Margaret Brides

Hi Alice,

No need to pai seh lah...just go ahead & ask to try the gowns.. I'm sure Margaret will let u try any gowns on the rack... Most of the time, u can just pick & try loh...or you can always ask her to recommend gowns for you to try.

I did browse through her new package once... If I'm not wrong, Benny photography is still giving the same nos. of photos as the old package.. shld be 24 pcs, 8" x 12" & with a table top.

All accessories & tiaras is FOC rental for photoshoot & actual day.. We can also rent another EG/Kua (without alteration) from MB for the photoshoot.

On $500 extra charge if the outdoor shoot has to be postponed for benny photography.. I dun know if its reasonable...but it doesn't borther me as both me & hubby like his style... so I just choose him loh.

BTW, I have choose MB as my bridal.. Waiting for my 2nd fitting.

Hello Alice,

I have just visited Emanuel B. Couture bridal shop today. They have Benny as one of their photographers also. Their gowns are lovely. Maybe you should give them a try.

JC who served me has also encouraged me to try on the wedding gowns to feel for myself. They are quite heavy.

I am glad that I passed by their shop by chance. The tailored made package is about $3.6. It has everything except car and gent's suit. They also have a promo package at $4.5K that includes everything except car.

As I have just started looking and in no hurry becos wedding is next year end. I know I am a little kaisu but my house would be arriving 2H next year, I like to settle my wedding gowns first.

Would still be looking around as JC mentioned that I have till mid Feb02 to confirm a boutique. Emanuel B. also not the pushy kind. I like their service and the shop - I will kiv them.

Didn't like some of the shops along Tanjong Pagar though.

Good luck with your hunt. Keep us posted on which boutique you sign up with okay. Bye.

Dear Serene, dec gal, milo, hwey, thanks for the info ! *grin*

I have yet to go for another round of hunting.
Having headache over the bridal thingy now.

dec gal = did you sign up for the 4K package too ? any extra freebies given ?? any idea how much for the car rental since MB's package didn't include car. on benny's package, you mentioned "24 pcs, 8" x 12" & with a table top", is this no. of pix sufficient ? seems a tat little for the price i am paying. does it mean that he will take plenty of pix and ultimately, we can choose 24 pcs ?? plus, his package include the wedding day pix as well ??? or purely indoor and outdoor shoot. sorry for asking so much, but i'm still new in the hunting game. 8)

as for MB package, i found her gowns rather simple but nice.

serene : for EBC, what is their price range ? I have a tight budget and won't be able to spend above 5.3k (inclusive of pix)

Hi Alice,

I signed up on the old package..$4.5K including photography, except i dun keep the WG & dun have the tea dress.

For car rental..usually a merc will be $450-$500. For me, I rent a london cab as my wedd car, its $550 for whole day (6am-12midnight), also includes a FOC eve of wedd car deco time slot.

For photography, most brides take more than 24 pcs.. but it really depends on each individual how many you take eventually.. Yah!..Benny will take at least 120 shots & then you will choose your photos from there to put in ur album.

The Benny package we signing with MB only for studio indoor & outdoor.. It doesn't include the actual day... I also signed up with Benny for my actual day, which is $1800 (3 types of albums).

I hope this clears some of your doubts.. Dun worry, try to go to more bridals & check out.. Only then you will get a feel of it. Dun be pai seh to ask more qns during your meeting with the designers/sales ppl at the bridal shop

Happy hunting!!

Dec gal : Wow ! Your deal is more attractive. I guess MB raised her rates ??? How long was the photo taking session ? Where did you have yours taken ?? Indoor - ?, Outdoor - ? How many outdoor locations can you choose ?

120 shoots.... how did you manage to endure ? grin. i'll probably be numbed from smiling.

Is Benny easy to get along ??

Which makeup artist did you choose ?

sorry for asking, but you sound like a happy MB bride, so I would like to find out more.

Hi Alice

I think MB raised her rates during May01..I went to see her for the lst time in apr01..& when I signed up with her (end apr01), she took away her old package, & I saw the new package... She allowed me to sign on the old package as she rememebered tt she discussed with me, using the old package loh....hee..hee... Good impression of MB from the start!!!...

