Margaret Brides

Hi dec gal,

thanks for your wonderful advise and definitely I have much confidence with Sam now. In fact, my wedding is on early Feb and I am waiting for my first fitting with MB.

I am also getting real excited about my preparations as I am getting slightly busy now. Margaret is waiting for my answer to SAM as I will also have to book him for a trial soon.

Thanks for your precious feedback and advise!

Hi Feb02

Actually after the trial, then you can tell if Sam is ok...So, I suggest to go for the trial early lst with Sam..if you find him not to your expection, maybe you can ask Margaret to change then..

I dun know if Margaret allows..(bec I didn't change mine leh)..maybe you can ask her if its possible this way.

Hi dec gal,

I have well-noted your advise and will try to arrange for the trial soon. Thanks once again!

Hi dec_gal

Maybe you can give me your email address so I can write to you instead. Shy...to put my name here.:P

Happy for you that everything is going on well and as planned.
I'm sure you look good in both your EG and WG. Would also like to take a peek at yours.

My first fit will be on the 31/08, exactly one week after yours.

Unicorn

Hi AC

Wow!..u real fast man...u mean u have booked with MB, waiting for ur design session now??.. Am I rite??

So, have you fixed up the date for designing ur gowns??...I like the design session very much.. get to try lots of gowns..hee..hee.. very vain!!

dec_gal, of coz i am fast..... i do my homework before i "strike"..... 8)

i am waiting for my design session in mid oct. no hurry... will take my own sweet time.

now very busy with my work (peak peak time - damn stressed)and shortlisting of renovation contractor and planning budget for whole house, wedding dinner (even though it's next year end.

i also heard from M that I will get to try the gowns to see which design suits my body frame more. a little worry that the gown might be too simple, but i trust MB will make me a beautiful bride. 8)

when's your wedding and is ur gown ready ? can peek ? grin.....

now got headache on selection of air-con, hood/hob, lightings, taps, fridge, washing machine, etc.

8)

I am interested in MB's bridal packages. My wedding is next year May 2002. You all seems to have your bridal gowns done so early. Am I too late to do MTM Gowns?

Hi AC,

You may want to take a look at my posting under Anything under the Sun, money matters. I list out my renovation cost, & give some tips on how to save on renovation.

My EG & WG are ready liao...if you like, you can always take a peek at them...hee...hee...

Update us once you finish ur design session.. I'm sure Margaret will help you to design ur dream gowns..

Just curious, have you got ur house??..Where will it be??...

Hi Sabrina Joon,

Dun worry, I think its still not too late for you to go for MTM gowns.

For me, my wedd is dec01...I only booked with MB in apr01...still have quite a comfortable time frame to work with.

I suggest you to confirm the bridal by end Aug or lastest by mid Sept..then it won't be too rush for the bridal shop & yourself.

Hi dec_gal,

Thanks for your advice. Then, I better call them up to make an appointment to take a look at their bridal service.

Just to check with you, whether besides MB, have you went to scout around other bridal services?
This is because if MB is not too bad, I might just consider them and will not continue to scout around 'cause I think it can be quite stressful.

Hi Sabjoon

Dun stress lah...actually i find searching for bridal is the most fun part in wedd prep!!

I've been to Brial Veil, Irene Creation & Ivory Asile before I finally decided on MB. Other than MB, the other bridals are all located at delfi orchard...

If you booked MB, I think Brial Veil & Ivory Asile will be cheaper now, as MB has increased her prices.

You may wan to make appts before you go any bridal.. The staff can attend to you more personally & able to let you try on more gowns.

Happy hunting!!

Hi Dec gal,

Is it possible to let me know what your MB bridal services consists of? and roughly how much does it costs? I am trying to gauge how much $$$ should I put aside? Hopefully, there isn't any hidden cost which I will have to top up later.

Hi Sabjoon,

Mine is the old package, but MB has increased her price since May01...Let me recall the new package which I have seen.
$4000 nett which consists of :-
1 MTM WG (to keep)
1 MTM EG (to keep)
1 MTM teadress (to keep)
1 MTM Man Suit ( to keep)
Makeup/hairdo (1x trial, studio, actual day for morning & evening)
Handbouquets/corsages/headdresses
wedding car deco
free rental of costume jewellery, veil, gloves, train & can can

photography:-
$1200 or $1300 for Benny Ang with 24pcs super 8R & 1 table top

I couldn't remember the price for other photographers...You may want to check with MB when you go down to meet her. Also, I hope the above is accurate as this is what I remember.

Margaret Brides is having a sale on selected off-the-rack gowns from $200 onwards. Please call at 774-2522 to make an appointment for viewing. Margaret Brides address is,

Ginza Plaza
154 West Coast Road #B1-17
Singapore 127371

or you can visit http://www.margaretbrides.com for more info.

Hi dec_gal,

Thanks for the info. Sorrie, have been busy with work. Anyway, I m going down to see her this Sun to take a look at the bridal packages.

Thanks again.

