Mattress

kiroro

Hi alpha

I'm waiting for my buddy to give me the contacts .. will email you once i get it

I'm eyeing on the Simmons Felicity model, after discount is about 2300 with 2 free pillows, free cordless Bang Ofulsen phone and mattress protector.

Any comments on this model ?

alpha

actually, u've forgotten the models that i liked :p
but i remember one is very comfortable....heard that its one of the most common one.... i don particular fancy the backcare range but there again, if my better half likes it, we may juz have that.... we'll look around at other brands too...

ya, do let me know the contact once avaliable...

xiexie!

princessz

hi Kiroro

I'm eyeing on the Simmons Felicity Model too. Love the comfortable feeling.....
Just waiting for it to be nearer my wedding date to buy.

Did the price went up? Cos the last time I ask, which is about a month ago, it was $1988 with 2 free pillows and mattress protector thrown in.

Princessz

kiroro

Hi princessz

The felicity model *king size* was more expensive. I believe the $1988 price you quoted was for queen size (I've got the brochure here just to double-check). They had this 'wedding promotion' with the 2 free pillows + protector + phone and it ends on next mon.

Yup, love the plush feeling of felicity model. there are 4 models of the beautyrest 2001 series -
expedition, apex, felicity and westbury ( price goes up in that order). I love westbury too and is priced at 2659 for a king size and 2399 for queen size. westbuy a little more comfy that felicity cos of the pillow top on it.

princessz

Hi kiroro

Yup, we were looking at the Queen Size model. *phew* thought the price went up so fast :p

The sales rep from the Simmons Gallery (Paragon) we visited told us that the wedding promotion (i.e the 2 pillows and mattress protector) is always on so he told us to rush to purchase the mattress if not we got to pay for storage since we only need it in late Jan. But the promotion for the phone ends next monday though.

Yup, we saw the 4 range and we did prefer both the Felicity and the Westbury. But Westbury is alil too pricey..so we settled for Felicity.

Are you going to get the bed frame from Simmons? And are you buying the mattress from the warehouse instead?

We're currently still scouting for wooden bed frame, may have to custom made. The other day we saw this bed frame we like at this shop called "Oser" at Delphi but it cost $7K, so it's too way out of budget for us already.

Princessz

kiroro

Hi PrincessZ,

We've got the same taste!!
I love OSER designs esp. for the kitchen but it costs a bomb $25K to do up the kitchen alone if you want the exact same thing in the showroom !

I checked out simmons gallery at paragon and they told me no need to pay for storage and they can hold on as long as we want so just call them 3 days in advance prior to the date you want them to deliver. Maybe you might want to pay them a visit at paragon - the lady's name is Eleanor.

I'm not getting a bed frame since I got my ID to build a raised timber platform area ( like a step-up from the ground) and besides seating the mattress into the platform, i can put lamp shades etc on the platform itself next to the bed. kind of neat !

I dun think the warehouse had felicity and westbury models.

kiroro

Hi hazel

with teh promotion, the price is now lower about 2659 which the lady qupted for me, plus freebies somemore ..
2799 is the original price you paid for, i believe.

kiroro

Hi Hazel

I missed out in my previous reply to you - how's the westbury mattress so far ? It's a tough choice between Felicity and Westbury.

h2o

Hi Kiroro,

I've also been 'hunting' around for a Simmons mattress these days. Can you email details about the warehouses which carry simmons mattresses to me at [email protected] ?

