Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hey Cheryl C..thanks for your recommendation..but aiya, over the wkend i confirmed with Tom Shen liao..apart from his bad breath i tink his works are pretty nice. charges $950 for full day. a little regret actually coz later i found another guy who is much cheaper and his works are also fine. grrrr..now searching for videographer lor...have contacted Don whom my fren apparently used!Haha wat a small world.

Hi cheryl_c,

Do you know whether peng wah is a humorous PG or serious one? Have you met him in person?

I went to his website and found his work not bad. I am actually looking for a humorous PG who is easy to work with.

By the way, have you chosen your PG?

Hi Missussshp,

My coordinator from Oriental is Sandy and I find that her service is great, she's a very nice and sweet lady and very accomodating to our requests.

I've attended my colleague's wedding at Oriental last year and the service and food was great. I hope it will be just as good when it comes to my turn.

Its good that you started looking for a venue early. Although mine's at the end of the year and I started looking in Jan, a lot of places are booked already, even for Oriental for the initial date that I wanted.

The price is quite pricey compared to its neighbours like Marina Mandarin & Pan Pac, but I prefer their ambience more and each time I go to the hotel, the staff were very polite and helpful. Oriental's menu look very nice too.

My final 2 choices were Conrad and Oriental but we chose Oriental in the end, cos I heard/read quite a lot of negative feedback about Conrad's food being cold when it was served. And Conrad's menu didn't look as inviting as Oriental.

As for corkage, try negotiating with your coordinator to see if you can get it waived.

Feel free to shoot any questions

Thanks Kentia!

My hubby looking at Hyatt and Fullerton as well. I got to agree. ambience, food and service is smth which i have pretty much high standards for. probably i can check with Sandy on that. still waiting for them to send me their proposal.

hi missussshp!

Actually I dropped Oriental off my list initially cos they did not response to my email enquiry. But I really like their ambience so decided to give them a call to ask for a proposal. I'm glad I called them up :P

We had a tentative booking with Hyatt! However, the room that we like, was too small to accomodate the number of tables we need so we decided to pass. Also, Scotts will be tore down and rebuild so the surrounding will look very unslightly so we gave up Hyatt. We liased with Mandy, if you are looking for a coordinator, can ask for her, she's great!

We were considering Fullerton too. I totally dig the hotel ambience, its soooo classy. But their service sucks big time. I had a lot of problems with their coordinators. Also, when I enquired that time, there was no price increase. Subsequently, I was told they will increase their price for Oct-Dec 2007 and I will be subjected to the price increase on top of GST hike even if I confirm early. I don't feel that's justifiable at all. I understand abt the GST hike, but what's the point of booking early if you are going to increase the price later?

For Fullerton, do note that if you are taking the Grand ballroom, the tables at both sides of the ballroom can't see the stage so guests sitting there maybe feel isolated.

Hi missussshp,

Just wana share some info, so far all the couples that I knew who had their wedding in fullerton lose a lot of money.....

GND,

I am now deciding between Don and Pengwah. Pengwah is a good friend of my galfriend so had seen him at work. He is easy to work with so don't worry but I find Don's pricing and style very attractive as well..... So hard to choose

I_C_E

Hahaha seems like a lot of oriental BTB wana use Don. Boy is he popular or wat.....

Hi cheryl_c,

I thought Pengwah do photography only? Don is popular in Videography, not sure about his photography skills.. But if you are engaging him as VG and looking for PG, dont engage his partner (who is a freelance PG)cos he did a poor job as what is described my friend who engaged him.

By the way, you know how much Peng Wah charge cos I cant find any price on his website, only the package he offer.

hi kentia,

thanks for recommending. How much does Derrick charge? His work is nice, similar to Peng wah.

I am still taking my time looking around cos budget and skill of the PG is both a concern for me.

Hi GND,

Derrick has a few packages, $1288, $1588 & $1988. Feel free to call him up to arrange for appointment to view his works. Its non-obligatory. When we met up with him, he didn't try to push his services, instead ask us to take our time to decide, go view others photographers first before deciding. He went Japan for a photoshoot. Not sure if he's back already or not, but can try giving him a call.

He was the official photographer for Tata Young, Oasis, Backstreet Boys when they were in town. My gf used him for her AD and another friend is using him for hers this coming Sept. He's our next choice after Kelvin Koh from Lighted Pixels

Its very impt for the couple to be comfortable with the photographer so do go meet all the photographers that you have shortlisted.

