Melbourne anyone??

hi celine

i'll be back on the 18th night. be returning to office only on the following Mon then can tell you more cos i only surf net when i'm in office.

butterfly

Hi sweetheart,
Enjoy your trip to melb! It'll be over before you know it.. If you need any help / assistance while you're here, can always give me a call.. Need red carpet too?? HEhee! Then can welcome you and your hubby in the airport!!! Haaa!

Cody,
i haven't been to the dracula eating place. I'm also very scared of those horror things.. Even if i watch action movie, sometimes i get scared too. HA haa! It's true lorr.. Then at night cannot sleep, then will tahan tahan not to go to the toilet.. Too scared.. He hee..

keann

Hi Sweetheart,
I hope you can enjoy your trip to Melbourne. Weather is quite good these few days...but still may be a little bit cold for you if you are coming from HOT HOT singapore. My friend was here yesterday and she felt sooo cold...but i thought was ok. So it depends on how cold u can tahan.
You can go to Bridge road. You can take tram 75 or 48 along Flinders St..and i tik you can stop along Stop 15 or Stop 16. Actually after Stop 15, you can stop anywhere...cos the tram goes along Bridge Road. When you see a lot of shops, you know you are in Bridge Road olediz....got Espirt, Portsmand, Nine West...just to name a few. Or you can check Chapel St out. It's not too bad as well. Or st Kilda beach on Sundays is good...cos there's sth like pasar malam along the streets there.
Hope this info helps.

Butterfly: i tik the dracula place is along cardigain st...heard it's not too bad...may go check it out when my hubby is here.

cody

keann, yes dracula is at cardigan street in melb.
go try it and tell me if you and your hub like it!

blueberry

Hi Kite,

Didnt get a chance to go.
That day when we wanted to go, hubby caught cold.
It was very cold that few days.
Will go there again but maybe in spring.

thanks butterfly and keann! your info do helps.

butterfly, got ur mail for ur contact. thanks for volunteering to give assistance while we are there.

kite~

Hi Sweetheart,

Hope you enjoy ur trip.

Btw, yesterday i went down to my tour agency, SA and like you, also encounter hoo-har with them. sigh. sianz.

In fact the tour agency hvnt confirm our tour and hvnt secure anything yet(make us jump up cos we hv actually pay $1k deposit and applied annual leave). Bcos our melbourne tour group needs minimum 10 person, right now there are only 2 of us. If the tour group doesnt not hv enough person of 10, SA will cancel our tour. And worst of all, they never tell us this matter at all! imagine last minute, we r so happy n they cancel our tour.

So it's either good or bad news. bcos which means we can switch F&E (like yours), buy 2 tours n get 1 free. But 1 thing is not fair, all my freebies n early bird bonus will be gone! haiz, really headache n confused now.

u mentioned u paying 1.1k inclusive of the 2 tours. for our F&E (they calculate for us), it will be 1.3k (accomodation n flight) + $285 (2 tours to get 1 free great ocean rd). end up $1.5k!!! haiz......

somemore at the travel fair, the guy told us our flight to Mel is at 8am. Now they told us our flight will be 8pm.????

kite~

aiya really thanks to my agency. haiz.

now we need to re-plan everything again.

anyway, may i know if i want to go to Melbourne zoo, aquarium, warrook cattle farm, big flower farm, danednong & e ranges, puffing billy, yarra valley, may i know how to get there if i do not want to book day tours or self drive. is there any public transport to get there?

also, when exactly does the summer school holidays start? i heard that is in mid-Dec. Can i have the exact date? cos i dont want crash with the peak holidays as i m re-planning my melbourne trip.

butterfly

Hi Kite,
Sorry to hear that you have to re-plan everythg again.. But we'll just see it in a positive way lah! I'm sure you'll enjoy yourself here! With tour or without!

Melbourne zoo and aquarium are accessible by public transport.

Dandenong and the ranges. Maybe there's a train going there, but i'm really not sure. It's better to drive.

Puffing Billy and yarra valley. It's about a two hour drive from the city, i think. So you have to rent a car.

Warook cattle farm and big flower farm.. I'm not sure where these are.. Sorry..