Thx

hazel

hi kiroro,

what promotion is dat? is it at the showrooms as well, or oni available in the warehse... wat are the other freebies? well, i haven't received the mattress yet... but, i will be entitled the lower price if the mattress' price drops b4 delivery...

niway, thanx in advance for clearing my doubts.. sorry can't comment on the mattress... haven't slept on it yet... but we had to custom-make our bed-frame cos' of the thickness... and most likely gotta alter flat sheets to get fitted ones.

kiroro

hi hazel

the promotion is called the wedding package or somethin g like that .. u got to tell them u r getting married (either ROM or customary) and they will ask u fill up a form and you are entitled to a special rate with the freebies plus the bang olufsen cordless phone itself worht 200+. This is from the simons gallery, not warehouse.i believe the warehouse do not carry the house brands found in simmons gallery like westbury etc.

hazel

hi kiroro,

i got the wedding package (2 free pillows and mattress protector), with the B+O phone voucher.... but NOT with special rate of $2659 though.. from wat i noe..

orginal price of Westbury KIng is $2799
pay cash => 5% discount => $2659

UOB Credit Card instalment => $2799 / 12 interest free instalments for 12 months

Citibank Credit Card instalment => 5% discount => $2659 / 12 interest free instalments for 12 months

my concern is whether the original of Westbury KIng has dropped... or rather is the price the sales person quoted u based on some assumptions of the payment method...

junebrides

Hi Hazel

I bought a Westbury King too. From what i understand from the sales lady, the 5% discount is for all irregardless of the method of payment. (i.e cash, nets, visa). Newly wed couples get the 2 free pillows and mattress protector.

For me, the price was $2659 (after 5%) discount. The free gifts were the pillows, matress protector and the phone. I used the Citibank visa, thus, can pay the $2659 via 12 installments.

Hope this helps? ;-p

kiroro

Hi junebrides

That was what the sales lady Eleanor (@simmons Gallery paragon) told me as well. She's able to store the mattress for us as long as we want to and just have to give her a buzz 3 days prior to delivery date.

Would you recommend Westbury ? I'm still thinking of either Felicity or Westbury king. Also, is it easy to get fitted sheets for Westbury since it is 11 inches thick ? I was told that only selected brand of fitted sheets will be able to fit e.g. sintex, sheridan.

hazel

Hi JuneBrides,

thanks for the effort to help, niway, i oso paid with citibank visa like u, 5% discount and 12 mths instalment...

have u bought ur bedframe? like i mentioned previously, we had to custom make our bedframe, cos we wanted the leather cushioned headboard kind... FH feels dat me veri clumsy, so better to have everything well cushioned...

Hi Kiroro,
Westbury is 13inches thick, i think 11 inches is for felicity... i have tried shopping for bedsheets, but to no avail, even flat sheets are quite diff. to find these days... esp. king-sized
if anyone noe of gd places with nice king-sized flat sheets, kindly post on the forum pls...

kiroro

Hi Hazel

I've asked the Robinsons simmoms sales lady, and she said sheridan or sintex will be able to fit westbury king. they can also custom made for you if u want. Maybe you want to give that a try ?

kiroro

Hi Alpha, H2O

I'm still waiting to hear back from my buddy re:the warehouse , and at the meantime, i found this on the web - Here's the addresses of the warehouses :

1. KengSan Trading
Products : king koil, simmons, stylemaster, dunlopillo etc
tel: 271 7966
1 pasir panjang #05-22/23
Alexandra Distripark

Maybe can call and ask if they have the model you want before making a trip down ?

kiroro

Hi Hazel

I still cannot decide .. westbury is about 300 more and the simmons lady told me that the only diff betweem felicity and westbury is the pillow-top on top of the westbury mattress, otherwise, is the same. What do u think ?

kiroro

Hi Alpha, H2O

I just called KengSan trading and they said they do not carry Simmons brand cos Simmons dun do whole-sale. Only american brands like king coil etc is what they have. They are open from 10 am - 6 pm daily.

hazel

hi kiroro,

i haven't had a chance to try on felicity ... thou i've been to Great World, IMM and the Plaza... so i really can't tell the diff. betw. the 2... but i've already ordered Westbury, so my choice is clear.... i was actually deciding betw. Victoria and Westbury... cos' Victoria is much cheaper, at abt. $2K... but do tell us ur choice... mebbe we can all (wif JuneBrides too) go shop for special bedsheets for our extra-thick mattress... ;)

kiroro

hi hazel,

I haven't seen the Victoria mattress. is it under beautyrest 2001 series ( dun think so, rite ?)
Anyway, I also need to shop for special bedsheets too for Felicity since it is thicker than normal, just 2 inces below westbury.