Hi GND,

I don't really remember pengwah's price but think its below 1k. One of my gf who got married in dec can't him for VG but got his other friend (abt $900). He is good and he stayed till 1am, no extra charges!!! pengwah does videography as well......

Dear all Oriental Brides-to-be,

Very glad to see all of u getting ready and happily planning and sourcing.
My AD is Jan 08. Right now the only thing that has been done and confirmed is only the dinner at Oriental. other than that, really duno what to start preparing first. Seem quite far away yet it's juz abt 10mths away..

Hi catmomo,

I felt the same way too
Jan'08 seem so far away.....

But I felt things like VG and PG must book earlier cos good popular ones get booked very early that's why I start now.... abit kiasu.....

Maybe you can source around things slowly cos you got time on your side.... enjoy the process....

hey Kentia, so sorry i missed on the post abt u asking me about teh $930 package. for the express, i bargained with him n added $20 to the total. n he is pretty flexi as in he mentioned, along the way, if we wanan stop by some place to take pix, we can. so we plan to do so , so tat we can get more outdoors with frens. n he includes the album with 300 photos. digital enhancements n 20 shots with touch up should u wanna print them big.

I'm sourcing for VG now. thought of using Don, but unfortunately, a mail after telling mi tat he is available, came another mail telling mi some commerical company MAY need him n can onli give him ans by mid april...so i guess it's either i wait n see if that company need him or not, or i go choose another VG. naturally i tink i'll go for the latter.

cheryl_c == I'm so sorry for not responding to your reply on si dian jin (my email just lumps all the post together...thus i keep missing things out!Grrr). anyway, ya i told my hubby that my dad said it's a nice gesture lor. so see what his mom will do .honestly mi n the mom not on the fren fren basis. more of the aquaintance basis, despite knowing her son for 9 yrs!!! i always feel wat MIL gives on that day tells u how much she "loves" u. i know she loves her daughter more la..coz she gets the birds nest n i dont..i dont expect tat also la..

ICE, that's a very good deal!

I think you should find a another VG, but don't confirm with him so fast, wait till mid April, if Don is not free, then confirm the other one. Anyway, now alr end Mar, its only another 2 weeks

I_C_E

That's ok. Ultimately as long as everybody is ok and you must be happy at the end of the day, that's the most important.......

Not everyone get along with their PIL..... but I think she would get for you at least a token... Well as for the rest maybe you can ask your FH to give you..... I don't have any PIL so mine is solely given by my FH.

Kentia -- yup...it's a gd deal n i've heard good reviews abt him..about his photojournalistic skills..but his posey posey shots and suggestions can be pretty cheezy!Haha ..so far i see Don is the most value for money one. n i like his style lor....n i having a headache now coz most VG dont have samples to show online (either that or they scared of competitors stealing their works)...coz i'm often at work till like 10pm ...even working on wkends n my hubby is overseas..so it's pretty difficult to meet these ppl to view. Emailed a few liao, all say cannot show mi things online..so irritating!
But ya, u never mention, i never realise it's mid april in two wks!Haha..but hor, will it be too late? i mean my wedding is in Oct 14. i m asking for quotes etc meanwhile la.

Cheryl_C-- yup...give mi $$ i will be most happy!haha..the thought of spending so much on one day realli stressful for both myself and my hub. i get along fine with my PIL..just very ke qi...though we've been together for eons. she did give mi a "token" during ROM> but it's coz i said i have no nice necklace to match..she took out all her collection n say just choose lor...n my hub la, go n take one n said that one for mi..i said no la..not nice to take his mother's things mah..i mean she being polite n nice n give mi to wear on ROM day...but how can i take n like keep (furthermore not really my style!Hahaha)..but hor, the other day i was shock, hub said 4 dian jin, already got 3...one ring, one earring (hub bought) n that necklace (his mom Lend..i dont even know where it is! somewhere in his room!)...lucky u la..i mean in a way..hehe....no headache from PIL or politics. =)

ICE,

Have you checked out Miror Creations? Their price ard 900-ish and they have online samples, but you must request from them as its password protected.

Wah, what you working as? Such long hours? Maybe arrange to meet them over lunch? I think you can start looking around and check if others are available on your date. If your date is not taken up now, chances of them being taken up later is not very high too right? Considering how kiasu singaporeans are... so u still have some time to consider before Don gets back to you.

