My Dream Wedding

Btb > May's weather should be okie but a bit warm liao, maybe just like Singapore :P

JoSky > depends on what's your definition of "cold"
by right Nov should be quite pleasent, like air-con temperature (~18 to 20+). But with the global warming and stuff... i'm getting less certain about weather hahaha :P

Lina > FB/ML direct package looks cheap on surface but they're "well known" for having a lot of hidden costs. After adding all these, about the same price as MDW liaoz.

For MDW, they liaise and take care of everything for you, viewing of layout is done in SG and also will courier the albums for you. They are also more transparent about pricing (at least they tell you beforehand if you need to top up anything).

Some more FB/ML won't deliver the album for you etc, so not really advisable to go direct with them unless you're local and have someone in HK to handle all these for you.

F.Y.I., FB, ML, MDW all same company same boss.

babytulip (babytulip1010),

My temp is 14DC i think? Freaking damn cold!

Btb (nearbtb), central is night shooting. Need to top up another few hundreds dollar for it (forgot the exact price). Normally the shooting won't touch till night time especially not in central. That one need to pay extra. Yup, my MV is la mer de. If night time in central I want mv, must top up again. So forget it, I just get the la mer mv will do.
Erm, and softcopy won't be given back all if I rmb correctly. They'll only return what you chosen.

JoSky (joskyhuang), MV need to top up $540..

Gelobeano - my coordinator told me she'll call me 2 weeks after photoshoot but have not called. think i'll call her in april ba..
I din take MV cos i think i'll waste it as HTB very 'wooden'.... haha.... anyway, its top up of S$540..

Josky - yes, Ma Wan park is considered as studio.

Btb - Softcopy is only for selected prints. If want softcopy for all dunno they have that option or not... maybe i'll check it out when i select my photos.

Lina - Ellen is right, i think if you sign with ML or FB directly there are some hidden costs. Cos when i was there for the photoshoot they actually thought i signed directly with them and told me i need to top up approx HKD700-800 for the photoshoot bouquet and flowers for the hair which is actually in the package that i signed in MDW.

Diane- 14 deg is a good temperature!! Mine was 8 deg!! i was hoping for temp between 15-20deg, 14 is close enough... but too bad, mine was 8 deg... i could barely smile for the last few shots...

Btb - addition of location is S$500+ each if i din recall wrongly. this extends to gg to Macau for PS as well. If Macau, then the PS is over 2 days.. otherwise its still within the same day, just that your photoshoot will end later. Mine ended about 8pm with just La mer + studio..

Ellen > I have been to their studio at tras street. Rachel from MDW did explain to me that they have no hidden costs. Which is a plus point for us.

hehe actually at first my mindset is that i dun need to pay MDW the SG agent but to pay directly to the HK bridal shop....

Ellen, thanks for been so helpful

Josky> hmm, HTB and I are undecided as well. We don't even know which package we wanna take coz we like the victorian feel of the France Bridal studio, but feel it's kinda wasted if we dun snap pics at Tsing Ma Bridge.

Has anyone tried on their evening gowns before? Managed to find something you like? I was flipping through and think that the selection is quite limited, as compared to the wedding gowns they have. But then again, I think the grooms are more pathetic. When it comes to fitting, no one really cares about them. ahhahhaaa..

gelobeano - Dun worry abt their evening gowns. They have plenty for you to choose. In fact, they let me try on so many that i had a hard time narrowing down to 1. In the end, i topped up for a 2nd EG for the photoshoot.

Agree that hubby's suit selection is quite pathetic. They only have 9 to choose from! :p

Lina > no prob
i agree that no hidden cost is good... no one wants to be surprised with all the extra costs at the last minute...

babytulip > yea lor some of the nicer (but more expensive) bouquet can cost more than HKD 1k~! *faintz* flower for hair is HKD 198.

gelobeano > during my fitting, they actually took out some gowns that are not displayed in the normal catalogue for me to try... the assistants that served me were very "automatic", they took initiative to advise and suggest different gowns for me...

guys always like being "neglected" when it comes to bridal stuff... hahaha

babytulip and ellen> you guys are talking about the evening gown selection in HK? What about Sg? Do they 'hide' evening gowns as well? *worried* hahhahaa....ya man, guys' selection is pathetic..my HTB intends to go and tailor make one suit...super waste money..lol..

