Marina Bay Sands (MBS)

@ sshheena
who actually told you tat, jeremy or his boss.
there will be some exception for pple who sign up before change of policy. Some more the contract is so manual - template. Can change easily.
Do you wan to write complaint letter to whole MBS and Sands
USA and Sans Macau. You are on wedding not coporate event. what a shame

ssheena,so what was the outcome?
was there a black and white of the new policy that full payment is required for the banquet?

i dont think its fair for us to make full payment seriously! its a huge sum of money. most of us here only pay the $8k deposit.

Goodness, all brides to be should really think twice about choosing MBS. Jeremy was my 'coordinator' and I felt that he was doing a hard sell to me, as I mentioned that I have not decided on my venue. I could also feel he wasn't very willing to meet us over the weekends, since that was our only available period. It is sad that such a reputable hotel has only two coordinators. Honestly, I wasn't very comfortable with forking out 10k for an event of 35 tables. After reviewing, although we love the venue, we have decided to drop MBS as that place is known for food that is 'not up to standard', lousy service and limited choices. We have seen contacted St. Regis and the service we get from them is top notch. Just my thoughts

@Megan
Most of the Catering Manager (Banquet Coordinator) only works on Monday to Friday but they do willing to meet after office hours. Actual Day Banquet will be handle by the on-duty banquet manager.
If you do think of MBS again, please ask him to draft and print the Contract on the spot upon giving the deposit, just in case you will end up ssheenna.

moodyliser : We did speak to the boss and the boss told ask is to either accept the condition if not cancel the event lor .. We totally very disappointed but no choice . We need to faster find other hotels..

Liquidzza : We ask them refund lor .. Though there's black and white . But if we were to bring to court . I think also no use , MBS is so rich , they can put alot $$ to fight the case .. =( .

So me n my HTB think no point fighting lor .. But to warns the BTB here to careful .. =((

Moodyliser: We didn't have that problem with most of the catering managers, as I explained both of us had to fly often and the only time to meet would be on specific weekends. Anyway, I don't think i am quite ready to handover my wedding to someone who couldn't work around my schedule. it'd be tougher for me to get ideas or instructions across.

Unless BTB are really wants MBS for its name and location, you should consider somewhere else with that amount of money.

sshheena: I feel so bad for you! Don't worry, you'd definitely be able to find one of your dream venue soon =) keep us posted!

oh no, i hear so much complaints about jeremy, im quite worried coz his my coordinator too...but so far he replies to my email, but i dont email him often though...sigh

@sshheena, which are the other hotels u shortlisted? hope u find a dream location soon!

@megan, so u r taking St Regis?its a SIX star hotel if im not wrong..service is top notch, but i think price also top right?heehhee..i would also love to hold wedding there, but i think its over budget for me..actually went to alot hotels, but choose mbs coz i only have 20 tables, n ya, becoz MBS sounds reptuable. no choice already pay deposit, gotta hope for the best!

@moody i thought coordinator will work on the day of their brides banquet too?like hand over to banquet manager??no ah?

Liquidzza: I have to discuss this matter with my bf but he seems pretty keen to hold it at St Regis as he's concerned about the food they serve too. My dad has been pressurising me to take up hotels with good food. Since St Regis serves individual portion but Chinese style, we are willing to give it a try. The food will be served directly from the Chinese restaurant kitchen, unlike mbs where they will wheel out the food to a function room then to the guests. I went there to reccee that place the other time and was shocked at how they served their food. Not really comfortable with that. Yeah, you will be fine

@sshheena : Haiz ... their service become worst after gladys left. hope you get hotel soon for your dream wedding.

@liquidzza : from what i know everything will be handle by banquet manager. Coordinator just the sales portion. So what you have highlighted to your coordinator, you must reemphasize to the banquet manage like serve food hot; change drinks when drinks are diluted or almost emptied; serve wine/beer when banquet started etc.

@Megan : if you really wan good food, try orchard hotel or intercon so far they have the least complaint. and better food taste.

Dear Sshheena,

My name is John Strait and I am the Director of Catering & Conference Management at Marina Bay Sands.

I have recently come across your comments on this Forum and read about the challenges that you have been experiencing while planning your wedding at Marina Bay Sands.

I understand that a bride's wedding day is one of the most important moments in her life, and it is never our intention to cause our guests any unnecessary stress or inconvenience, especially during such a significant occasion.