I think it's better for you to rent a car for a few days so you can go to the places outside public trsprt access. Melbourne has a lot of nice places which are about 2 to 3 hours drive away. If you have no car, it's very limited. You can only go to places around the city and along the train line..

But it's all up to you! Heee! Ok.. Anymore things, just let me know.. WOuld be happy to help you!!

kite~

Hi butterfly,

Thanks for the info. Aiya my tour agency called again that they have to wait for the Natas travel sale this week then can confirm whether we can switch to free n easy package. meanwhile i just hv to wait n see.

btw if we were to rent a car, do we hv to pay the parking fees if we park it at our hotel?

btw which hotel is better n convenient? Duxton or Ramada hotel? thanks.

keann

Kite:
I think you have to check with the hotels if they allowed you to park. Different hotels have different regulations. But if you have to pay for parking, it will be expensive.
Duxton and Ramada are both on the same st..which is flinders st...but in my opinion, i think Ramada may be a better place to stay. I said this becos, it is nearer to Swanston St, and you dun need to walk very far. Duxton is a little bit further down the st but is nearer to Crown Casino. Ramada (if i am not wrong, cos i used to live on flinders st) is quite new..mayb open abt a year or more.... cos when i moved out of that area, Ramada was still not up yet...

Hope this info helps.

blueberry

Hi Kite,

We stay in Melbourne for around 4 days.
The day is short and the nights are long.
We went taking tram around the city and outskirt of city. We also visit some friends studying there. The cold weather made us shun most of outdoor activities. We stay in the city most of the time. Went to yarra , crown casino and not forgeting the QVM. The shop closed early around 5/6. but for frid and weekend, longer working hour. We stay most days, lazing around enjoying coffee and eating. very relaxing.
We went with friends and their agenda is different. so got no choice but to compromise.
Shopping in australia for clothes is limited. Even when we went to Richmond area for shopping at the warehouse, the prices are not very cheap. It is almost the same in Sin, unless you are looking for design that you cannot find in Sin.
We then move on to Taz, where we enjoy more enjoyable.
Initially, we plan a mixture of both shoping(city) and visits to attraction. But since we are going to Mel and Taz. We had our shopping in Mel and sightseeing in Taz. I think sometimes the weather also play a part. It was very cold and this discourage us from exploring further.
We will be planning to go Mel again. With this in mind, we plan each trip with a different agenda.
This time city and shopping. Next time visit to attraction.
I think you all will surely enjoy the trip. Have fun. I did.

kite~

hi gals!

Thanks for so much info. hehe i will print it out this page and keep it as for reference.

btw, APT tours is very popular on day tours. however i heard APT is quite expensive. besides APT tours, what other tours afford reasonable n good tours? thanks.

butterfly

Hi kite,
Sorry can't help you with the tours package, cos i'm not too famliar with that one..

Regarding the car parking in the hotel, i think good hotels allow their guests to park for free. Maybe you just need to show your room number then they won't charge you.. I think that's the normal policy..

So have you decided on your tours?? Are you still doing the tours or free ane easy??

angph38

<font color="0000ff">anyone noes when is the Moomba Festival Next Year? i noe it's in March, but which week/days??</font>

kite~

Hi butterfly,

its ok.
thanks for your info anyway.

aiya my tour agency asked we all to wait until the Natas travel fair (19-21 sep 2003) is over, then he will see anyone sign up the melbourne tour group at Natas. If can hit minimum 10 person (cos right now only 2 of us), then we will go ahead with tour group else he will change our package to free n easy. so sianz hv to wait n wait until next week to confirm.

will keep u update again.

viavia

Hi, does anybody know if lavenders would be in bloom in Oct(springtime)? If not, would it be worth a visit? I've also heard that strawberry farms are best visited in Nov?

butterfly

Viavia,
I think most of the flowers are blooming at this time in melb!!! It's spring time and when you come to melb, you can even enjoy the neighbours' backyard which are usually full of pretty flowers!

Tulip farm is also open now! You can see all sorts of tulips, in different colours and you can purchase them at a cheaper price! I went there 2 years ago and i really like it so much!!! Took so many photos!! Heee! Worth visiting all the flowers farm at this time of the year!