Ellen
u mean in hk still gotta pay for hair and make up??? cos till now i have not go for the interview so very blur still.

Diane and Zel
so your shooting excluding night shoot till wat time do u remember?

Am I allowed to share the package details and pricing here? but it's by memory so might not be very accurate. wanted to PM gong_gong_btb but you did not enable the PM function. MDW will be at the wedding fair this weekend at suntec. u can check them out. I intend to sign their local package as i already have a taipei PS package with Julia.

btb > nope dun get confused... we are talking about those HKers that engaged FB/ML directly in HK. For MDW, the bouquet and etc is already included.

gelobeano > hahaha no la in HK not that they are "hiding" gowns, but they have separated the gowns for PS and for AD (quite common practice in HK. better logistic management i supposed). So they took out some gowns from the AD section for me...

gong_gong
the last time i went to MDW with my colleague their price is $3688 in SG for both PS and AD gown.

But they do not include VG and PG for Actual day. Actually it is best that u go down and see the package without yr other half.... that's the best excuse if u don't feel to sign... I mean there are always many other choices out there.

babytulip (babytulip1010), u steady.. 8DC u can still wear so little!!?? I really super super cold lo!! Summore near the beach touch the water even colder when the gown is soaked w water.

Btb (nearbtb), till 5 or 6pm ba.. Even with night shooting only till 8 or 9+pm only...

Because my AD is my actual 21st bday, so we actually went over to macau sands casino that night till morning than return.. LOL..

All> BTW, my photos is ready!! So fast. I just return on 18th nia.. LOL.. Going to choose this coming week le.. I don't think I'll top up ba. Life is all about choices to made. Balance, need to give up some de la.. Summore after wedding, not much used for it le..

gelobeano (gelobeano), I haven gone down to see it yet as my coordinator wasn't free and the appointment slot was fully booked. Maybe tml ba.

Hi can anybody share with me which wedding co-ord in MDW is good? thinking of going down to sign with them next week.. thanks in advance

Btb (nearbtb),

I will be going down later to choose the photos. I don't think can get back that fast. I am not sure, but will update here again. LOL...

Kelly Aw, I would definitely reccomend mine coordinator: YuLin aka Sherlin. She is the best. Let her know I send you, she'll take good care of you.

Update: Went down to choose my photos already.. Top up 20+ more photos.

Abit dissatisfied with the package as the package stated 30photos but in reality 30photos is not sufficient to cover the entire album with nice layout (eg: 2 or 3 photos in a page).

In fact there is hidden cost lo (which mean if you want nice layout), is kinda a must to top up no of pose. But fortunately for me, my dear coordinator Yu Lin is there to help me do some calculation lo.. She help me alot la. So strongly reccomend new couples to go to her..

If you die die also don't want top up also can lo, meaning you only have 30photos (1 pose in each page lo), very very normal, unlike MDW's works at all, machiam any bridal shop can do it de lo. So is kinda a die die must top up thingy cos you reach this stage liao, their package already cost so much le, bobian lo, top up lo.. Something like this kinda mindset la..

JoSky,

Simply too easy to hit $2k. Summore if your coordinator is small small fry in MDW, den your amount would even be more as those coordinator needa get higher mgmt approval to give you better rates which is quite hard to get.

For me, I very dare (kan kan lai), keep deleting the photos lo. Some okok de, not bad de, also force myself to delete as I can take it. I not sure if other brides can take it to kan kan lai delete delete delete. There is simply too many to choose from~~!! I think most brides fall for many of the pics and top up alot lo!!

My case is I keep wanna delete, my fiance keep wanna save save save. So idiotic of him. But he pays la, i also bwg. But I just keep lying (i don like this one, that one) then he will delete. If i say i like, he confirm keep de lo. But my main purpose is to delete to the minimum.

