MIELE Washer & Dryer

Haha I think, beiung singaporeans we can never get the german pronounciation right,as long as we know what we are talking about should be ok. Hm.. By the way,you know Miele actually came up with a guide for the best restaurants in asia(something like the Michelin guide),they called it the Miele guide.written by food writer Tan su-lyn and her husband.The best restaurant in Asia is Iggy's of Singapore regent hotel. Wonder if the food there really that good? further details.
www.mieleguide.com

xesthir,

well its still MEE-le ( or MEE la) depending on how you pronounce it. cos the emphasis is on the first vowel. so its MEE if its Meal its out already.. means different and spelt differently in german...

oops.. haha..

Ridz, i was informed i can wash pillows in the machine. What is the best function to use s the w1740 does not have a dedicated pillows program.

well there isnt exactly any programme is very close.. but one of the closer ones would be minimum iron or delicate feature. but take note of the following okie?

1) pillows must be washable
2) select minimum iron wash cycle( why i chose this over delicate is because i think the 1740 does not have a spin only cycle. and because of this if i choose delicates means the pillows is spun at 600 and that leaves way too much moisture inside the pillow and there no way i can do a manual spin cycle. hence the next closest would be minimum iron where it can have a higher maximum rpm of 1200 which is ideal for pillows. )
3) temperature you can select 40-60 depends on how high the temperature can the pillow take. and also if you are sensitive, killing dustmite and stuffs would require you to wash at 60 if not at 40 would suffice.
4) please do select pre wash option ( but do not put any detergent into compartment I only put detergent into compartment II as per normal wash.

the reason why i ask you to put add the pre wash option is because.. during the initial part of the wash... the water that is filled into the drum may not be absorbed properly into the core of the pillows and unlike clothes when it can really be tumbled around to absorb the water.. pillow in the drum does not move about.

in the actualy pillow setting it will usually have a very short cycle where it fills up and then turns the drum about and then does a short spin to make sure the pillow is fully doused with water and then it will commence the wash cycle as usualy. In this case by adding the pre wash.. it does not have a short interim spin.. its merely fills then turns and then drain and then fill again to commence main wash.. but at least it would have helped in the soaking of water into the pillows hence do not put any detergent in the I container just the II will do for the main wash.

5) final spin up to 1200 rpm its alright.

Oh but if there is an option where you can just do a spin only cycle then re spin again the pillows yeah. hope that was useful.

Ok thks, my pillow have down fillings should b ok? How ideal if its the w4446 model on offer then i would not have to change so many settings already. No wonder that model cost $4k plus just for the washer. There is a water plus option i was thinking can add more water so it will wash more thouroughly. Advisable?

i think it should be okay but for down filling during the drying process you have to make really certain that the internals are really really dry.

and also that you should use the drying cycle as many times until the insides are all dry else the dampness can breed those allergans.

yeah man i wish the 4446. but seriously miele dun offer discounts off their sets. they only have those limited edition sets.. thats the closest you can get to them giving any form of discount.

as for that 4446 the specialty of that machine is its hygiene wash feature which the temperature of the main wash is maintained at a longer period at 60 degrees to effective kill dustmites and such and of course it has more feature...

sportswear, outer wear, first wash (this is a short wash to remove those dye residue on clothes that is first bought and just run this short refresh cycle so if your skin is sensitive it will help ) and also for curtains and it has pillows and also cotton wash hygiene and many others lah its a comprehensive washer and also you calibrate the drum weighing system.

so when its empty you calibrate it to 0 and as you add in the clothes the machine will tell you how much detergent to put will be the ideal amount for an effective wash .. depending on the cycle and spin speed chosen and measuerd vs the weight of the laundry.

well for the water plus option you mention. as this is the delicate function and the water level is already high, the water plus option is not available as it cannot fill up the drum any higher than the high water level setting set by the delicates feature. so take not... water plus is not available as an option to compliment the delicate function or any other function that has water level at high.

in fact if i may share my two cents worth... actually the miele set currently on offer.. may not be a really good buy... beacuse of its features.. as compared to the previous normal micro holes promottion that they have..

the only disadvantage the prevcious model possesses is that its a 5kg washer but the dryer is 6kg and that the washer is not honeycomb.

this new set the active care set is worth it cos its 6kg washer and 6kg dryer and both are honeycomb . Honeycomb drum gives a much superior wash and care than microholes drum.. but alas its severely lacking in features that may prove necessary.

