Melbourne anyone??

celyw

Hi kite,

no lah i think both F&E andf tour got their own advantage. Tour package dun have to worry abt accomodation & transport but for us we still have not find out accomodation yet. Heard the airtickets to Australia in year end is selling like hot cakes my frens told me i might not be able to book tickets!

butterfly

Heloo kite,
Hope to hear from you when you're here! Your schedules seem very packed and hectic lor.. BUt that's good right? You get to go to all those places! Even places that i've never even heard of! That's a good deal! If you're tired, then inform them that you won't be going to certain places lor. But do it once you're here. You'll always hv the choice of going with the tours or not.. BUt i'm sure you'll have so much fun here!

Other places will include: winery, strawberry farm, chees farm.. Shopping!! Lots of places for shopping. If you want high class one, then go to chapel st.. Factory outlets will be in Richmond area.. Transport is a bit different though.. BUt people here are generally very helpful and friendly.

Celine,
MElbourne is a good place for honeymoon! It's not as busy as sydney.. Well, city can be very busy / packed, but once you're in a suburb, then things will slow down a little.. Then you can enjoy yourself here! Lots of food too! There are greeks, portugese, asian, western food here! BUt food can be a little bit more expensive than spore. But of course, the portion is so much bigger! Can always share with hubby!

Let me know if you need more info lor! Would be so happy if i can help out!! Yipieee!

celyw

Hi Butterfly, I am very interested in strawberry & cheese farm leh!! so fascinating! where are they located??

actually my boss encourage me to visit sydney and goldcoast instead of melbourne he say mel is a good place to stay but for tourist should go sydney and goldcoast make me so confused! *sigh*

But i see alot of gals here recommend melbourne leh!

i def. need more info since i am on F&E, can recommend me whr are the plcs to visit? trying to plan out my itinery...

Thank you so much.

kite~

Hi Butterfly,

Nice to hear from you again. Btw Which one is more worth to visit? Great Oceans Road or Grampians National Park? thanks

butterfly

Hi Celine!
I can find out for you where the strawberry and cheese farm is. Give me more time too look for the info ok? But will promise that i'll get back to you! These places basically allow you to eat as much strawberries and cheeses as possible, while you are there! Not bad ah! Very interesting!

Melbourne, sydney and goldcoast offer different things. It all depends on you lor..

Melbourne has a lot of nature type of places. If you like mountains, beaches, something natural and refreshing, lot of greenery, then melb is the right place.

Sydney will be more cosmopolitan. Since you stay in spore, it's not really worth it to go to sydney lor.. A very busy place, though the weather is much better than melb!! Better try something different right?

Goldcoast.. If you like thrills and excitement, then can go there! There is sea world, movie world, and water world! Sea world is like the spore sea world. MOvie world is like disney land. BUt the smaller version. Water world is like the swimming place with lots of slides!

HE hee.. Confusing ah?? Once you're in melb, and you get bored, then you can always buy a flight ticket to sydney or gold coast. Sydney flight is very very cheap. Only costs $65 - single trip! Then you can spend some time there..

Helooo kite!
Very difficult to answer your question leh.. He he! Cos both places are equally good! Great ocean rd is a long stretch of road where you can stop at certain point and enjoy the scenery.. The scenery is mostly beaches and seas / oceans. For Grampians, is mostly waterfall, mountains, forests.. Those kind of thing.. Heee.. So depends on which one you like lor.. The seas?? Or the Greenery??

Cody,
Correct me of i'm wrong ah.. You can also add more!! HE hee.. I think you know more about melb than me lor!!

kite~

Hi Butterfly,

once again, thanks for so much info.

I guess i wld prefer the seas, Great Ocean Road. Btw as discussed with my hubby, we have decided to swap the programs for the 2 Free leisure day (Day 5 & 6) at Melbourne.

On Day 5 instead of gg to Great ocean rd, we have decided to go shopping at the city.

On Day 6, we planned to leave City early morning to Great ocean rd and then most likely will be staying over nite at great ocean rd. Can u recommend me any nice & reasonable price accomodation there? We plan to drive bk early in the morning on Day 7 to catch our flight bk to SG.

