Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi Herimone,

The perks is offered to couples who produce the SingaporeBrides.com card at the time when the booking is made.

Hi Tia

My banquet co-ordinator is also Irene. I'm not sure what do u meant by 'tough to deal with'. Me & my hubby were quite 'green' at that time before we book our wedding venue and we've never thought of what to bargain for cos we didn't know abt this SB forum. While we were discussing the details of the agreement with Irene, there's quite a few items which we never thought of and she offer it to us without us asking for it. She's been quite helpful when I called her a couple of times with regards to the banquet. I'm not sure abt other gals, but individual's expectations are different. Give it a try...

Btw, r u already a MM bride?

Hi Herimone

We've compared with the other hotels and found that MM has the more comprehensive package, not much of hidden cost... so not much to bargain. Sorry, my agreement is not with me rite now and can't recall much. The only thing I can remember is that she's willing to swop your 3-tier real cake for either another nite stay at one of their deluxe rooms or free food tasting. At the same time, she'll provide a dummy cake for your wedding. So it depends on your requirements at the same time cos some may need the real cake to distribute to their guest, so they need to exchange for something else. I'm sure MM will do their best to give it to you if it is within their abilities. I'm sure it's about the same for the rest of MM brides.

Btw, what did u bargain for your package?

Hi luzon888,

We did not get any additional stuff. We paid the amount as stated for the package.
Thinking of asking for more now, do you think it's still possible?

Have u tried the "Pheonix Style" Shark fins before? I have tried the "Three Kingdom". There seems to be very little shark fins in it. Would like to find out if there is more in the "Phoenix Style". As it is what we were told.

Hi Herimone

Are u refering to the initial quotation that they present to u before paying for deposit? What do u intend to bargain for? Not sure if they still allow u to bargain if the agreement has already been signed... Maybe u can check with your co-ordinator. Btw, dun mind asking who is your co-ordinator and when's your wedding??

Hi Luzon,

Having huge headaches since I have not finish printing my Chinese invites yet. Table arrangement not done yet. Guo Da Li not fixed yet. Sigh......

Hi Linda

Remember to share your views on MM after your wedding yah. Me more or less decided that it will be at MM for us, Dec next year though
We have already reserved a date with MM.

Hi Linda

How many tables do u have? btw, which invites did u choose... chinese, western or mixture of both? if u really can't cope, maybe u can try to get your mum to help u with the auspicious date for your guo da li. I believe your mum will be glad to be part of your wedding preparations and she will also know who to look for when comes to choosing auspicious dates. Anyway, she'll just need to know your birth dates. Maybe can ask her to get a few dates just in case anyone of u can't make it on any particular day.

HI Luzon,

It is my MIL who cannot decide....
I am having around 62 tables...to be confirmed...
I took 350 western and 150 chinese.

Hi Tiara,
I will surely inform you gals.

Hi Luzon

Not much done, seems like a lot of misc things can onli do when nearer to the date...now waiting for photoshoot in June and looking for favours

Did any of u get June Florist to do the decor? i have yet to meet up wif them but heard they are exp

Hi Luzon,

I just met up with the events mgr to finalise some details. Now I am starting on my invitation cards. I have been calling my frens yesterday
Next will be writing the invites for my colleagues. I think I better book them early coz seems like a lot of pple getting married on 26 May! =P

Jowie, u planning photoshoot in june?? I dunno if I should do in June or July... but June not enuff time for me to slim down leh...

all these later nights working does not seem to help me slim down... now trying to faithfully squeeze out some time to go gym regularly...

Hi JenJen

Me photoshoot in June, separate days for in and outdoor. Hope the weather will be more accomodating on the outdoor day, me the kind walk 10 steps start to sweat liao!

Hi Jowie,

Mine also separate days for in and outdoor... I dun sweat easily but my hubby does...

so far how's ur prep?? found ur actual day photographer and videographer yet??

maybe u will like to reply me in the Nov brides thread instead??

Hi luzon888,

My coordinator is Pauline. Actually, don't know what to bargain for.

Oh yes, do u have any idea how does the chocolates looks like for MM?

for those getting married in Jun 02, anyone intend to show the world cup matches during your wedding? if yes, can MM do it?

I am a Dec bride, i am thinking of confirming my booking with marina mandarin, they will be giving me the level 5 ballrm, which is more like a resturant instead of ballrm. Can anybody comment on the services and food? I did not visit the bridal suite. Does anyone visited the rooms?
I would appreciate any reply. Thank you

Hi passion,

I heard that they can't cos they don't have the antenna for it. And I heard from Pauline that some couples actually bring it their own antenna and stuff. And some even say that their guests told them if they dun play world cup during they won't turn up! To me, if that's the case, I won't even welcome them!

