Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi Gal,

We are looking at 2009. But waiting for the dates from my geomancer.

Do u have your dates already?

By the way, they don't have any perks for 2009 packages during the wedding show? Thats quite bad. What are the perks for 2008 package?

Hi Gal,

I will be paying my deposit for June 2009 wedding soon...

They do not give the 2009 peaks as there will be another wedding show in April08. If you are have other options or not scared that your date is already taken up, u can always wait for April08 which i believe will have more peaks.

Hi Shir,

We went down on sat but book for sep 2009.. The co-ordinator said she will draft out the contract and get back to us..

Hi janet lok,

Who is ur co-ordinator? they draft out ur contract already? any extra pecks u asked for?

Hi Janet and Gal,

I think we don't want to take the risk and wait for Apr 08. Most likely, we will sign up once we got our dates.

Thats y thinking of any special perks from the wedding show that we can ask for. Mayb we can use the 2008's perks as a gauge?

hi ladyluck,
no problem...u r most welcome

Is the April 08 wedding show confirm? During the wedding show, for lunch package 2008, they are offering 1 wine per table, free 1 table for above 25 tables confirmed. However the rates for 2009 lunch is not out, and also i hope to get the extra perks.

My wedding is in Oct 09. U think i should wait? I hope its not 25th is not a hot day...... *cross my finger*

Maybe you can ask your co-ordinator to inform when the 2009 lunch is out and do a tentative booking first? Decide later whether you wanna wait for the wedding show.

My co-ordinator did ask me if i wanna do a tentative booking and wait until the wedding show in april... but i told her date is more impt to me... so i go ahead with the booking...

hi Gal,
Thanx for ur reply. Mine is Nov 08 taking the vanda ballrm & coordinator is Wendy :> I like the ambience n it is very cosy despite the low ceiling. U taking the vanda or grand ballrm?

Hi ll,
if you only have 1 date in mind that you must get n u dont wan any other dates, and it is a hot date such as the mid-autum (zhÅngqiÅ«jié),etc & falls on Wkend , then probably good to book early. if u have several date, then its ok to wait.

Hi jelly_bean,

Me too.. taking the vanda ballroom... 10 months to ur wedding!! hehe... dun forget to show us photos!!

Hi Jellybean, ya....i only have 1 date.... yup, i am going to email to my coordinator now and ask her if can do a tentative booking with no deposit. U all think its possible for her to put me on reservation list? If other couple ask her about the same date as mine, then perhaps she can give me a courtesy call?

I think tentative booking sounds quite ok, provided that the co-ordinator don't forget to inform us. My hubby got the call from the shifu and was told our dates are ready. But we have not collected them yet. Hopefully there are weekends in them.

And we are also looking at the Vanda ballroom.

Wendy Lou is the manager and Wendy Ng is assisting her

janet lok (janetlok) - when is your wedding day in June 09..? I'm also looking at that month

If you look at the perks for 2008 packages, the extra promotion is more for weekday dinners and lunches. So if yours if weekend dinner, I think one might not enjoy extra perks during the Apr wedding show.

Anyway I feel that their package quite comprehensive... though the bridal suite looks quite small

yes Gal, only 10 months to go..seems very fast leh, now reading up books on "beauty"..heehee ..must slim down & even out my skin tone b4 the photoshot.

hi Mrs Tan,
mine is Wendy Lou, so far i only liaise with her, a very friendly lady.

Ah, seems like you all are in contact with Wendy. So far, only i only liase with Fiona. However i had drop her an email requesting to let me have my 25/10/09 on booking reservation for lunch. Hope she gets back to me soon.

Hi Jelly_bean,
mi too i liaise with Wendy Lou as well..hehe

weddingII,
MM is fast in replying email,usually in 24hours de.Hope u get the dates you want

Hi Janet,

Did u went to the regent and GCW as u mention that u prefer there 2 hotels.So u signing with MM for year 2009...reali advance in booking

don't worry...in the earlier pages of the forum, there were couples who had fiona as their coordinator, seemed like she's really good too..

I am also with Wendy. But I am not sure if its Wendy Lou or Wendy Ng as sometime I get the email replies from Wendy Ng but signed off by Wendy Lou and sometime its from Wendy Lou email address but signed off as Wendy Ng.

I am puzzled. Do you all encounter this as well?

I also think they are quite prompt in their email replies usually the 1-2 day after, except once where I ask for the 2009 package and got no response for 2 weeks (maybe the package details not out yet).

Hi II and Shir,

You can make a tentative booking on your preferred date. If any other couples who wish to take up the date, the hotel mgr will give u 1 day to consider whether to confirm the booking. As long as there is no enquiry on your preferred date, I think the date will be reserved to you.