hazel

hi kiroro,

sorry, i can't remember which series is Victoria in, if i am not wrong, Victoria has pillow-top and has normal thinkness of betw. 9-10inch... thus will be much easier to find bedsheets.. but it is NOT non-flip... during the GSS, they were selling at a discount rate of 2K, usual is 2200.. plus free quilt cover... dunno if the promotion is still on... u can go to either IMM or the Plaza to try it... but the fabric for victoria is veri diff. from the westbury range... and it is oso not as comfortable...

F

fluke

hehe...seems like quite a number of us got the king westbury model..
maybe we can pool our resources together and find the bedsheets then

kiroro, get the westbury lah...non flip is a big plus esp if you r getting a kingsize. need to flip 4 times a wear leh...

kiroro

Hi Fluke, H2O

I very tempted to get westbury leh. . but really worried about getting the fitted bedsheet of right size (i cannot use the flat ones). Both felicity and westbury are non-flip, only diff is westbury comes with a pillow top for that extra plush.

H20 - you planning to buy that also ?

h2o

Hi Kiroro,

I'm not intending to get Westbury (WB) coz of budget constraint. But I LIKE IT, especially the pillow top. It makes the mattress feel firm & soft at the same time, so comfy. Actually sleep on it for a few minutes in one of the Simmons gallery.....

Maybe you can check out those brands which carry WB fitted bedshits. See whether they are easily available & whether they have frequent promotions (so that you can go on shopping spree during sales seasons).
If they meet these conditions, you don't have to worry anymore.

I may be getting 'exquisite excellence' before Robinsons promotion ends if I can't find cheaper sources soon.

junebrides

Hi to all

I have not had my matress delivered yet (only next week) but today I went down to Simmons gallery just to measure the Westbury King ;-)
It is abt 12 inches thick (including pillow top).

According to the sales lady, there is no problem buying bedsheets. She told me about her own personal experience. She said that when she changed her matress from a King Koil to a Simmons, she had no problem using back her old bedsheets. According to her, her new Simmons matress was alot thicker then the King Koil.

I also went down to Robinsons to take a look at the bedsheets. Found that alot of brands carry fitted sheets that cater for mattress that are 12 inches thick. Anything more than that might be a little bit of problem. If you want custom made bedsheets, it can also be done. The Robinson sales lady told me that it only cost $14-$20 just to lengthen the bedsheets. Dun know whether it is really true.

Okay, will feedback more after my matress arrive next week. Anyone bought their bedsheets for Westbury yet?

h2o

Hi Kiroro,

I've finally committed to buy a Grand Victoria @$2150 over the weekends, coz it's having a promotion --> came with a free bedframe.

How about you???

hazel

Hi "Westbury owners",

Went to do "mkt survey" on fitted bedsheets...

Sintex has 12" fitted sheets, 250 threadcount(TC)
Sheridan, 32cm => 12.8" fitted sheets, ard.250 TC
Peri, 13" fitted sheets, 400 TC (ard. $200+)

But one thing to ascertain... gotta make sure that the sheets will fit nicely, well tucked under the mattress, and not wif the edge of the sheets showing on the side of the mattress...

niway, thanks Junebrides for providing the exact ht. of westbury, cos' I was thinking of going down to do so too... my delivery will be betw. mid - end Sept... till then, JuneBrides, pls update us... thx!

kiroro

Hi H2O,

I've decided to get the Felicity model @ $2395 with 2 free pillows and mattress protector thrown in under the 'wedding package' promotion.
Felicity is about 1-2 inches shorted than the Westbury, and almost as comfortable as westbury

(of course westbury a bit more plushy cos of the pillow top thus cost $300 more).

