Mandarin Oriental Singapore

well, it used to be Agnes. I heard that Liping has taken over my file but I am not sure. I was looking forward to my session with the coordinator, but now a bit apprehensive after hearing not-so-positive feedback from my fren.

Ironically, I was considering RH but decided on Oriental coz I din like the RH coordinator who spoke to us. Bad move.

juniac
gee.. agnes just went over to RH... well..try to discuss wif Liping and then see how u can click wif ya... maybe she's able to? dun have a negative mind set first... go meet her wif an open mind... then judge for yourself.
Things may not be as bad...

Abit unhappy as well...cos i send an email telling my co-ord about certain issues which i am not comfortable about and she did'nt even reply me!!! What kind of service is this? sigh~

pinkie
for me, my coord Agnes also took some time to reply cos she's pretty busy wif other taskings like functions/meetings... if u can't wait any longer, think it's better to SMS or call your coord... told her abt the problem of getting her thru email..so she told me to SMS or call if urgent... is your coord Liping also?

hi starstar,

My co-ord is not Liping. But guess we will be able to iron out the issues before my Big day next year. =)

Saw the ballroom last weekend...it's real pretty! ;)

Hi Starstar,

do not worry, as I've posted before. Liping is actually quite OK one. In fact I find that she's quite nice & helpful. She's the sort who will check first and get confirmation before committing to you rather than promise first but cannot deliver. She's my coordinator.

HI anpanman
I hv talk to liping , u knw how much she quote me for a sunday wedding in 2006 ?
is $1,288 +++ cant imagine so ex!!!
did u pay this price for weekend ?

pinkie
glad u like the set up...

anpanman
keke...my wedding's over...
think it's juniac who's having some problem wif Liping...

xiong_a
think Oriental increase their price after their reno... well, I can assure u for that price, u'll get very good service( they are featured in TODAY and was brought up as an example by one of the govt official during some good service seminar for international service providers) and good food!!!

Hi xiong,

Thanks for your email

Do you have the rates/menu for weekday wedding at oriental? Most likely, my wedding will be on a weekday

Do you know how many people in one table? For conrad the price almost the same but sits twelve.

Thanks you in advance for emailing me

Dear Starstar,

good food maybe still applicable to Oriental, but good service... well... not so much for wedding banquet. Quite disappointed. Quite paiseh and "no-face" too when your guests come complaining to you after the dinner.

For the kind of price Oriental's charging, I expected better service than that.

anpanman
hmmm.. dun tell me their service standard drop??? cos my guests n me find their service rather well... very happi wif their services... none of my guests got bad reviews for the dinner... gee.. what happen?

starstar
err..err..maybe my guests are more picky?? Just kidding.
Not that their standard of service dropped.. but just that you are lucky maybe? As all other hotels, they employ part-time staff (usually students & very young) whom are so inexperienced and well.. what to expect. They do not have one waiter to a table, but 2 waiters to 3 tables or maybe worse than that??

anpanman
wah..think they change their policy liao... during my dinner in March, it was still one to one table.... they cut cost har? if it's that bad, no point paying so much man.. did u feedback to them after your dinner? that time after my dinner, the manager actually asked for our feedback.

snowy
hi...I had a good expereince wif them but that's before the new pricing n was wif an ex coord(she's wif another hotel now).... but what I can say is that the food wise u can have no worries abt it... so far so good...

snowy
nope...it's not dull.. alot of my guests felt it's a very grand place to hold a wedding. Mind u..these comments came from my parents relatives n friends... hee..already pass the older gernation QC liao..what u think?

hi Starstar,

Thank you for the comment. Which ballroom did you had your wedding? I will be meeting the coordinator, Michele this week.

Actually, the only thing is the pricing is kind of steep.

hi snowy
I had mine in the main ballroom... yup..agreed wif ya..think the price now rather steep... but I think it includes quite alot of stuffs... spa package or something like that right? u meeting michelle? heard from the current brides she's rather firm n diifcult to negotiate(one hard nut to crack)... some good n bad reviews on her.. anyway, all the best...
keep me update on the meeting..

starstar,

Thx for the advice. Initially, wanted to go for panpac, but think the dates wise may not be available.

So, where did you go for your honeymoon and where is your new house?

snowy
U r most welcome...
honeymoon? I went to Maldives. my new place is in Jurong West.
u? where u planning to go?

U check wif pan pac on the dates u want? If not, no harm going there to take a look... the main ballroom in Pan pac is also very nice.. quite a long aisle..

starstar,

planned to have AD in dec 06, Panpac is already quite fully booked. I will go oriental and take a look to see how it goes first.

For honeymoon, plan to go japan and Korea.
My new house will be in Woodlands. So, r u used to marriage life?

Hi Starstar,
will be going for HM during Christmas & New Year period. Destination is Japan.

Hi snowy,
the food at Oriental Hotel is consider good for hotel standard. The portion is good too. But my experience is the service provided during the banquet. Disappointing.

anpanman
so u managed to resolve the issue? wah..japan for xmas...it'll be snowing right? so u'll be there thru the whole period? enjoy...

regarding the issue, think it's best to let them know...
who knows they compensate u wif a hotel stay??? ;p

snowy
dec 06? wah..u confirmed your date? think if u really like Oriental, think do a tentative booking wif them...
just in case another couple also interested in it...

Hi ah yoshi
as a MRS? haha..never been better..just enjoyed married life...
kekeke..
u? how r u? any little ones coming ?

Met up with Oriental already, they were quite professional in bringing us through the whole process of preparation and decision.

Alot of their food are individually served. Notice that their package comes with 2 night stay. Anyone only stayed for one night and got other perks?

Do you all have corkage waviered?

ah yoshi
ooopss... sorri... Pai seh...kekeke... I very blur...too many people...can't really rem the AD...:p sorri...:p so your Ad in March 06? wah...coming liao..kekeke... last year this time... I also rather kan cheong liao..excited...
cos mine was in march 05...
so yours n mine one year apart...

my home's at Jurong West...
nope..little ones not planning to have now..maybe we'll try for one next year march...
next year march then start trying....

how's your prep? taken your PS liao right? must try to settle on your guest list... that's the real killer...
dun leave it to last min... start RSVP ard a week before the dinner... best is two days bef your final confirmation of number of tables...
have a great time gal n RELAX k?

Yoo StarStar,
kekeke its ok lah...
ohh yrs in March 05 hor.. hmm me getting a little kan chiong le.. coz worry some sutff not done yet lo... keke u enjoying one yr of HM kekeke... actually i done with my PS but the layout not done yet.. guest list toking abt it now i worry not enuff table coz oriental maz is abt 45 tables.. but very cramp ya.. tt time how many tables u ve? i wanna a L shape walkin but duno with that wats the maximum table i can have.. headache le

hi...ah yoshi
that time I've got 36 tables include two spares... used one spare table...
I used the L shape march in also... hmmm..I can't rem how many was the max..can check wif your coord....

Anybody tried their Marble Goby in the menu? I'm wondering which one is nicer, Marble Goby or the Cod Fish.
Btw, can anybody share with me the after June 2006 package for Oriental? My email: [email protected]

Hi Chummy,
Sorry, don't have the $1288 package info. =(
Yup, I have already signed up the $880 package with Oriental. When are you planning to have your AD?

Hi Turtle,
my actual date will b in May or June 06. Not sure yet. Which room u sign up to? The Grand Ballroom?

Snowy, my coordinator is Michelle