I would like to extend a personal invitation to you and your fiancé to join me at Marina Bay Sands at your convenience to discuss your event further and to clear up any misunderstanding you may have with respect to our service.

I will be contacting you directly to arrange a time to come down to Marina Bay Sands.

Once again, every wedding is important to us and we seek to provide only the best service during these once in a lifetime events.

Yours sincerely,

John Strait
Director of Catering & Conference Management

yeah sheena, hope everything goes well.

To all brides, do rem to select your wedding invitation cards earlier. Recommended start from 5th month despite MBS recommended 3rd month. I felt AWT does not have full commitment in delivering the invitation cards on time (DELAY) and getting your selected cards (OUT OF STOCK). Do alert on CHINESE insert write up - always have errors.

hihi btbs

hows everyones progress? been quiet here?
saw some photos of friends wedding at mbs and looks good.

my rom will be the small function room beside ballroom, but when i see the sky garden and skypark, the view looks amazing~! but to pay a premium for half an hr rom, will you? hee...

another note, will you choose individual serve or communal (one big plate sharing) kind of serving for your guest table??

agree with moodyliser, do visit awt earlier. i chose my card on 1 jun, and now, they still tell me they need another 2-3weeks coz my cardstock havent arrive from states order...thats like 1.5months! lucky i heed moody's advice to go 5th month..

when will food tasting session be? coordinator no news leh..hhehehe

Hi Liquidzza, here seems quiet after MBS director of catering enter to this forum. Think everyone may be concern.

I attended a wedding last month in MBS. It's true that food not directly from kitchen. I saw sevice staff collected the food from another ballroom. Service staff not experience and slow. Really cross my finger, hope that they can really provide best service just like what the director given the promise.

@Wei Ting,
unfortunately, sheena has withdrawn from MBS.

@Dan Cat
Perhaps everyone is busy preparing for wedding. Moreover, you need to limits your words here. No freedom of speech. (liquidzza knows what is going on). Actually keeping food in another ballroom is minor , the main concern is the food easily get cold. The cooked food are kept in air-conditioned area. SImply having a stainless steel cover to the dish doesn't really "warm" the food. If they know science, the food will turn cold even more quickly. Fried food will get soggy... which i have eaten soggy MBS banquet food b4.

Hi moodyliser, ya maybe everyone is busy. I have been travelling, seldom come in too. I'm worried that the food will be cold. I saw the chefs took the food out from the stainless steel fridge. Anyway, just hope for the best. Why did you say "need to limits your words here"? Why no freedom of speech? Liquidzza knows what is going on? Can share more? What's your email? Maybe we email will be safer?

Hi all, I am planning to book my banquet and ROM with MBS for 2013. But I am still waiting for my coordinator to get back on the dates that she can meet us for a site visit for the first time.

Can I know how is the first site visit like and what are the details that should be discussed? TIA!

@ Dan_cat , im interested to find out too. Im a MBS btb. After putting my initial deposit, my coordinator have not replied my questions till now. It has been about 2 weeks =( Care to share what happened? I PMed you too.

@lepetitz , who is your coordinator? the coordinator usually will bring you around for a look, then tell you about the package. Depends on how keen you are to really get the venue to check out abit more like more perks etc. However, my experience is that they are quite sticky about the perks

@Shanetta: my coordinator is Jennifer. and she still hasnt gotten back to me. How about yours? Btw, did you get the contract first before you paid the initial deposit?

My coordinator is her too. I eventually sign up at thier bridal fair. Made initial deposit without contract,. She said she needed time to draft it out which I understand.

However I had further questions after signing up n it has been 2 weeks but no reply from her.

When was your last email with her?

Hi ladies!

Any one know where can I get bridesmaid dresses? Most blog shops don't seem to have Tiffany blue... 😱

Oh my... for those who have not signed up with MBS you might wanna consider. We are now so worried as ever since Gladys left, the new coordinator seemed to MIA. Our wedding is about 3 months away and still no news about printing of cards or the theme etc... We are now considering legal actions and on the look out for alternative venues. (may even have to consider restaurants instead now!) Seriously so annoyed with MBS and totally regretted booking the banquet with them.

Hi netta,

Which part of pays lebar are you refering to? I have not check city plaza out too...

Hi tmlyl,
My coordinator also went Mia.. Sent various emails but got a automated out of office reply... Been almost 2 weeks and yet no replies too... The printer contact that was given also went Mia! 😱what course of actions are you thinking of taking? Can I have your email then we can talk offline?

