My Dream Wedding

Yes, I have seen the Lydia & hubby's album, likewise I could not figure out some locations except for the fullerton as background.

I must say Golden is very good. But he's very firm in bargaining but perfect in his PG skills.

Can I check is there a $8888 package? So ex? I dun rmb seeing it? What is inside that is so ex that needs $8888? hahaha...how come the package prices are escalating? hahaha....

By the way, I warmly welcome the newly signed up couples. Let us all exchange ideas & pics if it's done.

We shd compile a list of ROM, AD, PS dates for our ref. I think Vanessa is the best person. She's so comprehensive in the planning. Vanessa, awaiting your compilation ya...kekeke

hahshahaa.. me too had vanessa in mind while u mentioned of compiling list of dates.

Vanessa, think u gotta start an excel sheet with the number of MDW customers increasing.. kekekee.. :p

hi missylois ^.^
so when will u be having ur shots if having it here instead of hkg?

guinguin..
so, let's not get bothered abt the packages liao..
let's just enjoy the process of it instead.. hehee ^.^

Kodomo... I overheared the gals @MDW saying MR G is a perfectionist lor. Ya, he is very firm with the perks.

guinguin.... thank you! I will discuss with my FH about the HK trip. Hope your problem has been sorted out. MDW ppl are quite understanding, so i guess you will be able to sort out your problem easily.

Lydia & hubby's album is very nicely done. ya, other then the fullerton and sentosa, i can't figure out the locations. That makes them special. The other BS ones seems so common, you can see similar locations in most of the albums.

There are S$4288 (SG), S$5688 (HK) & S$8888 (VIP) i think. Saw it in the price list. I didn't look at it becoz too ex lor.

Yup, lets compile a list.

Mine is as follows,
AD & ROM Date : 09.02.09
PS Date : To be advised

zel, I don't know yet. I am still trying to see if I can squeeeeeze out some time in early oct for the shoot in HK. If I am having it done in S'pore, it should be in 1st week oct too. When's urs?

Will let you all know the outcome. September is my Q3 result, very critical month. By next week, the schedule for my travel and customer's workshop would more or less be confirmed. Then, I can plan with my FH.

oh yah.. left out mine while replying.

mine as follows -
ROM : 14 Sep 08
AD : to be advised
PS : to be advised

where will u guys having ur AD ..? hotels/restaurants... maybe we can find similarilities too !!!

ohhh..din know that guy in the photo is lydia's hubby.. so handsome one ah... dun look like sporean or even hkonger..

missylois..

hmmm.. no matter in SIN or HKG, it is still 1st wk of Oct.
hahaa.. don try squeezing.. just SQUEEEZE IT!! it'll be worth.. hahahaa =p
but seems like ur schedule really tight.. hopefully those that can be postpone, postpone them a little.

my AD is not set yet, so PS can't set too.
but we planning PS ard Mar-Apr bah..

think we should really have a look at the album taken in SIN de..

missylois,
how much is ur AD's per table?

kodomo,
as for me, we plaaan to hold it at The Grassroots' Club - Imperial Court Shark's Fin Restaurant.. as the food there is nice.

haha... if it's in s'pore, it will only take 1 day. If it's hk, it's 4 days.
Me love HK.. lotsa shopping and food...

Actually my gf who is staying in HK did say that the deco during X'mas is nice... weather is nice... you can consider bah...

My AD per table is S$798. But i think they have increased the price to S$888.

hahaa.. then the more u got to squeeze it out.
hopefully u can really make it..

yahh my fren said that too.. but dec this yr would b too rush for us le

Swisshotel Merchant Court I think no longer $888, I think maybe $900+ le...I also considered there while deciding the hotel list.

I'm having my wedding dinner at Furama Riverfront on 8th May 2009, Friday.

AD & Solemnisation will be held on same day.

My lovenest will be near my parent's and my hubby's parent'S place : BUKIT PANJANG! I'm happy to got to stay at my original residence area. You know it's hard to part where you have been raised up to another new place. I'm also quite glad I'm at least nearer to my parents and his parents for convenience sake.

