Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi Linda

Thanks anyway, I think I'm being difficult too. I wanted to see the decor at the reception and the stage. I thought maybe some of the gals here might happen to have taken some photos at the reception area or at the staircase.

Btw, is floral arch still in? I've been to one wedding at RTC and they use lots of candles to decorate, quite romantic.

Happen to come to this forum and Saw from the thread that there is this 8% discount of the total bill for banquet held before April 2002.

Can anyone advise on this matter? Is it true cos I have booked my banquet for March 2002.

Will appreciate your help.

Hi Grace, I believe u need a voucher for that, and it must be booked by a certain date... details not too sure...

Hi Luzon,

I have seen the decor at Level 5. Looks okay but not as grand as the ballroom on level 1. Found the ceiling a bit too low. Would you consider the main ballroom instead?

Hi Jolene

I love the grand ballroom too but I've no choice cos I couldn't hit the minimum no. of tables
. I thought that I'll be given that bigger ballroom with my mere 28 tables.

Too late for any regrets now. I can close one eye on the decoration as long as they provide good service and food on my big day.

Hi Luzon888,

I have booked the Les Oiseaux too. I like the decor at the reception. They even decorate the stairs. As for the interior decor, they have the usual flower stands. The stage is decorated simply. Basically, the decor is almost the same as the grand ballroom. Only setback is that the ceiling is a little low.

Hi Bluebell

Can u remember what is the colour of the backdrop? At least I can take note and ensure that I won't be choosing the same colour for my EG.

Hi Grace,

I got the 8% discount too and managed to get them to extent the validity of the discount from April till June provided that I MUST have at least minimum 55 guranteed tables.

The details were found in a little booklet which came with Her World Brides (Can't remember which issue but the cover was bronze in colour and words pinkish).

Pauline also told me about other package which you get free flow of beer but price remains so we know which to choose. It is a choice of either or.....

Hi Luzon888,
Mind about your hubby's coat too. Cos I wanted hubby to wear cream mandarin collar suit but found out the waiters wear that!
Heng ah! And avoid gold EGs if you want the Gold theme cos you won't want to look like a walking table cloth......

Hi Luzon,

My friend has 28 tables on a Friday and she managed to get the ballroom also, Wedding in March this year. Maybe you can ask your coordinator again?

I will be booking with MM in Dec.

Hi Jolene

I think too late cos there's a tentative booking for the Grand Ballroom on the same day.

btw, which ballroom are u intending to book?

Hi Bluebell & Linda

When did they ask u to choose the theme? I was told by Irene (last year) that they'll be changing to new themes for 2002. Issit true? Did any of your coordinator told u that?

Hi Luzon,

Tentative booking=unconfirmed booking.

You can still try your luck. So far, I have managed to book 2 dates that I wanted in Dec, even though its under tentative booking. Chose one eventually. Irene told me that if I really wanted the ballroom, she will try to "fight" for it for me and she did. So far, so good. As long as the other couple hasn't confirmed, you still stand a chance. Which date are you looking for? Maybe I can help you? : )

Hi Linda

Thanks so much for your help

Called the hotel today. Yah, the 8% discount is only valid for weekdays, so..... no choice lor but anyway the package is comprehensive enough. I am happy about it, though if discount is given, can save more. Just trying my luck. Hehehe..........

Hi Luzon,

I have not chosen the theme yet. I think there is no hurry coz they probably use back the same things except that you can request for the type of flower you want. Other than that, the tablecloth and all are used repeated.

The last I heard from my co-ordinator was that they won't be changing the themes even tho they did consider. The only dif between 2001 and 2002 is the flower petal aisle. How I wish they would have a candle theme...hehehe,...kept hinting my co-ordinator but no luck :P

Hi Jowie

Thanks for your scanned pix.

Hi Bluebell

Are there choices for the centrepiece other than the vase with a stalk of flower (for the guest's tables)? I'm not sure if I've heard wrongly, I thought we can choose between floral and candle stands?

Hi Jolene

Appreciate your help
! I'll try to contact Irene but I think changes are quite slim cos I've paid the deposit and received my agreement quite sometime back. Furthermore, my husband and I got very few auspicious dates for this year and we don't have much choices too.

Hi Luzon,

My co-ordinator said there is only one type of centrepiece for the guests, that is, the vase with one flower. But I'm not sure whether they have added new ones now.

