MIELE Washer & Dryer

Hi Erica, I have the Active Care set.. and it was not the washer but the dryer that was having the problems.

Now my biggest concern is now that Miele Singapore choose to reduce the warranty period to only 1 year compared to the 3 years in Europe (I am from Europe), so if my machine breaks down again it will probably out of warranty.

The lady at Miele Winsland House told me that if after 1yr warranty you got problems with your machines, they will go down and check for you and if the breakdown is NOT due to your misuse (e.g. using too much detergent), then the service is free.

Not sure how true it is.

Hi Miele owners,
I am considering to switch to a front load washer. My current is a hitachi top load washer and i am really not impressed with it.

I have many clothes that requires handwash and am wondering how your experience with using miele delicate cycle has been. do you gals throw in all your delicates for wash? I supposed silk is not recommended for washing with machine?

Appreciate your advice :-)

Miele's forte is handling the most delicate items,eg silks,woolens,cashmere.I suggest u go for the current active care set of washer n condenser dryer that I'm using as they r the patented honeycomb set.U can wash machine washable silk in the delicates program and handwashable silk in the woolens program with adjustment of rpm to 600 or below.Its great as my woolen cardigans n delicates nightwear looks wonderful!U can look at my earlier posts to see how the set looks like.Its currently retailing @$3888/=

my experience is that my bedsheets & towels has run colours from other bedhsheets and towels of different colour........

haiyah. how...towels become pink when mixed with a red towel. part of my bedsheets with pink colour runs and cause the rest of the yellow portion to become pink too.... what's wrong? Temperature too high?

Thanks starssy. I am eyeing the active care set! I dont really use dryer though...but it is silly if i get the washer only as it costs almost as much as the set. Also considering whether i should buy it at c k tangs this thur/fri when there is 12% rebate or at harvey norman with extended warranty.....haha

I think HN extended warranty covers lesser than Best & is more expensive...

anyway if u think the set wont spoil in 5 yrs time, then go for the 12% rebate, if think there might me a chance of servicing in the next 5 yrs that might warrant hight cost, then go for Best and pay x % for 5 yrs extended warranty.

Well for colour runs. that problem can be quite common if you re not careful with washing. Some dyes on clothes just take a long time to run and that you should take note of such clothes.

Usually if you wash using cold cycle this remains to be a problem too. But washing it with warm wash will definitely cause it to be absorb by other materials.

Try to read the label to determine if the particular dye used in colouring the clothes is colourfast.

U can tell if the label say: wash with similar colour. Means there is a chance that the dye will continue to run.

In those instances you might not to do a test with soaking it with a little soap and water and see if the colour is runnning in the tub. if it is.. then wash it seperately.

Hope that helps

poppie,

well like what the other forumers mentioned. Washing as gently or delicately as possible but yet washing efficiency at its best is definitely one of Miele's forte.

In fact if you are washing lingerie, etc, you dun even need to put it into netting or laundry bags. the drum itself is very smooth and the action is very gentle.

Washing silk isnt also a problem. my mum loves to wear silk and she has like dozens of them. And that based on experience. washing using the machine is much gentler on the fabric than using hand to wash. As you might exert too much a force when dousing the silk. And i have not experienced in my 20+ years of washing any clothes spoiled or torn as in physical damage due to washing action by the drum.

Of course accidents do happen like colour runs. but i would think thats alright acceptable and we learn. which ones can mix which ones best to wash itself.

Hey folks,

Is there shrinking for your clothes especially shirts n pants if you use Miele dryer? Is it significant? Currently I underuse my dryer as I am afraid of the high electricity cost & shrinking problem. I heard from my friends that DRYERS will shrink your clothes by 1 or 2 sizes.. (that bad??!) so they advised me not to buy it or use it.. but too bad already buy...

well no so far none of my shirts pants, nor my sisters blouse or skirts have shrunk.

Some materials will shrink naturally but generally it will not be till 1 - 2 sizes.

the only thing that you have to take note would be on the drying part. if the washing instruction of that materials says DO NOT TUMBLE dry then obviously something adverse may happen if you do so. if not things are generally okay to tumble dry.

Ive even tumble dried pillows, bedsheet, teddy bears, silks, shirts, pants, skirts, coveralls, towels, sume delicate lingerie in the miele and it comes out tops.

just have to be careful. If instructions says tumble dry low heat, then select the appropriate cycle say cotton if its cottom and just depress the low heat. thats it. voila.

hope this helps to alley your fears.

