Marina Mandarin Singapore

enya

hi charlene:

my coordinator is irene, and i think she's really good. v professional! based on our frens experience, service and food was wonderful! so this is a value-for-money deal! atmosphere wise is not bad, just find the ceiling for the ballroom slightly low. otherwise, everything else is okay for me!

cowie

Hi JenJen,
I thought it is stated in the package that overseas guest can have accomodation at 50% of prevailing room rates?

Hi Charlene,
My wedding is over already. Irene was my co-ordinator, she was good. Tried her best to accomodate and fit in whatever request I had, as long as it is within her abilities

charlene18

Hi Cowie and Enya,

Thanks for the reasurrance : ) Special thanks to Enya who answered me twice (i posted a separate message). I wanted to exhange the room for the wedding coordinators to food testing, I was even willing to top up the difference but Irene said no. Maybe I should ask for extra nite in the wedding suite - not sure if Irene will agree.

jenjen

cowie... their 50% rate is still quite ex... so not really worth it... though I wanted to book MM cos of the convenience... but in that case, forget it lor...

dap

Hi Jowie

sorry to hear about your bad experience but hey dun be too upset. I was always told that people won't really notice the music. Look forward to your honeymoon.

CAn I check with anyone here? If I get my friend to download songs from those free website onto a CD or copy song from 1 CD to another, can MM's sound system play them?

bluebell

Have been missing out this thread for some time so decided to "drop by" today =P

Hi Dap,

Yes, I compiled my own CD with songs from different CDs and MM played it.

Just a note gals that you have to think abt which part of the music you wanna start the march-in. The op mgr will ask you on that day.

man utd

HI

For those who have overseas guests, I suggest you exchange something from your basic package, which you feel you don't need, to the accommodation instead of paying the 50% discount which is still very expensive!! I exchange my 4-tier real cake with 2 nights stay @ a deluxe room for my parents but I negotiated before signing the contact.

Also, try calling MM direct thru' the room reservation, sometimes they do have promotion for weekend stay which could be cheaper than the 50% off!! I actually did that booking direct as a room guest & got my banquet mgr to arrange my guest to be the same floor as my bridal suite. No guarantee that they can be on same floor as it’s subject to room availability but at least you got the priority.

Just to share my experience, I have a wonderful experience with MM esp. the banquet mgr. He is a helpful guy who tried his best to accommodate almost everything of course within his means!! My wedding is nearly a perfect wedding except after the 2nd march-in they played their own CD instead of mine but it’s fine at least it suits the mood (ie: love songs) which I don’t mind. Also, no guest will know as they too busy taking photo & “yum sheng”.

Just to add: All my colleagues & bosses also said that the food is fantastic esp. the herbal chicken (weekend menu for YR 2002)!!

My advise for all MM brides, my advise is to talk & communicate with your banquet mgr telling them what you want & your expectations & I’m sure they will try their best!!

Cheers…………

charlene18

Hi Man Utd,

Guess you must be a Man U fan - hope they will win something this yr. Can I check who was your banquet manager? I presume your weddding was just over - congrats!

Charlene

man utd

Charlene

Yes, you are right!! Me a Man U fan but I doubt they can win anything this yr coz of their poor performance.

My banquet mgr is Beng Khoon. A very pleasant guy!! The Operation Mgr who help me on my wedding nite is also very helpful & cheerful. I don't have his name but he's a Malay gentleman!

Cheers.....

charlene 18

Hi fellow Man U fan,

Actually it is my hubby who is a major fan and has influenced me. Can you imagine - he used to have a spread sheet detailing the scores of all their matches for years!! But seriously, agree that they are not going to win anything this year. Ferguson should of just retired after the treble.

Sorry, diverted from the topic. I had spoken to Irene first but bumped into Beng Khoon one nite when I popped by to see the ballroom. Was impressed that he spent time talking and explaining things to me even tho' I told him I had spoken to Irene.

How did you find their food, service and overall atmosphere?

enya

charlene:

so which hotel are u picking? i had a hard time like u a few weeks ago, but settled on MM bcos of the price, good food and service!

charlene18

Hallos Enya,

Am still angonising. Have decided to set dateline.
Will decide by next weekend on MM or PP. I have heard gd things abt both. I actually like PP a bit more cos' of the wedding gifts like teddy bears and that the ballroom is newer but MM's classic ballroom has it's own charm as well.

Can I check who handled your account at MM?