Hey Lynnwei,
yeah i mean paya lebar's city plaza. They have a couple of shops. Many blogshop owner go there for their stock to.

Tmlyl and Lynnwei, Who is your coordinator?when your AD?

Are their food and service really so bad? My friend whom had her wedding there shared with me that they were pretty ok.. after seeing the reviews I am a little concerned and I am meeting them next week to see the ballroom..

I just done my food tasting and my mum enjoyed it. Hopefully on ad everything is good!

Tmy, who's your coordinator? Maybe you can give her a call? You mean the print shop American wedding treasure? Service from them is good to me leh! Super love my wedding cards as quality and design is better than rest of hotel.

Hi Tmlyl, agree with you. Their reply is really very slow. Still prefer Gladys if she's still around. Maybe they have no leader guiding them. A bit regret too. But if ur date is 3 months away, hard to find venue. If you want the wedding to happen, no choice, just follow up with them closely.

Ya.... We managed to contact the Director and managed to speak to the deputy. We have managed to get a new coordinator Jeremy (instead of Jennifer who was our replacement for Gladys) but our confidence in MBS is pretty low now... I think we have no choice but to be extra careful with what MBS can deliver now.... Jeremy seemed fine so far when we meet up.
To Lynnwei: You can PM me so we can share with you what we discuss with MBS after our complaint.

The morale here is very low. it is common not to see their reply.
Let me feed some positive comments to boost your enthusiasm for wedding. My wedding just over, general comments:
1) Food was Superb except the fish (not fresh). Our colleagues and friends were still discussing about it despite the wedding has over for 2 weeks.
2) Top 5 rank food: (1) Suckling Pig, (2) Scallop , (3) Deep Fried Prawn, (4) Shark Fin, (5) Abalone
3) Banquet team was excellent though they have arranged wrongly for VIP guests.
4) Our Guests like the Wine. it was Linderman Carbernet Shiraz
5) Beer had the most praising. It was tiger beer but it taste better than usual tiger beer.
6) Woodville Had done a good job in flora decoration
7) i don't know who decide the deco for dummy cakes - suppose to be the chef taking care. My theme is black and gold but they used red and pink flowers which spoil the entire theme. I am not red and pink person, this disgust me when i saw it on stage.

Hi all BTBs,

Yeah I find the comments rather negative in this thread too.. My fiance and I have just signed up the package with them on their wedding show last month. Thankfully, I think we were really lucky that everything is processing smoothly as for now.

My coordinator is Ethereal. I am not sure if she is new or what cause I don't see people commenting on her so far. However, for those who intends to sign up with MBS or wants to change coordinator, she is highly recommended by us! She replies our email with 24 hours, in fact usually within a few hours and answers our queries in details. In the event that she wasn't able to reply us promptly, actually only 2 days later, she would apologise and explain to us why she is not able to get back to us earlier. We are very satisfied with her service and it is her whom made us feel at ease despite the negative comments posted here. I hope all will be well for our wedding banquet!

Moodyliser, congrats on your successful wedding! I am glad to hear that the food is superb as this is really our greatest concern. Were the food cold when it is served? Are the server attentive anough? We would appreciate greatly if you could highlight those things you feel we should take note during the wedding banquet.

1) Post Refreshment: Each is given one main course and one non alcoholic drink for post refreshment. If you have 2 nights stays, there is no specific timing that you have to take on first night. Recommended to take in 2nd night. Refer to page 12 of below link for the list of main course (order b4 11pm).
Overall the food from in-room dining was excellent! The person even helped to arrange the dishes nicely on dining table. Good Food. Good Service.

http://www.marinabaysands.com/uploadedFiles/Marina_Bay_Sands/Content_Blocks/Restaurants/In_Room_Dining/In-room%20dining%20menu.pdf

2) Invitation Cards AWT: My first complaint is the quality of the ribbons were different what they supposed to give. Lousy ribbons were given. Please check through all the items including ribbons before you leave AWT. Some cards was not done nicely.For ribbon, cut the ribbons on the spot if you have time. the ribbons given to me were less than what they should give.

My second complaint was I required more cards than printed. Initially MBS told me that I can print extra if required after my first print. Then i asked AWT for extra printing after realizing quantity of the cards was insufficient, Shirley told me that there is surcharge of $100!!! Which i was not told. I went to verify with my coordinator. he said He think there is the extra cost, probably $130>> not informed at all. Because of this ineffective communication, i have to source for printers to get more cards. Recommendation: just print more cards, even if you need to pay in advance or what in case there is any hidden cost.