My wedding is on 10 June. I think there is a match. I already told friends, if they want to watch world cup, then dun come!

Hi Linda

Your wedding is drawing near, you must be feeling excited now. Who else is getting married soon at MM?

My coordinator was asking if we were ready to make a booking now but I still think it is too early

Just had my wedding dinner on Sun at the Les Oiseaux. I had a wonderful time. Beng Khoon did a wonderful job for me and everything went smoothly except for the seating arrangements.Roger the operations manager also did a great job. My guests love the food. I love the Mango Sago with Ice-cream. Really yummy :P Oh n and the decor was really nice and romantic.

Am so glad I chose MM

Hi Bluebell

Congrats! so happy for you that all things turn out well. What theme did you take for the decor? what are the dishes you have selected? Mine wedding is another half a year more. thanks

It is my turn in another 10 days time. I am so scared and yet dun feel like a bride at all. But nevertheless, I feel glad that comments on MM have been good.

Hi dap,

I took the gold theme. It was beautiful. I also specified the flowers I wanted. My own theme was Garden so I took the vase ice-carving.

My dishes...eh...let me recall...Suckling Pig Combo, Prawns in Oriental Sauce (yummy! only main dish that I get to eat), duck with pancake (i think),lotus leaf rice (the guests love it)...eh...cannot really remember liao and the Mango Sago with Ice-cream. The dishes were recommended by my MM co-ordinator , Beng Khoon.
So you can ask your co-ordinator if you are not sure. Btw, I din go for food tasting, just trusted Beng Khoon's opinions :P

Half a year more...you must be really excited.
How's your preps?

Hi Linda,

It will be great for you too. On that day, I wasn't nervous at all as well. Guess the excitement kinda wore off after one and a half year of preps. It also helped that the MM staff were very efficient and professional. No worries at all

Hi bluebell

my coordinator is Beng Khoon too. I have also told him i want the vase ice carving. What flowers did he put inside the vase? So what flowers did you get? did you pay extra for more flowers?

Those all the dishes Beng Khoon has recommended too except for the rice. he recommended mee suan instead. so which is nicer: mee suan or lotus leaf rice?

I dun know what to do now. do you have a things to do list? program list? can email me?

Hi Bluebell

Congratulations! Happy to hear that everything went smoothly on your big day.
How many tables do u have at Les Oiseaux? Issit very cramp? Can post what u've chosen for your menu? sorry hor, hope this is not too much.... thanks!

Hi Linda

Just relax and be a happy bride... congratulations too! Remember to update us after your wedding.

Hi Bluebell,
Congrats!
Really happy for you that everything went on smoothly for you
Thanks for sharing your experience with us too

Hi Linda,
All the best for your wedding that is coming up soon
Do drop in and share withh us after that, yah?

Thanks bluebell for the comforting note...I will try to enjoy the day!

And girls, thanks for the congratulations.
I am not very excited over it now....maybe waited this for too long so a bit siaz already and so busy with the preps now....hope I will get excited soon.....

Will update you girls as soon as I get back!

Hi Bluebell

Congrats! Glad your day went well
All the best in your marriage

You mentioned you had a garden theme - the floral table cloths? Also I have been hearing so much about the waiters providing a very rushed service to guests, did you have this problem?

Hi Bluebell,
Congrats!!! Happy for you that all went smoothly and that u enjoyed your BIG day

Hi Linda,
Totally understand how u feel abt being unexcited and sian...coz me feeling the same way too tho my wedding is in a month's time. And I've also been telling friends that it's coz of the too long prep that we're sort of running out of steam now, really hope the excitement will come back again.
Anyway, remember to delegate tasks to friends and just relax and enjoy that day...remember that it's only ONCE in a lifetime and once that day is over, it is over...so think of it as a VERY BIG event and psych yourself up for that day...esp since u have only one more week to go...just one week...time flies, and before u know it, it's Friday...then Sat...then Sun...and it's YOUR BIG DAY!!! Oopppssss...trying to get u excited here and in the end got myself excited for u instead...hehe
Well...really hope u will enjoy yourself and be happily united to the man of your dreams
CONGRATS!!!

MM brides whose wedding is over, I will like to know roughly how many minutes did ur march-in (1st and 2nd) took?? And also first dish, roughly how long... coz thinking of finding songs but dun want it to be too long or too short... pls advice... any other music we have to choose??

Hi Girls!
I am back! MM is great! I like the first dish presentation! Very happening! I didn't choose the song but the one they played was quite standard, I think it is Vanessa Mae's piece.

