Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi all MM brides,

Sory for the wrong info tat MM cant finish reno by OCt. But they intend to hack down Orion ballroom.signz.............

Hi Vivi,

When is your actual day? You are having the Orion ballroom right? If MM going to hack Orion, where will your wedding be?

phy,
freeflow beer is one of the perks that you can choose. So depends on your needs really. For myself, I opted to get the freeflow beer as you don't have to worry about extra costs after the dinner.

Hi Worry,
tats rite, MM going to hack down Orion ballroom. Very disapointed wif MM. when i sign up MM in early Dec, they reassure me tat reno wil b completed by aug and Orion ballroom wil b expanded ,have a better new look, might have escalator oso, then now.........the story is totally different.too traumatic 4 me to accept rite.my AD early OCt.

Penguin, MM only help tentatively booked these 2 hotels 4 me, i nid to liase wif them myslef. Tink i oso don have much choice, now Mar aready, 7 mths more my AD liao.

Any MM brides using Orion ballroom? wats the arangments?

oh dear... sad to hear that the Orion ballroom will be hack down vivi... so what other alternative plans u have right now... Are u intending to book another hotel ....

Vinmei > WE will be speaking to the event director. Dunno his name only my FH knows his name. I have got the 2006 price list from MM. Very very steep...but my FH wants it. I am wondering if we can ask for another additional night stay? Hmmm...mmm And is there any charges incurred to us when we are using the sound system and projector??

Phy 'o' > Me arh... my grandma picks this date... dunno where she got it from...

Hi GingerCat,

Event Director, think should be Beng Khoon ba.
Cos I am talking to him and he is the event director. Try to dicuss with him and I am sure he is able to adhere to your needs and requirements.

He is a nice guy.

But then, per table, $908 is too ex for me lor. Not within budget and will sure suffer big losses.
And I am lookin at other choices now.

Good luck for ur bargaining!

Hi Bride to be,

Tot they also have the $888 per table? Anyway, good luck to your search! If you want, I can recommend Meritus M. I think if they had not changed the pricing that they gave me, it should be quite affordable and maybe within your range.

All the best!

Hi GingerCat,

Did your grandma checked up the Chinese Calendar with your FH and your 8 characters?

Today my FMIL SUDDENLY ask to go check. We both dunno anything type and my aunt also said that if go fortune teller, he wil say a lot of things one. So we decided not to go and choose date la. Anyway, we both also dunno what our 8 charaters are.

So stressful!

hi pho, some temples provides U with wedding dates... U need to have both U and ur hubby animal signs as well as both ur parents animal signs... The mth and date of both ur birthdays and they will calculate it for U...

this is what my MIL said... seems like her sis went to the temple for a date be4...

phy_o dun be stress....in my case my MIL says i can't give tea to anyone in year of pig....who knows my mum is in tat year, i aso bo chap...just be haapy bride ok?

Hi Vivi,
can really feel how you felt on this unfortunate incident...my sis got similar happening last year with oriental...and would like to share her experience with you, hope this will help =)

initially she was so upset with the hotel that she keep calling them to complain..and was so upset that it affected her health...in the end, she and her husband has to endup shifting their AD (no other hotels available, and oriental staff not very helpful too...)
MM is really helpful to have found other hotels for u; dont be too stress lah...go and take a look at the hotels and just go for the one that please u the most... no point complaining or getting stress over the venue...re: your health is more impt

how's the co-ordinator from MM? if he/she is nice? sometime i do pity them, as it is not really thier fault (obviously the fault is with the brainless and heartless management)..do work with your co-ordinator and see if any good can work out from this..

best wishes

Hi Smarties,

Wow me so honored, yr first SB postings to me, hahaha.
Me and my husband was very courteous to MM staff when we met up wif them tat nite after they cal us in the afternoon. We oso listen calmly about the alternatives they going to give us. Happen those alternative hotels they offer were the hotels tat we shortlist & view b4.since we stil sign up wif MM in the end, mean tat the hotels r not to our preference lor.
Smarties, i am now stil very very angry wif MM, becos they ask us to liase directly to the 2 hotels. Morever one of the hotel happen to be more expensive than MM, by about $100 per table, i ask MM 2 top up the difference, but seem like they wil not do so.i am going to sort out wif them again in face the nex few days, wish me good luck.
Once again smarties, 10s for yr sharing.

Hi Vivi,

O welcome… actually it was my sis that brought this to my attention; she was browsing through the forum when she happened to read about this

HAI…..Seems that history has repeated itself (don’t know if this is a Spore culture =P), previously my sis also has to liaise directly with other hotels (worst…she cant even get the initial date that she wanted)…. ya must sort out with MM, believe that if your requests are reasonable, the co-coordinator will help you to fight for it (hopefully……) fyi, oriental only agree to pay 50% of the difference (about $55 per table) guess better than nothing hor….u shd try planning with your hubby and list out wat u want and things u are going to ask for…then go down to meet your coordinator, list down your request..then negotiate…believe me, you wouldn’t want to go through this too many times (as in going down to negotiate)…best if in ur next meeting u can resolve it liao…btw, how’s your hubby taking it???

Best of luck….hopefully can hear your good news soon…=)

Hmm..u cant be the only affected couples right???

To All other affected couples….Good luck and God Bless…

HI Hi!!

