Marina Mandarin Singapore

hi chuckybride,

wah, so good ... 30 litre! Yup, mine is on a Sat but we are not trying to negotiate for free flow of beer just maybe another 20 (preferably 30) litre of beer on top of the 30 litre without the min. tables requirement apart from the minimum required to use the ballroom. Anyway, if our guests choose to drink more than 60 litres, MM will still earn 'cos we will order more, right?

hi vinmei,

we got the other usual perks stated ... what else should we ask for? We are not asking for free flow of beer but only another 20/30 litre barrel of beer on top of the existing 30 litre. Sat tables are the most expensive and I don't understand why it is so difficult to give just 1 more.

chuckybride, did you book during the wedding show like vinmei too?

vinmei, yours is on Fri, Sat or Sun?

btw, are both of your A.D. in 2005 or 2006?

hi bride-to-be, me too was eager to see the major changes and newly renovated hotel..

Think I have to wait till Nov or so be4 I can book their room and see their changes..

Will anyone be going down to see MM today or tomorrow? Went to MM yesterday to have a peek from outside. Seen some visitors enter into the hotel.. Not sure whether they are invited guests. The hotel is so new now and it's more high class. It's beautiful.. Hope to go inside the hotel to see today but no free leh.. Got to wait till weekend already.. can't wait man..:P

Hi Elcy,

Mine is a sat leh. And AD is in 2006. Therefore, it is so ex leh. And we bargain for more lor.

What about you? Who is ur coordinator?

Me always see it from far when walking towards Suntec lor. Think I will go down to see tml cos me going to Comex show! hehee

Hope it is not too disappointing lor... hehee

Just read from the Her World Brides Magazine that there'll be a wedding show at MM on 29 Oct!
Wonder what perks would be given then?

Drove past the lobby of MM to take a peek from outside ... hee ... even though there's still some construction outside, it already looks sophisticated and high-class!
kao_love.gif

If got time next week, surely must go down to view their interior.

Hi Elcy,

Same same huh... :P So u have not cfm ur date yet la... :P

We are taking the main ballroom so I also bargain on the min table lor. I think nothing much ba cos the rest are quite standard lor. :P

Aiya...me also want to see leh... But was tied down with something last nite so no chance to go there to see. hehee

I hope to see either today or tml lor. heheee

hi vinmei,

hee ... same same, we will also be taking the main ballroom
Heard got new intelligent lightings installed. So excited. Min. 40 tables then can use the main ballroom right? u mean can reduce this number? luckily we haven't confirmed it yet 'cos got wedding show coming up.

went to see MM yesterday. These are my findings:
On the outside, it looks grand.
main ballroom is also nice.
dunno is it the reno not yet finish.. level 5 onwards, not much changes. looks like just clean up the tiles only.
level 5 ballroom - carpet changed.. "windows" of the ballroom is blurred. saw something like intelligent lighting but not sure is that or not. but saw it can change color

hi cotton,

went i went yesterday, the level 5 ballroom still got a bit of touch ups on the stage. No wedding. Heard tomorrow there is a wedding. is the curtain behind the stage used to be gold in color? when i went yesterday, it's gold.

However, there is a function going on at Level 1 ballroom. So i went to have a peek when the function is ongoing. I find it very nice. Too bad mine is on Level 5. But dunno lah, maybe when the setup is all ready, scully it is also very nice... one thing i am very interested is, dunno the lighting i saw is it intelligent lighting.. mini one. it seems also like a wireless lighting too.

Hi elcy,

Mine was in 2006. If yours is on sat, then you have to book fast cos i tried to get sat in Q1 but don have already. And normally sat is a popular day. Unless your AD is later in the year, then you can slowly take your time.

Hey, I am also interested in MM, can I join the thread too?

Just a few questions for you girls considering, are they prompt in replying emails? I sent them emails, with no replies..
maybe's coz i sent to the main banquet enquiry line...

hi roidana,

you should call them instead. No point sending your enquiries over email. After you call them, they are quite prompt in replying you cos you will have their personal email address, which will be directly communicating to them.

Hi S,
Saw it yesterday.I think for level 5 only minor renovation.Like changing of carpet,changing the lights.i still dont like the stage,look so old n the gold curtain behind the stage look dirty too.
Ya,too bad mine also on level 5.
When i saw level 1 stage,wow.i think thats veri nice unlike level 5.Just my own personal thoughts.

hi xins,

have u booked with MM?
Think u got to go down and take a look to see whether you like it cos each of our preference is diff.

Hi S

I have not book yet, will wait for the coming show in Oct. But i have seen the old ballroom before.

hi xins,

oic. if u wan to view anytime b4 the show, maybe u can view the ballrooms a few weeks later cos it seems that they have a lot of things not really done up yet. which ballroom are you looking at?

Hi cottoncandy,

I have send u an email. I very excited to know wat is Eden Theme... it's a new theme adopted by MM.

hi all.. long time no log in liao.. with the re-opening of the hotel, i guess this thread is coming alive again!!

hey, i went up to hv a look at the vanda ballroom.. actually not too bad.. i must say it looks much better than before. they took away those bird paintings, repaint the ceiling and the exterior also looks better too..
but there's some company function going on, so didn't managed to go right into the ballroom. the ballroom no longer feels chi-na. instead it looks quite business..

hello S, you know their new themes already?? can share how's the Eden theme? thanks..

The level 5 ballroom did look better than last time.. maybe cos i went Level 1 ballroom to see first b4 going to level 5. The diff between the two is so great.. level 5 everything is changed new but nothing much changed.. like wat lavendar said, I am very glad that the chi-na paintings are removed.

lavendar, I haven't seen the Eden theme. I'm not sure when i went to see ballroom Level 1 is in Eden theme. That one is nice.. However, i get to know of Eden theme in Style Magazine for MM advert. There is a pic there too.. dunno that is Eden theme or not.

if i dind't remember wrongly, hers should be 10 Sept?

the stage now is cleaner. Think they got go and polish it. then the curtain they have changed it. Last time the curtain is wat color? Now they change to Gold already. Even though change already, it still got that school hall look.