My fiance's thinking was that we spend so much take SQ to HK, and HK Hotel ain't cheap, all for the bridal shoot, ends up if BS we nv choose many photos seems like a wasted trip lo..

For a decent layout in the album need 50 pics at least.

So for HK de couples confirm needa top up at least 20 more pics. That is the very minimum.

Unless you all don't mind simply layout (which any bridal shop can do, need not be MDW), but if that is the case, then why do we spend so much sign for MDW package (because of their nice album layout ma)? That's why I said is kinda a die die must top up de lo.

Kindly do not ask me price as I can't reveal.. Do not wanna put my lovely coordinator in many troubles. I WILL NOT SHARE pricing here.

It isn't fair if any other ladies wanna take my price for comparison since I am one of the early birds (just when MDW started), and intro quite a number of clients to my coordinator.

For the others who just return, please share your MDW photo viewing session?? Can bear the heart to delete a not?

JoSky, yeah.. I am pretty early.. But then at that time, this thread was almost dead. I can post something but no reply for like 2months.. It was until few months back that this thread proceed slightly better.

Honestly speaking, after the HK trip, I miss the holidays vacation stuffs lei!! Really feel like going vacation again... LOL

Hi I would like to ask you gals opinion. I have been to a few bridal studios and none of them (so far) have the type of crystal cover album and the album paper quality like MDW. Is this true or am I missing out on something?

I find MDW photos very nice but like Diane said, maybe its due to the many photos selected for the sample and we are only given so little.

ruthie, I am not sure. But since you have did your research urself and you are convinced that none but MDW has the crystal cover you are looking for than just go ahead with MDW.

Though I am not happy with the hidden cost of too few photos in the package and is kinda a must to top up in order for a decent standard album layout, i have to say their service is superb. Especially what I encounter in HK. Really like superstar, as the weather is so cold, immediately after the photography said 'ok', the MUA would cover you up with a coat. Also the photos are the best. Really can't be compared.

I don really like to use the word 'once in a lifetime' as many retailers actually used this to earn more in hope that customer will top up more or whatever, no doubt MDW being a retailer also does that.

But now I need to tell u that u needa decide for yourself. Yes MDW is abit on the high side, but for its quality and service, i do not think any other are on par with them.

The photos are by far the best I have encounter. Their MUA are so experience. I am a PT model, some MUA make up so super long takes like 3 hours to do 1 simple make up for you! But MDW MUA is swift yet super good! All I can say is they are very very experience in every aspect from coordinator, to MUA, to PG, to PG's assistant to VG to every small details.

Being a MDW's client myself. I would just tell you to go forward and don't look back. I have to break my words and tell you once in a lifetime this time as I have read too far many ladies who wanna save this and that ends up going one big round wasting the one big round $ back to the starting point. Regret also no use, the $ has been spend for non-quality work. Some worst still, totally runaway with the money.

My life's principle is simple, you like it, can afford it, then go for it. But also don be like some crazy bride top up so damn much for their bridal shoot. Always stay calm. I can only tell you that you're the one who makes the decision. Whatever retailers definitely has their own fair share of 'pushers' who will try and push sales get you to sign higher package or top up more. And I am not kidding, many falls for their 'once in a lifetime' statement paying $6k extra more for their wedding pic.

But in my mind, i was thinking whether does it really matter? End of the day after wedding, isn't it store at the back of the storeroom?
Think about your parents wedding album, where isit now? If any reply 'on display', i really think your parents is bravo! And I meant album, not those big photo frame.

Hence I don think there is a need to top up that much..

Sometimes life is too difficult to think about too many tings which can be more chore to you.

Wedding planning is ardy tough, don make yourself tougher. Go for what you like.