Penguin > Wah.. you DIY your own corsages and guest book... that is unique...
3 april just round the corner.. everything prepared?? I am making the pillow rings for my ROM and I had got my gown sketches ready.
which BS are you from?

Hi cotton candy
Hotel MM provide mah, but i bought 2 red box frm gift shop at cityhall, not goin to use ...giving to my frd.

Er, i will try take pix of my guest bk to show u, as for my own DIY corsages is below:

hihi gingercat, 7788 already..hehe almost done
im frm bridal zone

Thanx for all the encouragement! My FH found a list of dates that were auspicious for 2006. Can anyone figure out how to check if the date clashes with our animal sign?

Waa ... GingercAt, you so fast got your gown sketches and hotel booked! I wish I wasn't so busy and have more time to devote myself to this man!

Well, now have to settle all the dates first. Sigh ...

Hi Penguin,

How do you feel? Excited? I'm so impressed that you're making your own corsages and guest book! Are you doing a count down to 3rd April?

I tot ang pow box is provided by MM? But I heard it is quite small.

Hi Ladies!!

Penguin > ur cosages look lovely...
Where did you learn it from??? Can share? I love to do handicraft things too. Think it is a good idea to DIY too.

Phy o > Yah... My WG will make up of 2 colours, ivory white and lavender blue. My EG most likely will be satin blue or dull maroon red... this color not confirm yet cos I need to see where am I holding the dinner. For animal signs, probably you can get a shi fu to take a look or wait till Aug for the tong shu to be publish.

phyo, ya MM does have ang bao box its small like a tissue box heehee, ya....excited when it draw nearer, but a lot of nitty gritty tings to settle for AD :p

Gingercat, which is ur BS?sounds special hor ur gown
FYI im using level 5 ballrm, saw the set up for dinner before, tink quite cosy although looks a bit cramp. We were joking tat maybe MM can consider to shift the crystal lightings from the lift to the level 5 ballrm as the lift dun need be so nice mah rite? heehee

Hi Gingercat,

I'm also using the Les Oiseaux... like the room as it's very cosy... who is your coordinator in MM? Actually i guess it really depends on your preference ... i think one thing good abt MM is that the service there is good.. :-)

Hi again

Penguin > My BS is Yvonne Creative. Her workmanship and service is very very good. Reason y I signed with them is because they are not pushy and instead they can asked me to visit more BS and then come back to them. In addition, the other time, when I showed her the rough sketch, she even fix another appointment with me so that we can discuss everything through. For MM, I am utterly disappointed with what is going on and what the coordinator Wendy had promised us and in then end, she can tell us that our basic request cannot be fulfilled.

Y > Dun think their svc is good cos the things that they promised cannot even be fulfilled.

My FH and I had decided cos tomorrow we are seeing another Mandarin but this time round Orchard. No need to bargain for additional things cos the things that we need are all in the package. Moreover their coordinators are very very friendly. We have made a complain to MM EAM about all these.

Hi GingerCat,
I'll be hosting my wedding dinner at Les Oiseaux too. I had the same initial thought as you when i saw how low the ceiling was. But i went back again when there was a wedding to see how the whole place looks like when decorated.
Like what penguin mentioned, it looked cosy and i confirmed my booking with my coordinator the next day.

hi cottoncandy, u can buy the fake roses from golden dragon handicraft shop or spotlight. get some ribbons and laces. tie the lace and flowers together, buy green tape to tape them together then attach the ribbon. Confused? heehee

hi gingercat, ur BS sounds impressive! i m not tat satisfied when i choose my gowns at my BS cos limited.Sad to hear ur contacts with MM, i find tat male coordinators are more accomodating leh, maybe u can try....my coordinator is William

LHT so u confirmed liao ar, me having my lunch next Sunday afternoon liao!!!

Hi penguin,
I've confirmed the booking with MM around 2 weeks ago. Paid the deposit. Now waiting for them to arrange the bridal suite viewing (prob aft the renovation). Time flies huh, ur big day is coming. Do rest enough and drink lots of water.

Just to inform you all that I have inform Chin Leng to remove the post which I have posted in regards to MM.

But just beware of what we post here... there are people from MM to come in and look at what we have been writing and will report to the management.

Anyway, good luck gals!!

hi all , my videographer attended a wedding last Tues nite and he told me tat the couple's montage turn out to be soundless! tink the connection is loose, though they test before the wedding.

Just a reminder tat, u may wan to warn ur AV people at Hotel for this type of incident not to happen

hi penguin26,

my videographer told me, some ppl do their photo montage to be soundless. maybe they had intended it to be soundless?

my fren who attend a wedding sometime ago in MM and the AV turned out to be spoilt on that day. So it is best to double check ur AV.

S worry, the couple's montage has music, before it started, the AV test was ok, duno why actual ting was soundless, they were disappointed i heard

Ya, i m scared of unexpected tings too, went down twice to test before

anyone going to MM's bridal show this coming Sat?
i'll be going cos i've already signed up before i confirmed the booking with MM.
can taste the food and see their bridal suites at the same time.

Hi LHT,

Do update us how the new bridal suite looks like after your visit to the show this Sat!

Cheers! ;p

Hi Penguin

Wah.. your AD already.. Enjoy your day, and remember to share with us your AD pictures too!