I think you don't have to find a song that matches the length of the aisle. My aisle was short cos I used 3 ballrooms and walk in from the center door right to the stage. They know when to lower the volume to suit the end of march ins.

The banquet manager Roger was good. He advised us on a lot of things, liase with the musical technicians even though we had last minues changes to the march in song....He even make sure I look good on stage by plucking flowers petals off my head.....And advise us quite accurately on the consumption of beer cos we finished all our 90L by the 6 dish and he advised us to go for 20L instead of the 30L we wanted. heng...cos that barrel only managed to use slightly more than half.....

Staff were fine except for the fact that they dun top up drinks very frequently. The speed of serving was quite prompt too. We started the dinner at 8.40pm on Monday and by 10.45pm, the guests begin to leave after finishing the last course. Everyone stayed till the last dish which was a rarity for weekday dinners. But you have to be 'cruel' and close the doors, prepare for march in by 8.45pm.

A note: The captains who were serving the red tables clear all uneaten dishes before I had a chance to nibble at it. Esp my sharks' fins!!
So if you want them, remember to ask your manager to tell the service staff to leave it there! My frens say never ever seen a bride as 'tan1 chi1' as me! :P

And please make a note to keep cool and savour the moment and look at the ballroom.
I didn't and now I cannot even remember how it looked like....So sad.....only from the video cam we took......All I know was change at 1st course, change at 7 course...... And do your march in SLOWLY!!!! Enjoy the moment! I walked too fast and the aisle too short.....Sigh......

Hi Jen Jen,

I dun know how long it took coz I was enjoying my march-in..hehehe...abt I used songs of abt 3 minutes for each march-in. I only chose my march-in songs and the dinner music. For first dish presentation, I left it to the MM staff.

Hi Sally,

yup, it's on the fifth floor, very nice. My guests commented it had a cosy and romantic feel.

Hi Dap,

eh, I cannot remember the flowers coz I was too busy at the reception
But I did specify that I wanted lilies with champagne roses. I din have to pay extra for the flowers tho he did say it depends on whther the flower we want is in season.

I think the rice is better. I had the mee sua at my fren's wedding and the waiters scoop the meesua all over the table. Very messy. And a lot of guests commented the rice was good.

My program list? ok, pls give me your email. I will send to you.

Hi Luzon888,

My menu includes Suckling Pig Combi, Lotus Leaf Rice, Live steam fish ( some guests say overcooked) , Prawn with Oriental Sauce (very good), abalone with vergetable, mango sago ice-cream.

The room was not too cramped. I had 27 tables. Just nice.

Hi tiara,

I din choose the floral table cloths. Din know they have anyway. Mine is the gold theme. I made sure I had flowers on my gown and I had a floral handmade card for guests to sign. I also chose the flower vase ice-carving to complete my own floral theme.

The waiters were very efficient. Not too rushed
But I think it depends on the no of tables you have as well. If you have more tables I think they will rush

Hi Linda

Relief to know that you like their 1st dish presentation. Cos have never seen 1 from MM before! will we be given choices on what song we wanted for the presentation? What design have u chosen for your ice-carving? Wow, quite a heavy consumption on your beer... how many tables did u have? Anyway, this is just a minor issue... as long as your banquet went smoothly that nite...

Have a blissful marriage! 'Zao Shen Gui Zi'.. hee..

Hi Bluebell

Hope I'm not asking for too much! can u email me the decor of the ballroom? It's ok if it's not convenient.... Were there any tables being blocked by the 2 pillars at the side?

Congrats Linda and Bluebell... thanx for the advices...
I am thinking of using abt 3 mins songs too... do they have someone to help u coordinate ur wedding?? or I have to ask helpers and allocate them the work?? wat does the banquet manager do??

Hi Linda and Bluebell

thanks for your advices..
n congratulations too.

Bluebell
if u dun mind, can u email me ur program list? juz click on my name for the email add.

i will be going for my foodtasting next Wed.
n they actually say tat i can collect my invites..so need to let them noe the no.
they charge $1/- for extra card leh..so gota be more 'exact' loh..
my wedding is on Sep..looks like i m have start doing the miscellaneous stuff liao...think shld start looking for music pieces..

once again..thanks for all the advices!

Hi Linda and Bluebell

Congrats! Glad to hear that both your dinners went well. Linda, is your wedding on weekend? Mine is on a Thur so not sure if i need additional barrel of beer. Did you cater for wine and stout?

Hi Bluebell- i think i will take the rice instead. My package only comes with 8 course (special request). so rice will be more filling for the guest.

I love the icecraving vase. did you place it in the foyer or inside the ballroom? I'm requesting it to be place in the ballroom to make the atmosphere more garden like. May I know how you make the floral handmade card? did you place it in every table or one big card for the reception area? sorry too many qns.

