MIELE Washer & Dryer

Ya i think so too,sound out my friend of the possibility.If so, then both ES n my friend will win win in this situation...But knowing how fickle auntie is,she is now contemplating the set as a package as another option.Got psycho by the salesman that the activecare washer is best packaged with the activecare dryer.If she just get the dryer n sell away the washer,she cannot fully experienced the total benefits of the program.N as this is the limited edition,next time there will not be just the w1740 washer for sale in the market if in future she decides to change washer.So another problem..

after looking at the overall build and quality of both of the machines i still think miele dryer will stand the test of time and torture of people with children as compared to that electrolux dryer.

i would still stand by miele haha.

Hi,just wish to enquire anybody knows of any dealer who are willing to give warranty for miele washer if I intend to buy it for a pre-school in johore?
I have checked with the various electrical stores and the miele showroom but the warranty is for local use only.I intended to get the miele w4446wps as I am using it for heavy washing of adolescents clothes.
I can't buy in malaysia because the nearest dealer is in kl.What should I do?

try calling the HQ in singapore...

cos they are the so called reagional office for south east asia.

+65 6735 1191

but i doubt they can give warranty in your country.

For malaysia they dun have consumer products only professional products. so it might be a bit difficult to get service.

oh yeah.. no dealer would be willing to give warranty because. its a highly specialised product that miele technicians themselves would be able to service and their parts are ordered from germany unlike other brands where generic parts can be used.

anybody went to the miele warehouse sale during the weekend at serangoon?Went during the weekend hope maybe got some good deals for xmas,but went home disappointed..All the items on sale are not new models,and mostly in-built ovens and coffee machines.Thought they might have discounts for new products retailing now..

hey erica,
i got my washer n dryer on monday! but yet to use. haha was busy cleaning house. hahaa

what programme to use for jeans ah? was information overloaded by the CRM

Iwash my jeans in the minimum iron mode,lowering the rpm to 800.It works well too,and my jeans r not creased afterwards..

its not the crease im worried.. its then interim spins that the minimum iron prgramme has that might not be all that suitable for jeans..

i was walking about at best imm and saw a couple who was looking at miele and thinking of buying miele and i just popped and said hey you should invest in miele its worth the buy especially the active care package..

well if you are reading the posts here.. if you would wish to, can drop by their showroom as winsland house or call the showroom and ask them to send you the brochure.. they would be more than willing to do that.. for a product write up.

and 6kg is not that all too bad..

i went to their showroom before. the lady that a bit dao....not sure if they have the active care package on display at the showroom, but i felt the info provided by the lady at the c ounter is.. 'like that lor'.. not realy giving me much info on questions i asked.

i think is better to go on sat & sunday to best denki taka and look for that miele salesguy...he is friendly n will give you more info.

Haha u sure a not xesthir,I recently go ask him I want to buy another vac from him,cannot get discounts already.He say his boss find out he giving too many freebies n warned him,cos will tarnish the miele reputation wor..Haha

hey erica, no leh i bumped into him at best denki taka when i went to buy iron. haha i think he joking only lah..he promised to give me something n he was still able to give me leh.

anyway for vacuum cleaner if u no need extended warranty u can buy from tangs.

why do u need another vacuum cleaner?

i got the gold edition one but find the metal handle/pole too heavy..and the crevice accessory to vacuum is too tight to put in and pull out and is very noisy. wonder if there is anything wrong with our set up.. but nmind my hubby loves to vacuum using miele vc..s o hahaha. i am happy

I am considering Miele W562 6kg. Wonder if can wash queen size bedsheet and full length curtains?

Please help! Thanks a lot

well depends on how big is the full length curtains and also how heavy is it.

typically a queen sized bedsheet should be alright

erica, saw best denki IMM branch selling the Miele gold edition vacuum cleaner display unit at $370. But think saw the blue colour one didn ttake note the model no, almost same price for new set. Go check it out!