I have not gone for the photoshoot lah... Did I sound like I went liao???.. I think for Benny, we can choose 2 outdoor locations.

My makeup artist is Sam Ong..I have my trial makeup during my lst fitting...A bit quiet although his makeup is natural loh....I did not choose my makeup artist..usually MB will help to assign one for the bride..(depending on the time available & character of the bride, tts what MB told me)

I went to talk with Benny once..He's easy to get along..Even my hubby is comfortable with him. He's not the most chatty type but can talk loh.. I really like his work.

So far, which bridal have you gone to see??

Hello Alice,

Sorry for the late reply. Emanuel B.'s packages for MTM are (a) $3.6 - wedding, evening to keep & tea dresses to keep. 4 sessions hair/makeup. 1 set costume jewellry to keep. Indoor/Outdoor photography. Flowers - bouquet, corsages, car decoration.

(b) $4.5 - 1 more set of costume jewellry. More photos for photography. 1 set (2 piece) groom's suit & 1 tailor made shirt. The rest same as (a).

Also if you take up (b), you could pay $1.1K for actual photography special deal. (b) is a promo package on-offer till end July.

Can visit their website www.emanuelbcouture.com for more details.

Its quite a good deal and personally I like their gowns too. My parting advise is to make an appt and decide for yourself. I think with your budget of $5.3K - its more than enough for everything.

Still you need to visit the shop and look/see for yourself. Good luck then. Don't worry Emanuel B. don't hard-sell.

Hi Dec_gal

I have also signed up with Margaret. My wedding is in Dec. too but I have yet gone for my first fitting. Margaret said she will contact me sonewhere in Aug. My photoshoot will be in Sept. I'm quite surprise and also abit worried when you said you have already went for your first fitting. I assume that your wedding is also in Dec.? When is your photoshoot?

Hi Unicorn

Dun worry!!..Usually MB will schedule their brides for lst fitting 1mth+ before photoshoot.

Margaret told me that I'm a very "fast" & busy bride..."Fast" - I decided my WG & EG design on the 2nd session with her... Busy - I'm more busy than her..diffcult to fix appt with me!

She pushed everything fwd for me, as she afraid tt I won't be free in Aug... Yap!..My wedding is in Dec01, photoshoot same as you loh...end sept..

BTW, whom do you sign up as photographer??

Dec gal :

so Sam did the trial makeup at MB ? Your ubby went along too ?? 1st fitting for you only right ? Hubby's one leh ?

No time for any visit yet. My workload is heavy, especially when i have so many people to take care.

Serene :

thanks for your info. I might very well miss the end jul deadline. sob. but i'll find time to pop over for a look.

Unicorn :

How come you haven't gone for 1st fitting ? better call MB to check ? Your gown MTM or OTR ?

hi alice

do pop by at EB. Elaine is reasonable & willing to help to keep within your budget. one advice - if you can borrow a car, try to. it's more expensive to rent.

fyi - i am a happy EB bride

happy hunting..

Hi Dec Gal

Glad to hear from you so soon. Thanks. It made me feel much relief.

I think I worry to much.:P My FH kept asking me not to worry because Margaret is there to handle most of the stuff. But that actually makes me feel that I'm not doing much for my wedding.:P BTW, is there anything we must prepare now? Seems that most of the things can only be done when the date is near.

My photographer is BennyAng. Same as you right?
Did you have your shoes ready by your first fitting? I have yet to get my shoes designed.:P

Hi Alice!

My gowns are MTM. Seems like it pretty okay to get it done by Aug.

When is your wedding day? If it isn't this year, you can take your time to shop around.

Hi unicorn

im also in the same shoes as you. I have booked my bridal boutique and hotel banquet. But i still feel tat i have not done enuff. I feel tat there's still things to be done, but what???

im now drawing out my guest list. Perhaps u can start with that? And im slowly collecting mailing addresses from my guests.

Hi Unicorn

Its best to get ready your shoes at the lst fitting, as the length of gowns will depend on the shoes height..If not, maybe you will just get shoes, with same height as your wedd shoes loh. I use back my ROM shoes for my WG... For EG, I bought another pair from Studio Tangs at centrepoint.