I don't need a frame cos mine is on a step-up 6 inches raised timber platform built on top of the floor

wkg

one n all, do let me know if u need to know something abt bedding or mattress, ok ? I'm no expert but hv use enuf brands (ok, ok, ok almost enuf, eh say boh ?) to know abt a thing or 2 abt it.

julietk

hi wkg,

I'm getting married in Dec and have yet to get the bed and mattress. Have only looked around at John Little & Harvey Norman. Thought the King Koil queen size pocketed spring mattress (firm) seems to be quite reasonably priced abt $800. As we r staying with parents temporarily after the wedding, we might get a new bed & mattress in future, so don't intend to spend too much now, maybe $1500 for bed+mattress total. Is this a reasonable budget? Also, what is the difference between using a divan set and bedframe? My FH has his eye on a wooden bedframe, but some people said a divan is better. Please advise, thanks!

wkg

Hi julietk

We hv always believe in quality but don't get me wrong, price is no absolute guarantee but there again some things are.

The bedding which we are using is 'Simmons'. They come in level of firmness - form very soft to very hard (gd 4 pple wiz back problems).

When we got ours, they were having a updrading promotion. Eg, u pay for level 3 but get level 4 quality n they were also giving away pillows, bolsters, pillow n bed protectors. So it was quite a gd deal. (pillows were 'down' feathers, let me know if u want to find out more abt them, ok ?)

As the price differential for a super twin (which is bigger than a normal twin bed) is maginally lower than a queen bed, we bought Queen sized bed for our son n daughter. Reason was tat we it will be next to impossible for them to outsize it.

For ourselves, we got a King sized bed bcos we like space (now behave yrself n dun let yr mind run wild, it is not wat u r thinking. Shame on u. But in a certain way u r not wrong. Hee He Hee)

Personally, we dun like divan. I believe that bed must hv 4 legs so we went down to Ikea n bought wat we were looking for.

To wrap up, these r wat u wil b loking out for in a bed :)

a) firmness

b) type of springs (pocketed, individually or otherwise)

c) is there a layer on top n bottom to cover e spring. Otherwise u will be like the princess sleeping with a pea under her back.

d) usually (but might not be the norm) I find tat gd quality mattress r usually very heavy probably due to the materials.

e) I am of the opinion tat e 'ang moh' brands seem to be better.

f) I discovered tat most htls uses 'Simmons'. Does this mean something, I honestly dunno.

TIP

To prolong the life of a mattress, always 'rotate' e mattress.

The mattress hv a top n bottom right. So it will be turned over on alternate month.

In addition, the bed will also be turned around the bed. Mark it with numbers. So '1' might face lower left this month, next month it will face the extreme right, 3rd month it will face top right so on so forth.

Yes this might be ley cheah but it is necessary after having paid such a sum of money for the mattresses. Also, learnt this trick from htl housekeepers.

Finally, reason why I was prepared to spend such a sum on the mattress bcos

i) sleep is so impt that I want it to be as comfortable as money can bye

ii) 8 hrs is a long while to spend on a bed, so quality is impt

iii) during 'those moments' it must not 'creak'. Know want I mean ?! ;-^

Sori, vely cheong hei but since u have bothered to ask I owe it 2 u to explain it. Must at least appreciate yr effort of asking. Sighhh, it is sad how we take things for granted sometimes. If only we appreciate more and blame less, right ?

Till next time, julietk, thank you for asking.

julietk

hi wkg,

Thanks so much for your detailed explanation.
I'm very much enlightened now. I agree to a certain extent that quality comes at a higher price, but that is not always the case. I've heard many comments that Simmons is a reliable brand and it's good for people with back problems.