E.g.
Seperate rinse.. is omitted from this set
Seperate spin dry is also not in.

other than that.. i would think that its great with the interior drum lighting in the washer and the dryer something is really useful for me as i dun stack the machines and with the lights on when the door is open i can see all the contents inside without missing out any when ploacing clothes from washer to dryer and also to remove from dryer.

but overall you will find that miele's wash quality is far superior over other brands washer and dryer.. and the build quality of is its unsurpassed.

Thks ridz for the detailed explanation! Well, it dampened my mood cos tot it is a steal at such prices! Hope the overall gentle n wash qualities surpass e lack of extra features u mentioned. But i checked the german forums for review of this set n all gave 5 maximum stars! Hope when they come n demo, they will teach me how best to counter the lack of separate rinse n sin dry! n well since my priority is quality n gentle in the honey comb drums, should still b money well spent! Haha. Anyway thks very much

i just found out.. yes the spin only cycle is on this set. but does not have a seperate rinse. but its alright.

In this case, put in detergent to compartment II then select delicate feature and then select pre wash option and then temperature to 40 -60 (your choice) then once the washing is done.

turn to 'Spin" and select spin speed 1200 and then press start. thats it.

dun worry i would still think that this honeycomb is still worth the price you are paying. if given a choice i would also go for this but the 1714 would be a better choice..

but dont worry.. there is a bit of compensation that can be done.. well washing is an art eh..

Oh i just found out from the miele customer reps that an extra rinse is possible in both e w1740 n w1714. Its almost identical machines in terms, but the denim, shirts n dark laundry is replaced by sportswear, outerwear n proofing functions in e w1740. So dark laundry n shirts can b replaced by cotton n delicates functions in e w1740 easily but denim is more tricky with e cotton or minimum iron with reduction of rpm required. So extra rinse either i adjust manually or if i spin less than 700rpm, automatically they will do a third or fourth rinse cycle. Dunno if that will increase water consumption. That is if i choose cotton, minimum iron, express n automatic programs. I can also manually activate extra gentle option for very delicate fibres in my laundry if i want to. Im now pondering thru e instruction manual, hard to understand unless i play with e buttons myself.

wahh so technical. next time then i read through this thread again on how to wash.

can i ask if the set can wash curtains, blinds etc? Dryer can dry?

Xesthir i checked only the more expensive model w4446 got a curtains program, n that is 600rpm n there is a pre wash without detergent before main wash. I dunno e w1740 can do pre wash without detergent., but mayb if i washing, will try on minimum iron reduce e rpm. Im like u clueless, can only ask around. Lets wait till ridz give us insight when hes free. haha.ya when i start using, have to check thru the threads too. N pen n paper when they come n demo. Or else i sure will forget too. Haha. Anyway confirm my delivery is 28th this mth. Together wit steam oven!

the extra rinse im referring to is a seperate rinse cycle standing alone not within the cycle.

in the 4446, there is another option called seperate rinse where its really just a rinse short rinse.. it will fill up water 2 times and then do final spin.. very short something like 15mins in all.. just for rinsing but this 1740 this featuer is not available.

within the cycle itself you can set such that
1) more water in main wash and rinses
2) additional rinse than the standard no of rinses
3) more water during main wash and rinses and an extra rinse.

but what you said is true. for the spin speeds lower than 700 they will add another cycle.

like cotton its actually 2-3 it will sense if the clothes are alright after then second rinse then it will do final spin but if clothes are still soapy it will introduce a 3rd rinse before final spin.

and say you activate the feature on water plus to have extra rinse so what it does is that after second cycle is complete sense clothes is okie it will do a 3rd forced rinse then final spin or else if by second rinse its still soapy it will introduce the 3rd rince then add a 4th cycle forced.

and take note that this feature once selected will remain in memory. so like if i activate extra rinse i must switch off and then press those buttons to get to the menu then set the default to extra rinse. and then i switch off and start the cycle... once that cycle ends .. the next cycle that is used is going to be with extra rinse as the default unless you switch the default back to no extra rinse and wash as normal. the same for the rest of the settings it will remain as permanent standard part of the cycle until changes is made.

for the 1740 there is an option for the pre wash.

pre-wash you can select that and its up to you to have detergent during the pre wash cycle or not. because you have 2 seperate compartments for soap. compartment II for main wash and compartment I for pre wash.

usually we fill in the soap at II before we start cos its where they will fill in the water for main wash.. but if you select PRE-WASH option that means first time it fill the machine will fill up from compartment I then tumble clothes .. then pump out then will fill in water through comparment II and so on.

so sure you can select pre wash and not put detergent.

and pre wash is only available to cotton, delicates, minimum iron,express, sportwear and outerwear.

