day? We will try to contact again to meet up if possible!

Celine,

The La Mer and studio MV are separate cost. La Mer is 540 while studio is 340. I have bought my air tic and hotel accomodation with zuji already. Very kiasu me, already confirmed and made payment since June liao..

Kodomo,

How much you pay for your air tic?

Cocoabun - Royal Plaza Hotel.. how much did u pay for a night..? I remembered its not cheap right..? I will be there for the week. My fitting is on the 17 and PS is on the 18. Yes, drop me an email [email protected] and we can keep in touch
My air tkt average out is SGD $400 each, cos one of the tkts we used miles to claim for the SQ tkt.

Minong - u have so many photos..? Thought the usual package is 30 - 35 photos..?

Kodomo,

I did my calculations.. My air tic average around $700+ each so my hotel accomodation for 5 nights is $900+ for one room.. So actually hotel for a night is not very ex.. around nearly $200 per nite.. Mine is cos of the air tic ex..

I searched Zuji and found that if book Royal Plaza now is quite ex.. It is around SGD264.08 per nite! Hmmm.. But there are some promotions for some of the hotels like metropark hotel.. You can take a look there.. Around SGD132 per nite..

Dropped you an email!

Minong,

How much did you top up for per photo? Did MDW staff give you a special rate?

Kodomo..

hahaa.. no worries abt that.. who doesn't want good n cheap? kekekee..
but hotels in hkg r really damn ex when comes to their peak.

i did a search on hotels with ur budget (plus minus) in asiarooms and zuji and have summarised them as follows :

@ AsiaRooms
- Dorsett Seaview @ 123/night
- City Garden @ 187/night
- Eaton @ 227/night
- Nathan @ 230/night
- Royal Plaza @ 260/night

@ Zuji
- Hotel Panorama by Rhombus @ 187/night
(if i remebered correctly, CK mentioned that he's staying in this hotel)

Zel - all along i tot that asiarms provide gd rates (cos i use them quite often). But for HK, when i did a check on the hotel website itself, it seems that most hotels are providing better rates on their own website. I'm targeting Nathan, cos they have new rooms..on the Nathan floor and free internet access. But at times i read bad & gd comments..so... sigh.

Cocabun - Metropark I have tot of it before, but its a bit far off the train station.. abt 15 mins walk.. so i striked it off again. Ah Ha... looks like u had a gd deal for Royal Plaza !

Hi Minong,

$5568 is inclusive of 50 photos? That is very good deal...hee...the rest is same as us or same as the pkg indicated in the brochure?

i think Minong paid more addtionally to have another 20 photos besides the standard package dats y her local PS costs dat amt...Minong, correct me if i am wrong?

kodomo..
It's good to read good comments.. but when it comes to the bad comments, kinda sian.. i understand.
But heard from my friend that Nathan not bad.. room quuuite spacious.

cocoabun..
can take pics & share me of ur hotel room when u stay in Royal Plaza? :p
i thought of staying in Royal Plaza too.. hmmm..

Benn and Celine,

my package only had 25 pics. it should have cost 4288. i told them i wont sign up immediately because i have not compare yet even though i like the photos alot. they said what is it that i want to consider about. i said i want more pics. maybe around 50 pics. so in the end, they gave me a price 5788. i said 5500. in the end, we settled for 5588. =) v good deal i must say

Zel,

Sure! I will of course take photos of the hotel room! Hehe..

Minong,

Wow! That's really a very good deal! Glad for you!

Wonder if after sign up can bargain the top up price of each photo anot.. Hmmm.. Haha.. Bargaining power already drop liao..

Celine,

Yup I thought so too, that's why we signed up immediately. =)

Cocoabun,

I'll still try to bargain. $80/pic so expensive!!

Hi Darkchocolate,

Nope, 5k++ does not include air tic and hotel.. It is purely for the AD package and photoshoot in HK..

Minong,

I will also try to bargain.. But I am no good at bargaining.. Haha.. Have to train up my bargaining skills liao..

wow...cocoabun, i love that place but i got too many guests for my AD wedding...so that place is not suitable for holding banquet.

To Minong and Cocoabun,

We must all stand united and fight and bargain till the end, even if deal has been signed. I agree that we have to bargain for better price...Minong, that means per piece you ae paying $52 for the last 25 pieces?

Celine,

Thanks! Their hall is really quite small but big enough for my ROM.. Hehe.. And the coordinator is very accomodating and is willing to accept all my requests currently..

YES! We must get a good price for the top up! Heihei~

Ya...I know their service is very good...I remembered they called me up and was very apologetic for not being able to host my event.

I tell you...I'm going to MDW nxt mth for my interview...by then I'll ask why the prices are not consistent...must be fair ma...and let us enjoy the privileges since we r the earlybirds...

somemore HKG's pkg is $5600 originally...with 35 pics...I also felt not enough de...will have to top up...so they shd give us better rates...

lidat I alsow anna switch to local pkg...paid lesser than HKG's pkg...with more photos...so good deal for Minong! *sobsob*

Got a kanna cheated feeling...dun like that feeling...be it feelings or financially wise...

Celine,

I think we also have to understand from MDW point of view.. Maybe when they started in Singapore, they are unsure of the practise of the local bs here.. Cos the first time I spoke to them, they keep quoting the usual practise they have in HK (very little negotiation) which is very different to Singapore.. Now, they are slowly knowing more about local bs's way of doing things and are more open for negotiation.. I think we should speak to them to negotiate further..

Anyone has any recommendations to do the groom's full suit?