And about the Si Dian Jin... my MIL passed away, and I don't think my FIL knows such things.. so I don't think I will get any.

I_C_E

Haha si dian jin is nice to have but its up to each couple to decide if you reali want it..... If you don't feel comfortable with his mom necklace just return o her and thank her for lending to you ( and see what she say

Kentia

tomorrow's wedding set up at the oriental ballroom is dreamz theme so rem to go see k. I shd be there around 630pm to view as well

By right, your FIL shd ask you to choose something from your MIL's jewellery but it's up to you to decide... maybe you can ask your FH??

Can I have the website for mirror creations?? Tried contacting Don but still no reply

Hi Cheryl,

Yup! Sandy told me. I'm heading down to see too! Soooo excited. Can't wait to see how the setup looks like. I should be there around the same time, maybe we'll bump into each other!

My FIL is based in Brazil... the next time he comes back to SG would be in December just in time for the wedding. See how it goes bah *shrugs*

Here you go!
http://www.mirorcreations.com

Kentia,

Did you go and view the dream theme setup today?? Din't see you there.... The set up was quite nice but think the reception area looks a little bare.....

Went to see the XI theme as well but don't like it cos the dangling balls of roses looks a little odd... so guess it's the dream theme for me

Hi Cheryl,

I am interested to know how the Dream theme looked. Care to share with us your feedback on the Dream theme set up? Was it set up in the Oriental ballroom? Did you think that it was quite dark or black? =O)

hey cheryl
guess wat? tdy my hubby hinted that MIL may/ will be giving mi 4 dian jin. honestly it's a gesture which i appreciate if she gives me, more than anything else (particularly materialistically..not like i'd get to wear those diamond necklaces Everyday!)...

Don the VG is avail on the date i want again..i'm still looking around though. Had a fren recommending me this freelance by the name of Sharon..but she's pretty ex. $1.5k!.hmm...

me ah?..working as tutor...v busy until no time to eat. lunch is my rest hour...generally onli one or two hours. but i hope my hubby can view with mi (afterall it involves both of us)..but he often not in sg or may be working....that's y hard to arrange

as for mirror creations, i believe couple of days ago i emailed them for quote and portfolio, no news still...duno issit too busy.

Hi Cheryl!

I was there around 6.45pm. Didn't see you there too. When I went there's this girl practising guitar on stage. I must agree the reception area look quite bare, but the inside looks very grand! Although my FH finds that the inside looks a bit more on the grey side than black. The centre pieces weren't lit up yet so we couldn't see the full effect. Was there a Xi theme that night? Aiyah! I missed it.

ICE, drop me an email at riko8 [@] yahoo dot com. I fwd you their login and pw to view the portfolio. Their rates are on the website I think? I shld have it in my email.

Busy good, busy means more money ;)

Does anyone has their lunch buffet & lunch banquet packages to email me? I been contacting them via emails twice but no reply
Read in the forum that they have a viewing session on 15 April but not sure worth going ornot.

thanks in advance

Hi!!!

Have anyone had their weddings recently at Oriental Hotel with 20+ tables? They apparently have no suites/ballroom to cater for 20+ tables.

And they require $5k deposit upon confirmation and payment for 50% of guaranteed tables 1 month before the wedding?

Hi Strongyetweak,

They require $5k deposit, but payment for dinner is on the morning when you check out or right after dinner if the couple is sober enough. :P

Strongyetweak - that's one thing I found when I was looking for a wedding venue. That very few hotels (e.g. Four Seasons, Raffles) have a 20 or 20+ table ballroom. Usually the ballroom's min requirement is 30 tables. I've split my celebration into two 10+ table affairs over two days.

Hi Kentia, yep, you're right. Apart from their Grand Ballroom, Hyatt has a few large function rooms. I did consider their Sir Stamford room (250 min for weekends) which was the nicest of all of them (higher ceilings, has chandeliers!). It also has an exclusive pre-function area but generally the function rooms look in need of refurbishment.

The SSR's pretty nice compared to the rest. Their price is quite reasonable too. Location is great. But if you are considering Hyatt do note that Scotts would be torn down for overhaul so the surrounding is going to be quite unslightly.

hey, for those who wanna view the Xi/chinois/red theme in the Garden Suite, there's a wedding lunch on Saturday, 14 April. Best view it by 11.30am before the event.

