Mandarin Oriental Singapore

I never met Li Ping b4. So I have no comment on her..

U can try to ask her to waive the corkage. It shldn't be a problem I guess..

Turtle, when is your AD?

I dun sign up any BS. I do my gown at TC at do the photo shoot in Bali, so engage a local photographer. How abt u??
Me looking for AD photographer now..any recommendation?

hi gals...

by the way for corkage waiver do ask abt it bef signing contract and can try again when u realise the house wine list dun have what u wanted.. maybe can try then by asking if u bring in your own consignment can waive the corkage fee... ? :p cos for me, it was waive initially then becos my hubby n me agreed that we'll be using their house wine when signing contract. When it was nearer to my wedding dinner, we called up our coord and asked if they have pure Merlot... we dun want the mixture ones.. what cauvignaut(hee dun rem the spelling) merlot etc.. in the end, she offered to waived the corkage fee as she can't find any merlot from the house wine vendor.. :p so we brought our own consignment of wine...all Merlot..

well..can try to ask for waiver if u have to bring in your own wine..

hi starstar,

Is it very diff to bargain after you sign the contract? I'm thinking to change my wedding favour n invitation card to smthg else.. but I oready signed the contract

any idea what shld I changed them into???

chummy
it's usu quite difficult to change stuffs like the nite stay lah...corkage fees lah..etc.. all the black n white stuffs in the contract... think wedding favours n invitation cards are not include in the contract so u can change them anytime without penalty but bare in mind the extra cost u have to fork out if u are getting them on your own..not from the hotel.

it'll be always better to think of what u want before signing the contract like if u are using their house wine, using their facilties like projectors etc... or even their favours n cards cos if u confirmed not using, can always ask for discounts... that's before signing...BUT if u signed on the line, it'll be difficult to negotiate further in terms of discounts but for your case, can always try...cos favours n cards are not listed in the contract right?

can't help u on the favours n cards cos for me, I'm pretty fine wif the cards n favours the hotel provide and of course, I've got a budget to keep... :p Dun wanna burst the budget by getting something different...
BUT if i've got a bigger budget to play wif, I dun mind changing the favours...hahaha..

Hi Chummy,
What's TC? My BS is White Weddings. My AD photographer will be one of my HTB's good friend. =) I personally feel that Chris Ling is good.
=P I haven't decided on my wedding favor nor invitation card yet although I have signed the contract.

Hi Snowy,
I haven't met Li Ping b4. Can't help you with that.

Yup..TC is Ted Collection. :D

Sigh.. the prob is I need to make invitation card and get some favours for my church wedding as well. So I thot if I buy them collectively it will end up cheaper for me.. since I need to pay for the additional printing cost as well if I get the card from Oriental.

What favour did u get from Oriental for ur wedding? I dun really like their favour though.. nothing is really useful for the guest. But I agree with u..need to keep the budget..my hubby making noise oready haha..

For my AD, so far I saw everafter n 39East. I prefer 39 east.. but they r veeeryyy ex. So I'm still looking around..

Oh forgot to tell u.. actually wedding favour n invitation cards they stated in the contract.. I think they mention smthg like invitation card for 70% of confirmed attendance and selection of wedding favour for the guest.

I got the oriental bears as my wedding favours & all my guest love it, initially I tot of alternating keychain & bear but after I saw the oriental bears I fell in love with it & I forgot to keep a pair for myself

I guess I will settle for the Champagne Truffles. But I might get some more wedding favors. Chocolates as wedding favors are kind of boring. =P

chummy
guess if u got a budget to keep then stick to their choice lah... for me, I rather spend the $$ on honeymoon or my new place..:p end of the day, I dun know where I've left my friends' wedding cards.. though I make a point to keep but at of the day, can't rem where I kept them... favour wise..I took the same as winniepooh..
for the weddings I've attended, the favours are all over in the store room... except things like key chains or small bears.. place them as ornament in my living room.

winniepooh
managed to savage two bears from my wedding..:p keke..

Turtle
I dun think chocolates are boring lah... depnds on the kind of chocolates u use... if it's champagne truffles, it's ok..
anyway Jamie Yeo n Glenn Ong used chocolates as their wedding favours too..

yeah, agreed. Wedding favor is a gesture of thank you to your guests. Think they have new wedding favours for 2006. One of it i saw was the cupid card holder.

star....u're a lucky gal, I share the same tot as u, I rather spend more $$ on my honeymoon & my lovenest cos at the end of the day, wat the guest remember is u being the bride & they dun care about how nice your wedding card & favours are, for my wedding card inserts I printed in JB cos its really very cheap & I increase my budget for the photographer

Hi starstar,

u mean we can use the combination of the wedding favour??
Just wondering.. is it possible to ask the coordinator to ley us see more choices at their vendor?? Understand tt some hotel allow their client to liase directly with the vendor as long the $$ amount is the same with wat the hotel provided..