How abt you guys?

wow silin..
i'm happy for u ^.^ it's really not easy to stay near parents of both, n ur home grown place too.

Furama Riverfront is a nice place too..
yah think there's adjustment in prices of wedding dinner in this few years.

Mine will be at marina mandarin in 1H09. =P Would be staying in the far east side.. though now I stay quite near Silin... hahaha. Sigh sigh for me.. can't stay near parents place.. should shift them over to the east.. haha.

Think hotel prices rose alot again.. recently my fren jus signed up for end of next year, prices are different from those who are holding their wedding 1H09. *faint* So those who hasn't booked a dinner place.. do it fast...

missylois - i know how it feels not able to squeeze time out and hard to squeeze time out from work. sometimes i wonder if we're over-selling our time to the companies.. and being overly responsible. sigh sigh. As for me, i managed to squeeze out some time in nov... but also becos mine will not be so rush.. cos my AD is 1H09.. urs would be more rush... u really have to squeeze some time out.. maybe go over the weekend kind... save more days of leave.

Oh... the price i mentioned is a MOnday. They have increased their price for 2009 from 798 to 888. Lucky i signed earlier. For weekend incl fri,, they hv increased from 900+ to 1000+ i think. Hotel prices increase lots!

Still looking for my love nest. In the meantime, we will stay at his place@Jwest.

Yup, we over-sell over time to company.
I have lotsa of leaves to spare... heehee... we shall see...

No problem for me to tablate an excelsheet but need everyone input your info:
ROM Date
Photo Shot Date
Photo Shot Location
Actual Date
Hotel/Resturant

Attached file is the list i can find in this thread. any mistake, please let me know and i will change it... :p
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

MDW Brides &amp; Grooms List.xls (15.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hotel price increases every year for about 10% to 25% -_-''' some hotels have start to collect more than 10% deposit of the total cost of the banquet after booking confirm... as for me, i am not in a hurry to find a new house as my FH &amp; I will be staying at his parent house after we married... and now house is not easy to get too... i had tried a few times applying but always rejected even my FH &amp; I are 1st timer!!!! sian...

lydia and her FH in the album... hmmm... mayb will go down and take a look when is my turn for the interview... :p

cocoabun, home is always the sweetest and warmest place to be at... \(^_^)/

hi missylouis, since signed with them liao, as wat other said, dun over-sell ur time to ur company leh.. once in a life time mah! Lydia husband is a hkgee.

zel, yeah... let's forget about e package! hehe.. let's b a happy MDW brides!!

silin, it's good to stay near parents! so u have your grant as well?

hey van! thanks for ur time to compile all the details! u r sooooo nice!! *muaks

hi kodomo, marina mandarin, quite expensive right? yours in weekend/weekday?

Here is my details, dun mind add into ur list?

ROM Date: 10/09/2009
Photo Shot Date : March 2009
Photo Shot Location : HKG
Actual Date: 20/09/2009
Hotel/Resturant: Grand Copthorne Waterfront

We are currently looking for our love nest, the market still very 'fierce', prices still quite high, we r quite headache...

ya, all the hotel prices increased a lot! esp for 2009! gosh....

Hi Vanessa, my details as follows:

ROM Date: 8th May 2009, Friday
Photo Shot Date : 11th Nov 2009, Tuesday
Actual Date: 8th May 2009, Friday
Hotel/Resturant: Furama Riverfront, Venus Ballroom

By the way, I've to add on to say that prices for hotels and houses are not cheap now. My bf is a property agent. If you guys need any info, please feel free to ask me and I can ask him and get bk to you.

I booked my hotel earlier this year and got my flat last yr when the property mkt wasn't so active. I'm very glad because I love that area and block of flats...and mine happened to be the executive unit. I appled like Vanessa 1st timer, no grant for new flats, only resale then you can get up to 40k grant, which I think is a lot. But looking at the asking price of resale flats, 40k may just be breakeven for the buyers. Who would be so rich to pay upfront cash of 40k?