Strongyetweak - i just remembered a nice smallish ballroom i saw - at Raffles The Plaza. Min was 200 pax. It had just been refurbished, has a large cocktail area and it's own private bathrooms. They do a nice garden theme too. You may wish to check it out!

Hi Kentia,

I called up Oriental and the girl told me they require payment for 50% of guaranteed tables 1 month before wedding... I really like the hotel, but with the 50% payment requirement, a bit difficult leh....

Did they tell you that there's no need to pay the 50% upfront?

Hi brokenbudgie,

Thanks for the info! I will go find out...

Hey hey

I signed my contract a few months back so it was payment upon check-out. I think the new system require 50% downpayment... that's quite a big sum of money to fork out..

hai... that's why lor...

so sad... now pan pacific and marina mandarin also requires 50% 1 month before the wedding...

wondering why the new rule? Did they experience couples "running away" without paying?? ha ha...

Marina Mandarin too? My sis held hers there in Jan07 and it was payment upon checkout too.

When I enquire about PP last time it was 50% 1 mth before wedding, and that was the only hotel that I enquire tat has that requirement.

Maybe they experience couples who couldn't pay the full sum after the wedding..

maybe...

there's also another hotel which requires some pre-payment before the wedding on top of the deposit... can't remember which one though..

by the way, when is your wedding, kentia? did you manage to get additional freebies out of Oriental?

strongyetweak,

mine's in dec
i signed during their bridal fair in Jan. They included free flow beer and 1 bottle wine per confirmed table during the bridal fair so it was quite a good deal. At least dun need to fork out so much money for alcohol.

BenDi,
Can the child sit in a baby seat? I don't think they will charge for 10+1 for kids under 5.

kentia,

Oh, that's a pretty good deal... and u so lucky, book in jan still can get dec...

my wedding is in nov 08, still long way to go, but quite worried that i don't get the date i want if i don't book early. some of the hotels i asked already taken... i thought i was really early to make arrangments more than 1.5 years ahead but who knows.....

Yupyup. We were quite heng to be in time for the bridal fair, but then we only had 1 week to decide before the offer for the fair was over.

We were quite late alr. Several of the dates that we wanted were taken up alr.. so have to go for those back up dates. I was taking part time studies and didn't have time to go source for hotels till I finish my exams in Jan.

Serious? I tried asking from a lot of hotels for 2008 quotes in Jan and a lot of them say the quotes are not out yet and they are not open for booking. The only ones that were open for bookings for 2008 then were Oriental and Raffles Hotel, even so, its only up till first quater of 2008.

I started looking last month. Most hotels i asked provided the 2008 package (even though some said there may be an increase of price for Q4 of 2008), except Pan Pacific which provided the 2007 one.

Also just found out that Swissotel the Stamford/Raffles the Plaza requires $4000 confirmation deposit and 100% payment 7 days prior to the wedding....

aiyo...

i had the same dilemma when choosing the venue. it was between the oriental or swissotel. but the latter proves to be a tad pricey. considering their min. tbls were 45 for the grand ballroom. anything under, we will need to top up from the menu.

we have recently signed up with the oriental. we chose the grand ballroom. =) the suites are nice and cosy. but unfortunately, we wanted a longer march in. we picked the grand ballroom instead.

the contract was revised not too long ago. whereby, we will need to pay the 50% before wedding. -_-" well, i suppose we will start saving super hard and till the month comes [in 2008].

oh.. i didnt know abt the 50% payment a mth before the wedding dinner... am glad that my contract didnt state anything like that.. if not, how to cough out with that sum of money...

i also signed up in jan at the wedding fair... quite a good deal given... i like the feel that oriental gives... though i am concern abt the short walkway.. prefer longer walkway.. hee hee

stongyetweak, you're preparing early for the wedding, good... i think end of yr usually quite a few weddings, so that's why a few dates are taken up already..

Considering all the costs that the wedding couple has to come up with, requesting them to come up with the cash before the actual day is not reasonable la. Some hotels require a credit card guarantee.

oh, i am quite sure the hotel will take credit card payment for the upfront payment as well lah...

but then even though the banks will most likely grant a temp. increase in credit limit, it also depends on your annual salary right? Don't think the banks can go beyond your annual salary too much... Or do they make exceptions for wedding??

Has anyone had any experience on increasing credit limit for weddings?