Sabjoon

Hi Feb02

I think I need to let u know tt I change my makeup artist to Sharon Tan...

Do not be mistaken, I dun think Sam Ong's makeup is no good...In fact, my hubby like his makeup more...very natural & refreshing. However, I like Sharon's makeup more (sweet & young!!) & most importantly, I can click better with her.

Hi Unicorn

We have seen each other last nite at oxford tailor.. Remember me??!!!!...

How I know its you??... Actually i am guessing you & another bride in the forum.. When I ask the gal tt help the fitting of ur FH, she told me ur name...So, I know its you!!!!!...

I am going to my last fit & pick up my gowns on 8 Sept... Will try to peek at ur gowns then.. hee..hee...

Your fitting today rite??... Happy fitting!!!.. excited for u!!!...

Hi dec gal,

It is very nice of you to inform me. Margaret called me last week and wanting to know my photoshoot date and told her that it is in Mid Nov. I asked her if I can do my trial first but she says that it can be done when I am going for my first fitting. So I am still waiting for her phone call.
In fact I am very curious to see Sam and Sharon's work because Margaret also introduces Sam and later she mentioned about Sharon too.Do you think there are any of their works that can be seen through Margaret?

Hi Feb02

I dun think there is any photos tt we can see Sam or Sharon works...Margaret didn't mention loh. Maybe you can always ask Margaret on this.

I personally think photos can't tell much. Actually, I went for another trial with Sharon, before making the decision. Only then, you will feel for yourself which makeup you like more & who do you feel more comfortable with. I think able to "click" with the makeup artist is very impt too!

BTW, Sharon trial makeup cost me $50..as MB package only includes 1 trial.. Its worth it loh... Now, I am more confident that the makeup artist can do a good job for me.

Yah yah...usually the trial is done on lst/2nd fitting... If your trial is on the lst fitting & if you dun like it, you can arrange another trial on your 2nd fitting.

Hope this will help you.

Dear dec gal,

Your informations are really helpful!

Anyway, may I also find out from you when will Margaret come up with the first fitting in accordance to the photography date? e.g 1 month before the photography, you will have your first fitting or 1 and half months.

I hope to find out in order to gauge my own first fitting with her.

Dear feb02

My lst fitting is very early...not the usual time frame. Actually, my lst fitting is on beg Jun... which is 3++ mths before my photoshoot on 20 Sept.. This is bec margaret knows tt i am always very busy. Diffcult to arrange a time with me... Also, i confirmed my gowns design quite fast..so she can do up my gowns earlier...

Usually margaret will only arrange the lst fitting 1-1.5mths before the photoshoot. Eg. another MB bride, Unicorn's case....her photoshoot is also end Sept, her lst fitting is in end Aug.

If you feel that 1 mth before photoshoot is too rush, maybe you can let her know first...so that she can arrange your first fitting earlier... Margaret is very accomdating, so shouldn't be any problem.

So, hv you gone to your design session with her??.. hv you confirm your gowns design??... Will you describe to me your gowns design... thanks!!...

Dear dec gal,

I did my designs with Margaret on 3rd Aug and I confirmed all the designs of the 3 gowns on that night. My main gown is of tunnel neck and sleeveless and there are overlap pleats at the side of the gown in the front and flows from the front to the back and intersect each other at a point and after it will continue to flow till the end of the WG .At this intersection, there will be a bunch of rosettes placed there.

I hope that you can picture it out through my descriptions.Indeed the designs of my gowns are simple. Well, I am really getting excited now and is anxious to see my gown. In fact, I introduced a friend who is getting married on the same day as myself to Margaret and the bride has already had her first fitting with Margaret. Anyway, I will check it out with her when I have call her to confirm my photography date. Having to say that I agree with you that Margaret is indeed a very nice person and she will try her very best to accommodate us . My bf and myself click very well with her.

Dear Feb02

Maybe i can take a peek at MB when ur gowns are ready... Let me know ok!!..hee.hee...

Just curious, why u hv 3 gowns??...You sign up the new package, is it??... Is the 3rd gown a tea dress??....Can you describe the design of the other 2 gowns??...very KPO!!!...

Hi dec gal,

I will let you know when the gowns are ready and indeed I sign up with the new package. My EG is a bustier dress whereas my tea dress is like a cheongsam to the knee length- you know the similar one that Zhang Zhiyi wore for an award presentation in Europe.

How about you? How does your gowns look like?

Dear feb02

Actually i've posted the design of my gowns earlier in this thread...Here's the description:- ( Hope chin leng won't scold me for posting repeative msg!!!!...

EG is simple 2 piece type, orangie yellow color.. Top is a boatline bustlier with another layer of spagetti strap organza.(The strap is organza, thus not obvious). Skirt is long A-line..with organza overlap.

WG is a straight neckline, spagetti strap ballroom skirt. A layer of organza over the satin, both at the top & skirt. Also there is organza trimming for the neckline & spagetti strap.

At my last fitting, I like my EG more liao... whereas my hubby like my WG more...

Harlow dec gal,

I am wondering if our boss will catch us eating snakes??? hehheeehe.