I found another dec bride signed up with MB & Benny... So happy!!!
.. Shall we update each other on our progress???.. So far, I also didn't prepare much.. except going for facial which MB advise me to, as the makeup doesn't blend too well during my trial.

Alice:
Yap I have my trial makeup at MB, together with the lst fitting... My hubby suit will be tailor-made at Oxford Tailor (OUB centre)..Its included in the package.

Dec gal : So paiseh to be "make up" in open. 8) Like no privacy. I'll probably scare the rest without make up on. I look totally different with and without makeup. haha. What design did you have for WG and EG ? You took tea dress ?? Qipao ?

Unicorn : What about your design ? Any in mind ?

Hi Jaslyn

I will also start consolidating my guest list and update the contacts. Know how you feel right now... not sure what have to be done right? Do you go for facial regularly? If not, maybe you can start on that. I just started mine too.:P

dec gal,
I'm also very happy to find that we have so much in common.
YES! YES! we should keep one another updated of our progress.
I have also just started my facial. I don't usually go for facial and this time I make it a point to go once every month.

Alice,
I have already went for my design for both my gowns. Err...but I don't know how to describe it to you.:P I can only say that my WG isn't too elaborate, there's a layer of organza over dutchess satin. The EG is of mermaid cut with low back. Have you decided on your bridal boutique?

Hi Alice,

I dun take qipao/Kua/tea dress...I took another EG for my photoshoot... As I dun have a wedd dinner, my EG is the teadress too!!

EG is simple 2 piece type.. Top is a boatline bustlier with another layer of spagetti strap organza.(The strap is organza, thus not obvious). Skirt is long A-line..with organza overlap.

WG is a straight neckline, spagetti strap ballroom type of gown. A layer of organza over the satin, both at the top & skirt. Also there is organza trimming for the neckline & spagetti strap.

I request MB to use lots of organza for my WG & EG.. I just love the organza feel..

Hi Unicorn

KPO a bit!!...

How many session you have with MB before you decide on the gowns design??... MB said I very fast..dun know true or not!!!???

What is your EG color???..curious leh..

I'll be going for my 2nd fitting on 8 Aug..How about you, when is your lst fitting??

Hi dec gal

I went once for my WG and another for my WG. Could have it all in one session but I'm the type who can only concentrate one thing at a time. One session is fine, my hubby wanted me to do it once also becoz both of us live quite far away from Margaret's place. But I'm very lousy so no choice...:P

My EG is purplish pink with blue organza for the neckline. What about yours? I wanted a 2 piece too but I also wanted one of my gowns to be of low back. My WG is not and that means I have no choice but to stick to a one piece EG.

Not too sure when my first fitting will be. Margaret have yet to call me. She said it would be somewhere in Aug. That was why I was worried when I heard that yours is all done.

Hi Unicorn

If you are really uncomfortable that your lst fitting date is not fixed yet... Phone MB & fix an appt in early Aug lst..Then you won't worry liao...

Dun follow my MB schedule, as I think I'm a unique case...Everything is brought fwd for me..I even have my trial makeup during my lst fitting which I dun think any MB brides did that... The makeup artist also very suprised that I do the trial so early!!!

My EG is orangie yellow..very bright!!.. Margaret comments that the color suits me (I'm cheerful & thin, make me look fatter & bright)

My mum & hubby dun like me to go for bare-back.. so no bare back for both WG & EG... Also, my back not so nice to wear lah!!!

I did the WG & EG design in 1 afternoon..but only decide the EG color on another nite when MB showed me the samples of the satin & organza.. Is this consider fast???!!!..

So far, I'm a happy MB bride..I think Margaret is very professional & flexible with me. The only thing I'm not very satisfied with is the makeup artist..He's too quiet liao..didn't communicate much with me.. Luckily his makeup quite natural & nice loh..

Can you describle further on your WG leh...what type of neckline & skirt??.. You have organza ovelay at your top too??. Maybe can see your gowns when I go for my 2nd fitting.. Do you mind???..

Hi dec gal,

I wouldn't mind at all if you want to take a look at my WG but just that I don't know how to describe it to you. Mine have organza on the top too and it's bustier with an A-line skirt. Hope this helps.