As for the hotels, yes, I read "Wan Bao" that hotels ahve increased 10-25%, 1 year can adjust 2 to 3 times for the prices. I can't imagine my younger siblings getting married in future, how much per table can cost...now a decent hotel can cost 1k+, I guess it will be 1500-1800 per table nxt time.

I think the lowest mkt rate for ang bao is $80, I think it is very hard to breakeven or even earn a little from the dinner. Unless your guests very auto and generous. But nowadays, everything are increasing, our budget tight, expenses expand, I still think pple's ang baos minimum will be $80. Even if you tell them my dinner at raffles or fullerton, they also can not increase too much ang bao...what you guys think?

guinguin - mine is still below 1K nett and it will be on a sun.. cheaper than sat. GCW was one of my top choices too.. esp the big ballrm.. but I can't take that as I have little tables (20). U're taking the grand ballrm in GCW ?

Silin - I think ultimately at the end of the day, we have to see who are the guests we invite. If they are close frens, i think they will do whatever best to help. But if its hi-bye frens, dun think they will be willing to give tht much hongbao. As for me, i will help my close frens' wedding.. more meaningul too.

wow... all going hk for PS... *envy*

guinguin... i also wish I can go HK. But earlier this year, I was the one who planned my customers' workshops in sept lor. I didn't expect that I will have to take my photos so early. So now i need to see what I can do.

Oh? Lydia's hubby is from hk. I thought I heard otherwise. But he is really good looking, the 2 of them very matching.

If anyone is looking for a nice ballroom for sunday, can try GCW. their Sun price is cheaper than sat &amp; fri. I like the GCW grand ballroom, but it is booked on 09.02.09. So no choice lor ;)

ROM Date: 28 Sep 2008, Sun
Photo Shot Date : Mar/Apr 2009
Actual Date: -
Hotel/Resturant: ParkRoyal on Beach Road (ROM)

ya, i agreed the market now a bit tough compare last time, as what silin said, standard ang pao shud be around $80 for hotel, only close friends or relatives will give more than that, that's why looking for hotel deal $$$ is a MUST consideration, unless people who rich and doesnt bother about 'return' lor...like my friend who had her dinner @ conrad - guess how much.. per table $1.3k.... sat.. grand hor..

kodomo, mine even smaller scale than u! we only have 10 tables :p so we are getting the Galleria Ballroom @ 4th Floor. The last wedding event organized by GCW, we signed on that day, we saw the actual setup in Galleria Ballroom and we found it very nice and cosy... compare e rest of the hotel, example Interconn, gosh.. their small ballroom just like a STORE room!!!! I tried goodwood park as well, their min is 15 tables where we dun wan to max our guests just bcoz of fit into their requirement, later at the end we lose a lot of $$$. they still provide the package for me as for 10 tables, but guess how much they charge me for weekday??? $1.1k per table! No No, of coz we said no... sigh

ya, missylois is right, GCW sunday is cheaper which is $888 netts per table. as for their fri and sat, is 1188 and fri 988 if im nt wrong...
if u choose for 20/09/2009 auspicious date, they charge 1388 per table..

I feel that the most loss $ is to invite relatives but we must invite them even we know will have a loss in the ang bao... personally i feel that if have standby a lump some of $ to cover the estimated lost, couples will not have the stress of thinking what or how to pay up the balance of the banquet bills rite...

my workmate tell me that in order to cover the lost or breakeven, i need to invite 2 to 3 friends/workmates to cover 1 relative ang bao. So Ratio is 3:1...
so if you have 100 relatives, please invite a min of 300 friends/workmates... T_T

kenneth, u have not decide your AD?

silin, ok. thank in advance... if i really faced to a situation that i can't find a house to stay, *cross finger* i will look for your help...

van, u r right

oh ya, silin! i forgot to ask about ur BF contact, mind to give me as we are looking for property agent now :p xie xie hor~~

hotel banquet is getting more and more ex and difficult to book cos ppl are getting more and more early to book their banquet. mine AD is 17th oct 2009, i booked my hotel in early may 2008. i know frm the hotel catering manager that some couples already book the slot for dec 2009. i was like huh... i thought i m early but some are even earlier than me... of cos i m not kiasu type, is jus that my FH flies every month so not easy to catch hold of him to dicuss...
so if you plan to have the AD at end of 2009, you might need to see see look look and list some hotels you and yr gf like. so once date confirm, go to the hotels which u had earlier planned.