Some questions for washing.

I realised after washing my clothes and hanging to dry, not using dryer coz to save electricity sometime, I realised the clothes are very stiff n dry. Why could be the reason?

Should I use a softener? If so, what brand is suitable for use in Miele machine? How much to put in?

Also, how much persil washing powder should I use? I not sure if I am using enough or too much?

Also i realised that washing a few underwear under automatic function also takes more than 1 hr. this does not make sense n my heart is bleeding when i see the machine spin so long for a few clothes as is a requirement for us to separate washing socks n underwear separately.
Is there a shorter spin cycle I can use? Else i think i will have to hand wash liao

Dun dare to see my bill this mth.

hmmm.... for stiff clothings.. there are 2 main reasons.

1) not using softener and
2) direct scorching sunlight.. typically it will be crisp.. and even if you do use softener.. it will be a little crisp cos of the nature of drying.. of sunlight.. its rapid drying.

softener to use good ones would be vernel.. its a bout 3 bucks a bottle. you only need something like 3/4 of the cup which is a small cup.. then dilute with equal amount of warm water. then pour into the dispenser drawer

as for persil powder.. then depends on the load.

a typical 6kg load you would need around 1 full measuring cup (provided in the box) thats all. it should not form those foam.. when then water is being pumped out after main wash you touch the water and see if its like a little soapy but not foaming.. then its correct. but if its soapy and very bubbly.. then too much.

as for washing a few items inside the washer..

clarify a bit you are using which washer?

if its a few items its recommended to use the express if its about half the load.

automatic is more ideal if you are washing a mixed load of cotton and synthetic and you are not sure which setting is most ideal then use automatic.

for express wash if its a slighlt ymore delicate item.. you can activate the gentle drum action. and if its not so delicate then dun need to activate the gentle drum action setting. (refer to manual to do this)

dun worry...bill wun be that very high cos its really very low consumption. as for water its alos low.. something like a total of 50 litres for 1wash+ 2-3 rinse.. each cycle.

and also for the electricity its about 0.5kwh and 1kwh depending ojn temperature.

if you are using express its about 500watts

hi ridz, thanks for the info.

I got the active care set - Washer W 1740 & Dryer T 7760 C.

I was told by the salesman that 6kg load also just use 1/4 of the cup provided inside persil. hmm. confused.

Can I get Vernel from Fairprice?

I would say that for miele their recommendation would be between 1/4 to 1/2 cup as the residue left could be quite a bit if you use 1 cup.

you modify and see how yeah.. cos water temperature and etc will also affect the amount of detergent.

i think should be able to get vernel from fairprice though not all fairprice would carry that..

for the detergent another brand that you could use is dixan.. which i would think is also very good..

I use half cup!N xesthir did u use the right mode for ur type of clothes?I use delicates for my socks,lingerie,n some hankies plus some tiny tees together.It is about half load n i finish it in half an hour.

hmm. socks i wash under sportswear till yesterday i washed at express or something.

after my first few tries. i have decided to lump them into fewer loads. coz dun make sense to wash so many times. only separate washing undies n socks. the rest all will fall under auto n express n min iron

i wash my hubby's office shirts and pants along with jeans under min iron. even if got blacks among white..aiyah cannot afford another wash, so put the white into a laundry bag and throw with the blacks to spin.

i keep forgetting to put detergent inside before i press the start.

thanks ridz, i could not find vernal or dixan at ntuc fairprice xtra or shop n save. Only dixan detergent. Think got to make a trip to cold storage liao.

hey folks,
sometimes got stain on clothesr, realised after wash the stain remains there.

May i know how do u all get rid of stains? Do u use a stain remover? put some Dynamo on the specific stain then wash together?

Most are from dirt resulting from sweat I guess. Those yellow stains around the collar and underarm pits are most significant.