Kite,
DOn't get bullied by the travel agent ya.. If they do somethg you know is not right, can always complain to the respective orgaisation (consumer right body). COs it really seems like they are 'throwing' you around.. Last time my future in laws bookes a tour package to China, then they pay in full already.. At the last minute, the travel agent just changed their itinerary. Instead of going to 4 cities, they only went to 2. I think it's very very unfair, especially if we have paid in full.. Heee..

viavia

Was thinking of visiting the lavender farm and strawberry farm at Mornington Peninsula but problem is thre dun seem to be any public transport on the peninsula itself and we can't drive.

Hey butterfly, where is the tulip farm located? How did you get there? care to share?

celyw

I managed to book airtickets for my Australia trip end of Nov, but now on waiting list for our return flights in Dec, quite headache!

now must book domestic flights, accomodations and car rental.

anybody got good recommendation for car rental in melbourne??

kite, your tour agency got service problem how can dun give any confirmation to you especially now booking airtickets very very difficult leh!! wat if last minute they told you cannot fulfil the tour package yet you oso cannot book flights for F&amp;E how!! must show them some colour!

cody

celine, call

Premier Rent A Car
271 Bukit Timah Road #03-05 Balmoral Plaza Singapore 259708
Tel: 65-6732 3375

Their rates are even better than Hertz or Budget!
The best part? the cars you get from Premier are actually cars from Hertz / Budget etc (all the large car rental companies with booths in the airport!)

like to thanks cody, butterfly, keane and friends for their wonderful info abt Melbourne.

hi, i'm back. enjoyed myself although got a big hoo-har with SA.

cody: maybe you like to update the list you gave us. hee
cos Crown casino buffet dnr is A$10.90 now and the food is still as good as ever but not sure abt the variety, okay lor. the rest is fine

celyw

hi cody, thot we booked in australia will be cheaper for car rental? no? my fren told me europcar not bad...

hi sweetheart, tell us more about your F&amp;E trip to melbourne please!! i would like to know more especially about accomodation!!

celyw

i oso got a problem with booking accomodation during our self drive around victoria, coz that time should be peak period so very worry cannot book accomodation there and then but if want to book now i am VERY LOSS! i surf the net everyday to scroll thru the lists of accomodation but really no idea which one to book!!

cody

sweetheart, glad you enjoyed yourself.
wah, price increase ah! but still cheap hor?
did you go to the Minh Tan 2 restaurant i recommended?

celine: the cheaper cars there are all quite old, easily 5-8 years old and the mileage is very high. not very safe i feel, coz the last thing you want is for your rental car to break down on you and spoiling your itinerary.

i stayed in Ramada hotel, just opp their Finders Train Station. is quite accessible by trams, trains and taxis. but not sure abt their parking facilities. They are quite okay and i shld say they are very kind to me and my hubby.

we reach the htel at ard 4.45am and our check-in time is only at 2pm. the night mgr check for us if there is any rooms available as of that time. there is and he let us check-in that early without any charge!

Ramada hotel is quite new, only in operation in Dec last year so the facilities are quite new, just that the restaurant a bit small

celyw

Hi cody, you dun scare me!! really so terok ah the cars over there??? thot my fren said the cars from europcar still quite new..

hi sweetheart, did you visit great ocean road, philip island, grampians, etc on your own? care to tell me more about it! Thnx.

cody

europcars are still alright, but they are not as large as hertz or budget. FYI all cars at hertz or budget are less than 1 year old. Very often, you get new cars of new models too! I got a brand new car once, mileage less than 1000 km !

those that i were referring to are really cheap, like $20 per day. They are often called "Rent a Bomb" ie the car can break down anytime.

celyw

thnx cody, i think europcar prices are quite reasonable i wouldn't want to get a car real cheap yet break down in the middle of great ocean road dat will be nightmare!! :0

you have any accomodation suggestion in port campbell? i need to book one dats nice and economical.

hi celine

unfortunately, wont be able to tell you much cos i didn drive. i joined their tour group when i'm there. only visited puffing billy, great ocean road and penguine parade

if u can drive, better to drive as you have your own time to play with.

cody

celine, check out europcar's rates and check out the Premier rates (i provided the number earlier). I used to swear by Hertz and Budget, until i came across Premier !!!