Hi Luzon888
I choose dolphins.....The children loved it and kept touching them.... But honestly, after so much effort put into the deco and choosing of flowers and arches, I hardly noticed them during the dinner. So that is why I advised you girls to relax and notice everything.
They didn't ask me what choice of music I want for the first course. I enjoyed it. I find the lighting effect better than that of Pan Pac although PP is well known for the lights.

Hi jenjen
Allocate work to your helpers before the wedding. Have a discussion session with them one week before hand. My frens took care of all the nitty gritty stuff like the favours, the march in songs, the order of the tables, which table to close etc.......I only tell them what to be done and they go coordinate with the banquet manager themselves. The banquet manager basically does everything to ensure the proper flow of the event. He does the breifing as well with the captains so your hubby can also tell the captain what are his expectations of the day.

And Yvonne, dun let them charge you for extra cards! I supposed to have only 360pcs. I asked for almost 100 extra at no charge. I refused to let them charge me. So have to be fierce a bit. I have some extra cards here but no inserts. If you want, I can pass to you.

Hi Linda and Bluebell,
Congrats! Thanks for coming in here to share your experiences with us

Bluebell, can I take a look at your program list too, please? Can just click on my name. Thanks

Linda, you managed to get 100 free cards from them?? I needed another 50 more and they are charging me for it

Yvonne, my food tasting is also next Wed!

Hi Bluebell,
I m having mine in that ballroom this dec too. Can you advise me on the things to do? Can I have a copy of the programme too? Can just click on my name thanks.

Hi gals, advice needed... wat if all your frens dun belong to the same "clique"... can ask different pple to help out even if they dunno each other?? weird or not??

Linda & Bluebell... I oso need the program... thanx...

Hi Linda and Bluebell...i aslo need the program. please......click on my name for email address.

Hi JenJen
i also have the same headache. was thinking of a get together session.

Yvonne- Last time i ask Beng Khoon what if not enuf cards he said shouldn't have any problem to give me more pcs. so dun think you need to pay. bargain with them.

U can coordinate those in a group to do certain things.....Myabe I email you girls my schedule so that you all understand better......Please email me at [email protected] if you interested.

Yvonne, ask them why shoudl you pay for the extras. I did. They couldn't find an answer for me... :P

I have attached a copy of my actual day program. Let me know if you need more info

Time To do
Night Drive car to florist for décor

Xiuqing to put guest cards and photo album in Jinyao's car

Schedule on 26 May 2002

Time To do

6.30am Ladies to wake up & have light breakfast

7.00am Guys to wake up & have light breakfast

Makeup artist arrive.

7.30 am Weiguo to check videocam. Ensure casette is inserted and spare battery is available
Test Video cam

Weiguo 'start work' - take video of the guys getting ready

Nanzhong and Ming Gui to check items to bring to Angie hse

Rick to check Ang Pows

Jiemei start to 'pretty up'

7.30am Photographer arrives

Xiuqing to show photographer items to take pics

8.00am Cynthia to check items to bring over to Rick's house *
* tea pot

8.45am Rick arrives

9.15am Leave Angie's hse for photo-taking in Kallang (?) One Fullerton(?)

10.00am Leave for Rick's hse

10.20am Reach Rick's hse for tea ceremony

12.00 noon Leave Rick's house

12.30 pm Reach Angie's house for tea ceremony

1.30 pm Lunch for all

2.30 pm Get ready to leave for MM
Helpers can go home to rest or leave for MM together

3.00 pm Reach MM

* Cynthia to check that WG, Eg, accessories, music CDs are brought along.

* Xiuqing to check guest cards, container and photo albums are brought along.

5.00 pm Makeup artiste arrive

Jiemei to pretty up

6.00pm Photographer arrives

6.30 pm Rick, MC, Damien & Cynthia to meet hotel staff

Damien to set up projector

Cynthia overall co-ordinator
To pass music CDs to MM staff

Xiuqing to set up photo album and guest cards

6.45 pm Receptionists to be seated

7.00 pm Cocktail starts

After this I just follow MM's schedule which your co-ordinator will give you nearer your wedding date.

Hi Jen Jen,

Why not? Not all my helpers know each other. Some were "loners". I arranged a get together 2 weeks before and we had a bbq after the discussion. This helps them to at least know who's doing what

Congrats to Bluebell and Linda

Thanks for sharing your experiences here.

My wedding is in 2 week's time, really stress now...but will try to leave the hotel stuff to the hotel people and friends.

Hi Linda

Thanks! Received your email, din know that we need to plan the timing and the checklist too. Good, can use yours as a guide & reference so that I'll not miss anything on my actual day.