Actually my hubby is also not too comfortable with me having bareback but I wanted very much to have WG to be of low cut at the back. Infact, I ask Margaret to do it as low as possible for me.:P

Agree with you that Margaret is professional with her work. She gives suggestion on what suits you and what's not. Then design your gown on what you tell her you like and what is suitable for you. Can't wait to go for my first fitting.

You said you have your actual day shoots done by Benny also and it consists of 3 albums. Does it mean that each album will have different styles?

Benny gives 3 albums for actual day PJ.
1) color standard shots
2) b&w PJ shots
3) a portfolio which has 85 photos (different sizes) selected from the lst 2 albums.

BTW, what is ur actual wedd date...KPO again!!..
... Mine is 22Dec01.

Which facial salon u visit huh!!...

WOW!!! We really have alot in common. Mine is on 22nd Dec too!

Me KPO too...:P when is your photoshoot with Benny? I don't think ours can be on the same day for this. Unless Benny can be duplicated.

So you not having your wedding dinner right? Is it because you intend to go straight for your honeymoon to keep things simple?

For my facial, I went to Min's Cabin. What about you? I actually got a voucher from Margaret for a trial. I like Min's service so I decided to take up a package with her.

Hi Unicorn

Really surprised that our wedd same date leh!!!..
...why you choose 22dec??.. Its my bday too!!!

My photoshoot with Benny is on 20Sept.. How about you??

I'm not going to honeymoon straight.. I dun have the dinner as I wan to keep things simple.. Also, save lots of money & headache..hee..hee..

I've gone to sothys @raffles city for facial... Have you decided to go which country for honeymoon??..

Hope I can meet you 1 day...maybe in the next SB gathering in Aug/Sept... So curious to know u..

Hi dec gal

I would really like to meet up with you.
I just got to know of the SB gathering. Do all of you know one another?

22Dec. was actually chosen by my MIL. It's suppose to be a good day.

My photoshoot is only one day after yours!

We have yet decided where to go for our honeymoon. It's either Europe or States and will probably be in April so.... that leaves us some time to think about it. What about you?

Hey Unicorn and Dec_gal,

My birthday is on 23rd Dec

But I've chosen to get married on my hubby's birthday instead... then next time I can combine his birthday & wedding anniversary present mah! Great idea, isn't it? :p heh heh, just kidding

You gals look like happy margaret brides. Anyway, all the best and happy planning!

Hi Unicorn

Happy to hear that 22Dec is a good day... bec I didn't really look at it....as I wan my wedding on my birthday!!..My ROM is on 18Dec, quite near my birthday too!..

I am planning to go Cyprus for honeymoon.. Self drive type.. Probably will go in early Jan 2002..as end dec is too near Xmas & NY..most shops in european coutries are likely to be closed bet Xmas & NY.

Sweetie:
Thanks for your wishes..Oh!..our bday so close.. hee...hee... curious to meet u too!!..

Both of u must try to go for the next SB gathering..Then we can meet each other

Hi dec_gal,

Cyprus? Sounds interesting! Have you got more info on that? We'd like a self-drive thingy too but haven't quite settled down to plan yet. My wedding's on 1st Jan 20002 so planning to go honeymoon around that time too.

Hi Sweetiee,

I really dun hv much info on this... I just know its an island, just below & in-bet Turkey & Greece..at mediterrianen sea (spelling dun know??)The weather won't be as cold as most europe countries...

The island country is separted by North & South Cyprus.. However, most tourists go south cyprus only, as north is controlled by the Turkish.. Political not very stable.

Actually, its my hubby who find this country to go... as I wan somewhere exotic & special to go for honeymoon... Its quite diffcult to find country to go in dec/jan loh...most countries are in winter...very cold & dark.

If you are really interested, maybe you can search in the web & find out more.Hope this is useful.

Hi Sweetie

Thanks for your best wishes. I'm sure you would enjoy your planning too. Best Wishes to you!

dec_gal,
Could you let me know how I can participate in the SB gathering?

Hi Unicorn,

You can be kept posted about SB gathering in the forum under the topic "Anything Under The Sun: Arrangements for gathering and functions". That is where we usually suggest and discuss about the details like venue, date and time.