However, I've read from this forum that Simmons' prices are rather on the high side, abt $2000 for queen size, if i'm not wrong. I think it's a price worth paying for since nearly 1/3 of a day is spent sleeping. But as I've said, we r trying to keep to a tight budget now and we might get a new bed+mattress set in future, that's why I'm in a dilemma whether I should splurge on such an expensive mattress now. And what if I buy a queen size now and if we move to a bigger place in future, we decide to buy a king sized one (his present room is too small for a king size bed)?

Secondly, my FH who has slight back problems switched to using a firm King Koil mattress, and so far he says it's very comfortable and good for his back. I don't know whether it's his back which improved or the mattress which helped. Anyway, the price seems really attractive. I thought King Koil is an American brand, so isn't it an 'ang moh' brand'?

I think I'm even more cheong hei, so thanks for being so patient. I'm basically in a dilemma because of the above points I mentioned. Guess it's about making choices, but u would have better ideas as u've experience setting up a home. Care to advise? Thanks!

wkg

Hi Julietk

Yup, I understand yr challenges. Prior to moving 2 my present hse, I went thru wat u r going thru now. I hope that u will find my xperince helful.

Qstn: How long wil b at yr parents place ?

With e ans, I'll hope that I'll hv some advs 4 u then, ok ?

julietk

Hi wkg,

We'll probably be staying at my in-laws' flat for a year. Btw, besides Ikea, where else can we shop for a wooden bedframe? Thanks for your help!

peaches

Quite new to this forum but I saw quite a bit of postings here, so decided to give my 2 cents' worth.

Popped by Simmons gallery at Stamford house abt 4 weeks ago, and they are having a special promotion where they are giving 40% off those Simmons matteresses that have a slight stain on them. Went up to see the mattresses, and noted that the backcare 3 (king-sized) to be going as cheap as $1200. The only downside to it all is that you will have to take delivery within 3 weeks, and there will be NO instalment plan, and NO warranty. But as the salesman had said, there will not be much of a need for warranty as Simmons mattresses are all of a high product quality. It is only during shipment of these mattresses that some of them will have some stains of them due to poor handling.

I bought a Backcare ultimate (a king sized one with 5 zones) for abt $1600, and its only defect is a slight dust stain on the left hand corner. Very satisfied for its retail price is close to $3k. I talked to the salesman and discovered that Simmons will hold warehouse clearance sales from time to time. So if anyone of you are hampered by budget constraints and wish to enjoy the comfort of a Simmons matress, you can ask ard for such warehouse sales.

I am currently looking for a contractor for my kitchen cabinet (a small one that is abt 10 ft). With my budget constraints, I really need to find a cabinet that is below $2k. Can anyone help in this area? Thanks!

wylynn

Hi Peaches,

You can try to buy Ikea Kitchen cabinet. They will fix it up for a % of their price. Quite reasonable. But i'm not too sure about durability.
Or you can try contractors. But I think $2k for 10 feet quite difficult. You can try contractors. Look under the tread "How is impress21". I have engaged him to be my contractor and has many gd comments on him. His price is very reasonable. Maybe you can talk to him and see if can work something out.

wylynn

Hi Peaches,

I have not got the quote from impress yet. Was supposed to be done by another contractor to do the kitchen cabinets but some things happen and now i'm going to let Impress do it so have not got the quote.

Btw, saw in today's papers that some coy is offering kitchen cabinets at $70pfr. sound cheap. U can look out. Sorry can't remember exactly which section but it's one of those bottom corner adverts.

Good luck !

searcher

Hi all, wonder if anyone of you can suggest any shops that sell nice bed frames at a reasonable price? those fabric type.... I quite like the bed frames at Lami, but the prices are really too steep for us. Thank you in advance for the suggestions posted.

belanda

does anyone know what brand of mattress I should get if I want it to be a 2m by 2m European king size mattress ?

Anyone knows what mattress is used in :

1. Westin Hotel's Deluxe Room

2. Marina Mandarin's Suite

Also, does anyone know what brand of bed linens/comforters is used in the Marina Mandarin Suite ?