Also in case there are stain resulting from gravy or oil based stuff splattering while eating

If its vey dirty frm sweat i uses cotton or sportswear.I just adjust the rpm if its tender materials of my shirts.It has a longer rinse cycle n very clean.The sweat stains will disappear.U can try them out xesthir.

is just normal wear to office, weekends, not resulting from sports. maybe we are just dirtier or senstive to the slightest yellowish/brownish stain. I think i'll use dynamo. I thought Miele could wonderfully get rid of all these. but now i need to do extra things. wondering if i should handwash instead..

old stains hard to get out i think.before i used to soak for a day before i put in the washer.I seldom use dynamo,s ithink its too concentrated.

I also bought the active care set. Does anybody else experience some noise when running the dryer? It sounds like something doesn't turn well, the motor or bearing?

Other then that I think it is a great set.

just ask them to come down and have a look.. it should be alright.. what kinda of noise are you referring to. its supposed to be like a low humming sound.. very low.. but if its like metal grating or something then gotta check

hey when i use the dryer, i hear several cracking noise like the sound when burning wood or plastic, just no smell coming out. is that normal? I thought it is.. so i continue to dry.

Actually is my 1st set of washer/dryer ever, so i dunno if the wash/dry output is really fantastic coz never use other brand before. :p Hope is a good buy lah...i still hear some kind of noise when it is washing and drying.. maybe other brands more noisy...

well its definitely much quieter than other brands. thast for sure. so if you think this is noisy wait till you hear the other machines in the market.

There should be like a low sound.. but craqckling.. somethimes its clothes those buttons gets tumbled. but to be on the safe side just give them a call.. they would be glad to advise and come down.

The noise is caused by a defect bearing. They will replace it but probably needs to be ordered. Not very nice for a brand new dryer.

Also, I sometimes see the remaining time jump a lot. Once I saw it go up from a few minutes to 1:30! I checked the washing and it was indeed still pretty wet so I left it. But when I came back 20 minutes later it was already cooling down... On another occasion I have seen it jump from 10 minutes left to 20 minutes.

Does anybody else experience this kind of behavior of the time remaining indicator?

Tip:
Tangs is having sale, Citi bank card holders (I think all cards) have 12% rebate for these two days instead of the usual 10%. I bought my set there, so instead of the $388 rebate I got you'll now get $466.. Just incase somebody is thinking about buying the Active Care set at Tangs

nhl, is it due to defect bearing? Noise is subjective. I really cant differtiate the noise leh. what if it is the normal noise it is supposed to be? Cracking sound.. How do i verify?

Get $466 rebate at tangs if use citibank card, had wanted to get it there. but i chose to pay $3888 with best denki 4% rebate, but i got free 5 yrs warranty from best denki during promo. Think 5 yrs warranty more worth it since if need to repair or change parts after 1st yr, no need to pay more.

The noise is due to the bearing. You can compare it to a door hinge that is dry. It would only make noise if it reverses, when running in the normal direction it does not make noise.

I also thought about getting at Best, but I normally don't shop there a lot, so no use for rebate. Plus to lazy to apply for Best card. Now wondering if the warranty would be more useful. But I was expecting 20 years of trouble free usage from Miele.

well the best is to call them and ask them to come down.. its still under warranty and if they are unable to resolve the problem.. they will replace that machine for you one to one. but if they can resolve then its good.

as for the timing jump.. its pretty much like that.. thats why they say its estimated time.. not a fixed time. its adjusting continuously.. unlike some brands..

Haha i think im the lucky 1 who has no problems so far.In fact i love the dryer for the tiny hose at the back where i can let the water out.My bed linens r also very free of creases when i use minimum iron function.well,if i have to say 1 disadvantage,mayb the drying time for full load of towels is slightly long..it takes around 1hr30min for 5 bath towels and 4 face towels n some socks etc.

well its like that.. towels they absorb and hold more water.. hence the longer drying time...

Anyway one thing you could try is after the washing end.. turn to spin mode and spin it once more.. it could help.