Well, for my tea dress, I am having a white colored printed with silver, squarish design Indian-like cloth whereas for my EG, I am using a lime green Thai silk.

Hi dec_gal,

Sorry to take such a long time to reply. Just when the preparation for the wedding is picking up, my workload is also increasing.:I

Yar... I thought it might be you when I step into Oxford Tailor. Just had this feeling....
Wanted to approach you to ask if you're dec_gal(using your real name). Think you felt the same right, that why you ask them.
After I left that day, I kept telling my husband that it might be you and wanted to write to you to ask. But didn't get the chance to.....:I

Will you be going down today? My husband is going for his fitting again? Maybe we'll meet.

regards,
Unicorn

Hi feb02

hee...hee... me no mood to work at all, my heart & mind filled with my wedding!!...haa..haa..

My boss quite understanding.. I dun think he will mind too much
.... as long as i finish my work in time.

Keep me updated on ur progress ok!!.. Your photographer who huh?...Me, Benny Ang!

Hi unicorn

Happy to hear from you.. Its ok lah.. I know you are busy!!... me too, getting everything ready for the photoshoot!

We are not going down this week, as the suit fits my hubby quite nicely in the last fitting... So, we only need to go down next week to collect his suit & shirts.

How's ur lst fitting with MB??.. When are you going down MB again for fitting??.. Me going this Sat for my last fitting & collect the gowns if no other alterations..which i dun think there will be, as the last session, the gowns fit perfectly!!!...

Hi dec gal,

Well, my french boss will not mind too hopefully.... Anyway, my photographer I am using someone from a magazine house - I didn't use those photographers that Magaret recommended.

Anyway, will keep u posted when there are more progresses. So how about your bf's suit, how long b4 shooting has he got to go to Oxford Tailor? btw your photography date happens to be my birthday.

Hi Feb02

My hubby go Oxford Tailor to tailor his suit, abt 1 mth before the photoshoot...

We find Oxford Tailor very professional, so we MTM 2 shirts from them too...the price is quite reasonable.. Also, thinking to MTM shirt & pants for my younger bro who is opening the wedd car door for us.

We will keep each other posted on our progress.

Enjoy ur wedd prep!!.

hi Dec gal,

Thanks for all your precious informations for the past few weeks.Enjoy your photography shooting too!

Anyone went to the MB Sale yet?? Must make appointment... though i just wanna browse.
Pls let me know if wedding gowns r also on
sale.. b4 i go down la...

Hi Palmolive

I was at MB last Sat (collecting my gowns)... I saw the sale items...actually there are more wedding gowns than evening gowns. Some simple WG are only selling at $180.. Its really worth to go down to take a look..

Its good to make an appt, so that you are sure you get to try the gowns as there is only 1 fitting room... But if you only wan to browse, then its allrite.

hihi!

i have gone for the MB sale. actually you should make an appointment with margaret, coz she's really very very busy, and there aren't enough fittting rooms around. she'll look at your size and recommend you 3 pieces that would best fit you, and let you try those 3. she doesn't let you try more than 3 or 4 gowns coz each appointment is at max half an hour, as she has to serve her existing customers as well.

gowns start at 180, loads of WGs, not many EGs. definitely very worthwhile, coz although the designs are simple, they are made of veyr high quality fabrics.

Hi Palmolive,

It is best that you make an appointment with Margaret even though you just want to browse first. That way, you'll be able to browse freely as your appointment will not clash with others who are also there for the sale or existing clients of Margaret Brides.

You can call Margaret Brides at tel: 774-2522.

I'm saw tat you gals mentioned that MB has simple WG. I'm actually looking for simple (preferably with some simple designs)gown/dress to wear during cocktail reception as well as for other occasions. If there any gowns/dress of such type. I stay very far from MB so was hoping you gals (who have been to the sale) to tell me abit more before I make the trip down. Anyone??

Hi Brio,

If you are interested, maybe can try Sanmike too. They are having a sales and they have quite a selection of gowns.

hi Brio

If you are looking for a off-white simple WG for ur cocktail, then I think MB do have quite a number of them...

Do make appt if you wish to go down to take a look.

Hee-hee..went already..my girlfriend who was a MB bride went down to thank Margaret, so i went to kpo. A lot of choices, mainly simple ones. I won't use the word "cheap", it's a STEAL. Very worth it for brides who wants no frills but good cutting. However e one that i fell in love with is S$800/-. So i must think twice.

hi dec-gal,

Thanx for telling me...I hope the simple gowns wont cost that much....$800 is too expensive for me.

Brio- Just make an appt & GO. If you honestly like simple & elegant & "economical" WG. A lot of gowns with Duchess satin, long long train... The one i liked is a BIG BALL GOWN with FRENCH lace..
thats why its S$800/- I've not decided yet

hi Brio

Dun worry....there are many gowns that are duchess satin, with or w/o train & simple design which are selling at only $180-$250...

Go fast, so that u hv more gowns to choose. Happy shopping!