May i know in Melbourne, how early does the sun rise n set? cos i heard is different as compared in SG, the sun set very early at ard 5pm in Melbourne? whereas in SG, sun set at ard 7pm. thanks!

butterfly

HAloo kite!
Great ocean rd is a good choice! I'm sure you'll love it! As for the hotels / motels, i think you can search in the internet. I'm not so sure about that.. Sorry.. COs if i go there, it's usually a one day trip.

Look for the backpackers accomodation. It's much cheaper, but i don't know if you and hubby will like it or not. It's usually just a simple / small room. For the cheaper one, your bathroom is a shared one. That is the cheapest type of accomodation in melb - backpackers place. BUt if you want to pay more, then go for the motels. I think it's much better, but of course more expensive than the backpackers type. It all depends on you lor!! Heee! Cheap and not so good, or a bit expensive but more comfy!

The weather in melb depends on the season. When is your trip? Sept - Nov is spring. So the weather is much better than winter (June - Aug)! Sun rises at about.. Hmm.. NOt sure leh.. Cos i wake up at 7.30am, and it's very bright already.. HA ha! SUn set at about 6pm..

Summer is in Dec - feb. SUn will rise at about the same time, but day time is longer. So the sun sets very late.. ABout 7pm..

Ok! Have fun preparing for the trip!!

celyw

Thnx butterfly for your extra info!

that wat i think about Sydney too similar to singapore so nothing much to see but my boss was saying so much good things about sydney...??

a single trip to gold coast/sydney cost $65?? how come i check qantas online its AUD150?? anyone got good lobang for cheap domestic flight tix??

kite~

I went to community library but couldnt find any Lonely Planet and Frommers melbourne guide. Anyone can help? thanks.

cody

Celine, i have sent the write-up to you.

Domestic air tickets are often on offer. You can keep posted of their promos by signing up for their newsletter.

The A$150 you mentioned sounds like the normal fare. FYI domestic air tickets within Australia are even more expensive if you get your local s'porean tour agent to book it for you. Just get it online with your credit card!

Get online to www.qantas.au or www.virginblue.com.au . They have promos regularly, just that you need to be fast to book early!

pls note that these promo tickets are usually valid only on the less popular flights (eg mid-afternoon flight) and the quantity for sale at that promo price is usually very low. So you got to know what flight you want and act fast once the promo starts.

The newsletter will usually give you advanced notice of any upcoming promos.

kite~

Thanks alot Cody for the information. I will go online probably or go to Ngee Ann City.

Btw just to confirm over here.

Is Australia Tourism Commission located at United Square at Level 26th Floor?

And Australia Tourism Authority located at Goldhill Square?

Bcos i want to know what time they close and tried searching at the website but no avail.

anyone hv any idea? thanks.

celyw

Hello cody,

thank you so much for your info abt domestic flights, i will look out for promo today onwards!

By the way, I received your write up but I can't open the pdf file...is there something wrong wif my version??

celyw

sorry cody, i blur blur actually can open the file but i was looking at another empty screen!! so sorry! heehee...

hey, your write up very detailed! you can be those pro author that write in those travel magazines you know!

cody

kite, i think goldhill square is the old name for united square. yep, i think they should still be at that floor, provided they haven't shifted.

i dun think they have a website, but i DO know that they close very early like 5pm on weekdays and closed on saturdays.

Celine: thank you for your compliments. I hope my write-up helps you in your planning!

kite~

Once again, thanks Cody. U have been a GREAT help to all of us. Really appreciate it!

Btw do u have any recommendation of affordable accommodation if i want to stay overnite at Great Ocean Road?

Thanks a millions.

butterfly

Haloo kite, celine and cody!

Kite and celine,
You can check out this website that tells you all the interesting places in victoria. This includes melb and those accesible from melb.

www.visitvictoria.com

Hope it helps! Enjoy your prep!! I'm sure you'll love your trip to melb!!! It's FUN FUN FUN!

kite~

Is it true that Victoria Market closes on Mon and Wed? And other days it will be opened from 6.30am to 3pm and on friday will be open until 6pm.