Hi Ruthie,
I think crystal cover is pretty common even the bridal shop in malaysia oso have. Perhaps u just need to look harder or even ask them if they have it, personally i dun like tat cos in MDW if u take tat then there will not have any carrier to go with the album(correct me if i'm wrong)but the other choices have, moreover it is nothing more then another glass over ur photo(personal view hope u dun feel offended)
To me the cover ur guest might not even see it(cos normally it is open when u display)its the pics inside tat matters isn't it?.
However i have not go for my PS(photo shoot) but when we have any request for MDW they will try their best to help us so far(although its little things) but every time after toking to them it seems like all my worries is just "qi ren you tian" so far i'm still very comfortable with them. hee
But i guess if u can try to ask for more pics when u sign up ba so tat no need to add so many pics at the end. whaahahaha.

@@ Wow Diane so in the end u have 50+ photos(poses)??? how many pages is tat? cos when i sign up they say abt 30 is gd enough for a layout they have leh. die le i still thinking not to top up at all seems like its impossible.

How abt the rest of the brides here did u gals top up ur pics? to how many? *worried*

BTB, 30poses is what the package gives us. And my coordinator show me those 30pages de album (one pose in one page), freaking ugly. Nothing special lo. For that kinda works why go MDW pay such high premium, might as well settled in normal BS and pay lesser?

If you think 30 is enough than enough lo.
Nothing to do with pages honestly. (dono why you ask about pages issues)

I also DON INTEND to top up. But is a bobian case.
Either you live with not up to standard works.
Or top up.

At first, they actually calculated $4688 for me lo for all my top up. I keep delete delet delete lo.

Their inital package ardy very ex, so I don wanna top up that much le.

may i know how is the payment plan like? i went to select gown for PS few days back and realised that the 100% need to make during the gown selection...hope to hear from your opinions.

Omg Diane, $4688!!! i think that is another package pricing le rite.
I asked for the pages cos if thinner(meaning lesser pages) then you can have more poses to play with mah, is that allowed at mdw?

dun be so angry lar, i can understand. hope u dun mind that i ask on. and thank you for answering me.

Hi GM101010, wow u manage to get tat date so envy, i think mdw payment plan are all the same it is true tat must settle in full b4 the PS.

btb, ya exactly!!! Our initial package already almost $6k (somemore i still needa top up MV and night shooting lei).

Then another $4688 how can? So I keep deleting till I left with what I feel comfortable to top up lo. I don think is worth spending over so much just for that alone lo. That is too much. No pt breaking the bank for it.

Erm i dono lesser page can a not lei. Imagine your package is 30poses de la.

Den let's say minimum per 2 pages is 3 poses needed. You can only have 10pages which is only 5 folds thick lo. Cos one fold = 2 page ma.

PS abit hard to explain.

But if so thin, look abit ugly.
Somemore also not confirm 3 poses in 2 pages de. Sometimes becos same theme, they may put 4 or 5 poses in 2 pages, then your whole album is even thinner. Maybe only 4folds?

Crystal cover is very common in HK... in fact, it's like the norm...

Also, in HK, payment terms for BS is to pay in full during gown selection, and if you sign during wedding fair it will be full payment on the spot. I guess MDW brings over that practice to Singapore ba.

I topped up 7 photos... in total 40 photos.

No offense... actually i dun like layout so my album is the 1 page 1 photo de... This is also quite common in HK. Good photos dun need any layout, and sometimes layout spoils good photos...

ellen, why you top up 7photos only? Your package comes in 33pics?

I think one page per photo is really ugly (no offense) but depends on individual. Since you like then go ahead lo.

I still think that if one page one photo, might as well sign normal wedding packages with other bridal shop is much cheaper.

Sign with MDW, pay high premium, in the end nv get their kinda works they show us that attracts us to sign their package, I feel is abit wasted.

I like their album design and layout in the 1st place (i believe many brides would be the same as me), that's why I or we sign with MDW cos we thought we can get the same result as per the album design and layout. If not if they've show me the 1page 1photo layout before I sign, I would nt have sign for sure since knowing is kinda a must to top up to have the layout.