What happened to me the other time was that I enquire a few dates which had already gotten some tentative booking. So Sen will call the couple and give them 1 day grace period to confirm their booking. If they are able to confirm, that date will go to the couple who booked first.

I booked mine in Dec, and my AD is in May 08, so was pretty rush and imposed much trouble on Sen but thank god, she so helpful and easy to approach. Still rem the numerous calls that I made to her..........haha

Hope this info helps

oh dear, till now there is no email reply back from Fiona....do u all think i should send a courtesy reminder? After all, my wedding is in Oct 2009, i wonder if she would think i am too kiasu or not....haha!

when did u email Fiona? juz give her a call lor... u only have one date... better to be kiasu than to lose the date...

Hi ladies, dun worry. The co-ordinators for MM are quite on the ball. They do reply quite promptly if they are in. You can give them a call if she did not reply her email for more than 2-3 days cos I think they have weekday offs, so maybe they may not be in...

Anyway, all your weddings are in 2009, shd still be able to have the dates. dun worry.
Be a happy bride-to-be.....

Haha....Thanks thanks ladies, for your encouragement. Yupzie...we must all be the happiest bride to be...coz its once in a lifetime thing...hee....

Is the ceiling very low for vanda ballroom?

I can only look at this ballroom cos cant meet e requirement for grand ballroom

Hi May,

I think its better for you to go down and take a look. Cause different people may have different expectation about low/high.

1 thing we like about the Vanda ballroom is the spacious feeling outside the ballroom / recept area. Its all the way up and surrounded by a 'lower' ground with a piano at the background. For myself, I think it does make up for the ceiling inside.

Hi Gal (zzzz), do you happen to have the email address for kaylynn? Do you think I could email her for the rates instead...hee hee...

Thanks a lot, Gal! I'll email her shortly! Wow! Congrats!!! Good that u have such a good date booked! hee hee....can slowly plan the rest liaoz....so nice...hee

Hi gal, congrats too! Is yours a dinner or lunch?

I actually like vanda ballroom too because it very cosy. Unfortunately i have 40 tables to consider, so vanda ballroom is out. But if i only have 25 tables, vanda ballroom would be my top choice.

Thx Gal...Will send her an email! hee hee... me so kan cheong! keke...congrats ne! so happy for u that u got the date u wanz liaoz! hee hee...

Thanks hehe...

Mine is dinner... Actually I looking at Merchant Court but i cant meet their minimum... found out that MM min only 20... just nice for us..
max for us is 22 tables...

Hi, from what i know previously, they only have 2 themes. But not sure if they have added in any new ones recently. Anyway, we can do a mix n match ourself (if i didnt remember wrongly :p). so can use your own design or else just use theirs

Hi Winnie, Hmm.... if having military wedding, i dont think its quite appropiate. I think with high ceiling it would look better. Just my personal opinion.

Irene, did fiona replied to you back? I think she is on vacation till 21st Jan.

hi Everyone,

I m new on this thread! M seriously considering MM for my wedding. But most of the dates I m looking at for this year is taken up and thus will be considering a lunch instead of dinner.

Anyone has an experience with lunch pakcage with MM?

Thanks so much for your advice

iciclediamond, yes i am also considering MM for lunch in 2009. U are lucky! The rates increased $50 for 2009. From $700 to $750, and also $750 to $800!

Hi Irene, i got reply from Fiona today! She would be doing a tentative booking for me. I am seriously considering MM after i went to Mariott wedding show last weekend. In term of service level and food serve, i think MM is far far better!

Hi Wedding II,

I just went to see my coordinator today to go through some details. They are still offering the roadshow promotion and she has given some good perks.

I think it is really value for money.. maybe you can speak to your coordinator and asks her for additional perks which will make the overall price more worth it!

The only drawback is they have lack of themes - only 2!!! I m considering to go for a black theme but they do not do it at all!

Good luck for your hotel searching!

Hi iciclediamond,have you make a booking already? What kind of theme are they offering? Hehe....can share what kind of additional perks they offering? I know from roadshow that 25tables free 1 table, and also 1 wine per table right?

anyone can share their MM dinner package for 08 with me? (other than the additional perks) would like to noe wat other add-ons that can be requested without incurring additional cost.
feel free to email me at [email protected]
thanks~

Kuwei, Sunqian......yup, not additional perks for 2009....but i am crossing my fingers to wait for the wedding show in April. More worth it to sign up during then to enjoy the perks. The free wine + free tables can really save up alot of $.

If u need the rates, u can leave ur contact, and i can forward it to you