So which means that if you select any of the programmes above and you press the pre wash.. the machine will accept and carry out that command but if you choose the cycle..woollens and press pre wash.. the machine will not allow that option to be selected and the light will be lit off (indicator for prewash)

same goes for rinse plus option and short cycle.

for short it cuts down on the timing of the main wash...
hope things are clear yeah..

well sure they replaced the programme with something else.. but there are subtle differences.. in the programmed agitation, duration, water level etc. so yeah. its never a perfect wash (in miele's terms) unless its using the specific cycle its meant to be washed in.

Hi... i have been wanting to get a miele washer for a while now... with the current active care promo at tangs, so after all these discussion...in the opinion of all you experienced miele users... isit a good buy or not? hehe sorry ah i am still confused.

There is a 12% rebate in Tangs next wed/thur for citibank card members but u won't get the rebate if you pay by instalment. Also they do not have extended 5-yr warranty like Best Denki do.

If u think u won't need any servicing for the next 5 yrs, and no need instalment, then get from Tangs at 12% rebate if got citibank card. Heard that even on site consultation on minor issue also need to pay for transport fees.

If u are worried that servicing cost is costly, and/or would like to pay 0% instalment comfortably, & if you have best denki card, u can enjoy 4% card rebate & top up 5% of purchase price for extended 5 yrs warranty if the free extended warranty promotion is over.

If no best denki card can go taka best denki and use the Taka Platinum card can enjoy 2 bonus points for every S$10 spent, 100 bonus points can exchange them for $30 Takashimaya vouchers. Taka visa card is 1 bonus pt for every $10 spent.

I got the 4% best denki card rebate & got free 5 yr extended warranty and pay by 12 mths instalment.

gd buy or not. i got to wait till i used it.

Xesthir is queen of shopping!Hehe. Yup I think if u want free 5 yr warranty Takashimaya is the best choice.Well if u see the normal price for a miele honeycomb washer/dryer, then $3888 is definitely a gd buy.Or u can wait till my set arrives on the 28th, then i will update my first wash on thia thread for all to see!Haha.

One more thing,no matter how confident I am about miele's build quality,i think u should go for the free 5yr warranty, as it covers both the washer and the dryer,hence I think buy it from taka will be the best choice.I miss out on the free 5 yr warranty, but managed to get a small discount so its still not so bad.
According to washerhelp forum,the repairman says the miele is the machine u can depend on quality,and there is not really any other manufacturer that comes close to it.But the downsides are the expensive price and the also expensive repairs if really one day so unlucky,somrthing happens!So I will suggest u get extended warranty,just to cover unfortunate events!Haha

Can any Miele user do me a favour??

Can a question be ask to Miele's Sales team/CRM as to when should a condenser plate for a condenser dryer be cleaned??

Presumably i used it 2 to 3 times a day??

Tks in advance...

Mine is not delivered till end of the month, but i got hold of the manual which says must check the condenser unit at least twice a yr, or wait till the light indicator comes on, which suggest the unit is clogged. N it is usually a min job which includes rinsing with running water. Hope im not wrong there.

Erica,

erm.... twice a yr??? wait till ligt indicator comes on??

Can you pls get the answer from the Miele's CRM once they come for a demo and guidance on the machine??

Tks in advance.

yeah the condensor unit is not something that you need to check ever so often...

depending on what you dry very frequently. its seriously just once a year... or just check once every every hundred cycle if you use frequently.
but usually it does not get that clogged up very fast.

dun worry its very very easy... miele's design is very simple and straight forward. use the key to open the front part. open the cover then pull out the condensor unit then just rinse it.. put it back in then lock it in place and then close the compartment gate and then the front panel, thats it.

dun worry, its idiot proof! the light indicator that comes on is for the lint filter. sometimes when you dry a batch of towels there will be a lot of lint collected on the filter half way thru the cycle which will inhibit the air movement etc hence the light airway indicator will come on.

ya finally delivered! waher,dryer,steam oven. Well, after doing a first wash,verdict: impressive!i was surprised after the wash the washer will do a slow revolutions for the anti-crease phase,that means if i forget about taking out the laundry,my clothes will not be creased for the time it takes to settle.It takes around 1hr 15min for the cotton wash i try with a few pieces of towel and a few t-shirts and shorts.. Ihave not use the dryer yet, as the weather is fine and dun wish to waste electricity.But the crm ladies inform me that from time to time,I should check the lint filter,either rinse it with water or wipe the lint off.the condenser,is like ridz said,clean at least twice a yr,but advisable to check every 1-2 mths if super heavy user.I'm goint to try to wash my hubby's windbreaker tomorrow,using the proofing detergent that miele gives me..Haha did not know that windbreaker can be washed untill now.
One thing though,the steam oven recipe book they gave are all of western food,not really much to the chinese palate,so have to get more chinese cooking recipes elsewhere.

