Marina Bay Sands (MBS)

liquidzza

Oinkee, hi! i booked mine at Begonia Jr ballroom level3 next yr for 20-30 tables. Peony Jr at level 4 was already taken.

K Dandelion, wow congrats! ya i agree parking is difficult everywhere. there are very little review of MBS weddings here...u got any pics to share? which ballroom did you take and how would you rate coordination and flow of MBS wedding? if its not too troublesome to share photos, [email protected] is my email or fb...hehehe...thanks alot!!

gtxy

hi all! i also booked my wedding at MBS for december 2012! great to have more posts in this thread.. agree with K.Dandelion about there not being much info on MBS in the forums...

K.Dandelion, could you please share more about experience? thank youuusss =)

oinkieee

Hi 5 liquidzza ! I also booked Begonia ballroom for wedding nxt yr. same for me , level 4 junior ballroom was already taken. Not sure y level 4 is more popular? Issit cos of the garden outside? I tot the ballrooms are the same size . Their menu looks gd and premium.

Yea pls share experiences

kdandelion

Level 3 reception view is shopping centre while Level 4 is night scenery... I believe this is the reason because it was mine!

My wedding is end of next year as well so I couldnt share much at this moment.

gtxy

oinkieee - i booked begonia for next year too
who's your coordinator?

did anyone succeed in asking for more things? my impression is that they are quite sticky on the terms. no concessions thus far..

liquidzza

Hi epicentre, yours is begonia or begonia jr?

Hi oinkee, my wedding is 14.10.12, whens yours?

Ya Oinkee, i think K dandelion is right about the view. L4 has a garden walk (its like a big balcony) with night views of esplanade and fullerton, while L3 has only shopping centre view and part of sea. Also, level 4 ballroom is yellow light with red carpet, while level 3's ballroom is orangish lighting with yellow carpet!

yay, great to hear so many btb here as well!

my coordinator is very sticky about the perks too..NOOOOO to everything. =(
i just received my contract and realised they only provide one complimentary screen (On one side of the stage). asked if she can provide another one ?NOOO..fyi, another one cost $760++...

liquidzza

Dandelion, may i check how many bottles of wine did your guest consume? i will be taking my wish - complimentary bottle of wine per table.

thereafter, most likely i will pay for their house wine at $57++ since their corkage is $50++ per bottle already. its gonna be more costly bringing our own wines. but i havent taste the wines before, so really dunno if its nice.. any reviews? or if we can try the wines at food tasting?

also, im wondering if one barrel of beer is enough for dinner. expecting 25 tables..

gtxy

Hi liquidzza, mine is begonia, not begonia junior.

btw the coordinator told me that from his experience, most wedding dinners use about 2 barrels of beer. seems to be consistent with what one of the other hotels that i was considering previously told me. but this is their estimate for about 40 tables and also, i guess would probably depend on what your guests are like and how much they usually drink!

oinkieee

Epicentre- my coordinator is Jennifer
how abt u?

Liquidzza- my wedding is in Nov 2012.

I see I I haven't got the chance to see level 4 ballroom or foyer area hence didn't noe the difference! Must go kpo abit when got time le. Seems like everyone booked way in advance for next yr end's wedding. I heard there can be up to 6 weddings in a day if hot date.

For the wish, I tot the one additional night at bridal suite sounds gd cos their bridal suite are v ex !

Regarding the contract, did u all get the insurance for the ballroom? This seems pretty new to me n ppl we asked all never heard abt it being necessary for banquet.

liquidzza

hi oinkee, how much are the suites? coz wines per table, considering cheapest is their house wine $57++ x 25 tables is $1677 (minimum)..i would also like to stay a night longer, but maybe their normal rooms to rest n relax instead!heheh...

i saw the insurance in the contract, but since its included, i didnt pay much attention leh..

anyway, is anyone keen to get a dessert bar before dinner? there's so many vendors so im undecided which one to choose!hehe...ive checked with coordinator and she say we need to sign in indemnity form if we bring outside sweets/cupcakes (as they wont bear responsibility if theres any food poisoning)..but its common for most hotels.

i thought of engaging live band too.. yours truly, a little dream or shili and adi..anyone too??

wenditan

Hi all btb, me and my bf also just booked peony junior ballroom for next year end wedding. Just wondering, are we able to bring in our own canapes? any advise on that? :)

liquidzza

Hi Wendy, I have no idea.what canapés are you bringing? Cupcakes n sweets are fine but we need to submit to Mbs name of vendor n list of food we bringing for approval. An indemnity form thereafter.. Maybe you can check with your coordinator

moodyliser

I am also MBS BTB.
Wedding in Aug 2012.
Simpor Junior Ballroom for Banquet.
Garden Walk for Solemization.
Upon booking, there is no booking for any ballroom.So i got to book the most popular ballroom in MBS, level 4.