To cut cost, after the cotton wash cycle, i just hang the towels in a laundry dryer inside my small kitchen. It will be dried by the next day even if I don't open the windows. In fact I find the towels too stiff even after I put Vernel softener. Any idea how much softener to put?

No , i dont have time. As Im just preparing simple food with the steam oven,I dont think its essential to go for the lessons..haha

Btw the following advice was suggested by an expert on MoneySavingExpert.com

Washing machine manufacturers now recommend a maintenance wash once a month.

Washing machine repairmen like myself have been recommending a maintenance (or service) wash for about 15 years. Washing machine manufacturers have eventually decided to endorse the advice by also advising it in their instruction books. This is particularly important if you mostly use low temperature washes and (or) liquid detergent, and other washing machine detergent without bleaching agents such as colour friendly detergent.
A service (or maintenance) wash involves putting the washing machine on the hottest wash with only the detergent inside - and no laundry. If you normally use a washing machine detergent that doesn't contain bleach, then buy some detergent that does, and use it for your maintenance washes. This will help kill off bacteria and prevent black mould and grease. Tip: Look for something like, "bleaching agents" in the ingredients. Don't put actual bleach in the washing machine).
Another idea is to use some soda crystals, which are renowned for dissolving grease, and pour them into the drum. Put the washing machine on with no clothes in on a hot wash.

I also have a Miele washing machine and have had cause to use their repair services once. The service was excellent.

the exact address is http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?t=1431569

So is this a recommended routine , ridz?

yup this is and has always been my advocation to do a maintenance cycle.

If you search the forum i would have time and again advocate on the importance of the maintenance run but often ignored by users.

Unless you are using a warm wash very frequently like me i usually wash tea towels and cloths that are used to wipe table top etc at 90 degrees at least once a month. hence i usually do the maintenance run like once every 3-4 months sometimes once in 6 months. cos of my high frequency of washing at 90 (once a month) as well as regular washing usually twice daily at 40.

But those who only use cold and ocassionally only using the 40.. i would at least advice on running the maintenance run once every 2-3 months. This is to remove the body oil, etc from the drum and for hygiene purposes.

Yup the cycle still remains to be important.

Just give you some info on the noise issue our machine faced.

Called Miele and they send a service guy down. He put some grease on the seal bearing and said that it should be replaced when it would return. However, as the noise was still their I insisted on a replacement. He would get back to me on when they could replace it.

After not hearing anything for two days I called Miele again and asked about the status. They told me they would get back to me....

Again, after not hearing anything I called back the next day. They told me that it would take 7-9 days for the part to come in from Germany. Then I requested for a 1 to 1 replacement of my machine, it was brand new! Again, they promised to call back..

Again, nobody called back. This time after calling back I was told that it was reverted to the sales manager. When asked to speak to him I was informed that he was not in but the matter was under his attention and he would get back to me.

Indeed, Monday morning 8:01am he called. He was suprised that I requested to talk to him and kept asking how I knew his name and who told me his name and that he only just found out about the issue... very conflicting. Anyway, he arranged a senior technician to come down and have a look and he fixed it in no time.

The problem was due to the carbon brushes, used by the sensor to detect the humidity in the drum, making noise. He cleaned them and the problem was fixed. The construction looks very dubious and not very durable.

For now I can live with it, but am afraid that it will come back soon.

All in all, 2 out of 10 for Miele service.

Oh, Thats very surprising,n I feel very bad for you!You should write a complain letter to them,since miele always prides itself on good customer service, this shouldn;t be the case.
So far my machine is working very well, and contrary to what happened with ur case,the customer service dept from miele has been excellent when i have problems setting up my steam oven.Are u using the w562 washing machine?
Most review i read on this model has been very gd value for $$. So ur fears on the construction should be unwarranted.It should be much better than the mass-marketed brands,I believe.
But fingers crossed, hope i wldnt have to call for servicing soon..