My miele washer and dryer has arrived!!
Unfortunately, they kept trippig the electricity every few minutes...i m not sure what is wrong with my socket..

has anyone encountered such problem?

oops a daisy...

never encountered.. such a problem. maybe would like to check the socket. could be that..

is it just the dryer only or the washer as well . use the washer will trip?> if it trips as well then dun think its the machine fault

Ridz, I am considering getting a top load washing machine. Any recommendations? Best denki, audio house, all recommended whirlpool, rather than thomson, brandt, bosch. They mention thomson have to clean the dirt every week as the dirt are stuck.Need ur advice. Thank you.

hi, well top load continental .. its gotta be thomson. would be a better choice. if its too expensive then brandt would be a choice and also bosch. electrolux also would have top load continental as well

What dirt were they referring to?

Hmmm..

Ridz>He mention the drum will easily be stuck with dirt and has to clean the drum every week. Im not too sure also. Another brand they recommend is electrolux.

Nope dun think so any dirt. Mum used a thomson for more than 10 years. No dirt stuck. THe construction of the different washers.. is relatively similar. hence if its a problem with one.. its with all.. mostly.

For top loader continental i would still think that the champions are thomson. unless you decided to bring in miele top loader. though they dun bring it to local market but they do manufacture top loaders honeycomb drum no less.

HI folks,
i forgot if i need to do a weekly or monthly maintance/self cleaning for my Miele washer. I recall the CS asking me to open up the round door on the bottom left.But i cant recall the purpose of doing that.

Also i have colour runs earlier with my bed sheets. Can i use the following Dylon to remove the colour runs. I read in some forum that it works. But is it really ok for Miele? Also some of my whites become darker as I lazy and washed with darks. is it ok to use the fabric whitener?

Instructions says put the contents of sachets directly to drum, not detergent dispenser.
http://www.dylon.com.au/fc-coloursafe.htm

For this dylon white, no mention of front load machine, only top load. does it work for front as well?
http://www.dylon.com.au/fc-whites.htm

http://www.dylon.com.au/fc-whitener.htm

hihi!! im currently confused which washer to get, front loader. had my sights on LG direct drive, there are 2 models with or without dryer. but is direct drie prone to breaking down? n repairs ex? otherwise wh front loaders wld u recom thats not noisy? thanks!!

LG is a korean/asian brand and is not known to be good in front load technology.

Direct-drive probably is their marketing strategy. As stated on their website "Direct Drive System is a state of the art technology which integrates motor, belt and pulley into a single Quiet and Durable Motor that is attached directly to the drum. "

Anyway we are not that technical pple in the washer area.. so likely duno if this technology is proven.

Try to get separate machine for each washer n dryer. The combined one spoil easily. other issues as well.

but u are talking to a miele user. i surely pro miele only. Actually pay by 1 yr instalment still quite affordable.

The CS from Miele told me that we should not use any colour remover as it would corrode the machine so I hand wash it and rinse and spin in Miele washer, but had to do a 95 degrees wash with detergent but no laundry after.

Today ST papers advertised Miele Active care special package $3888 c/w additional S4212 Anthracite Vacuum cleaner worth $408! on top of the active care detergents and stacking kit we had
NO rewards for buying earlier.

why must 95 deg? i never use so hot,cos afraid damage laundry. n y handwash? the cs told me dun handwash if u buy miele? they r so stern when i suggest it?haha.. well im sad too cos i actually spend money buying the vac. heard mayb they cant clear the promo due to recent economy i guess,.. too bad i need washer urgently..anyway no regrets, can c my golf gear perfect condition using the sportswear function with the detergent. no shrinking either..

no, u misunderstood.
I use the handwash method, by soaking my clothes which had colour run with the dylon colour remover as I am not supposed to use it on Miele washer due to likelihood of corrosion, although the Dylon has a method to use it on washer.

To maintain the Miele washer, we should always do a 95 degree cotton wash with detergent but no laundry in the machine. Recommended abt once a mth or less.

yah i needed the washer then, it is abt 4mths old anyway. ahaha. depreciate liao

hello! i bought the miele active care washer and dryer (from tangs) a couple of months back... but only got to used it recently after our big move. a couple of questions for the panel of experts here

1) How do i know if i am overloading my washer? What constitute a full load? I am loading it up very close to the rubber tab thing on the door seal at the top. is that too much?