Alternatively, you can send me an e-mail and we'll keep you inform of the future outings.

Hope to see you in our next gathering!

Hi Tulips,

That's nice... I haven't met someone who has the same birthdate as me yet... Have frenz' bds on 24th or 25th but not 23rd. And you probably do love tulips huh? I love tulips too...

hello sweetiee

yup! u're right! i love tulips thats why my nickname as such.

not only we share the same birthdate, but we both like the same type of flowers too!

btw, when is your wedding?

hi Sweetie and Tulips,

I had white tulips for my ROM too. Very pretty. But they "bloom" too soon after coming out of "Say Yes"'s fridge ! 8)

Dear Serene, dec gal, milo, hwey, r u still reading this thread ?!!!

i just signed up for MB package. it's $3.8K as i choose not to keep the WG. v excited !!!!! my 1st appt is on mid oct. grin. damn early considering that my wedding date is actually next yr end.

margaret told me that our photography time might be during the chinese 7th mth (3 months before my dinner day)... so that photography date might be pushed before 7th month and it's likely to be in Aug 01. argh.... already starting to kan cheong. 8)

which makeup artist were u assigned to ? how r their skills ???? 8)

*excited*

Hi Alice,

Welcome aboard as Margaret brides...

My makeup artist is Sam Ong...I think he is ok loh, except quite quiet..didn't communicate with me much... But he did choose the right color for me during trial.. Makeup quite natural.

Maybe I will let u know more after my photoshoot which is in end Sept.

hi dec gal, thanks.... will need more feedback from you then.....

my face condition is not ideal and hence, while i continue to do more facials to improve my condition, i will also need someone who is able to do "makeup miracles" for me. 8)

besides sam, any other makeup artist available ?? me actually prefer female makeup artist... *shy shy*

hi alice

my makeup artist is sharon she is very chatty her make up is natural, when i show my college my photo they say i look nice and quite natural.

Hi Alice! That's great! I remembered my excitement when I finally signed on the dotted line of my bridal package!

Hi Alice,

I am a MB bride and Margaret assign Sam to do my makeup when I told her that I wanted a natural make-up, however I am concerned cos I have not heard about him before.

How about you? Did you manage to see the makeup of both Sharon's or Sam's before you decided to use Sharon? Please give me your advise on what Sharon does during the trial and tips on what to expect from her. In fact, Margaret did recommend Sharon to me when I mentioned that I have not heard of SAM.

Please share you advise as I will soon be doing my trial make-up . Thxs

Hi Feb02

Actually if you wanted a natural make-up, I think Sam is quite good at it... Thats what I think after my trial makeup.

I also never heard of Sharon...so I just stick to Sam which Margaret assign to me...I trust her judgement loh...hee...hee...

Hi dec_gal

How's your 2nd fitting? Margaret just called me yesterday to fix my appointment for the first fit. Getting very excited.

Unicorn

Hi Unicorn

My 2nd fitting was great although Margaret was not able to meet me as she is down with fever. Thus, only the seamtress auntie help me with the fitting.

I like my EG more than my WG now...hee..hee...
bec MB helped me to alter the boat neckline so that the 2 ends are not so pointed now. My hubby went for this fitting with me.. He comments that I look real sweet in my WG (*pai seh*)..

When ur fitting huh???...bec I am going down next Fri again..Margaret wants to see me again since she not able to meet me on my 2nd fitting.

Can I know ur real name??..so that I can take a peek at ur gowns...hee..hee..sorry for being so KPO!!..is OK if you are uncomfortable to tell me.. dun pai seh to reject me lah..

Me, very excited too!!!...Also excited for you!!..ha...haa....

dec_gal, can peek at each other's gown ah ?!!!
BIG GRIN.
can peek at your gown next time or not ???
Margaret allows us to see other's gown ???

Hi AC,

Are you MB bride too??... When ur wedding huh??..Sorry if I have missed your postings. When will be your fitting??

Sure can lah!!..hee..hee..then I also wan to see ur gowns lah...hiaks hiaks...
.. hope you dun mind.

I think Margaret will allow..See only mah.. I dun think she will have big objections..

AC & unicorn...ur real name pls!!!.. me getting real excited liao...haaa...haa