Hi elcy,

which day is ur wedding? if ur wedding is on a sat, u need to take leave on Mon if u are staying in the suite for 2 days... as the check out time is on Mon 12pm.

hi S,
Yeah, probably I need to take leave on Mon.
What about you? How many nights would you be staying in your bridal suite?

Me went to see MM last sun liao...
Hmm.... overall, the grand ballroom looks nice but it does not give me a "WOW" factor when I enter Oriental that time lor... :P

It gives me a feeling that it looks at Marriott. Not sure if u gals been to see Marriott ballroom. But Marriott was my choice as well. :P

Then another thing is, I think they never clean the chandiliers leh... It still looks so Yellowish!!!! My God! When I see that, I want to faint mann! But I think me got to check it out with them.

But I like their toilets now. Looks cleaner and new. hahaa:0

hmm.... Me is also curious about their New theme leh. Not sure if I want to attend their Wedding show in Oct05 also. :P

for those who had food tasting already, does the chef or coordinator present during the food tasting? BTW, level 5 ballroom has got the chi-na pic hang up again.. sianz half.....

Oh man the chi-na pic hang up again? Oh no...I'll be going down later to take a look coz have the trial dinner tonight.

I'm just like you S, don't have any marriage leave benefit!

I have only 3 days marriage leave, too ... definitely not enough but don't think we are allowed to add on with our UPA (Urgent Private Affairs) leave.

what?! the chi-na pictures are up on the walls again?!!!!! this is so disappointing...

yah, i agree with vinmei.. the chandeliers look dirty and out of place with the newly renovated surroundings.

Hi there! how is every1 doing with preparation?

S(worry) & JoviaGer, have you gals got your wine?

I so disappointed to hear that not much changes made to Vanda Ballroom...was told the glass was frosted, carpet changed only... prob will check with co-ordinator on whether the chi-na pic can be "removed"

hello all,

I drop by marina this sat to have a look at the Vanda ballroom which i booked without seeing it.

The facade and entrance area now looks much better.

When i 1st look into Vanda ballroom, i didnt have 'wow' feeling. But i was lucky to meet a banquet manager who is there supervising the clearing of the ballroom after a wedding lunch.

He played ard with the intensity of the lights to show us how a banquet situation will be like and i must admit it is quite pretty

The only thing i dont like is the purple maroon carpet now encompassing the entire level 5, makes it looks old without grandeur and lack of liveliness.

Personally i thk the grand ballroom @ level1 looks nicer with the higher ceiling. But i dont have that many tables.

I will recommend you drop by Pan Pac to look at their ballroom. Really very pretty. Their bluish carpet got a sort of a 3D effect to mimick the waves action. But blue also gives it a corporate feel.

I met up with co-ordinator on Sun to do finalisation. Also had a chance to check out the Grand Ballroom. Looks good!! With intelligent lighting, and colored lightings too! Wallpaper all removed, and now, they have 2 screens to project our montage etc, to be placed on both sides of the stage!

I am still undecided between the new Eden theme, or the old candles theme. Anyone seen the new Eden theme already? Any comments/feedback?

Hi tcflabby

Dun think they change the ceiling of the Grand Ballroom.. think it's still the same leh...

Hi Heaven

Yar.. I got my wine from Bottles & Bottles, chose the exact same type of wine that MM is providing for free... ;p

Hi Jovia,

No they didnt change Grand Ballroom. I mean in a comparative sense, after visiting Vanda then going to Grand Ballroom, i feel that Grand Ballroom is very nice lor.

Hi bride to be

There is only 1 projector, so the same image/video (montage/highlights etc) will be projected on both screens.. so all guests will be able to see ;D That's for the Grand Ballroom.. not sure abt Vanda..

Hi Jovia,

Really... U mean one projector but on 2 screen huh?
Thats perfect!!! Its what I want mann!!!
So happy now.... la la la...

No wonder that day I went down to see I saw 2 screens leh... heheee

Hi bride to be

YEah.. I'm quite happy with that too.. esp with the colored lightings and intelligent lightings.. which was what I was hoping for! ;D

Now just waiting to see who will be using the Eden theme.. cos I have not selected my themes yet ;(

Hi Jovia,

Me also want to see the Eden theme leh...
Me actually forget what theme they have liao leh... :P

By the way, when is ur AD? Do they have a change in their wedding cards & favours? Me hoped that will be changed as well leh... hehee

So anybody has the pic of the level 5 ballroom afterall?
I am very eager to know what's it looks like as i had already signed with them even without viewing the ballroom first. Now a bit worried.

Been to Vanda Ballroom last sun.

Ballroom was small and cosy, can sit up to 30.

There were 25 tables and not squeezy.

There are 2 pillars near to the side. They are very small, I can say they are very near to the side that we didn't notice till we look to the side.

If there are 28-30 tables, the pillars might block, else it will not.

The stage looks much more presentable than the grand ballroom because it is a permanent stage, not a make shift stage.

Overall, I give it a 8/10.

The bad points are that:
The chinese paintings at the side will conflict the eden theme.

The waiter/waiteress will need to go through the main door in order to fill tea/drink/beer etc as the counter are outside.

$908 for sat is quite ex but the food they are giving are quite good. Hope the portion and the quality(taste) is good thou.

Any body here has any comments?

I am thinking of holding our wedding dinner at MM.

With $908, are there any other similar venues to consider?

GKF