Marina Mandarin Singapore

hi libragal...

hehe.. that are two I like but not sure is under which designs.. I try to find it out then let u know..

yep.. gotten my BS already..
going for my 1st fitting next mth..u?

Hi Jaslyn,
Yah, I think her price is still reasonable if the price she stated on the TV is accurate. Maybe have to get the easy-to-match colours e.g silver, white or black. I attended my friend's wedding yesterday, she got a gorgeous pair of shoes from Paradox which cost about $400, but it's off my budget.

Hi Libragal,
Yah, I'll get my shoes from there once I confirm the colour of the EG, will make a trip there early next year as my AD is end of next year.

Meiling.. ya.. her price is reasonable...
I dun think I will buy a $400 shoes as after wedding there are not many chances I can wear that shoes...
and also.. already spend alot on my wedding liao..
my hubby will nag.. hehe..

Hi jaslyn,
i still sourcing for my BS too..now still deciding to take at malaysia or singapore as i like the beach at Malaysia..
nicer than here....

Hi Meiling,
have you buy any shoes over there before? is it comfortable?
i need to buy one soon as my AD is next feb 2008
starting to feel stress now...

Hi Libragal,
I haven't buy from there before though I have been contemplating cos I'm too lazy to make an appointment. Initially was thinking of buying for dinners, but now have to wait for the confirmation of the colour of my tea-dress and evening gown before I make an appointment to meet her.

Hi libragal...

if u dun mind always going to malaysia and as u say u wana have PS on their beaches then u can consider their BS.. its also cheaper there..
if u take a spore BS.. going there is ex lor..
but if going there u taking their OTR package rite? cos now like left 6 mths liao..

dun feel so stress k..
must be mei mei bride..

Meiling.. which BS r u using?
u taking MTM gowns rite?
when is ur AD?

Hi Jasyln...
I was thinking of 081108 bbut havent confirm if it's an auspicous date, will have to wait for confirmation. Oic...have you confirmed your AD PG and VG? I'm still searching cos I haven't confirm my AD. Hehe....lotsa things to do...I haven't even confirm my ROM date....jialat...

Hi Meiling...
oic..they say can check the tong shu rite??
yep.. I confirm my AD PG and VG already...

dun worry... u still have alot time..
slowly then everything will be fine..
u rush things... it will be worst..

u wana ROM outside or in its premisies??

Hi Jasyln,
U mean it's available already? I heard it's not out yet, so now waiting....who did you engage for VG? I think I wana ROM outside...actually wana do on Singapore Flyer but FH scared of heights :P

Hi Meiling...
cos last yr around this time I heard that tong shu is out...so alot of ppl start checking the dates...
for me cos my MIL went to get the date from a temple..

my VG I engage Eric from Mirage Pictures...

so gd.. if the singapore flyer idea came out earlier.. I also wana ROM there although I m scare of heights but I feel is worth it lor.. different experience... just dun look down lor.. hehe..

Hi Jasyln,
My MIL supposed to check the dates so I leave it to her cos I don't have the time to do so too...juz crossed my fingers dat the date I want wont be taken up.
Yah lor, but it's ex leh, booking the capsule costs $1500, without provision of food. :P So must think twice...I would prefer to keep it small and have good makan...

Hi Jaslyn,
as we like beaches so will be goin to JB to source for my BS.The package is considered cheaper compared to Singapore...have to cut cost loh. i haven check yet..went down on last sun to source some shops liao...will book by end of Aug as we intend to go honey moon straight away after our wedding banquet
how abt u?

y u didnt intend to book back Carlton Hotel?
we got go down the hotel to take a look but in the end we didnt choose loh...

Hi Meiling,
oh ok..so have u book the wedding banquet from MMH for your wedding date since u haven check the tong shu yet?

me will be holding my solminsation ceremony at MMH before the dinner start...hehe

Hi libragal....

honeymoon ah..
if my wedding never lose much will go lor...
if not must wait for bonus liao..

cos Carlton Hotel has pillars in their ballroom...
and the max is only 38 I think..
my mum want to invite alot of ppl..
then I thought 60 tables for MM is enough for her.. but she told me not enough...
so I ask her to cut... no choice liao.. cant change hotel..

Hi Libragal,
I havent book my wedding banquet from MMH, but should be doing so by the end of this month. I want to do my solemnisation ceremony on another day, perhaps 06.07.08.

Hi Jasyln,
Wah, your mum really on leh, I asked my mum, she too lazy to give me the guest list and only want to invite close relatives, that's why I have difficulty in getting 40 tables. My FH's family also intend to keep it small. Furthermore, my FH was studying in Australia so his friends are all there. It's more than 30 tables but definitely less than 40 tables, that's why I didn't sign for MM. Trying to get them to invite more people....sigh....