2) When i select the short option on the cotton cycle, can i do a full load as well or is tat only applicable to half loads?

3) Is there a cycle for denim washing?

Thanks peeps!

Well Willkommen zur Familie Miele. Welcome to the Miele Family.. Wahahah..

anyway... for the loading a full wash. That really depends. For me as a general guide if you are washing Cottons cycle and that you do not compact the laundry as you drop them in. Then load it up to about 3/4 of the drum and it will be about just nice.

It should not be up to the brim e.g. the top of the drum full kinda loading, That would be overloading.

As for the Short cycle, ideally it should be for half loads. But if your clothes are not heavily soiled. Lightly soiled only, then it should be okay. Because its usually the Main wash duration that is being cut down, no of rinses still stays. So yeah.

Anyway for the cycle on denim, unfortunately not on all machines they have that. The closely matched washing cycle that could do the denim would be ... delicates. That would be the closest. Cos denim cycle entails Mid water level main wash and mid water level rinses and 3 rinses as well as no interim spin in the cycle and the best would be somehow the delicate on the 1740 with 1 wash and 3 rinses but all high water and also gentle washing rhythm.

But after the final spin you might want to select the seperate spin and spin the denim again at 900. Thats the tolerable spin speed for denim yeah..

Hmmm got a latest scoop!! Miele launching new model package after this active care promo... Not sure of the models though.. Ridz any idea???
just curious geez!! Hope its not a better buy...

this would have been a better set over the active care. beacuse of the washing programmes, which is more suited to a normal family use in Singapore.

The active care has stretch and etc. while this has silk and i would reckon that this is some ways could also be better than the 1714 features wise.

and also features also pillows. Good good. i like that. id prefer that actually.

anyway. no pt.. i cant forever wait for a 'better' miele washer/dryer set.. after all i have been using activecare for about 6 months. I don't wash pillows or bolsters. just wash the protectors sometimes will do. Long liao throw and buy new pillows/towels. haha...

last nite tangs got sales for singtel subscribers. Miele got 10% discount off + 10% rebate for tangs citibank member.... got some steam oven trays and descaler tablets from them.

oops forgot to come back to this thread.
wah.... ridz you are awesome! walking encyclopedia of miele know hows!

thanks! :D

Hi ridz do u any reviews on the new miele homecare series? My friends went to check out the activecare series but its sold out in sg and was recommended the new homecare series instead. Thks!

Ive no information on the model number. Used to have the information on the pdf that is posted by one of the forumers and also on Miele singapore website., But they have since removed that link.

But from what i remember yeah i would say the homecare series are great too. if its honeycomb its great!

Eh wait the page loaded. OKie.
W1730
6kg honeycomb drum
• 1400 rpm maximum speed
• Standard programs:
Cottons, Minimum iron, Synthetics, Automatic,
Express, Dark laundry/ Denims, Woollens, Shirts
• Special HomeCare programs:
Intensive plus, Silks/ Lingerie, Pillows, Down,
Reproofing, Curtains
• Extras:
Pre-wash, Short, Water plus, Buzzer
• Additional:
Delay start 24h

In fact over the previous active care. This has more wash features that you would use at home. like silks and lingerie, pillows and curtains. Which is on top of the normal cotton, denim ,etc

For the dryer.

6kg honeycomb drum
• Standard programs:
Cottons, Minimum iron, Synthetics, Automatic,
Finish woollens, Smoothing, Warm air
• Special matching programs:
Finish silks, Pillows, Reproofing
• Extras:
Low temperatures, Anti-crease, Buzzer
• Additional:
Delay start 24hr, drum lighting, sensor
drying system

So yeah the dryer is matching. Its a great set.
Get this over the activecare series

hmm, for anyone who cares to know,.. Today advertise best denki ngee ann city anniversary sales.From today till sunday, for every $1200 u spent, u get $100 taka voucher. if u charged to any ocbc credit card,u get additional $20 taka vouchers. That means, if the homecare package is $3998, u will have $360 taka vouchers. almost like 10 per cent discount.wow will ask my friend to go take a look!