I have used the dryer, wow the dryer is really fantastic, after washing my towels in the cotton program, i threw them in the dryer, program cotton, it shows 1 hr plus.. Then i start it n went for a shower. I swore i did not take my shower n change for more than 40min. N guess what, it is done! E sensor is just amazing, i dunno y, the towels r soft n not under or over dried. The lint all captured finely in the filter.. Maybe im just making me feel good for the purchase, but i definitely think in just one wash n drying cycle, i can feel whole lot of difference compared to my old zanussi! N it was so quiet the whole process, just amazing really!

congratulation on owning miele.

i should say welcome to the elite family of Miele owner!

Danger is.. once its Miele.. its always a Miele and you will stand by it.

But seriously the washing and drying quality is world's apart from other competitors in the market.

yes it is usually in the first 10-20 mins that it will sense the clothes. the initial timing that they gave you is based on the weight of the load as well as the programme you choose.. then as it tumbles it will continually sense.. if you have those like thick items like quilt or sorts.. it will suddenly drop and then when it tumbles and senses that its still wet the timing will jump up again.

This is a continual process... other dryers in the market just use an initial sensing and then after 10 mins it will lock the timing and continue on from there and the timing will not go up and but will come down.

oh yeah if you find that clothes that comes out from the dryer still too hot to be handled, you can increase the timing for cooling down from the preset of 10mins to maybe 15 or 20mins then when you handle the clothes out freom the dryer not too hot.. i find that useful if you ask children to help with the laundry else it will make them feel really hot sorta burn them.

Was wondering if I used the W562, can it easily wash a king size bedsheet and a mattress protector together and come out cleaned and dry? Due to budget constraint, I am still comtemplating betting the W562 or a Electrolux model of a higher capacity. Comments pls?

I was informed king size comforter is a big no no for miele, so i also dunno ur protecter isit ok. The miele promoter told me can wash king size bedsheet n quilt cover but not king size comforter. I went paris silk before i buy my miele n the guy there say bosch 8kg can, but not advisable. So to play safe, i only wash my bedsheets seperately from my quilt cover. There r still 1 quarter space left after putting my 2 king size bedsheets n 4 pillow covers in to wash. hm.. But i decided against squeezing more cushion covers cos i want more spaces for it to wash.

king sized BEDSHEET is okay. protector is also ok. but if its King Sized QUILT or COMFORTER>> that would have to really see.. technically not advisaeable.

for the w562 if you are washing a queen sized quilt those cool types is okay but when you wash the queen sizesd quilt that is warm thick ones.. then its NO NO.

depends on whats the budget like actually.. im not too sure if the active care package you can purchase the washer seperately .. if can take that.. it will be much better than the higher capacity model of electrolux.

oh yeah one thing to take note is not about puttin all into one wash.. sometimes it makes no sense to make sure all fit into one wash to realise later that the machine is overloaded or the wash quality is poor.

i would rather do many washes than torture my machine for one single huge wash.

Hello

I'm a newbie.

I was going for the Bosch, but after reading this thread now was wondering whether or not to get Miele promotion instead...???

The Bosch was intending to buy WAS32791ME Front load 8kg with 400 to 1600rpm spin speed with Rinse Hold $1949/- (made and assembled in Germany).

Still unsure about Miele, because I am not one who uses dryer, prefering instead to 'sun' dry...

So bottom line, is the Miele active care promotion worth the money...? Hmmm.... very difficult to decide lei... Help...!!!

if u only need the washer u can consider the W562 range at $1788 but it is not honeycomb drum. It's microholes.

i suggest u go down best denki taka and look for alvin on Saturday afternoon. he will give u a more detailed explanation and u decide from there.

Haha i was tempted to buy that 8kg bosch model from paris silk before, but i think i was quoted cheaper. But im glad i got the honeybomb miele package! Its really wonderful the results. If u compare the quality n price, then i think the package is more worthwhile because standard miele washers normally cost $3k above. N if u tumble dry towels, its really soft compared to hang dry. But i wun b using so often unless its rainy days or i have alot of think items to dry. Xesthir, when will urs b delivered?