Now that my dream for 4 Seasons is shattered, my fiance and I have shortlisted Marina Mandarin and Club Chinois for our banquet, so I am enjoying this thread a great deal. We are also going down to take a look at the decorated ballrooms this weekend.

BTW Jowie, can you kindly send me the pix you took of the MM ballrooms? Would like to show them to my fiance first before we pop down.

Thanks a bunch

Hi All!

I will be getting married in Oct 2002 and am considering getting a package with MM. Your postings are realli great source of info!!

Got some questions here though..
1) Coordinator - Think the coordinators mentioned here are Beng Khoon, Irene and Pauline. Anyone heard / liaise with Carol before? She was the one who met up with us last week.

2) Food tasting - In the package that's given to us, food tasting is not free. We actually have to pay 50% of the table cost for food tasting. Is that a norm?

Appreciate all the feedback that anyone can give. It's less than 10 months away but we have yet to do anything!!!!!! *gosh*

Hi Tiara

gimme yr email, will send u tonite when i'm home
do you want poolside pictures too? took more on the poolside

Hi Jowie

U did your homework well...unlike me...

Hi Kerri

I couldn't help u with your Q.1 maybe the rest of the gals will be able to.

MM doesn't give free food tasting unless u exchange for something else that is listed in the quotation. Some hotels like Four Seasons, Merchant Court & Orchard Hotel provide food tasting for up to 6 pax. U may like to check with your coordinator to see what they are able to offer u. Personally, I find that food tasting is not a necessity cos everybody have different taste. Quite difficult to satisfy everybody.

btw, when's your wedding?

Just realised that I need to invite some of my muslim frenz, any idea if MM provide muslim food? (Seems like I'm the only one who's not doing any homework!

Hi Jowie

Forgot to include one more thing in my earlier posting. Pls do me another big favour by emailing me the best pix of the poolside cos one of my colleagues is interested. What's the capacity? She's still deciding between Amara & Plaza Hotel (a bit old), so she's asking me if MM have any.

Many Thanks for sharing
!

Hi Kerri

My coordinator is Pauline...she is ok...not much room for negotiation but since wedding still far away and haven't discuss details yet, so can't really comment

Its a norm to pay 50% for food tasting in hotels, unless you get a restaurant, which some gives complimentary tasting

Hi Luzon

of coz have to do homework mah...tis is spending thousands of monies leh

initially me not looking at hotels at all coz i am tinking of something special like catering at a nice location...but in the end it will amount to almoz same as hotel costs and wifout equipments and freebies...so give up liao

by chance came across MM poolside and start to enquire around other hotels poolside...not much can have a shelter poolside dinner, or else onli for beri small crowd...so onli MM is THE choice..hehee

MM poolside can hold 16-20 tables...but the best is not more than 16 coz above dat, the table will be placed outside the sheltered platform...onli 1 minus point for poolside at MM is dat, altho sheltered, they do not provide precautions if the rains are pouring...so the guests sitting at the side might kena rain...however, they do have a metal bar running at the side of the shelter which we can hang not so heavy drapes...i am still cracking my head where to find the drapes

Amara poolside not sheltered, and the area is beri small...pool is small too, but beri zen look

Hi Luzon & Jowie,

Thanks for your feedback. Now I'm more enlightened.

Think I'll go ahead and confirm with MM. Gotta say the ceiling's a bit low though. We've only got ard. 25 tables - hence can't get the main ballroom downstairs. I was told that the min is 35 tables!! No hope oredi..

Luzon: My wedding is on the 29th Oct 2002.

Hi Luzon88,

When I was making my booking with MM, Irene did tell me that theirs is a no-pork, no-lard kitchen, but is not halal certified. So, do check with your muslim guest to see if they mind or not. Hope this helps

Hi Linda & Cowie

! At least I can check with my muslim frenz 1st then confirmed with Irene at a later date.

Hi Jowie

Is yours a 9-course dinner or buffet?

Hi Kerri

That means u, me & Bluebell will be using the same ballroom at level 5... after u've confirmed with MM this weekend...