If you would like to book room for your guests on your banquet day, they will provide special rate for your guest. But I do recommend you to book based on the corporate rate given to your company (if available) as the rate is more attractive.

Bridal suite is approximately about $1000++ per night. Some other hotel only provide $500++ suite. So this is really attractive.

MBS had a record of having 10 wedding on a particular night. However they do try to put max 4 wedding per nigt. Not to worry if there are more than 2 weddings that day, they have usher to escort your guest to your banquet venue.

Typically a 30L-Barrel of Beer can pour into 90glasses. Tip: Only serve Beer & Wine when the banquet start otherwise you will be running out of alcoholic drink real fast.

oinkieee, leave your email, i can send email to you for more photos.

wenditan

Hi liquidzza: not too sure yet, maybe i bring in some cupcakes for light snacks first as im having my soemization and wedding lunch after that.

Hi moodyliser: did you book the garden for solemization? im still not too sure if i should book it anot cause we cant predict the weather and was told from my coordinator that if it's raining on that day, i cant take back my deposit (with that $500 i can do alot of things for my wedding)
anyway, can you send me more photos? email me at: [email protected] Thanks!

oinkieee

Hi Moodyliser, wa so lucky can pick the ballroom u wan . But is August close to Chinese 7th mth? Simpor is a big ballroom rite? Thanks for sending me

My coordinator told me will usually limit to 6 weddings in a day. Imagine the scenario w 10 weddings. The guests might b so confused where to go.

Ya the bridal suite looks big n nice from the website so tempted to choose it as the wish

I saw level 5 Sands ballroom so nice the ceiling lights.
I think $500 is worth taking a chance cos compared to Raffles the Lawn I think much more ex le. Have to pray for gd weather that day tho.

oinkieee

Oh btw Liquidzza I'm oso thinking of having a dessert long table and live band for my wedding hehehe but dunno wats the cost like

liquidzza

hi oinkeee, i can share my research with you.
dessert bar, depending on what items you want, but i was quoted $1400 for cupcakes, macaroons, sweets in jars and scoops, tags and decor for approximately 100 guest. i think $1400 is ex, but if i dont want macaroons it will be cheaper.

there's alot of vendors doing cupcakes and dessert bar, and i have no idea which one will do a good job..

for live band, we have to rent the equipment (through band) and cost $400-$500. typically for two sets of 45mins singing, two pc band cost $1000, 3 pc $1200 and there's additional cost if the singers are popular..

im looking at yours truly, shili and adi..

moodyliser

Hi Oinkieee and Wendy,
Emailed.

Hi Wendy,
Have to take risk. Probablity is 50%. Just hope the day is Sunny. Non-Refundable Booking Fee applies to all hotel outdoor solemisation venue. If you don't book, the garden walk might be booked for some other MBS events or another couple ROM. At the pt of time, you will be really regret if the day goes sunny. Booking fee is quite reasonable unlike Mandrain Oriental, Fullerton and Raffles (more than $2000).

What i intend to do is, to follow the urban myth > plant as much ginger and onion on the wedding day to scare away the rain : )

oinkieee

Hi Liquidzza, I haven't research on the vendors yet hehe abit slack now cos wedding seem still far away nxt yr haha but ya I really like the idea of having a dessert bar. But macaroons are so nice to have rite hehe colourful n yummy. Wa so means for abt 20 guests it will be abt 2800 already. Wat if the desserts run out and the guests who turn up later might not get to eat already
Hmm wonder if it will be cheaper if they jus play the instruments but no sing .

Hi Moodyliser, thanks! Received the informative email. :D

wanqi22

Hi! Nice to see so many MBS BTB here
I'm also MBS BTB Nov 2012. I want to ask if anyone of you has purchased the insurance? Seems like its mandatory but I never heard about it for other hotel banquets.

oinkieee

Hi wanqi22, ya I oso first time heard of this too. I haven't purchase any insurance yet. Which ballroom is urs?

lynnwei

Hi hi! I'm also a nov 2012 bride. So happy to see so many of you here! I'm also scratching my head on how to purchase the insurance. According to our coordinator it's a must to buy leh...

lynnwei

I've booked simpor! Have you taken a look at the wedding setups? Herard that sing see soon florist is the better one..

liquidzza

hi lynnwei, seriously, we need to buy the insurance? my coordinator didnt mention anything at all, and i havent return her the contract yet...Any idea where to get the insurance and how much it cost??

i've seen works of singseesoon and june florist many times...personally i feel singseesoon wins them in terms of decor and service! singseesoon ties up with dang bridal and jawn too i think!