Hi Meiling....
oic..its also gd like this leh...
can save $$...

but hor sometimes when parents say they dun
wana invite alot of ppl.. in the end they will add..
like my MIL.. at 1st say need 6 tables only...
no need invite so many ppl..
now got 11.. and still adding...

for my mum ah.. hehe.. cos we have lots of relatives..
my dad alone have 10 bros and sis liao.. thats y + all my cousins is alot..
and my dad wana invite his business associates so..my list is getting longer and longer.. haiz..

Hi Jasyln,
For me, I dun mind taking the Vanda Room but it's too small...unless I cut down on the no. of people I invite but it's not so nice as I've to extend my invitation to all my colleagues (about 100 of them) and friends, I'll expect around 8-10 tables on my own. My FH's side about 12-15 tables. As my dad has passed away 4 years ago, though his family is big but my mum intends to invite only close relatives, thus will be around 12-14 tables. Thus min=32 tables and max=39 tables, can't take Vanda Room and can't make it for Grand Ballroom. Sigh....
My FH and I are not relying on our families for our wedding expenses, thus we are on a tight budget...sad and stressed...wonder how much I will spend...

Hi Meiling...
oic...
think should be ok to add 1 more table bah..
cos grandballroom min is 40...

me also... all my wedding expenses paid by us..
my BS, AD PG and VG already cost me nearly 10k liao..
hope my wedding dun lose so much... haiz..

Hi Jaslyn,
I think my ILs and my mum super not-on one, they felt it's so early to confirm but they don't understand that we have to bk the dates early. Faintz...Vanda Room's too small as I need at least 32 tables. Just hope that I can get 40 tables in the end...my mum wants to keep it less hassle even though my dad's side quite extended (cos my dad passed away 4 years back)...

HI Jasyln,
Same here, my BS, AD PG and VG will cost at least $10,000...all my savings will be gone...I have already did an estimation to lose about $400 per tables, thus may have to fork out another $4K to cover my loss.
I haven't even include my ROM solemnisation cost of booking a venue, food and photography. May need another $2-3K on that. Rings and wedding bands not included....

Hi Meiling..
opps..
mine does not include AD PG...
type too fast...
cos my mum sponser..
only BS and VG.. cos I gave up my previous BS...

ya.. my mum also..
I book last yr she say so early ah...

oic... but sometimes when u invite one and dun invite the other.. its quite difficult lor..

wow.. ur company is a big one... hehe.. 10 tables...
u paying ur tables urself??

ya.. ROM need about 2-3k..
unless u intend to keep it simple by going to ROM..save costs..

HI Jasyln,
Well, I have this problem bcos my FH is the same age as me, he started working later than I do and he has to finance his study loan, he's earning less than me in the meantime. He has just worked for a year after he did temp for a few months after his graduation. Budget's a bit tight for him and I don't want to add onto his burden...so it's a 50:50 on most items.
I haven't discuss the details with my mum, she offered to sponsor in monetary terms the last time we spoke but you know lah, this kind of thing how to initiate, must wait for her to say first. :P She hates the hassle to send all the invitation cards to relatives personally.
Well, I work in a school (but I'm not a teacher)...hehe...so I got many colleagues...yah, I should be sponsoring my own tables...hopefully won't suffer too much loss. The 10 tables include my friends, don't expect all to turn up. Usually only 50-60% will turn up. My heart just aches to part with my hard-earned $$$...but no choice...
Think better keep my ROM simple...do you have any nice recommendation?

Hi Meiling...
oic...same age is like this...
cos they have to do NS...
dun worry so much k.. relax..

my hubby also have to finance his study..
just graduated this yr.. cos he is doing it part time at NTU... he is 4 yrs older than me..
I also just got my flat last yr.. still havent buy some electrical items..
wedding really need alot of cash...
when my friend heard how much I spend..
she go WAH.. so much ah..
so ex..

oic.. no wonder...
school have lots of ppl...
normally friends they will know the market rate..
so still ok...
what I m afraid is relatives ah...

$$ this kind of things hor.. better wait for her to initiate...
cos in tradition we r still from the gals side..

simple ROM ah....the most simple one is do it at ROM and just go out for a nice lunch or dinner after that... choose a place with nice atmosphere..like some cafes..
recommendations ah.. I have her friend who have her ROM and wedding dinner at Giraffe Resturant & Bar opp PS.. quite nice... maybe just a lunch there...

Hi Jaslyn,
Yah lor, unless we are from wealthy families, if not, marriage will mean lotsa money on both parties. Just have to keep our fingers crossed that we can make it through...
Luckily, I forfeited my chance for WIS in SengKang early this month. Many people have been saying that it's a good opportunity but I don't want to add to my expenses as yet. I'm going for the WIS in August...guessed it's another big hole in my pocket.
Yah true, luckily my mum's gona take care of the relative's side and my FH's gona give her a few tables to cover. This is usually the case as relatives tend to bring 1 big family along and wrap very little, not even enough to cover 1/2 the cost.
I think I must set my AD, book my wedding banquet 1st and then set my ROM date...so I can book my hotel, AD photography and videography...ROM photography too cos I intend to book the same one and my JOP (I know one personally...hopefully he'll be free). After that then worry about the venue.