Anyone?

butterfly

Heloo kite,
I think it's something like that. It doesn't open everyday. And you have to go there early during the day. It closes in the afternoon! Better to go on a saturday! MOst of the shops are open!!

hi kite

sorry for my late reply cos has been in and out of the office! here's my answers to ur questions.

yes, 2.2k is for 2pax inluding taxes, accomdation and flight. think ur 1.5k per pax is reasonable cos u will cover more things and most of ur meals (i think) are been covered while ours dont.

oops, my free tour doesnt include Great Ocean tour so this time round i will not be going cos no time as my free days, i will spend to shop. actaully got a big hoo-har with SA and went down on Sun to scold them off.

from SG to Mel is 7hrs flight, i will reach there at 0440hrs, early in the morning on Sunday. Vic mkt open till abt 4pm on Sat and Sun. other days only till abt 2pm while i remeber two weekdays are closed but cant remember which.

anything just post ur qns here again!

cody

Hi Kite, sorry can't recommend you any along great ocean road. My style of accomodation is really to book the room only when i am on the road; i start looking for accomodation when the sun is almost setting.

Try staying over in the larger towns along the great ocean road. Maybe Lorne or Apollo Bay ...can't remember, got to read the Lonely Planet guide book.

Regarding the operating hours of the queen victoria market, pls check this website: www.qvm.com.au

they have newly started wednesday night shopping as well. got to check out their website. Agree that going on a saturday is best, its most "festive" on saturdays coz there are many performers and people milling around the market.

blueberry

Hi Cody,

It's me. (Meow)
Came back from Holiday. Really want to thank you for your help.

Hi Sweetheart,

They are closed on Mon and Wed.

kite~

Hi Butterfly,

Thanks for the useful n informative website. U too, been a great help to all of us here.

Hi Sweetheart,

Oic. 1.1k per person is not bad too. But on top of that, u can to fork out more $ for ur own meals n etc which i think will add up maybe 1.5k?

which hotel are u staying?

oh, what happened with ur free n easy package with SA? care to share? cos this sun, i m gg down to extend my tour to 7 days. $50 extension per person, quite reasonable right? but excluding transfer to airport, meals n accomodation.

so r u gg to self drive in melbourne?

Hi KK,

Care to share your Melbourne trip n experience with us here? thanks.

hi kite

do u have an email add? tell u the experience over there cos dont think is really nice to put the bad things here abt them.

think so too after adding the meals. from cody and the rest, think buy one person share is enough for both of us, so maybe can share with hubby. anyway cody has written a very good write-up abt the eating places too that made me want to try everything.

no, will not be driving over there cos never really intend to travel far out of the city itself. if just the outskirts, maybe will just take their public transport instead.

i be staying at Ramada hotel, does anyone knows how the hotel's svc? butterfly?

butterfly

Haloo all!

It's good to help out in your trip preparation! It's my pleasure!

Sweetheart,
Ramada?? Hueeek.. I've never really heard of that before.. But if you can tell me the area, then maybe i can figure out where it is. Most of the hotels in melb is good. Unless if you opt for the backpackers place, then really have to check out the place. A lot of those backpackers places are in pubs / clubbing area. And here, it's more havoc than in spore.. I think.. Never been to one also.. HA haa. So maybe a bit dangerous lorrr..

For eating places, go to chinatown! Lots of nice food there.. Hungry already leeeh.. But if you want other local foods, go to brunswick area. Lots of greek food!! And indian food here is also very nice! Yummy!

kite~

hi sweetheart,

I will be staying at Ramada Hotel too. I think SA tours all arrange for us to stay at Ramada hotel?

btw i hv checked (if i m not wrong). Ramada hotel is somewhere near St. Kilda? somemore it's a 4 star hotel if i remember. correct me if i m wrong.

hi kite

emailed to you liao

butterfly, Ramade hotel is located at 270 Flinders Street, near some shopping area if i'm not wrong.

anyway, check from the web, Ramada is a 3and 1/2 star hotel, Duxton is then 4star hotel. in our pkg, is either Ramada or Duxton, but confirmed booking is with Ramada

keann

Hi sweetheart n Kite,
Ramada is not far from the shopping area..right across the Flinders station...and if u take tram 75 right outside your hotel, u can get to bridge road...shopping is great there.......hotel is very near to everything..even to crown casino..just walking distance...and southbank..pretty view...