Will let you know once I have made up my mind.
Thanks for your concern

enya

hi charlene

i think at the end of the day, what matters more is ur priorities and budget. if ambience and wedding favours are v impt 2 u,then go for PP lor. for me, i like the food, service and the ballroom at MM is pretty nice. plus i get along better with Irene at MM then the coordinator at PP. at the end of the day, it's just a one day affair. its better 2 save for the honeymoon and the house!

jowie

Jocelyn...u r rite! check wif cliff and you the nice gal who came up to wish us when u had another wedding at downstairs ballroom

JenJen...have u tried the MM wkend promo? my frends also booked a room but if go thru pauline, it's $185 wif breakfast, their wkend promo is $138+++ wifout breakfast

dap

so quite here lately...

i did my food tasting last friday...yummy overall quite please with the food. The King Prawn is big and filling. I'll be taking the Mango with ice-cream dessert...very nice. The nonya sauce fish also very tasty...my guests commended it's something different. Though the garlic prawn does not look appealing, it taste good. My brother said it looks oily but the meat inside is not so.

enya

hi dap:

u mean there is fish with nonya sauce? i tot just seabass, garoupa etc etc ... okie okie, yes i heard the mango dessert is SUPERB .. so going 2 take that as well! the prawns - garlic prawns? how about ur noodles? ee mian, mee sua or rice?
when is ur big day?

dap

Hi Enya

I took Seabass with Nonya sauce. very nice and different from other banquet which i've been. I took mee sua for food tasting but it looks like bee hoon so guests said not so presentable so we have decided to change to ee-mian. The Mango dessert is really good, even my mum who don't take milk (vanilla ice-cream) finish her bowl of dessert. The older guests also agree we should take this dessert though generally older folks don't take cold dish.

My wedding on 16 Jan 03.

enya

okie okie ... urs is a weekday menu rite? irene told me the fish can be done either teochew style, or cantonese style, but din know about the nonya sauce leh!
how many different styles for the prawns?
chicken leh?

dap

Hi Enya

yup, my wedding is on a thur. Actually MM quite flexible so you can request for style of cooking which is available on a weekday menu. Just run thru both weekday and weekend menu will give you more ideas. when's your food tasting?

enya

me dun intend 2 go for food tasting, cos have 2 few tables .. so wun have free food tasting or what lor... so now gathering feedback from everywhere!! me weekday too ...

ohno

<FONT COLOR="119911">Hi Gals</FONT>

Just thought of sharing... rest assured that MM will do a good job for you on your wedding day. Kenny was my Banquet Manager, he's very professional. He was with us throughout the whole nite to guide us along. Most of my guest commented that the ambience and the food were good, the greatest impact will be the last dish - Chilled mango sago with ice-cream... yum yum, I've managed to taste it before I left the ballroom.

Best wishes to the rest of the couples who will be having their wedding banquet at MM.

enya

hi ohno!

where was ur wedding? is it at the ballroom on level 1 or level 5? and what type of fish / prawns / noodles did u select? yes i heard numerous postive comments about the mango sago! def going for that!!!

which march-in song did u select? who did u rent your projector from?

ohno

<FONT COLOR="119911">Hi Enya</FONT>

Mine is at Les Oiseaux, level 5. The place is quite cosy and romantic in the evening after the reception area and the ballroom are being decorated. Most of the guest commented that it was quite unique cos we can oversee the whole of level 4 from our reception area. There will be a pianist playing their music pieces in the evening which added another point to the whole ambience. I didn't go for any food tasting at all cos need to pay $. I've chosen steamed sea bass in soya sauce and panfried prawns in garlic &amp; butter (prawns are big). Irene has recommended me their fried hokkien mee sua, thanks to her - most of my elderly guests like it, not soggy at all.
. Thought that only younger generation love cold desserts, was surprised that a lot of elderlys also love that chilled mango sago with ice-cream.

dap

I'm having my discussion with my coordinator next week. what things should i inform him in advance? any idea?

ken ong

dap I see u have ur food tasting already ,right.
Is food tasting free?

Ken ong

dap

Hi Ken
the food tasting is free for me because i give up my real tier wedding cake. it's up to the couple how they negotiate with the hotel. Have you booked with MM?

enya

i tried exchanging the cake for free food tasting .. but cannot!!!
so irene offered me 50% off food tasting instead ..not taking that,comes up to 300 plus ..

dap

Hi enya

dun be sad. It depends on the total tables and other things in the package. so depends on negotiation power too...d

enya

yar, as long as u booked during their promotional period - tie in with their recent wedding show held in oct 2002!

enya

not too sure about that, cos i signed up during the promotional period, which was in the month of oct! anyway,MM has a very comprehensive package and a very dedicated team of wedding coordinators! maybe u can work something out with them?

the promotions offered to me was 1 free table for bookings of 20 tables and above, plus free flow of beer!

dap

Hi enya

You've got better offer than me;0) In fact I was the first customer to sign up in year 2003 and the rate is based on 2002 package. So I didn't enjoy the free table and free flow of beer;(. Quite unhappy about that. I learnt a lesson...book later will get better deal. sigh..