Hi Meiling...

ya lor.. have to pray lor...
hope not much losses..

no choice lor.. cos have to get flat.. if not no place to stay..
y dun u get ur flat earlier??
cos can faster reno then save for ur AD...

my parents also going to take care of their own tables.. and my hubby gave them 8 tables to cover their costs which is what they want lor..8 tables = $8k.. siong ah...

ya.. imagine one family of 5 come with less than $400.. already lose $100 liao..
some is give u jewellery for jing cha and wedding dinner no angbao liao..

ya.. do it slowly..
settle ur AD date and ur banquet..
the rest u can take ur time to consider...
then which means lose another $200 liao..

Hi Meiling ,
y u dun consider to rom at the MMH hotel before yr wedding start ?
i also intend to do it in this way...save time and u dun need to headache for the venue on where u goin to hold yr rom ceremony ?

i tink you better tink carefully before you book your wedding banquet since u say got budget constraint ?

Hi Jaslyn,
i booked my BS liao....
we will be goin to natas fair to take a look at the packages 1st becoz we will be goin durin the chinese new year period so must book early

oh...my FH dun like carlton as he say like the ballroom veri old like tat....

me too..all the wedding expenses all paid on our own...
also scare that will make losses for my wedding banquet..nowadays people dun give big ang paos le

btw how old are you ?

Hi zhuoen,

the weekday packages for 2008 will be $788 nett for 8 course and $828 nett for 9 course meal
(Mondays - Thursdays, excluding Eves & Public Holidays)

Hi Libragal,
I'm the most senior among the 3 of us, I'm going to be 28 this year. Hmm....actually was contemplating if I should use MM as my ROM venue but was thinking of doing it at somehere different. My FH and I have worked out our finances, I'll need about $15K while he needs $25K, he must work hard to save dat amount. I've got more than required.

Hi Jasyln,
Luckily both in ILs and my mum have agreed to take care of the tables on their side, my FH only have to give a few tables to my mum. My mum is understanding and not demanding...heng. It's ok, we are not in a big hurry to get out flat as we don't intend to ROM early...don't want to be in debt when everything comes together...

Hi Meiling...

lucky ur mum understanding.. my mum no lor.. haiz..
ur ILs also gd.. we r paying for all my hubby's side and the tables he is giving my parents..
my parents extra tables.. they will settle themselves..

oic..quite true also...
for my hubby...he want to get a flat 1st then get married..
he say dun want to get married and no place to stay.. cos he dun want to stay in my parents' extra place and I dun wana stay with his mum..

Hi Jaslyn,
Yah....my mum is more chin chye and she understands our financial status....so she asked for only 5 tables...I'll c how 1st, maybe I'll top up 1 more on my own to make it 6.
My ILs have to fork out on their own as they have not been providing any form of financial help and to absorb all their 12 tables is impossible for us if they are taking the angpows, I'm sure the relatives' side will suffer a loss...hehehe...so lucky for us :P
If I have taken my SengKang flat, have to fork out the deposit and any miscellanous expenses that comes with the flat, though I have enough CPF but the renovation part is going to be tough, also need to buy electrical appliances....all $$$
He don't mind staying with my mum but I can't stay in his flat cos it's too small, he's sharing a room with his brother. So it's a perfectly good excuse for me not to stay with my ILs to avoid any conflict.

Hi Meiling..
thats gd..

oic.. for my ILs, since we r paying.. so
we will take all the angbaos...
but as u say sure suffer loss cos all of them r relatives..

for flat..miscellanous expenses is not really alot..
is the reno and electrical appliances...
I took reno loan for part of the reno..
electrical appliances all buy using cash.. really siong...
but I spread around 2 years to buy lor..

oic.. as long as he dun mind... then thats gd lor..

Hi Jaslyn,
I dun intend to take, would be happy if they can cover for the cost....I intend to save up on a lump sum before I commit on my flat...

Hi Meiling...
cos they r paying for the tables.. thats y u dun take...
for me.. if we dun take.. we cant afford to pay for the tables she wants lor..
cos still need my mum's 8 tables...
my hubby and my friends to cover..

ya. must have a sum of $$ b4 buying a flat..

Hi Jasyln....
Yah lor, we cannot afford to pay for so many tables leh...so I'm glad that they agreed to play a part in this, so it's still quite fortunate for us.
Actually it's quite sad that I didn't save much even though I've worked for nearly 5 years, have been shopping too much...sigh. Aiyo, seems like everyone here is so well-prepared, but I think I must slim down 1st of all...

just for your information to you all who have already sign a package with Marina Mandarin or thos who are considering to sign.

I just had my AD dinner on the 12th July, I would say thumbs up for their service !! They have coordinated everything so well that my dinner had went very smoothly. Both hubby and I felt that everything is so so perfect !!

Thank you once again to Ms Wendy Loh and the banquet manager for that night, Mr Rosman of cos not forgetting the AV incharge Mr Subrani and the rest of the staff involved !!