Hi ladies, i would like to find out whether are all of your co-ordinators the same? I would like to know anyone manage to persuade the co-ordinator to bring in hard liquors? As MBS quite unflexi with their perks.

lynnwei

Hi liquidzza! I just met my coordinator today to sign the contract.she explained that the contact is a standard type even for company's that hold events with them. Usually cooperate buy the insurance as they will bring in external event companies to organize the events for them. So just in case they spoil anything they will usually buy the insurance. However for weddings she said its optional to us. But in the event that our guests burn a hole in their table cloth with cigarettes or spill wine on their carpets or even injure their staff??!! We will we liable for all cost and medical bills! I think I'll just skip this insurance part cos I dun think any there are any insurance product that only cover for this.

Hi wanqi22!
I've actually seen the decor done by SSS and June florist at the ballroom. And I've spoken to SSS as I happen to see them there. I agree with liquidzza that SSS is much better and they are more willing to negotiate with you.. Maybe you can ask your coordinator when will their next wedding event be then can make a trip down to take a look so that you can have a feel on how it looks like. The one we saw 2 Sunday ago was super grand and super pretty. But of course we were told that the couple top up a lot of stuff. According to our coordinator, mbs has alot of equipment but the package is actually quite basic. If u want something more customised u will have to incur extra charges. U can give me your email then I can share the photos we took with you.

We tried to push for hard liquor too... But it's a no no. So we decided to do away with it.

moodyliser

Hi Lynn/ Wangqi,
We booked the same ballroom. would you like to drop your email so that i can send you some simpor ballroom photos.

Simpor/Heliconia Junior Ballroom are for 30 to 40 tables.
Peony/Begonia are for 20 to 30 tables.
Grand Sand Ballroom min 80 tables x_X

I believe everyone has different coordinator, probably one or two btb might be the same. Agree with you and liquidzza that they are quite inflexible and niao for their perks.

The reason why most hotels provide waiver of hard liquor as they do not provide sales of hard liquor or wine bottles are not provided in the package. Unfortunately, MBS do sell Hard Liquor for Wedding, So that's why there is not "Waiver of Hard liquor corkage" in the perks. If you really wish , you can opt for "Waiver of wine and hard liquor" wish but all bottles brought in must be equivalent to no. of tables being booked.

liquidzza

Hi kynnwei, would you please share the photos with me too? I would like to see what the couple top up to make the ballroom prettier! My email is [email protected]. Thanks alot!!

Btw, i have the sample photos of invitation card if anyone's keen.. N the wedding favors too. Hee, which favor are you all choosing??

Happy to see this forum becoming lively!!!;)

lynnwei

Hi babes!

I've emailed you the photos already. Liquidzza can I have the photos of the invitation cars and wedding flavours?

Hi moodyliser, 1 of wishes is cockage waive for wine, not hard liquor, as the coordinator emphasizing that their package prices have already been discounted. So they wanna earn from the hard liquor. The coordinator that I encounter, seems nice, however some words can be quite scarcastic.

moodyliser

Hi michelle, my mistake.
Yeah, even during the negotiation of the package, my coordinator also told me that they have slashed price - whatever they can give is the best. I've checked the old package, it also do not have waiver of hard liquor

HI Carol, are you BTB for MBS?

More photos to send to you after this weekend.

oinkieee

Hi wangqi22, mine is Begonia junior ballroom hee.

Hi Liquidzza, can u email me the wedding invites photos as well ? Thanks!

Hi Lynnwei, me too I would like to see the photos of how the ballroom looked more grand. Thanks!

Hi Moodyliser, thanks for sharing all the photos with us!

carolng

Hi moodyliser,

yup haven confirm anything yet, but most probably will be booking MBS for our wedding in sept or dec next year=)

anyway wanna check with u, do u have any idea is the simpor ballroom strictly for 30 - 40 tables only or can be requested for 26 tables?

moodyliser

Hi Carol,
Yes, Simpor(L4)/Heliconia(L3) Junior is strictly for 30 to 40 as the ballroom is bigger than Peony(L4)/Begonia(3) Junior (20 to 30). So they wouldn't want to over utilize the ballroom. Probably you can make a request (when you are making your final table arrangement with your coordinator) to change of ballroom if there in no occupancy the ballrooms on that day. If you are able to change, bear in mind that they would actually do partition in the bigger ballroom to make it to Peony/Begonia Junior size which I find it is ugly and not presentable. It is not that you can fully use the entire ballroom to spread out the tables.