I think they are aware that Spore BS shops have lotsa room for negotiation. But i think what they dislike is the comparison, which ultimately at the end of the day makes things difficult for them. But maybe now they realise if they continue to be sticky, they won't be able to draw on more customers.

Honestly, among my frens, not many would want to go overseas to take photos. One thing is cost, the other is time. So if no negotiation = they will lose out their business again. So they have to remain competitive. =P

Anyway, anybody asked abt the small binded photo book they always show us..? would it be given to us ..?

Cocoabun - MDW doesn't provide groom full suit for your package ?

I think they only gave me the offer because i stayed in the shop for almost 4 hours and i told them from the start that i will not sign up on the day. They were okay, but after working OT for so long, they decided to give in. Hahaha... I paid 1300 for 25 photos. So i would say it is a good deal.

Btw, the small binded book is a sample book, it will not be given to us. It is a sample with the 150 photos that we will be taking to let us choose what pics we want in our album =)

MDW got provide full suit for PG or AD? When you meant full suit, is it with pants as well? I think mine dun hv pants...how? *worried and confused*

I agree with Kodomo tt if they continue to be so reluctant, they will lose out...in fact yes...SG BS has lots of room for negotiations. As long as it is within their means, they can provide.

Minong, the rest of your local BS pkg includes what other stuff? I can't really rmb what's the diff...Who was the main person serving you? And who do you think has the greatest power to say yes to you?

Celine,

the rest of the pkg is the same as the 4288 pkg if i am not wrong. the invoice is with my bf. im not very sure about that. i think u guys have got more stuff. i cant remember the names of the person. The main person in charge is Frida. on my invoice it states, Frida/Mico/Lydia as the person in charge.

The person who gave me such a price is a male photographer. I cannot remember his name. They are very unwilling to give out extra stuff. i did not manage to nego for anything else except photos. But i must say that they are very nice and really have a way to psycho people to sign up. Imagine, only the 2 of us in the shop with 6 people serving us at the same time! even when i was trying on the gown, i had 3 of the girls helping me.

feel a little weird actually. and was feeling very bad cause i had no intention to sign up at all. just wanted to compare. But their psycho power is just too good! Hahaha..

Hi Minong,

yaya...agree their psycho power really very good!

I also will feel bad if I did not sign up with them. I think the male photographer is Golden. I nv seen Frida before, think she's new or just joined. I will feel very stressed with 6 pple serving me...piangz! All like eyeing on you.

Hi Celine,

Yup i think Frida is new. Golden? I've never heard of this new. Hahaha... Yeah i feel v stressed. And i told them, let me discuss with my bf first. They were still staring at me. Then after a while, they realise they need to "siam". and they did for a short while. My bf was telling me he will not sign up on that day for sure. cos we haven compare unless they can give us more. i just called the photographer over to ask him a few questions and he never left us already. we sign up before we had a 2nd private discussion. Hahaha...

Ehh.. Sorry to make all worry about the groom's suit. I am taking the purely photography package from MDW, not the AD package. That's why I am now looking for place to do the full groom suit for ROM..

Frida is new, she is now handling my case. Golden is the photographer there, he is the one with beard if I don't remember wrongly..

yesyes...cocoabun...haha with little stout...Golden got power there i think even though he's photographer...

I just called MDW, they said on tt day will have 4-5 couples on board La Mer...I sun bian ask if tt day my PG day gothow many coyuples le...that gal whom I spoke to can't give me the details...she said dunno...

Darkchocolate,

I'm not sure why the big difference though.. How is the KL package like? And I think KL bs are usually much cheaper than Singapore bs..

I will be going down to MDW again this Sat or next week. I will check again if I spoke to Golden.

I think you guys are paying more because of La Mer. They need to cover costs for the yacht, that's why the costs are higher. Also, you'll get the big potrait, I won't. There should be other stuff that you'll be getting that the local packages wont.

Actually i feel that their local package priced at 4288 is alot more expensive than the rest of the bridal shops. My friend just booked hers with another shop, at 2788. the gowns are quite nice and they are even willing to throw in free gown and suit for the bridesmaid n groom. That shop is rather well known actually. but i dont like their pics. I guess we're paying more for the quality.

That might be the reason why.. =)

Hi Minong,

All of us signed up with them becoz of their pics and album...and the idea of going HKG is appealing.

I agree that if u compare the overall prices and pkg, whatever they throw in is really not a big deal. other BS threw in father's suit and bridesmaid n groom's suits too.

If you want quality, yes pay for it. If you want quantity, also top up for it...either way also must add money la...sian...money not enough...

I think HKG, SG and Kl's pgkes got diff...I think HKG's prices are cheaper.

My bf's fren is working in HKG, he told us that France bridal and Mona Lisa are ok only...got better ones...their prices are cheaper in HKG.

Hi Celine,

Ya lor.. Everything also must top up. Money talks. Hahaha.. Why don't you try talking to MDW again and ask if they can give you more pics?

Be firm and tell themwhat u want from the beginning. I guess it helps. Cos i was very straight forward and told them exactly what i want, if they cannot offer, i wont sign. That's why..

Have u tried on their gowns? I tried 4 but didnt really like them. I was told they have 200 over. Hopefully i can find one i like.

Hi darkchocolate,

I can't really remember my package, because the invoice is with my bf and he is in camp. Will only be back tomorrow. i'll update you guys on Friday. All i can remember is that i'll get 50 pics. and i get the very basic stuff for a wedding.

Minong,

No lei...haven't tried and by 1 glance like dun fit my figure...coz I'm v slim and tall...I need somethign more like mermaid cut nor princess style..