Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi Newebie08,

Welcome to SingaporeBrides.com! Thank you for becoming a participant in this wedding community.

The minimum requirement of weekend booking at MM is 20 tables. For more information about wedding banquets, it can also be found at

http://www.singaporebrides.com/banquets.htm.

Hi newbie08,

I only know that the Les Oiseaux ballroom on the 5th floor will hold up to 30 tables max... whereas the main ballroom on the ground floor will hold min 40 tables...

You can call MM to check out!! Hope you join us!!

I am going for my food tasting on the 1 march!
Anything I should look out for? Collecting my invites on that day too...

wow... good leh... I think last time Sunny recommended to ask Fiona to serve izit?? Cannot remember leow... do update us how it go...

Yah,
I took Sunny's reccommendation for the Smoked Tea Duck with Pancake and Fried Hokkien Mee Sua and the Poarched Prawns....

Yummy! Can't wait....
But I didn't specially ask for Fiona to serve lah....

Just to share with u gals... heard from my friend that MM's packages will increase by $20 for those couples who booked their banquet for 2003. Furthermore, there's only one theme for decor next year...Gold.

Sorry! I was kind of caught up with the wedding preps.

The food tasting was fine. But I thought the serving slow (maybe cos we are hungary) and we didn't like the individual serving. Me and hubby more traditional, prefer guests to help themselves from the main centre plate. And our parents agree too cos they say if never take from the centre plate, like never eat properly.

Might be cos we are late, the food was kind of cold liao. The Prawns In herbs was yummy! And the Red Bean Paste with Rice ball is wonderful! Not too sweet. But I thot the Vegetables with Dried Scallop looks like a mess. Food presentation not very good. The spareribs were nice and taste special!

In fact, I thought the food tasted quite good! The boy who served us was a bit blur though...have to tell him MANY times that we do not want individual serving of food and he still dun get it!

BTW, I got my invites liao! MM is so nice! They provide the insert paper and strings!
Now all I have to do is to buy ink cartiridges and print them myself!

Hi Linda

MM really provide paper & strings? Wow, at least I don't have to worry abt extra charges on those items. But will it be more expensive if we get printers to print on custom size inserts? What type of inserts did they provide? normal paper or 'opaque' sheet (something like tracing paper-dunno how to describe). Is the string exactly the same as the samples they gave to us?

Hi Luzon,

Yup! They did give them to me so you will get them too!!!
Save $$ hor?
The strings are exactly the same. The inserts are like what a say, a bit thicker than tracing paper but still translucent.
I think printing wise shld be fine. After all if it is already custom size, they don't even have to cut it for you! Save time on their end.
Alternatively, do what I did, print DIY. So far, I only spend less than $50 for ink.
But CHinese version a bit headache lar...cannot find the softwatre program.

if you're using windows XP, there's chinese software support for editing, but not sure how it's done/used cos i've only heard it from my colleague. you may need to download it or update it from MS web site.

otherwise, see if there're demo or free versions of chinese software from download.com to tide you over this printing period.

Hi ice,

Hope my message did not come too late...
I've checked out the poolside at MM and it's really beautiful. I'm organizing my department D&D and we're having it at MM poolside next Friday, 22 Mar 02. So, if u can wait, I'll keep u updated on how everything went after the D&D. So far, we are very happy abt the place, it really looks very nice.

Hmm...I'm getting really excited abt my wedding too. Can't wait for MM to call me for the cards...hehe

Lily,
Are u having your dinner at the Grand Ballroom or Les Oiseaux on 30 June 02? I had initially wanted to book your date, but it was already taken
Coincidentally, I did correspond on SB with the person who booked that date for the Grand Ballroom, but her name was Angela or Angeline (not sure), so I'm wondering if u are the same person

Hi Linda,

I am new to this thread, hope the rest of the gals don't mind me joining. May I know if you have tried printing on the inserts? What type of printers did you use? Inkjet or laser?

Hi Grace

I dun remember my having braised abalone....i think mine is a weekday one so no abalone.

Welcome herimone!!! I think it is a bubblejet....Cos the inserts has 2 surface, one rough and one smooth, use the rough one to print and your ink won't get smudge.

Hi Grace,

Thanks for the information. But found from other threads that printing by printers using hot-stamping is cheap and good too.

Did anyone try Hitech contact as follow?
Person : MeiYen
Tel 4589455
Fax : 4537558
Email : [email protected]
Address : Blk 4010 AMK Ave 10 #02-01/02 Tech Place 1 S(569626)

I saw it in one of the threads and they say it is cheap. Also something about T-Dragon having same pricing.

About $90 for 300 cards.

But, did anyone try the recommended printer too? Heard price is $65-$70 for 200 cards.

I just came back from my friend's wedding at Marina Mandarin and here's some feedback:

Food: Overall is quite alright. Some dishes like the Smoked Duck, Garlic Prawns and the Mango Dessert were nice.

Only disappointment was the Sharksfin soup with mushroom and chicken. It was too watery and I could count the pathetic thin strands of sharksfin with my 5 fingers... my hubby's bowl had none, mine had 3 strands and the other of my friends also commented that its more like chicken & mushroom thick soup. No sharksfin at all, meaning you can't feel anything in your mouth! I know we are all trying to save the sharks but if its on the menu, it should be presented properly, rite? Fish was also overcooked as it was quite hard, not those which is soft and tender.