Hi Luzon

Mine is international buffet...got negative response from my mom, but.....ITS MY WEDDING!! hehee...toking like a spoilt brat

Hi Jowie

Thanks for your email. As for the one with the narrow pathway - with tables placed at 2 sides, which ballroom would that be? If I am having 20-22 tables, will I be getting the 2nd floor or 5th floor ballroom, do you know?

Hi tiara

I reply to yr email but was bounced back. Anyway, was going to tell u, they welcome us to take pictures, and if u wan, try to get an auspicious weekend date to go down to suntec, can tour around all the 5 hotels ballroom coz most likely they will have wedding dinner if the date is good...u can look at their various decor for ideas...conrad got a beri nice recep area and the table decor is the best...and the price also the best hehee beside ritz carlton lar!

The ballroom wif 2 rows of tables at the side is on the 2nd floor...its beri nice coz got the full length window facing the main road...but people sitting at the far back will have difficulty looking at the stage
I not sure which ballroom u will get for yr number of tables...i tink mayb the 2nd floor one

I'm so excited! MM asked me to collect the cards already. Wow, but I'm not ready coz haven't redo my duest list yet. Also need to decide how many cards of each design.

Hi Tiara,

You shd be getting the 5th floor ballroom coz the last time I asked, they said the 2nd floor ballroom is for 15-18 tables.

Thanks Bluebell and Jowie for enlightening me. We will pop down this weekend and make a decision.

Congrats bluebell, you do sound very excited

Hi Bluebell

MM actually asked u to collect the cards 4 mths ahead of your wedding, is that the norm? how long does printing normally take?

Anyway, I feel so excited for u
... me have wait for a while till my turn...

I visited MM and OPH yesterday. I find that the ballroom on the 5th floor has very low ceiling. For those who have had your wedding there, any comments - is the ceiling a bit of a problem on that day? The couple having their wedding yesterday also had floral table cloths, perhaps they are having a mediterrean theme.

I need to confirm my menu with mm very soon. As I did not go for the food tasting, I need your views on what are the recommended dishes. Especially to those who had attended the dinner, held their wedding or gone for the food tasting, to give me some advice.

Your reply is greatly appreciated.

Hi June

Maybe u can refer to Sunny's previous posting on 28 Dec '01 at Archive through 5 Jan '02. I think that should be helpful.

Hi Luzon,

I was expecting MM to call me only at the end of Feb. Dunno why they call so early. :P

Hi June,

You can refer to Sunny's posting as suggested by Luzon or check with your co-ordinator.

Hi Luzon & Bluebell

Thank you for your reply.

What other things do I need to take note of beside the menu? I am those blur blur kind.

Thanks again

Hi June

Have u check with your coordinator on how many waiters serving how many tables, eg. 3 waiters to 2 tables, etc.

You can also refer to the past postings on MM's services on the wedding banquet too, if I'm not wrong it should be somewhere in Archive through 5 Jan '02. Maybe u should take note & ensure that it'll not happen on your dinner.

Hi June,

Luzon is right. Gathjer feedback from your frens. Also , you can read the previous postings. Recently, one of my frens also commented that they serve very fast so you might want to highlight to your co-ordinator as guests will feel rushed.

Hi Luzon & Bluebell

Thank you so much for your help. Really appreciate

Yes, did check on the nos. of waiters. It's 3 waiters to 2 tables. Is this norm?

I am sourcing for the acutal day photographer. Can anyone of you recommend one? Would like to have it in journalistic style?(hope i spelt it correctly)

Hi June,

yup, 3-2 tables is usual. But remember to reinforce on your co-ordinator all your requirements.

I'm using Mabel Lee. You may want to take a look at her portfolio. She advertises on this website too. Another one is Monica from Vividshots. She's quite popular. Ray Ong from Photolanguage and his associate Hendrix are also good too. I like their journalistic. Very well taken with good angles.

Hi Bluebell

Yes, saw Ray's work. He's really good but he's not available on my actual day. He recommended Hendrix but yet to seen his work. Have you seen it?

Hi June,

Yup, saw Hendrix work. Love it but it's over my budget so I chose Mabel Lee.

Do make an appt to view his work. Another point to note is that he has his own idiosyncracies so it would be good for you to meet up with him to see if you click. :P

I'm a newbie here! Just heard of this website. Also thinking of hving e banquet at MM. Anyone having it on a weekend? Any idea what is the minimum number of tables for weekend? Thks