Have fun in Melbourne

butterfly

Haloo all!

Kite and sweetheart, flinders street is in the city! It's a very good location! Can get to the shopping area in bourke st very easily, and as keann said, it's also very convenient to go to bridge rd! Lots of nice shops there!!

Keann... Haaaahhhaa! FYI, keann is my uni friends in melb uni! She's here in melb too! So any questions, can ask her also! HAhaa.. Yes keann?

hi keann and butterfly

where is the next best place to go after Vic mtk on Sun? as something crop up, got 3 tours now, so left 1 free day on Sun and another 1/2 on Thur before taking an afernoon flight back to SG

what time does the shopping areas open? cos may have sometime before departing for the penguine tour at 1.30pm on one of the days.

can suggest to me where are the must go places so not to waste my precious shopping hours

cody

for your shopping, if you have limited time, just concentrate on Bridge Road (Richmond) and Queen Victoria Market. Each of these places will easily take up half a day coz there's so much to see and buy!

Richmond has more clothes shoes etc that you can use for work in S'pore. QVM has fresh produce, sovenirs and casual wear.

if you want to go to a departmental store, Target, Myers or David Jones. David Jones is like the robinsons of singapore, altho its a little bit more expensive.

Actually there's 1 more market, cheaper and bigger than QVM that the locals go to. It's called the Carribean market, but its about 1 hour drive from the city. No point wasting this travelling time if you only have 1/2 day to spare.
Maybe more suited for Butterfly and Keann (go check out the largest shopping centre in the southern hemisphere too! Chadston shopping centre! it's HUGE !!!!)

celyw

Hello all, so happening in here today!

isit safe to self drive in melbourne??

do we need to self drive in gold coast??

blueberry

Hi Kite,

I went in mid Auguest.
Kind of like the place.
We stay at Quest on the Bourke, coz there is a spa bath in the bathroom.

Kind of like the pace there.
Except one thing, their shops close early...
We spent nights there roaming around the city and we also went to Crown, the casio there.
Like shopping at Richmond and Fitzory.
We travel around via tram , it is very convient.
My husband love it that place so much, we will be going there again

cody

driving in melbourne is very safe, just take alittle bit more care with the hook turn.

if you're taking mountainous route (eg mt buller or great ocean road), just follow the road signs and keep the the speed limit recommended. You'll be fine.

FYI that there are speed traps in melbourne; dun let a speeding summon ruin your holiday.

My personal opinion: no need to self drive in gold coast. there are shuttle buses to the theme parks for a nominal fee, and the shuttle buses have pick-up points all over town. As for the beach, most hotels in gold coast are located along the beach.

There are other attraction in gold coast of course, eg golf in the hinterland or go further up to sunshine coast, or brisbane (city). If you have planned something like that, then a car will be convenient.

kite~

Paiseh thought Ramada hotel at St. Kilda. hehe
btw, i have checked Australia Tourism Commission is at united square.

Australian Tourist Commission
101 Thomson Road
#26-04/05 United Square
Singapore 307591
Tel: (65) 6255 4555 Fax: (65) 6253 8431
Office hours: 9.00 am - 5.30 pm

Hi Butterfly & Keann,

Thanks for the info near ramada hotel. seems like Ramada hotel not a bad location and i will remember to hop on tram 75. hehe

Hi kk,

Thanks for sharing. so did u get to self drive or join day tour to great ocean rd?

butterfly

Haloo all!
Shops open at about 10 - 10.30am. It closes very very early. At 6pm. But shops like target (like a kmart kind off thing) closes later at 8pm. Target is in the city too! So for shopping in the city, better go to all the other places that close early, then at 6pm, can shop in target for 3 hours until it closes!! HA haaa!

Crown casino is also good at night! Should go there lor! It's a casino, but has lots of restaurants! Nice onees! And lots of shops too! So should check that one out.