My third complaint was they delayed the collection of the cards. the only follow up with their own supplier when collection date is coming. Otherwise they don't follow up or even update the status. You have to push them to follow up.
Overall: Need to improve their service and attitudes.

3) Florist Woodville: Cecilia was excellent. Flexible and accommodating. They have more variety of flowers to choose than SSS. She even came down personally to ensure all deco were fine. My guests love the flora deco , esp the VIP table deco. Was worried that MBS would grant the entry permit late for florists and thus delay deco especially ROM and Recept. Luckily everything was on time.
Overall Good Service.

4) Reply to Leong: Food was not cold. The service of waitresses and waiters on that day were excellent. Even the Banquet coordinators and mangers were good and helpful.
Btw you are lucky to sign up the package during wedding show this year with great discount off the package. I signed during last yr wedding fair but no such deal.

5)Hotel Side: The front desk officer was awesome. He personally welcomed wedding couple at lobby and lead us to the room. He also professionally introduced the room and explained the post refreshment ordering and breakfast locations.

Concierge were efficient and effective in transferring gowns and albums from suite to ballroom and back to suite despite the hotel tower is quite a distance away from convention centre
Overall: Excellent Service.

Hi Moodyliser,

Yes I agreed I was really lucky to have signed up at the wedding fair. It was just the start of my search for wedding banquet when the wedding show came and I signed without really doing much research. Afterwhich when I read this thread, I was a little worried on the overall food and service. But I am pleased with my selection now with your positive feedback.

Will be careful with the invitation cards selection. So does that mean you don't recommend we sign up with AWT? I think there is another supplier isit?

Great to know the front desk officer and concierge were awesome too!

So looking forward to my big day.

@ Sunainai .
There is only one invitation card vendor. Oh ya... Always always rem that you are given MAP insert together with your invitation cards. Shirley is not a proactive person... her standard service is to ask what kind of insert and card holder you want to select from the catalogue. You will choose your insert design from samples since she don't give suggestion. That's all. She will not automaticallly give Maps inserts so please re-emphasize to her and rem to collect during collection.

@ the rest
1) Do rem what you have eaten during you banquet. Ensure all food are delivered to you. Reemphasize to the banquet team. They delivered shortage of 3 courses but they can't do anything. Saddest ... I anticipated to eat those but they didn't serve and still said we have consume them and the keeping of the dishes were in charged by the server. Argh! so angry.

2) Oh ya please take note of the security of your changing room. After banquet , We are still using the changing room and our angpow boxes, other valuable stuff and other stuff were still there. the "movers" pple just remove the partition despite knowing that there are pple still using the room. and one of them took our angpow boxes!!! luckily we went back on time. We were just outside the door for a while only but when we went in, they already removed the partition which is suppppper dangerous and impolite. If the couples are still using the room , just wait. I don't understand what is the rush! Even though the room was booked until 11pm, it is expected to be overtime for wedding. Technically, they should just wait for the couple to dismiss before they do anything. It is common sense!

@ suninai: My coordinator is also Ethereal and both of us are satisfied with her service. She replies our emails promptly and we can feel her sincerity. Like u,she puts our heart at ease after reading the negative reviews in the forum. I will also highly recommend her!
@ Moodlyiser,thank u so much for your feedback and the reminders! Was wondering if you could share with us what theme did u choose from Woodville and how many months in advance do we have to go down to choose our theme? Appreciate if you can share the photos.

@ jr pooh: Yay!! Correct I can feel her sincerity too. When is your AD? Mine is on 24 March 2013.

@ Moodyliser: Just PMed you too!

@ sunainai: haha..glad to haf her as my coordinator.. mine is 28 dec 2013...did u book de outdoor area for solemnisation?

Yes I did.. The bayview is so nice!! How about you?

But a pity my ballroom is not the same level. It is at level 3.. Cause N** C******* church will at level 4 and we didnt want it to be on the same level..

Hi suninai and jr=pooh, could you please send me the email address of Ethereal? My email is [email protected]

I'm currently dealing with another coordinator and she has not replied my email in a week even though I've chased her.

Hoping for a good wedding coordinator because I would really like to hold my wedding at MBS!

Thanks ladies!!

@ sunaini: I haven book yet! Heard de rental cost $500++? Where is bay view area? Not de outdoor area beside de ballroom?
@ netta: hi netta! Such a coincidence! Mine is peony junior at level 4.. U?