Turtle, I'm thinking to use chocs too :D I think champagne truffle shld be quite nice..

Haizzz.. budget is a big headache.. once they attached "wedding" into it the price will be sky high :P

Btw, starstar which room do u use previously?

hi chummy

I don't think they'll allow you to do that, cos I did ask them before & they told me to bring my own favours instead, but Oriental's favours is considered quite unique as compared to other hotels

hI,

Can i check with you all, after our initial deposit with the hotel, what is the mode of payment after the wedding? Are we expected to pay them immediately after the dinner?

Snowy,
my coordinator told me tt we need to pay during the check out time (from the bridal suite). Well, not sure abt cheque, but definitely u can pay by cards or cash.
Are u going to sign up with Oriental soon? When is ur AD?

Winniepooh, thanks for ur info? When is ur AD? Who is ur coordinator?

hi snowy
it can be settled by credit cards or cash...not sure abt personal cheques though...:p u'll need to up your credit limits of the credit card bef the event...can ask your coord abt this...
after dinner they'll let u see the bill for the nite..then u'll need to sign on the bill which is charged to your room..

chummy
think oriental's favours is unique and nice enough lah...
save $$... then u can spend the $$ on something worthwhile..

I used the grand ballroom for the dinner...

winniepooh
hahaha..
yup..must thank my little sis..she kept two for me..:p anyway after the wedding day, dun think my friends rem how my gowns look like lah.. frankly speaking, up to now, I dun rem how the brides' gowns look like lor for those dinners I attended..:p only know abt food...hahaha..
just know they look lovely that day...limited memory...;p

snowy
wah..cupid card holder? cool.. looks nice n useful for guest...

chummy, my AD was 14/5/05 & my coordinator initially was Wendy, she was transfered to another department so Agnes took over my file, about 2 weeks before my AD, Agnes told me she'll be on leave during my AD so Liping took over

star, my sis din keep for me, she gave her pair to my brother who is collecting 10 pairs for his gf

to all who have juz sign up with Oriental, after ur initial deposit, u'll need to settle the balance when u check out from the hotel, they only accept credit card & cash, no personal cheque will be accepted

I think cheques are accepted. Except that you have to give the cheque 3 days in advance before your AD so that they can clear it. That's what my coordinator told me. =p

Out of curiosity, what made you girls choose Oriental Hotel out of so many others?

turtle
I like that location...accessible by car/bus n MRT... ample car park..when it rains...got shelter all the way from City hall...
no need to worry...
actually shortlisted marina mandarin also but dun like the ballroom..quite run down n also the coord..quite 'dao' one.. :p didn't shortlist pan pac cos that time it was still renovating... :p

I avoided the orchard area hotels cos of the jam i predict on weekends cos mine is on sat.... anyway we didn't really like orchard area..all the crowds...so the hotels there all out for us.. :p

one last reason is I've got a colleague who had his wedding at Oriental too..gave good comments on it...

winniepooh
wah...so u get the chance to work wif so many coord...
is Liping ok? heard that she's quite rigid...

kekeke..your bro all out to please his girl...

star n winnie,
hehe u r the most experience among us since ur AD has past. Can u share with us the deco tt u used? I mean the flower n the colour theme?

Star, I think u r rite..most likely I will use their favour.. n splurge more on photographer

Turtle, I choose them coz I like the idea of individual serving, western dessert n the mocktail :D
N hubby also prefer Oriental over other hotel tt we have seen.
Personally I prefer Hyatt. Seems tt they have more wedding there than Oriental.. My fren also think Hyatt is more prestigious n more expensive than Oriental

Which hotel u consider previously?

star....liping is ok, but she is quite rigid, but lucky for me is I've work out all the terms with Agnes before she went on leave, my bro really all out to please his gal man

turtle, the reason why I choose oriental was their location & the coordinator is really flexible & the service they rendered to me was excellent, their cocktail area is exclusive and the most important thing their price is reasonable. I dun like pan pac cos I can never get hold of the coordinator, we din shortlist westin cos hubby felt that the reception area has got no privacy

=) I considered Goodwood Park, Club Chinois previously. However, Goodwood Park ballroom looks abit old for my comfort and Club Chinois will have 2 weddings on the same day at the same time if I were to book (ballroom was already booked by someone else, I wanted to book the restuarant itself). I went to take a look at the Bridal Suite at Club Chinois but the rm seems somewhat like from a horror movie.