I saw the album of no layout, simply 1 page 1 photo de. Even those model are professional model (ardy very chio and shuai male and female model), also can't capture the beauty of the entire album. I find that too simple and I feel not worth spendin tt much for simple layout.

Moreover those shown to me are of professional model. Least said we 'commoners' maybe not as chio or shuai as those professional model? Need more enhancement to make our album look better.

But in any case, that is up to individual's choice. You happy can le lo. Do share with us your album photos when you received back okay? I will too.

Hey Ellen u r back. Got more pics to show? wahahaha.
Diane i think u will be surprised if u see ellen photos its reli nice, like prof model de. so envy even the unedited is so pretty le.

Opps never got ur permission to promote for u
sorri ellen.

lazily, ps i forgotton my MUA's name...
Btb, i would love to see ellen's one.
Btw, i am not implying is not nice. I believe MDW's work is definitely nice (if compare A's individual photos vs B's individual's photos)..

But what I am arguing now is the layout of the album.
If the album is individual photos per page like ellen's one as she insist not to top up for layout and prefer simplicity normal plain one photo per page design then of course cannot be compared to others with layout and with 3 or 4 poses per 2 pages ma.

Why you all can get unedited copy? How to get?

Diane > topped up 7 pics only cos budget constraint mah.... LOL... Went to selection with HTB and my daddy, all had agreement that we have budget to top up to 7 photos. We spent 4.5 hours selecting and cutting... a few couples already come and go and we were still sitting there hahahaha... at first only topped up 4, then i had 2nd thought and topped up 3 more a few days later haha

Dear, don't worry too much about the layout
in most good graphic design magazines, they rarely use more than 4 photos per spread de, it's all in the skill of the graphic designer... your album will turn out nice nice de

will pm you my photos...

yea i prefer it without layout cos dun like the fact that layout takes away the composition of the photo, while what makes a photo good is actually its composition... Anyway, this is personal preference - i dun like most BS' layout.

btb > oops no more pics to show liao LOL... gotta wait till i collect my album + soft copies in May... really wait till my neck long long liaoz....

Hi ellen babe, can email me at [email protected]

Ya I understand took long time to choose de! We also choose like 2hours lo.. Keep deleting till hand ache.

Btw, why you top up 7poses but total 40 lei? Meaning your initial package comes in 3 poses?

O ya, how you get raw copies de ar? I also wanna get.. When did you went for your BS (Feb?)? May can get le? Pretty fast.

2 hours very good liao wor... after 2 hours, I only managed to finish first round~

Not so fast... I had PS in early Feb and collecting in end May, so it's 4 months lead time effectively...

Ya Ellen how to get the soft copies? i oso wanna get it anyway is the selected soft copies or the whole of the PS soft copies? hope is the later whahaha.

wow 4 mths reli long wait. But gd things are worth waiting for rite.

ellen, you tong kong!!! LOL.. 2hours still 1st round? Must be like me, kan kan lai!!! DELETE DELETE DELETE!! LOL..

I only getting back at end Jun

Btb, we different case from Ellen... We cannot get soft copy cos we engaged directly with MDW SG. She is different case, I hope all of rest don't prompt her to reply 'why, whatever etc' as she has repy dozens of question in the archive already.

Let's respect ellen and let her enjoy her peace and happiness with us in this thread.

btb > hahahaha i wish i get whole PS soft copy manz... nah only got the 5 pcs you saw. We explained to them that we need some photos for invitation ah etc cannot wait for them. They said max. they can give is 5 pcs - they prefer not to give unedited copies to ensure whatever given to customers is of good quality lehz
I dunno if you can try the same excuse at MDW though.

Diane > thanks for clarifying
... yea lor i think we took so long cos our 1st round was too detailed - we actually note down every single photo, write down the backdrops, rating etc and i had 328 shots -_- ... then we spent 2 more rounds deleting! We went there at 10+ am and left at 3+ pm....

gelobeano > will PM you...

Hmm gd idea, wahaha will try that but oso must wait till i get the photos hope i still remember by then haha. Hmm.... dunnoe how can get the full soft copy hor.