Port campbell accomodation is all about the same. None of them are any more luxurious than the rest. Most of them are clean and economical, so no worries.

One of the cheapest car rental I found in Melbourne is Quality Car Rentals located at 87 Inkerman Street Cnr. St. Kilda Road (03) 9534-3000 with unlimited mileage and very low excess. 'cos we were on a budget trip, we rented an auto Toyota Starlet (though not a very new car) for A$50/day..and drove it like mad to Great Ocean Road, Yarra Valley and many other places...didn't experience any difficulties at all with the car. Plus point of a small car is with parking...as the apartment where we were staying had only a small car park..the small starlet was very manoeuvrable within the confined space! Of course, the car rental place has got many other cars available. typically, accommodation and car rental places in st kilda are of much cheaper prices.

europcar's prices are quite high if you check around some more. don't be fooled by some of the rates as the underlying terms and conditions (restricted mileage, high excess etc.) might not be as attractive as the rate they quote you.

cody

KPO / Celine:

The car i got from Premier was a Nissan Sunny.
Paid S$50+ per day, also unlimited mileage plus ALL insurance inclusive.

The Nissan Sunny was very new, only about 1 year old. The car was also in very good condition, and easy to drive (auto). Came with CD-player too!

At that time that i went, the A$ was weaker than the S$. But now that A$ is stronger, i believe this rate of S$50+ is cheaper. (Note: Premier quotes you rate in US$, so you got to convert to S$ first.)

If i am not wrong, Hertz Budget and Europcars rates are all about A$70 (costs all inclusive) per day.

hey cody,

wow...that was a good deal you've got!
if you book in singapore, where do you go to collect the car when in melbourne? do you know if they've cars for rental in other parts of australia?

obride

hi cody and gals, can i share in the list please? please send to [email protected] . we are also planning a trip to mel next month.... but gonna be real tight.... 5d3n only,... effectively 3d3n only actually.... u think enough?

cody

hi KPO: i collected my car from the melb downtown office. Another time i collected it from the airport.
Yes yes! They have car rental throughout Aust.

Ob-rider: 3 days is quite tight, but a holiday for 3 days is better than none. You'll prob have to do some reading up / reserach to find out what you want to see / do, and head staight to those places when you are there. I'll send u my write-up shortly. happy planning!

celyw

I got a quote online from europcar for a toyota camry auto, unlimited mileage is A$50 not incl. insurance yet....expensive??

kite~

Hi Celine &amp; Butterfly,

Yup, even the NATAS travel fair has already over, my tour agency hvnt call us to confirm, sigh! Luckily, i have asked them to secure the F&amp;E air tickets for us liao just in case.

Hi celine,
when r u coming bk, in dec right? better book ur air tickets fast. cos my agency scanned the Dec air tickets vacany for me n all dec seats full house, taken up or still pending. but they managed to help us to secure F&amp;E air tickets if our tour group package is cancelled.

Hi Sweetheart,

so glad u hv enjoyed urself alot in melbourne.
will u go back again?

celyw

Hi cody, the insurance is A$22 per day, ex hor!

Hi kite, lucky you still got F&amp;E air tickets else really must scold the agency oredi!

i managed to book my airtickets but return flight are still on waiting list for our requested timing thou we are protected of a seat at another timing. Booked my domestic flight for Goldcoast to Melbourne and accomodation in Goldcoast.

But only this Melbourne accomodation give me headache!! kite, if you are taking the F&amp;E package will it includes all your accomodation??

cody

celine, there are other charges on top of the insurance. There is damage excess insurance, and there is the normal (compulsory) insurance of the vehicle.

I usually take on all the insurnace, to fully cover myself against any damage to the vehicle or to the other vehicles/people involved in an accident. So when the total cost is usually very high, until i found Premier car rental!

For the same coverage and vehicle, i paid so much less!

kite~

Hi Celine,

Ok lets say if our F&amp;E package is confirmed, Yes it does include accomodation either at the choice of Ramada or Duxton hotel. And based on your liking on whichever hotel, they put it as a priority for u unless fully booked.
HTH.