Probably in mid dec before i move in. is it complicated to understand what the CS explain on how to use the machines?

We are almost 1st timer in these. sound complicated when alvin explained to us.. do i record now... the demo..

erica, u still have bamboo poles to hang ur clothes when u have a dryer?

NOw i have no plans for hanging out to the sun leh. the new flats nowadays the poles so short.. + not sunny that area + can only hang a little. i also dun owaht to do..

any other laundry method to hang dry? without looking ugly

haha dun worry xesthir,

its really easy.. you just have to do the following things only

1) Switch on the machine
2) press door to open
3) load the clothes
4) close door
5) put detergent
6) choose programme
7) then check the temperature (pre-set to recommended temperature)
8) check spin speed ( its already pre-set to recommended spin speed but can adjust if need to)
9) press start.

The rest is done by the machine. seriously like water level, extra rinses etc. dun need to worry.

if you are really worried about which programme to use if you are having a mixed load then fine just choose automatic and that settles it.

oh ya i have the foldable clthes hanger,last time i bought them at ck tang.Anyway i hang it on my balcony.Its ok,the customer service ladies are very patient,u just ask the questions,they will explain clearly..I think its quite easy to use too,after first 2 days trial n error,now no problem.haha

this kind is quite common everywhere.ck tang selling i think $148.cannot put too much clothes n if the wind is strong it might move. Mine is the brand leifheit i think.

cant send u the pic file too big.
But i think its quite common.. Cannot put too much clothes though..just right for 2 to 3 persons.

Tower, go taka and buy.I'm so silly buy so early before they offer free 5 yr warranty.. Now they even give out additional 1% points discount rebates for anything u buy at best denki, n u don't have t be a member to be entitled for that. But on perspective, 1% is only $38/= But add the 8% u save on extended warranty... What it could all have been.. hmmm...

btw xesthir,how is ur vacuum cleaner doing?good? U know where else got display sets to buy? Its very powerful, all my cats fur that got stuck on carpets are easily removed. Feel like buying another 1 for my mother-in-law.

Hi ridz I have a query from a frnd.
I actually recommended her to buy the miele T7644 6kg condenser dryer which was selling for around $2k,I don't recommend her the honeycomb model mainly becos alvin told me the T7644 is actually a rip-off of the $3k honeycomb model,difference being just the honeycomb on the dryer.same functions,specs. My friend cant buy the promotion set because she had an existing thomson top load which is just less than 1 yr.So i think the T7644 will suit her just fine.But she just saw an electrolux condenser dryer which can eject steam to iron clothes which costs around $1.5k.So if u ask me,I think I'm converted,I will definitely cjoose the miele t7644.But just need expert's opinion,what do u think? U heard about the model?

Thanks xesthir & erica... yes I did look at the W562 model, but don't quite like the design, and like you said, no honeycomb...

Well I have emaild some friends and see if any of them need dryer then can split cost... but so far no takers...

If someone do take the offer of taking the Dryer, is it fair to split cost 50/50? Which is more expensive, Washing Machine or Dryer?

ridz, do you work for Miele..?

I'm glad I found this site...

haha.....

the 7644 is a good condensor dryer.. yeah just except for the honeycomb its not worth getting the honeycomb 3kplus model.

however given that price its really too close to the model on offer honeycomb some more.

i understand her situation.. i was like her once.. like that stuck changing both oir not.. my previous washer was also thomson for god damn donkey years its been thomson cos of top loading access and for years miele dun want to bring in their top loading to singapore.

and its only recently that they have more models coming in.

so far.. oph yeah... ERICA ask you friend to get in touch with ES mediate lor.. take the dryer !!~!! she can get the washer and ERica frind can take the dryer???

well for ES its hard to really indicate if washer is more expensive or dryer is more expensive.. cos technically dryer is cheaper than washer but condenser dryer different story altogether.

ES sorry to disappoint you i dun work for miele.. im one who moulds the future of our nation.. wahaha...

Erica, ur fren must be pointing to the Electrolux EDI96150W (Iron Aid) with a time display. Harvey Norman is now selling it at $1399 (plus $80 Cold Storage vouchers). But the iron aid function is only effective if u put in not more than 6 shirts. Furthermore, it's not that u do not need further ironing. U would still need to do some ironing, just that it is not so creasy with the Iron Aid funtion.