Chadstone is BIGGG!! But it's far far away... HEheee!

butterfly

Heloo sweetheart!
Wwooowww! Going this weekend ah! So happy for you! Enjoy your trip!

Now is spring here. Weather is still cold, but is balanced out by the strong sunlight! It's about 16 deg celcius on average. I think it'll be more comfy if you wear pants / jeans, and a long sleeve shirt. But you can always wear a normal tee + jacket. Weather should be very good next week! Not too cold and not too hot! But maybe you need some adjustments here, but after 1 day, you'll love it! It's just like the air-con is on 24 hours a day! HE hee!

celyw

thnx so much cody, trust you to always give me such detailed info!
think goldcoast got enough attractions to entertain us so not going to venture brisbane or sunshine coast.

Now planning to go gold coast and melbourne how many days should we go in order not to rush and visit those nice attractions?? 2 weeks enough?

wow sweetheart, you are going this weekend so nice!! envy you!!

kite~

Wow Sweetheart,

so nice that u departing on this wkend. Enjoy yourself n remember to update us with your trip!
for me i still hv to wait for another 2 more months.
so hows preparation?

cody

celine: spend at least 5 days in gold coast
- 1 full day for movie world
- 1 full day for sea world
- 1 full day for dreamland (can't remember if this is the name, but these are the 3 main amusement parks)
- 1 day for shopping around town and lazing by the beach (have some meals al fresco by the beach, or better still go for a bbq dinner by the beach!)
- last day to depart gold coast for melbourne

rest of the time you can spend in melbourne. Dun forget that the days you arrive and depart australia will prob be half-days only.

hi KK, glad that you enjoyed your trip!

cody

celine, forgot to add that you should schedule one of your nights in gold coast to have dinner at the theme restaurant Dracula's. It's really fun! The concept of a horror theme restaurant is bit like the Eegor's in Singapore, but trust me, the Dracula's in Gold Coast is alot more fun! They even have a mini rail ride in pitch darkness to bring you from the bar to the restaurant !

Actually Melbourne also has a dracula's, but the melbourne one is very small compared to the gold coast one. Definitely worth the A$50+ ticket price per person!

If you want to go to Dracula's in gold coast, please please please call way in advance to make your bookings. They are usually serving a full house every night!

celyw

Hi cody,
there's this paradise country farm do you think its worth to visit? fun to have farm stay? melbourne no farm right??

dracula's ah! but i very timid one very scary right so how to have a peaceful dinner.....

cody

har? melbourne is a city, so there are def no farms. but Victoria (the state in which melbourne city is in) will def have farms. I dun know abt paradise country farm, but a farmstay is quite fun if its your first time with farm animals. After a while quite boring already.

Dracula's is really fun. You should try as least once! I was skeptical also, coz i am a chicken, but it was fun! Just remind yourself that its all a stage play and you're part of the cast!

thanks butterfly, thot so too.
now dont really need to carry heavy clothes. think the weather will be like what u say, air-con 24 hrs, maybe the same when i went Perth a few yrs back. is the wind quite strong still?

initially intend to go on a trip in Oct but hubby got change in his job scope and thus can't take leave so forward in sept.

will let u all know how's my trip and maybe can add a bit more to Cody's alrdy wonderful info.

so now keep asking qns for this few days to keep myself prepared and last day to check here will be Sat morning

celyw

heehee....sorry for sounding so suaku!! so if want to try farm stay maybe we can drive along great ocean road, grampians, or gipplands to look for farm right??

cody, thou you said you are a chicken but i think i really worst then you i really nvr watch any horror shows in my life leh! so you can imagine how timid i am!
But I think my husband will love Dracula!

yah sweetheard, pls tell us more when you come back ok, btw when are you coming back?

cody

hi celine

there won't be any farms along the great ocean road, but if you take the inland highway route back to melbourne, you MAY find some advertisements along the way for farmstays.

I'm like you ... i dun watch horror flicks, suspense movies etc! Scared to death, even those rides in Movie World gold coast scared the wits out of me. BUT i still maintain that Dracula's was fun! The melbourne dracula was not as exciting coz they dun have the rail ride.

here's more abt dracula's to tempt you!
http://www.draculas.com.au