enya

dap: if i'm not wrong, ur wedding in jan 03 rite? if u waited till oct to book, scully ur date is not avail leh? i guess it really depends on timing lar .. what was the 2002 package like? issit 789 nett for weekends?

calisa

I am also a MM Bride. My wedding is on Dec 2003. After reading through the comments and advice, I realise that there are so much to prepare for my wedding. Therefore I need to check with all of u on the followings:

1) Any good recomendation of Banquet Manager?
2) Heard that Daniel is a good emcee. So how much
does he charge?
3) Is Hi-Tech a good choice for the printing of
the wedding cards?
4) Can anyone recomend a good photographer for
my actual Wedding Day?

So many questions rite? Hope u gals don't mind?

Dunno

enya

hi calisa!

my date is also in dec 2003!! when is urs? my coordinator is irene, who also recommended me an actual day photographer who worked very closely with many couples who had their banquet at MM as well!!
1) irene is v good and professional, and tried to meet our requests as far as possible.
2) i also engaged daniel as my emcee, but yet to meet up with him!
3) not too sure about this .. is this the contact which you obtained from their recent wedding show? i can check out from irene for u, when the date gets closer, say around sept 03?
4) same .. email me if u need more details!

merry xmas and happy new year!

ohno

Hi Calisa

MM has provided me with 2 printer contacts - AcePro &amp; Jasvy (not sure if it's still the same now), and it's cheaper too. I've checked with T-Dragon before and it cost slightly more than the 2 printers provided by MM. Furthermore, the inserts for cards are provided by MM and we just need to pay for their printing service.

email me if u need more info, [email protected]

ohno

hi enya

The 2 printers will asked which hotel we're going to have our dinner before they quote us the price.
Since your wedding is next year, not sure if MM will have different printers by then. Advisable to go to the printers recommended by our own hotel.

AcePro Creative Link
401 MacPherson Road
#02-34 Hotel Windsor
Singapore 368125
Tel: 6848 4638
http://www.aceproclink.com/

Jasvy Marketing Agency
54 Kallang Bahru
#02-02
Singapore 339336
Tel: 62992263

enya

hi ohno!

did u do anything different to your wedding cards ... or just print on the inserts as per normal and that's all? was thinking how to make the cards look abit more different!! the lady at the recent wedding show hosted at MM suggested cutting the cards and bind them together, like a book?

calisa

Enya: I did not attend the wedding show held by MM cos my hubby say that we have to pay. So sad. As for the printer, i read fom some of the other thread, so sorry forgot which thread. Btw, when did u confirm with irene abt the emcee? Do we have to pay for his service? I thought that we have to go and find ourselves, thats what Pauline told us.

Ohno: Thks for the info abt the printer. Will call them to check the price.

wxyz

Hi calisa,

Daniel, the much talked about emcee in SB is NOT the same Daniel from MM. MM has a coordinator also named Daniel... but he is definately not the emcee! You will have to look for one yourself.

may

hi calisa &amp; enya!

i'm also a new MM bride. When's ur wedding date? Mine on Nov 03. Wanted to choose Dec 03.

Have you all chosen ur bridal package? Who did u sign up with?

I have to look for one soon.

calisa

Hi wxyz,

Ya, thats why I need the info abt Daniel. Thks for telling me abt it. Btw, do u think u can ask MM to find me an emcee cos really cannot find one. Very Headache????????

Never mind then. Would like to ask u are u MM Bride?

Do u have any idea that there are how many coordinators in MM? Who are they?

Enya: U mean u sign up the package with Irene and she will be your banquet coordinator on that day as well? Or did u sign up with other manager and then he/she assigned Irene to U? Very Blur now ??????????? Or is Irene also a manager?

When do we need to get the things(discuss abt the decoration and printing of the cards and ect)done?

enya

1) i engaged daniel, as in the free emcee from SB thread, not aware of any daniel from MM.

2) i will be liasing with irene (senior events manager) to discuss about the menu, collect invites, confirm deco etc etc about 1-3 months before actual big day. not too sure who will be coordinating the dinner on the actual day

3) no idea how many coordinators there are at MM, the other time when i initially called MM, irene was the one who attended to all our queries. we signed the agreement with irene.

calisa: who attended to u, and have you actually signed the agreement / placed deposit? cos i think if u have, such questions should have been addressed before u sign on the dotted line? the wedding show was a good deal, think around 15 per couple, and u get to try some of the items on their menu, like sharksfin, prawns and roast chicken! plus there were a few vendors, like wine suppliers, actual day photographer / videographer, wedding card printers etc who were there ...

may: yes .. u are nov03 bride? me dec03 bride, and i have booked the bridal package!