I was in awe when I saw the Oriental hotel interior decor and how professional the coordinator was. =)
My first choice was the Garden Suite Rooms that overlook the city view. But it can only hold a max 150 pple.

chummy
that time I used roses n gerabas(dun know how to spell).. :p colour theme as in the colours of table cloth n chairs is it?

turtle
wah...club chinois suite that scary?

Hi Star,

yup..what i mean is table cloth colour n chair cover.... u use red roses n garberas?? Any pics to share??

My coordinator showed me several colour for the linen.. dunno which colour is the nicest...

Hi Turtle,
wat is the max number of ppl for atrium suites??

hehehe.. lucky u didnt sign up with chinois.. otherwise u cannot rest well the nite after the wedding..
kao_scared.gif

chummy
your email?

think that time I used ivory n gold... table wise.. think it's champagne colour..can't rem..:p send u the pics better...:p

star, my email: [email protected]
Hehe cannot wait to see ur pics..

snowy, I haven't confirm my AD..either in may or June 06.
I sign up with Ted Collection for my gown..but dunno whether it is good or not..haven't seen any of my gown yet.. but before TC I almost sign up with Divine. I think Emanuel B n jawn are good too... U have to g o down n look urself to decide which one u like

star, I wanna see ur pics too!! Pls send to my email [email protected]. Club Chinois's bridal suite is actually very very simple. A double bed, a very simple dressing table and an old old sofa. Lighting is dark.

Chummy, max number of pple for Atrium Suites is 200.

Hi chummy n turtle
just send u the link.. if can't receive, let me know k?

hi snowy
u signed the contract wif oriental?

turtle
wah..so simple one? like chalet leh...:p

Hi starstar,

Havent sign with Oriental yet. They are giving us some time to consider and think. But, FH and me are pretty much confirm about our decision. We will be having ROM early next yr first.

Now, i am really cracking my head to decide on BS. Went down to JB yest to take a look, package does not include a lot of things, but quite cheap overall. Ultimately, think we do not want the hassle of running here and there.

How much is the package tt you all sign? Dun wnt something too expensive.

Please advise

THX heaps

Hi Star, Thanks.. I will let u know again

Snowy, my WG + EG cost 2300. they r both on purchase basis..not rental.
I think Divine cost $3988 for MTM EG, WG, Man Suit, flower n makeup. Emanuel is more affordable 3288 or smth like tt. My sugestion go aroun n take a look which one u like..but dun sign up first.. sign up during the promo or showcase.. u get better deal.

But careful with BS,, heard lots of horror story abt lousy BS..

StarStar, thanks for the link. You looked lovely in the photos. You 2 make a beautiful couple. =)
The Oriental Ballroom looks great~! Are you able to choose your cake decoration? Or is it standard? Is their a choice for your backdrop setting too?

Snowy, my BS package is quite ex. Ard 5.3k. =p MTM WG, EG, Tea dress, Mansuit, shoes, flowers and tiara. Make-up and photography included. Rather comprehensive. My BS customise to the budget of the bride also.

turtle, the cake decoration on the stage is a dummy one, so its standard, they'll send ur wedding cake up to ur suite. So far they only 1 backdrop setting, unless there's more for the couples to choose

snowy
I'll send u the link tonight. my total cost for gowns n pics are $5.6k. the package originally is $2.7k includes OTR gowns(WG n EG),MTM man pants, 2 OTR jackets, kua, MUA, flowers for PS n AD n of course the usual photo package. I top up till $5.6k cos upgarded my PS alblum to digital styled(those wif collages) n increased the number of pages from 24pg to 56pg. Total 70 pics. I've also got a few other stuffs..like 2 portraits.. one normal type..the other one digitalised(2 in 1). car deco,corsages n accessories included. 2 table tops, one mini album,a cd rom n negatives also included. A ROM package also comes wif the package.

turtle
thanks for the compliment... think all brides will look nice n radiant one lah... just be relaxed n I'm sure it's your happiest day of your life right? marrying the man u love..

regards to cake decor..think winnie has answer your ques.
thanks winnie..
only the wedding cake that's sent up to your suite u can choose..got a few type..I chose the cheesecake..:p the back drop setting that time only have the crystals thingy.. it's kinda of nice cos when lighting shines on it..looks like a small flowing waterfall...

hI starstar,

Thx for the advice. Which BS did u sign up with? Do you have any to recommend cos i am really scared that i will go to a wrong one.

I choose their chocolate truffle cake as my wedding cake cos I juz simply love it, the chocolate is very rick but its very sinful after eating it

Hi star,

I did not get ur email..Do u mind send it again..

Snowy,

My BS is Tec Collection..not really a BS actually..more like a taylor..

Whoa.. talking abt cakes make me hungry.. almost lunch time.. :D