Service: Quite okay but could be more attentive at times. But quite messy as when the waiter scooped the noodles, there were many strands lying on the table. Looks really messy. Even when they were scooping the soup also. Rather messy and some bowls had more and some had less....

Incident: As MM changes the plates after every dish, we were served the smoked duck after the abalone w broccoli. This means our plate would have some gravy, rite? The Smoked duck was served and we were all waiting for the waiter to change the plates since we had to put the pancake on our plate to eat with the duck. Guess what? The waiter placed 10 clean plates stacked together on the table and we had to change them ourselves! So we did the change and we just stacked our dirty plates on the table. After a while, the waiter cleared the table, stacking all the soiled plates on his hand, and not the polite way of using a tray....

We also found the interval in serving the food too long. The dinner started at 9pm and ended only at 11pm. Guests started leaving at abt 10:30pm and many did not bother to wait for the dessert. After every dish, there was like a 15-20 mins interval before the next dish was served. We felt it was too long as most tables finish their food in about 10mins.

Some of the seat covers provided were also stained and looks dirty. We weren't very particular but it won't be nice asking guests to sit on a seat cover that has ugly stains on it...

Overall, we found that the ambience at MM was okay but it can be improved. Just wanted to share this with all who are having their weddings at MM...

Hope you all dun mind.

Hi Little Foot

Thanks for your comments on MM. Glad u've highlighted those important notes that we may have missed out before our dinner.

Will our MM co-ordinators find us fussy if we've pointed out so many things for them to ensure that it'll not happen? Cos afraid that they will find us so difficult to deal with and in the end give us a hard time.

Hi Luzon,

No problem. I don't think you should compromise on the above as you are spending more than $20k for your wedding. If they are professionals, they should be willing to accept feedback, whether positive or negative. Its your BIG DAY. Make sure you and your guests enjoy the occasion. Good Luck!

I guess we can only wait til the actual day to see all these. Cos my hubby went to Mandarin Hotel and the seat covers and table cloth were dirty. So we thinking of getting someone to go down to the ballroom to check on these once the settings are done. And on the actual day, engage someone to look after the event for you. If someone mentioned the service speed is too fast, ask the banquet manager to get them to slow down.

Hi ice,

Are u still considering MM poolside?
Ok...here's the feedback:
Generally good...except for a few things. If u are having a formal wedding, with gowns and suits, it's not such a good idea especially if your wedding is in April-Sept period...coz it's really warm! As much as they do provide ceiling fans and big fans blowing water vapour, it's still generally warm if u are gonna walk around much. On my D&D evening, I was only wearing a toga top and 3/4 pants, thin and cotton material, yet i was feeling kinda warm. Also, if u are having buffet dinner, the food is not fantastic, just can do...but the cakes are "yummylicious"...heehee
Would say if u are having a casual wedding dinner, then it's perfectly fine, but if it's a formal one, then the deco and all won't go well. The whole atmosphere was that of a very casual one. Hope this helps.

Hi little foot,
Thanks for all your sharing
at least now we MM brides know what to look out for exactly. Are u an MM bride too?

Hi Mo,

No, I am not a MM bride. Having my banquet at another place. But I almost signed with them but in the end, found them inflexible.

But since I attended my friend's banquet, just thought I share with all of you here.

Hi Mo

Thanks for your advises! Me having MM poolside wedding in Nov...is the fan blowing smokey air? those at Times Square and some kopi shops uses the cooling fans but its was too foggy
Do you have any continegency plans if it rains? I am still cracking my heads how to solve tis problem...they have a metal bar around the shelter, haven't source for materials to hang from the bar if it rains

Was wondering if you know that Marina Mandarin is having a bridal show on 7th April? On the day itself, there will be wine tasting, buffet dessert spread and every table will have food tasting of 4 dishes:

<UL><LI>Smoked Tea Duck with mini pancake <LI>Dry Scallop with Asparagus in Oyster Sauce <LI>Pan Fried Prawns in Oriental Sauce <LI>Lotus Leave Rice with assorted meat</LI>[/list]Venue: <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Marina Mandarin Singapore</FONT>
Date: 7th April 2002, Sunday
Time: 2pm - 5 pm
Admission: $10 per couple.

To attend the show, just click here.

hi Jowie,

the big fans at the sides blow cool air, but i think they use water vapour, so when it is blowing, no doubt it's quite cooling, but those sitting under the fan can feel like it's drizzling...not too good effect and food gets cold very fast. As for the rain, i think it's good u have a contingency plan as Nov is the start of rainy season. Actually, the place is nice, but it's got a rather casual feel to it, so if u want a casual kind of wedding, it's really nice and relaxing, provided those things mentioned above are taken cared of. However, if u want a formal type of wedding, i think the ballroom would still be better.

hi jowie,

i suggest u seek the banquet manager's advice on contingency plan. maybe try bargainig with them for a some sort of backup guarantee.

for my D&amp;D function, we didn't have any contingency as we didn't think it would rain since it has been so hot lately.