Also would advise you to make decision fast before the ballroom of your interest has taken up. Especially you are looking at 2nd half of the year when there are quite alot of events happening.

beinvogue

Hi ladies - Liquidxxa, Moodyliser, Lynn and all,

Im also considering MBS for my weekend wedding next year (aug-oct 12, not fixed yet). But because i've heard of a lot of horror stories like bad service, terrible food, rats in the kitchen!!??, expensive (need to top up for many things which are not included in the package) etc, and also MBS is still new, hence i kept contemplating and decide not to sign the contract with them immediately.

My bf on the other hand likes MBS, cause its new and interesting, we can access the sky park the next morning after the wedding, so MBS its more like his first choice!

Also, this insurance sounds new to me too! Hv not heard, but will double confirm with the coordinator again if we decide to proceed. But based on what lynn has explained, i guess shes right - mainly for corporate events since they hv external vendors, and might not be really applicable for weddings. But they shd be flexible, if weddings is not required, they prob shd omit the insurance, since hotels dont even have that.

Anyw, seems like the coordinator we met is telling us the truth, that more pple are considering MBS nowadays, hopefully their standard wil improve next year!

For those who have already had their wedding at MBS, really appreciate if you could share with me your experiences (food served, the MBS team, service, overall review etc), and some pictures, that will highly appreciated.

And for those who have already signed up with MBS, could you pls share with me what to look out for - In terms of the wedding favours, SSS florist which seems to be recommended, some images of the ballroom setup etc. ANyone gone for food tasting yet?

I hope to finalise the wedding dinner location by next week if possible. Still kinda stuck and was torn btw Shang and MBS. Shang is prob gonna be out since its pretty inaccessible and i wont be given a nice ballroom cause we are only considering 20 -23 tables?

So yap.. look forward to hearing from you guys soon. Pls drop me a mail at [email protected]

Many thanks!

moodyliser

I all

Overall MBS service was really good. Esp the gal who serving my table, would like her to my banquet waitress, she's good and professional. here are some of my observations:

(1) Softdrinks were changed to a brand new glass after you finished or almost finished. They are fast enough to change.This is absolutely the right way. I went to mandarin orchard banquet: have to call them to do the refill, no initiative and took super long time just for refill. Unprofessionally they just refill without changing the glass, especially your glass had already filled with Melted Ice and then you are drinking diluted coke.

(2) When the banquet start, your waiter will ask you if you need wine upon going round to pour. One plus point is their team work. whoever waiter/waiteress/managers happened by pass your empty wine glass and holding a wine bottle (suppose for their assigned table) , they would refill for you, helping one and other to bring up the service level.

(3) Kitchen is at level 4. They will bring down the food to level 3 in food kart (like hospital). They will assign one function room to handle food and collecting dirty waste. One thing to note for all is, probably it was a hot day and utensils are not enough, had seen wet plate. If you mind, please take note.

(4) as i mentioned to many, quality may not be the critical as all banquet food are the same. Most important the food must be hot or reasonable temperature. Yesterday dishes was OK. As i really have bad experience with mandrain of serving very cold and soggy food.

(5) the waiter assigned to you is willing to interact with you (not like those don't dare to talk kind), he will actually tell you if there is delay in food and wan any other drink. Good open mind concept.

(6) If your stage will be at the centre of the long side, advise you to put some where not next to the stage as the screen is really too far from the back. If your stage is centre of the width side, should put in such a way where all guests can see, put either way next to the stage will not let the other side of the guest to see. If you are willing to pay for extra LCD, then solve the problem

trinity4ever

I attended a wedding at MBS. Overall, I can only say is Disappointing. Poor service & poor food quality! Deco & venue is so-so -> like any other 5 star hotels but honestly, i thk MBS is only worth 4 stars.

Considering the amt you pay per table, personally I don't thk is worth it.

Food Quality: The food is really quite terrible. I'm someone who is not fussy abt food. But the suckling pig that they served had a terrible after-taste. The noodles they cooked, only had noodles, not much ingredients! You can see the whole plate is just noodles.

Service Quality: The poor waitress attached to us had no idea how to serve food properly. I'm not blaming her cos i thk she is only a temp staff. Eg she would serve dish without common utensil and had to run around looking for one. The guests at our table could only stare at the food while waiting. After sometime, we just use our own utensils! Mid of the dinner, waitress told us there were no more plates!!! We were like... "huh????" End up we used the serving plate... My friend at another table told us they asked their waiter not to serve them cos they were afraid that he would spill the food on them!

This is 1 of the worst banquets that my friends and I had ever attended (in our opinion). Maybe is just our luck ;p

liquidzza

trinity, where are you holding ur wedding then?

wow, its quite shocking to hear that the food is so terrible!really sounds bad from the way you described. =( but hopefully during food tasting, we have take some pictures and make sure quantity and quality is about the same for ad.

my gf attended her company dnd at mbs, commented the house wine (Lindemann) is nice! didnt mention about the food though...