Ya lor Vanessa, it's getting tougher to book the hotel you like at the ballroom or meeting their expected minimum no. of tables.

I have only 23 tables. But Furama is very kind to give me their biggest ballroom which the miminum is at least 30 tables. Hehehe..

I also have to agree that the ratio of 3:1 is true for my case. I totally agree that relatives are the ones who are not zi dong...esp when kids of a family are invited. My friend held a wedding at Shangri-La and lost 6k (year 2006)...and another at Conrad lost 10k(year 2007)...and I don't know 2008 and 2009 the loss is how much now. It's like the loss is escalating...

You know how I calculate revenue vs loss? I deducted the costs and expenses I've forked out for dinner, buffet, PG &amp; VG, BS, HKG trip, ang baos etc. Home reno and decor I did not include. I have not considered my honeymoon's location yet, so if I earn i will go better place, if not, I will stick to a shorter trip at also a better place...hahaha!

hmmm... i din even dare to calculate the total lost but only concentrate on the table ang bao lost... T_T this will made me feel better... :p (i know abit cheap myself lar...)

due to spend too much in hotel, wedding package, etc... i had decided to postpone my honeymoon to 2010... so that i still can replenish my saving... heehee...

My bf said our savings can only resume after wedding is over...I agree lor...

Anyway, Lydia's hubby is from SG. Lydia and Gas told me de...reason why Lydia is working in SG also becoz she's settling down here but she's from HKG. I must say SG guys like her bhubby, tall and suave are a rare catch. I was wowed bu their photos and her hubby's height...I think must be 1.8m...very tall right?

sometimes i feel that preparation for wedding can be very excited but when is come to those old traditional "rules" which need to follow, i feel stress liao...

especially to those elders who feel y we chose this and y we chose that, made them feel that we din think b4 act... but is they themselves who din check the market... so not only planning stress, even handle with those elders oso stress cos need to explain y y y... blah blah blah...
-_-'''

i agree too... savings can be resume but wedding ceremony cannot turn back once procced... so spend the $ on wedding if can afford... rite... :p

Grand Hyatt Hotel. Per table cost $1K+

I also agree that our seniors are very conservative and traditional. They made us stressed and I sometimes tried to avoid replying their "whys" and "how come". Like you, my date is also a target of displeasure...because it falls during sch exam period. But i told my mum our auspicous date beats pleasing everybody, it must for our welfare not for others. We are the one getting married, we get married is a kind of courtesy to share out joy...holding dinner is a way of announcing our wedding...

Grand Hyatt I also got considered before. I hope all goes well for your preparation. How many tbles you took?

i quite like hyatt concept of the ballroom and the number of tables meet their min criteria so i book them when i know that the price is not very high... i took min of 30 tables 1st cos no need to increase the tables until near to the AD...

the auspicous date is chosen by the master so they cannot say we decide the date... :p but when comes to select of hotel, wedding package and even wedding band, we need to preparae a list of ans to the whys...

Silin, i totally agree with you! Wedding is for us, not others.

Like mine, we chose an good date for both of us 09.02.09. I have ppl telling me why choose monday etc.

Ya, where are all of you getting your wedding bands from?

eh, then i mistaken liao, Gas did told me before that Lydia was their staff who taken the SG PS, hehe, sorry ah, I thought the hb is hkgee and Lydia is sporean, opp liao :p

silin, thanks! will contact ur htb soon

Wao~ So many discussions on hotels.. I'm going to consider restaurants instead cos my parents feels that restaurant dishes are nicer than hotel dishes.. They felt that people remember the wedding via the food.. Haha~ That's how they feel~

I'm getting my wedding bands from Tianpo~