Hi Mo

I checked wif them already, but they do not have any plans, its at our own risk. Initially they dun even allow us to hang anything to cover the side coz they worried it might spoil the shelter. We discovered the metal bar and then they say its ok if the drapes is light. If we wan a backup room, it will be another $500 and have to inform them latest by 4pm whether we wan to shift to the room. They will not entertain if we request after 4pm. We din get the room coz how are we gonna know at 4pm?! it might be sunny at 4, cloudy at 5 and pouring at 6! So we decided to put the money in getting nice drapes to hang over lor...but till now still cannot find hehee

I prefer a casual sort of wedding, dats why we chose MM poolside. I will be having a formal one in Msia, so in SG we will be having a casual and cosy dinner

hi jowie,

in that case, i suppose u have to pray hard that it won't rain on your wedding day.
i suppose the only thing u could inquire from them is the fans blowing water vapour...quite annoying that water keeps coming onto our faces while we eat.

other than these, the place is really quite nice for a casual function. enjoy

Hi Mo

Thanks, will take note of dat, i hope its will be a breezy nite so dat dun even have to switch on the fans!!

Does MM have any 1st dish presentation? Quite curious if they have any... can we choose our songs for their walk-in?

Hi Luzon888,
MM do have 1st dish presentation and we are allowed to choose our song for the walk-in as well as the 1st dish presentation. dun worry.

Hi Passion

Thanks! Seems like I'm the only one who's asking very minor questions here...
. I heard from some of my frenz that some other hotels don't allowed couples to choose songs for their 1st dish presentation. Some hotels will have certain songs for the couples to choose from... etc. I know that normally we can choose songs for our own march-in but unsure abt the 1st dish presentation.

I've been to a wedding at Hyatt and their waiters did quite a nice 1st dish presentation, I wonder if MM will does the same cos I've never been to MM for dinner before!!!

Hi luzon888,

I have been to a friend's wedding dinner at beginning of this year. They do have 1st dish presentation and is rather grand.

I was quite worried b4 my first attending the dinner too.

Hi Herimone

My banquet will be at Les Oiseaux at level 5 instead of the Grand Ballroom. As u know that Les Oiseaux is quite small and quite restricted too. So not sure if they'll do the same for Les Oiseaux.

MM is one of the hotels that I'm considering too. From the threads above, it was mentioned that the max capacity for Les Oiseaux (5th floor) ballroom is 30 and the min capacity for grand ballroom is 40, so how about the capacity between 30-40? Which ballroom will they allocate us to? I'm planning to have about 30-35 tables.

Neko

hi neko, hope u'll join us soon... i'm not too sure abt the size leh... maybe u'll like to call them up to ask??
maybe they will give u the grand ballroom if they are free on that day...

Hi JenJen,

I went down today for the bridal show and managed to talk to one of the personel. He mentioned that if I were to hold it on a weekday, they may close one eye and let me use the grand ballroom if I have >30 tables. However, sad to say that I'm not entitled to their promotion package. Because I intend to hold the wedding in Sep03. He said that the promotion is valid till next year Mar. That's what draws me back a bit... anyway, still considering hard.
Happy planning to all of you

Neko

Hi Neko

If u can wait and u really like MM so much, I would sugguest that u should try again a few months later if your wedding is on a weekday.

I placed my deposit in Aug'01 cos there's a promotion on free flow beer if we booked their WEEKDAY package before end Aug'01. Actually we have no intention of booking MM so early since our wedding is in Nov'02, like everyone else... we don't want to miss it and we want the best deal out from MM. 1 or 2 mths later, I saw their promo in the magazines stating that if any couples booked above 20 tables, they're entitled to free flow beer or free table for WEEKEND package.

I believe that u should have other venues in mind rite now. Ultimately, u should be comfortable with your decision cos lots of $$$ involved.

Just my 2 cents worth....

Can those who have dealt with Irene give me some comments on her? Is she tough to deal with?

Yeap, for those who are interested in signing up with Marina Mandarin, there is currently a weekend promotion package. You'll get free flow of beer for weddings held before April 2003.

For weekday packages, you'll get 1 free table for every 20 tables confirmed. Meaning, if you confirmed 20 tables, you'll only need to pay for 19 tables. In addition (valid for weekday packages only), if you are a SingaporeBrides.com card holder, you'll get a complimentary $200 F&amp;B voucher and 6 bottles of red wine (house pour) for your wedding.

For more details, you can refer to the privilege page at

http://www.singaporebrides.com/membership_card/banquets.htm

Just to add, the offer for SingaporeBrides.com card holders for the weekday packages are for weddings held before the end of 2002.

Hi Chin Leng,

Is it applicable to MM brides who have booked the banquet already?

I am not sure about the rest of the ballrooms as I need the grand ballroom for my wedding dinner. Also, b'cos I have chosen an auspicious date, it is very difficult for me to get a hotel that can accomodate the number of guests to hold my dinner.

Been looking at the magazines and it seems that MM always have this free flow of beer thing all year round though always (at least for 1.5 years) stating promotion ends in March.