Hmm during tangs sale, they have 10% direct discount on all electical appliances + 12% rebate on your citibank card. that makes up to 22% off.

but they dun have extended warranty..

I am thinking of getting a machine & dryer and happen to come across this brand.

Had a few qtns for the experts here:

1) Had been using top load machine, so what is the things i must take note when using front load machine?

2) Can i just put in all my clothes and wash together? becoz i read thru and saw cotton wash / denim wash. Does it means i cant wash my tops and jeans together?

Hope to clear my doubt before buying it. anyone can help?

My my a lot of questions but crucial.

1) YOu definitely need to get used to the longer washing time - i mean really be prepared
2) washing detergent. for front load or continental style washers require the use of low suds detergent.
Spinmatic, Persil or Dixan and if im not wrong even Fab has the low suds formulation.
3) a bit more complex to operate. but seriously nothing much lah just that you can customise the washing cycle to better suit your clothes care requirements.
4) more sorting out of your clothes to different types
5) BE CAREful of colour runs. could be disastrous especially with warm washes and drying cycle.

But what you can expect are :
1) Way better wash quality
2) Longer lasting clothes (due to better care and less straining method of washing)
3) hygiene - because of temperature option
4) VERY VERy low water consumption and comparable or more efficient use of electricity (cold wash cycle)

As for second question
WEll you can just about wash everything into one wash. Though not recommended. for reasons
1) Some clothes really require special care like silks, wool, etc.
2) use of different detergent not a one size fits all again like silks, dark clothes, lycra etc.
3) some fibres tend to break more easily if soak in water too long. hence different wash times for different clothes

Although some things can usually be washed together like i would reckon (i mean this is person judgement and different individual have different level of tolerance)

Towels i would wash seperately with warmer wash
Everyday way like PJ, tshirt, shorts are good to go and sometimes i just throw in jeans(those that are seasoned so that colours dun run and also those worn just lightly).

as a general guide the washing cycle, spin speed and temperature must be catering to the clothes that requires the most attention.

E.g. in the case of say washing Lycra, towels and t shirts.

Technically towels ideal to use cotton
So is t -shirts - cotton.
lycra best to use delicate.

So in this case if you wash them together you would have to select delicate cycle to accommodate the gentlest clothes. Temperature would be cold too.

Hope this will help clear some of your doubts.

Washing is an art.

hahaa... yes wahsing is an art!!

im thinking of getting the miele machine when Tangs sales. I don think i need the extended warranty.

Hi Ridz u still active in the forum? Just wonder if i can buy the miele sportswear detergent at major dept stores? Any complementary detergents to replace if im lazty to go to the miele showroom?I'm using the miele activecare! Still exasperated that the new homecare series has so much more functions than the one i bought!I want to wash pillows!!!

Hi erica,

unfortunately miele does not sell their detergent in the market. Though you might want to check like tangs or best. if they sell.

depending on what you are washing, you can use the normal washing powder like spinmatic or persil or actually the best is dixan in the powder. the dixan is harder to find but its one of the best. i know bigger fairprice have the dixan powder, others usually have the dixan washing tablets which are even more expensive considering the number of tablets and price.

as for like silk there is perwool (hope got the spelling right) and as for softener go for vernel they are more expensive but better for skin.

do they have this ongoing package deal sale all year round? cos from what i read earlier, it seems like the package deal of washer + dryer is on whole year round. today i just bought the package deal at best denki and was wondering whether should i have waited to see if there are upcoming sales since i dun really need it till a couple of months later. now abit regret that i buy it so fast cos the lady actually told me this was a special launch and usually they dun have sale for the bundle package. Is that true?

think they have a promo set on sale every half a yr. next set probably lauching in Nov/Dec. If u get the single washer and dryer on their perennial model.. is more ex..maybe is better not sure.

The price for the next promo set might be quite similar. just that it might be different range, slightly different feature catering to different special needs. like i got the active care set which sporty pple might appreciate more than the curret homecare set promo. But i would have preferred the homecare set as I am more homely person. But i cannot keep on waiting for the next best set as I wouldnt be able to guess what will be the next promo set. Anyway I need a washer/dryer once i moved into the house.

I think the homecare set is good. the next set might be better or not maybe not. it depends.
But once they launched the new set, the older set likely no longer being offered. sometimes is just a bet.